Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best ride ever

• 09-01-2017 6:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭

How about a thread of great rides by jockeys?
    Not great performances by horses, but great rides getting the best out of horses, preferably horses that did not win.

My favourite was Cairo Prince in the 1992 Epsom Derby ridden by William Fisher Hunter Carson.
    He finished 4th of 16, "Outpaced in rear, stayed on well from over 2f out, nearest finish". Yellow cap, green jacket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Off the top of my head, Frankie Dettori's draw defying ride on Golden Horn in the Arc was top class.

Willie Carson's tactical ride on Bahri in the 1995 QE II hit the mighty and odds on Ridgewood Pearl for six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

I loved Ruby on Quevega 2013 at Cheltenham, how he won ill never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

madmoose wrote: »
    I loved Ruby on Quevega 2013 at Cheltenham, how he won ill never know.

If that's the ride i'm thinking of i remember thinking how horrendous a ride it was and the wondermare saved him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

tryfix wrote: »
    Off the top of my head, Frankie Dettori's draw defying ride on Golden Horn in the Arc was top class.

An enterprising ride for sure but I'm convinced Treve wouldn't let herself go into top gear because of the ground that year. She was right there and the action just isn't the same as the other two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Carberry. Monbeg Dude. Glorious.

Not quite the best ride ever but sticking to the horses that didn't win was Daryl Jacobs ride on the enigma that was Tidal Bay in the Welsh National 2013 who Ruby famously said would rather eat a fence than jump one.

At 12 or 13 years old and carrying top weight on heavy ground, he dropped him out, kidded the horse round and produced him with every chance only to finish 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

McCoy on Synchronised in the 2012 Cheltenham Gold Cup. I still remember where I was and who I was watching it with. He didn't jump the first 2 well, and McCoy was literally working on him and having to ride him hard from the first fence, and was unhelped by not being given any room as he tried to avoid having to come around the bend on the wide outside. It was some performance from McCoy and is a great demonstration his ability, talent, strength and determination. and I often wonder if anyone would have been able to get the horse to win.

Seeing as noone else is sticking to the not a winner pre-requisite here's another one of MC Coys brilliant rides, talk about aggressive front running ride only to get headed and battle back on the run in.

v=eJHDivrhtRE

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Carberry. Monbeg Dude. Glorious.

Love it. It seems to get better each time I watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Mc coy on wichita lineman been mentioned. Sprung to mind straightway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭huey1975

I know he was the best horse in the race but Pat Eddery gave Dancing Brave a great ride to win the Arc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭CheltenhamJ

Again a winning ride but dicky Johnson getting fingal bay up in the pertemps final in 2014 was immense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

Jamie Codds brilliant waiting ride on Character Building in 2009 Kim Muir.I think I read Barry Geraghty said it was his fav ride as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

For the one that got beat:

Harchibald - 2005 Champion Hurdle

https://youtu.be/NtFXeEOLFrE

Another one that got beat:

https://youtu.be/jSxsqpPracA

A winner

Morley Street - Aintree Hurdle

https://youtu.be/J5g1IltbDQ0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Jamie Codds brilliant waiting ride on Character Building in 2009 Kim Muir.I think I read Barry Geraghty said it was his fav ride as well

Winner.

Hate seeing McCoys ride on Wichita mentioned in these debates, he had a most willing partner that day who responded gallantly to getting the ****e beat out of him. Rides like Codds, Carberry on Monbeg Dude etc take real horsemanship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Oh this is easy for me, massive Timmy Murphy fan, so its him on Hi Cloy when he beat Kicking King in the powers gold cup at Fairyhouse, must be 2002-2005, Held up in rear and passed them all on the bridle, i swear Murphy when he arrived up along side Barry Geraghty had a look across at him flat to the boards while he just cruised on by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Lots of great suggestions here. For me, Lester Piggott winning the Breeders Cup mile on Royal Academy was just special considering the manner in which he did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

He was 54 yrs old winning that. There is hope for me yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Everyone remembers Nashwan hacking up at the Derby, but what about Terimon stealing second place at 500/1? Very astute ride from a jockey that knows he has no chance at winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

My ride on Oratorio in the Eclipse, 2005

Murtagh from the front on Dancing rain in the oaks a few seasons back was a flat one that springs to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Eddery on grundy king George

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Do ye remember the ride where Conor O' Dwyer put the leg of a jockey besside him back in the irons. Remember thinking it was unbelievable skill at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Classic from poor JT McNamara in 2002.

Crap link won't work, Rith Dubh in the NH chase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Favourite recent winning ride would be Davy Russell on Lord Windermere - very similar to the Monbeg Dude ride.

For non winning rides, what about Paul Moloney's series of placings in recent Nationals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Braulio Baeza on Roberto in the Benson & Hedges , now the Juddmonte, 1972 . It was the first time I had seen the American style of going from the front ,in these parts . The great Brigadier Gerard couldn't get near him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

lemush wrote:
    Hate seeing McCoys ride on Wichita mentioned in these debates, he had a most willing partner that day who responded gallantly to getting the ****e beat out of him. Rides like Codds, Carberry on Monbeg Dude etc take real horsemanship.

He didn't beat the sh1t out of that horse.. he never gave up from a long way out when most jockeys would have given up. RE watch it. He wasn't even brought in by the stewards if I remember correctly.

Mick Kinane on Azamour in Irish Champion Stakes in 2004, timed to perfection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

mdwexford wrote: »
    Classic from poor JT McNamara in 2002.

Crap link won't work, Rith Dubh in the NH chase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Paul Carberry on Belvano in the Grand Annual about 3 years ago. There inst another jockey alive that would have sat still on that horse with 2 fences to go he was so far behind. Not pocket talk just because we were on ;-).

He then came in and was raging he used the whip at all as he felt there was no need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Timmy Murphy on Tikram in the Mildmay of Flete in 2004 (I think). Held the horse up well back and then timed his move forward to perfection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Brendan Powell 88 National on Rhyme and Reason. Horse practically fell at Beechers first time.

Those nearly fell/ unseated before going on to win cases are probably a sub category of great ride. Another was Graham Bradley in the 96 (?) Hennessy on Sunny Bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

aidankkk wrote: »
    Paul Carberry on Belvano in the Grand Annual about 3 years ago. There inst another jockey alive that would have sat still on that horse with 2 fences to go he was so far behind. Not pocket talk just because we were on ;-).

He then came in and was raging he used the whip at all as he felt there was no need.

I was absolutely screaming at him to go, he just hung around out the back with his arse up in the air as usual. great ride. He said after, 'Nicky told me not to go too soon' he certainly didn't go too soon anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

idnkph wrote: »
    He didn't beat the sh1t out of that horse.. he never gave up from a long way out when most jockeys would have given up. RE watch it. He wasn't even brought in by the stewards if I remember correctly.

He struck Wichita 21 times. Not giving up is usually a prerequisite for any jockey riding around Cheltenham, not to mention McCoy on a well punted JP owned handicap plot. Was a good ride don't get me wrong but it's a million miles away from one of the best ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Untapable, breeders cup distaf. Ridden by Rosie Napravnik.

Christophe Soumillon making a mockery out of the jump jockeys in the French Champion Hurdle on Mandali.

Jonjo O'Neill on Dawn Run in the 1986 Gold Cup, made a lot of the running and was passed by the last fence and looked beaten on the run in when somehow he had time to move across the track and still get her up comfortably on the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Looks like Paddy Mullins on Dawn Run there.

Johner wrote: »
    Looks like Paddy Mullins on Dawn Run there.
    Felt sorry for Tony Mullins losing the ride at the time, but Jonjo had to be at his best to nurse the cantankerous Dawn Run around that day. She could have easily done something to sabotage her own chance such was her mood that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Very enterprising ride here.
    I backed this at Royal Ascot later in 2003 when it hacked up at 25/1.
    Seeing this race (5f in 56.63s :eek:) made up my mind to back him at Royal Ascot
    Watching the video now I see Bel Esprit came 5th.
    Bel Esprit's claim to fame is as sire of the exceptional Australian sprinter Black Caviar, who won this race in 2011, 2012, 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

In Fairness to Andrew Lynch, his ride on Voler La Vedette against Big Bucks was fantastic. HE got as close as possible and gave him a fright.

Ryan Moore on Notnowcato in the Eclipse deserves a mention!

kfallon wrote: »
    Ryan Moore on Notnowcato in the Eclipse deserves a mention!

Was about to say the same thing. A brave ride and probably the difference between winning and losing which is what matters.

A lot of 'great rides' are just waiting rides that happen to work because the horse is good enough or well handicapped enough to win. Note how they automatically become 'awful rides' when the horse doesn't quite get up, particularly if one Jamie Spencer is on board.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWZXgQY40jY not a great video but only one I can find.

One I'd forgotten about, Mick Kinane on Sophistcat in the Coronation Stakes. He knew she'd stop once she hit the front so he pulled her in behind horses a couple of times when going well so he'd not get there too early. Dropped her head in front about 10 yards from the line, class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Huntley

Ruby gave Quevega a beauty of a ride for her last Cheltenham win. When she went a bit flat coming down the hill he just changed the reins in his hands and let her come back on the bridle. Switched the whip in to his left hand before the last so he could drive her out with his right and angle her across to the second horse. That's difficult to do one handed and she only started to get on top when she came beside Glens Melody. She was likely the best horse in the race but doing the subtleties right won it for her, plenty of jockeys would have been beaten on her that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Saw Uncle Juniors win in the La Touché 2012 under Patrick Mullins on YouTube the other day, not saying it's 'one of the best rides ever' but it deserves a mention considering how much stick PW gets. Miles back, 20 runner field,carrying 12-7, you still wouldn't call him the winner at the last!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

ziggy wrote: »

I remember that one - imagine how the betting in running would have been!