Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car crash.

• 09-01-2017 1:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

Today I was reversing my jeep out of a car space. I hit a car behind be that was behind me.
    It was wrongly parked. No markings on ground tho. He was in my blind spot. The boot lid was caved in and glass broke.

There are no cameras looking anywhere near the spots. I left a note in the window apologising for the accident. Name and number and also telling them I wish not to go through insurance as I am only a student and cannot aford the insurance increase. I left as I had to drop my friend to work. I got a phone call from the owner.

He asked for my insurance details I told him the situation and that I'd pay for all damages with cash asap. He was OK with that. Get a phone call from the gardi a few hours later. They gave out that I left the seen of an accident. They say i may be getting a fine for leaving.

I explained I left a note. Was willing to pay in full fir damages and was in contact with him and I was unable to stay. I said I could of driven away with no one knowing it was me but I did the right thing.

The Gardai want my insurance and license and reg number within 10 days and i may be getting a fine for leaving the seen. OK so now here's the problem. The Jeep isn't taxed. Not taxed for a while. Not able to be taxed for a while. Not tax compliant. Will the Gardai be able to tell this from the reg? Can't afford them take the vehicle.

Second problem. Looking at the damage. I'm not 100% sure I did it. I did hit the car but the tow bar is a foot lower then the impact mark.

No way to prove it was actually me. No cameras. I was just trying to do the right thing.
    I dont want to get screwed over on this. I don't want to get in fines and pay damages because I was being kind and owning up.
    I should have just left. Why get punished for doing the right thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Normally Garda will ask for tax, insurance, nct/cvt to be produced at a Garda station within 10 days after an accident is reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

This is the problem with people these days
    You left your details which is good and correct behaviour
    You are getting rewarded by the other party by being reported to the guards for absolutely no reason as you have proved you are playing ball by leaving a note that didn't simply read as follows
    "Hi I drove into your car and there is a man looking at me so I'm leaving you a note so he doesn't write down my reg, sorry"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

I thought gardai don't generally get involved unless there is personal injury.

Fair play for leaving your number, how did the gardai get embroiled. (confuses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Yet if you are in a crash on a backroad guards call it a civil manner and have zero interest.

Also reverse into parking spaces newbie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Student2312

They rang me saying that I left the seen of an accident. I was ment to stay. It's an offence. I could have easily driven away. To be honest I thought about it because I'm short on money but I didn't because that was wrong. Yet he still wrong the Gardai and now I'm screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I got a phone call from the owner. He asked for my insurance details I told him the situation and that I'd pay for all damages with cash asap. He was OK with that.
    The Gardai want my insurance and license and reg number within 10 days
    How can the Gardai fine you without your reg? He got his mate to ring you to get the insurance details and your reg. If the "Garda" rings you again, ask for his badge number and his station number so you can ring him back. Otherwise I call bullsh|t.

the_syco wrote:
    How can the Gardai fine you without your reg? He got his mate to ring you to get the insurance details and your reg.

Definitely the gardia. I didn't give him anything. I want to sort out my options first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Definitely the gardia. I didn't give him anything. I want to sort out my options first.

You don't have options. You need to get your tax in order and present within 10 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

It couldn't have been a garda, unless they knew your reg number. Did you give your reg number on the note you left? If not, it's your man playing mind games with you to get information from you.

They rang me saying that I left the seen of an accident. I was ment to stay. It's an offence. I could have easily driven away. To be honest I thought about it because I'm short on money but I didn't because that was wrong. Yet he still wrong the Gardai and now I'm screwed.

That's unfortunate tbf, usually the **** things happen the best of people. See it everyday.
    If you had driven off, chances are you wouldn't have this to deal with now. You may only get a 80 yoyo fine for tax depending on the "officer" you're dealing with. How long is the jeep out of tax? Is it declared off the road? If so, then it can serious.

endacl wrote:
    You don't have options. You need to get your tax in order and present within 10 days.

I can't get it taxed. Not tax compliant till maybe end of the month. Will they check tax. Are they not just checking to see if the vehicle is mine and insured. Which it is. Well it's my dad's and I'm a name Driver. But fully insured and licenced with doe. Jusy no tax

shocksy wrote: »
    It couldn't have been a garda, unless they knew your reg number. Did you give your reg number on the note you left? If not, it's your man playing mind games with you to get information from you.

Well perceived

What ya mean it's not tax compliant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I don't believe you committed an offence. You hit the car. There were no injuries, the owner was not around so you left your details which the owner did find at the scene.
    I'm open to correction but I don't believe there is a requirement to report to gardai in that case?

shocksy wrote:

It's came up as the correct area code. The Gardai introduced himself. He got my number from the other Driver. He said I have to drop my details in to any Gardai station within 10 days. But they don't know my reg or my full name. Just my phone number. How can they find me if I don't do it... or is that a bad idea.

If there is a chance it's not true that it's the guards that's a different story but really it's ya probably a gaurd who knows the other person

What's the rule about driving off after causing minor damage like
    That ? I mean if you call the guards will they come ? Do I have to wait an indefinite amount of time till someone returns to their car ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Today I was reversing my jeep out of a car space. I hit a car behind be that was behind me. It was wrongly parked. No markings on ground tho. He was in my blind spot. The boot lid was caved in and glass broke. There are no cameras looking anywhere near the spots. I left a note in the window apologising for the accident. Name and number and also telling them I wish not to go through insurance as I am only a student and cannot aford the insurance increase. I left as I had to drop my friend to work. I got a phone call from the owner. He asked for my insurance details I told him the situation and that I'd pay for all damages with cash asap. He was OK with that. Get a phone call from the gardi a few hours later. They gave out that I left the seen of an accident. They say i may be getting a fine for leaving. I explained I left a note. Was willing to pay in full fir damages and was in contact with him and I was unable to stay. I said I could of driven away with no one knowing it was me but I did the right thing. The Gardai want my insurance and license and reg number within 10 days and i may be getting a fine for leaving the seen. OK so now here's the problem. The Jeep isn't taxed. Not taxed for a while. Not able to be taxed for a while. Not tax compliant. Will the Gardai be able to tell this from the reg? Can't afford them take the vehicle. Second problem. Looking at the damage.

"Will the Gardai be able to tell this from the reg?"

No idea, but I sincerely hope so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1961/act/24/section/106/enacted/en/html

I'd have a nose over that, if your been accused of leaving the scene of an accident it's quite serious to be honest, but in this case it's pretty obvious why you left, you can't wait around all day long, as for the tax, no idea.

I'd imagine as the Garda didn't witness you driving the car a judge might strike it out if you wanted to contest it in court.

BTW, sorry to piss on your parade but I would notify your insurance company about it. Garda involved, third party seems like he is playing by the book but still wants his cash in hand and might give you the run around regards quotes.

Not worth the hassle IMO, let the insurance just sort it out at this stage and produce what you have to the Garda.

kay 9 wrote:
    What ya mean it's not tax compliant?

Jeeps in fathers name/ company's name. The company owes the tax man money so is unable to get a pin to tax the Jeep. Or something along those lines

It's came up as the correct area code. The Gardai introduced himself. He got my number from the other Driver. He said I have to drop my details in to any Gardai station within 10 days. But they don't know my reg or my full name. Just my phone number. How can they find me if I don't do it... or is that a bad idea.
    bad idea they can ring people you have rung from that number and simply ask who's number it is

TallGlass wrote:
    BTW, sorry to piss on your parade but I would notify your insurance company about it. Garda involved, third party seems like he is playing by the book but still wants his cash in hand and might give you the run around regards quotes.

Oh I'm not giving him a cent. I'll get the car to my mechanic. The car needs a new boot door. That's all. I'll get it. Get the mechanic to fit it and I'll pay him directly. I'm not getting screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

mickdw wrote: »
    I don't believe you committed an offence. You hit the car. There were no injuries, the owner was not around so you left your details which the owner did find at the scene.
    I'm open to correction but I don't believe there is a requirement to report to gardai in that case?

My understanding is that this is correct. But I have little sympathy for a 'student' swanning around in a 'non-tax compliant' Jeep that apparently cannot be made tax compliant (I wonder why!) and crashing into parked cars.

When I was at college, we walked or cycled or bussed it to our lectures. And if we were running late, or couldn't afford the bus fare, or didn't have a bike, we bloody well ran to them.

Tigger wrote:
    bad idea they can ring people you have rung from that number and simply ask who's number it is

How can they? That not breach of privacy or some thing ?

Oh I'm not giving him a cent. I'll get the car to my mechanic. The car needs a new boot door. That's all. I'll get it. Get the mechanic to fit it and I'll pay him directly. I'm not getting screwed.

Not your call, though, is it?

Jeeps in fathers name/ company's name. The company owes the tax man money so is unable to get a pin to tax the Jeep. Or something along those lines

But revenue is separate to motor tax, shouldn't have anything to do with revenue. Is the jeep on UK plates and awaiting vrt payment or something?

My understanding is that this is correct. But I have little sympathy for a 'student' swanning around in a 'non-tax compliant' Jeep that apparently cannot be made tax compliant (I wonder why!) and crashing into parked cars.

When I was at college, we walked or cycled or bussed it to our lectures. And if we were running late, or couldn't afford the bus fare, or didn't have a bike, we bloody well ran to them.

Well I am a student. I saved up to buy the banger of a jeep as I need it for work. My last car was a 90. Got too old to insure. Jeep not taxed as company isn't up to date with books. Not because of money. I walk to college nearly every day. The reason I was in the shop was to bring an injured friend who can't walk that far. I crashed because it was an accident. Accidents happen. I don't need sympathy. Looking for educated advise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Either you hope that you don't get tracked down, or you give the dude your insurance number.

I wonder do you get jail time if the Gardai have to track you down?

That would work with me but I have a feeling this guy is gonna be trouble

kay 9 wrote:
    But revenue is separate to motor tax, shouldn't have anything to do with revenue. Is the jeep on UK plates and awaiting vrt payment or something?

Yeah. Good pount. I'll looking into it fully tomorrow. That's all I know. It's not uk plates or waiting payment.

the_syco wrote: »
    Either you hope that you don't get tracked down, or you give the dude your insurance number.

I wonder do you get jail time if the Gardai have to track you down?

You hardly get jail time for beating the face off a RTÉ journalist in the middle
    Of the street let alone failure to produce and changing your number

How can they? That not breach of privacy or some thing ?

Not if the gaurd wants to track you down
    If the phone is unregistered they can get the call logs with a letter from the super
    If the phone is registered they don't even need that
    I'm on your side but be realistic

Tigger wrote:
    Not if the gaurd wants to track you down If the phone is unregistered they can get the call logs with a letter from the super If the phone is registered they don't even need that I'm on your side but be realistic

I'm not fighting you. Didn't know they could or would be arsed doing it. Especially if the matter is sorted out. But I'll have to think about it. So many ifs and buts at play.

He left his details he's a good guy in my book
    Road tax is a tax and between him and the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

First and foremost, yes you can be done for leaving the scene of an accident, note or no note, especially if you believe that you had caused damage to a third parties property.
    ( speaking from similar experience, except I was the owner of the damaged vehicle and other driver left the scene ).
    You said that you have been contacted by a Garda, and you were told to produce docs. (standard procedure) at "any" station.
    Did you nominate a station to him?
    Did they phone from a mobile phone or a landline, did you think of phoning it back to check it was legit?
    Other person could be covering themselves by getting the Garda involved just incase you renage on paying for the repairs and wants to ensure that you are actually insured.
    I wouldn't worry too much about the tax if its in process for some reason, but if there is no current DOE (CVRT) or NCT cert on the vehicle you could be in bigger trouble with both the Garda (5 points) and your insurer.

I'm not fighting you. Didn't know they could or would be arsed doing it. Especially if the matter is sorted out. But I'll have to think about it. So many ifs and buts at play.

its a balls alright. No need for the guy to involve the gaurds, it's making me rethink what I'd do in that situation now and I'm sure it's doing it to you.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    First and foremost, yes you can be done for leaving the scene of an accident, note or no note, especially if you believe that you had caused damage to a third parties property.
    ( speaking from similar experience, except I was the owner of the damaged vehicle and other driver left the scene ).
    You said that you have been contacted by a Garda, and you were told to produce docs. (standard procedure) at "any" station.
    Did you nominate a station to him?
    Did they phone from a mobile phone or a landline, did you think of phoning it back to check it was legit?
    Other person could be covering themselves by getting the Garda involved just incase you renage on paying for the repairs and wants to ensure that you are actually insured.
    I wouldn't worry too much about the tax if its in process for some reason, but if there is no current DOE (CVRT) or NCT cert on the vehicle you could be in bigger trouble with both the Garda (5 points) and your insurer.
    It is e50 according to the earlier link and I think a judge would feel that he thought he was doing right by leaving a note
    Did your guy leave a note ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Tigger wrote: »
    It is e50 according to the earlier link and I think a judge would feel that he thought he was doing right by leaving a note
    Did your guy leave a note ?

E50 ?

No, in my case it was a witness left the note. Person got out, saw the damage and buggered off. In OP's defense the note was the decent thing, but, still left the scene.
    Garda most likely won't bother with it as long as all the OP's docs are in order and damage is paid for.
    Which is more or less the warning the Garda gave my runner.
    Ironically I tipped a car myself in car park a number of years ago, genuinely couldn't see any damage to their bumper. But I still found security and got them over to it and they had the owner called out. Owner was happy no harm done, we shook hands and went on our way.
    If I remember correctly, in a situation like the O.P. if you cannot locate the owner that you are supposed to report to a (or your) local Garda station with all the relevant details. Taking pictures being advisable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

I'm not getting on your case in the slightest but just giving a bit of advice in case you dig yourself a bit of a hole :)
    Its up to the person you hit where they get it repaired, you have no say whatsoever in either the cost or the location of the repair and they are entitled to use a main dealer and brand new main dealer parts regardless of the age of the car.
    Now appealing to their better nature may allow you a cheaper way out of this but they ARE legally entitled to go the expensive route and there is nothing you can do about it

rex-x wrote:
    I'm not getting on your case in the slightest but just giving a bit of advice in case you dig yourself a bit of a hole Its up to the person you hit where they get it repaired, you have no say whatsoever in either the cost or the location of the repair and they are entitled to use a main dealer and brand new main dealer parts regardless of the age of the car. Now appealing to their better nature may allow you a cheaper way out of this but they ARE legally entitled to go the expensive route and there is nothing you can do about it

Yeah your right. I just hope he's not a di*k about the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

Yeah your right. I just hope he's not a di*k about the whole thing.

Operating outside of insurance is a bad idea. Car repairs are expensive. Father in law was hit by a car reversing with tow bar outside friends house Badly dented car door. They begged him to not use insurance so we got a quote which was 1100eu as door frame was damaged and it needed a new door. They flipped and demanded it was just panel beaten by a guy they new for a few hundred quid. Later turned nasty and threatened to call Gard's if we ever came near them making threats and menaces for money.

One phone call to insurance got it sorted and I would never go down this route again. You try to be good and it backfires. Usually as the repair cost is high. Most tips on car cost 1k plus to repair as bumpers are large integrated parts.

Lantus wrote:
    Operating outside of insurance is a bad idea. Car repairs are expensive. Father in law was hit by a car reversing with tow bar outside friends house Badly dented car door. They begged him to not use insurance so we got a quote which was 1100eu as door frame was damaged and it needed a new door. They flipped and demanded it was just panel beaten by a guy they new for a few hundred quid. Later turned nasty and threatened to call Gard's if we ever came near them making threats and menaces for money.

Lantus wrote:
    One phone call to insurance got it sorted and I would never go down this route again. You try to be good and it backfires. Usually as the repair cost is high. Most tips on car cost 1k plus to repair as bumpers are large integrated parts.

Yeah I see where your coming from. I will talk to the guy first. A second hand boot lid for an 02 micra isn't that expensive. That's the only damage. I'm going to try keep it between us if it starts going sideways I'll have no choice to involve them. Thanks advice.

02 micra? Might be cheaper to replace the car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 the phantom worker

OP, I hope it's just the other person trying to cover themselves and the garda involvement will end there, and for what it's worth I think you did the right thing.

The only thing I think you should be careful with is that you have said you saved up to buy the jeep because you need it for work. But you have put it in your fathers name to allow you to be insured as a named driver. Now I don't want to go down the road of "fronting" for insurance as there are countless threads about that, but you may want to choose your words wisely if you are questioned on it.

Hope it all gets sorted out without too much hassle as you have done the right thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭HiGlo

I would think the other guy had possibly called the guards when he got back to the car ie before he spoke to you cause he figured he’d need an official report for the insurance company before he knew you didn’t want to go through insurance…. Just a possibility.
    Why would the guards need his reg before calling him? Surely the person who’s car he crashed into just passed on the contact details he’d been given to the guards?? Is there a requirement for the guards to have your registration plate before they can call you??

I previously had a bump with a parked car (although it was as I was parking so I wasn’t leaving the scene) but it never occurred to me at all to phone the Gardaí! Mad. I didn’t know it was required.

I don’t really see how you can get around this. Pissing off the guards prob wouldn’t be a good idea. I would guess the threat of being fined for leaving the scene is just a bit of a scare tactic and probably something they wouldn’t carry through with – except for the fact that you’re knowingly driving a car that’s not taxed and hasn’t been for a while….. Is there NO way you can sort out the tax on the car in the meantime? I’d look into that (or get your Dad to) and then just bring everything to the station.

OP, could you "buy" the car from your father's company and tax it privately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

OP, could you "buy" the car from your father's company and tax it privately?

And have to tax it privately, sure that'd cost more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Carpentry

Gardai uses private numbers when calling, in 99% cases, so that's the first thing to see if the call was legit.

If the lack of tax is an issue the dont tell them you went out driving. Tell them you wanted to change the car space. If this happened in the private car park, which is not a public place where the tax needs to be displayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,315 ✭✭✭Reventon93

Just because you give the person your insurance details doesnt mean that they're going to go through insurance. You might get somone understanding who will agree to settle outside.

A friend of mine had a crash, and the lady in the other car agreed to settle outside insurance after he exchanged details with her. Mainly because she didnt want his insurance to go up as he only had the car a couple of months.

amcalester wrote: »

Correct. Obviously the goal for the op was to be able to tax and insure his own jeep for less by putting it in his father's name/company name but that hasn't worked out.

If no tax is the issue, then taxing it privately is the way out. Doesn't mean it absolves him of liability, it just means the vehicle will be taxed (albeit, after the accident)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

amcalester wrote: »

Sure its a private vehicle so he should be paying private tax on it!!
    This whole company jeep is aload of bull, the company need to fill out the reg form and send it on to Shannon to place in the OP's name. Its not an impossible task but as is evident all over the place, some people just dont want to pay their taxes!!