Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Society - Wicklow 21st of January @ 10.00am

• 06-01-2017 1:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭

Hi everyone,

The invite for our first event of the year has been issued via teamer. It would be great to get responses as soon as you can so we can work out the format and teams.

If anyone didn't get the invite please let us know and we can get you added to the list. For anyone who hasn't played Wicklow before it's a fine course down by the seaside (but not a links ) with some of the fastest greens in Ireland (at least in summer). Their website http://www.wicklowgolfclub.ie/locationmap has directions on in case anyone needs them.

For those who are attending can you say whether you are a Dub or a Culchie? I know most but not all and some may have a foot in both camps but have a preference for one or the other! It would be appreciated if people could try and have their membership fees on the day also. Thanks.

ballyk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I'm there :D
    Come on the Dubs. Or I'll translate that for the culchies... Hon the Dubs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

I'm in too - looking forward to it, only played it once and enjoyed it - some great views

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I will be away, sorry to miss the first one.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭a post punk

"Culchie".......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Alanm

I'm in too. Culchie side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Break80

I.m in Culcie all the way.:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

Count me in - up the Dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

jaysus

Very few dubs so far,

2016 was mess for me and used so much leave and lost a bit of control of my own destiny.

At moment can't make it

but if stuck in any way for a player - pm me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

jaysus

Very few dubs so far,

2016 was mess for me and used so much leave and lost a bit of control of my own destiny.

At moment can't make it

but if stuck in any way for a player - pm me.

It'll be like a match in Croker, all the Dubs will arrive in last minute! :p:D

Will do Fix, thanks a mill. Hopefully 2017 will be a better year for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Dub (watch your wallet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

Im good to go so far and will have a guest and potential new member both Dubs.. Living in the sticks... stealing their women and drinking their drink! :D

In the words of Mcgregor.. and what! what you going to do about it? NOTHING you'll do NOTHING :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Hoping to get to this also!

Nothing like giving the dubs a good beating! Especially when you're living in the city, stealing their women and drinking their booze, and taking their jobs woop woop :)

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Hoping to get to this also!

Nothing like giving the dubs a good beating! Especially when you're living in the city, stealing their women and drinking their booze, and taking their jobs woop woop :)

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Course is in great nick for this time of year guys. Make sure that you play off "the nose" teebox on the 6th pictured below.

405914.jpg

Fantastic photos there Highline. I'm really looking forward to returning there. For the time of the year Wicklow is the ideal spot for our first outing.

ballyk wrote: »
    Fantastic photos there Highline. I'm really looking forward to returning there. For the time of the year Wicklow is the ideal spot for our first outing.

Cheers ballyk. I just hope the weather stays as good as it has been for you. I was playing on Saturday and it almost felt like a summer roll on the greens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

I have to attend a family culchie reunion so unfortunately won't make it this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

I'm in, for the Dubs

benny79 wrote: »
    Im good to go so far and will have a guest and potential new member both Dubs.. Living in the sticks... stealing their women and drinking their drink! :D

In the words of Mcgregor.. and what! what you going to do about it? NOTHING you'll do NOTHING :D

Ha ha! If you can respond on teamer once you know for sure that would be great. The guest and the potential new member are both very welcome also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭acalmenvoy

New member here, looking forward to this, my son is in the process of joining boards, so will be there as well.
    Both culchies, strange saying that, being from a city..:eek:

acalmenvoy wrote: »
    New member here, looking forward to this, my son is in the process of joining boards, so will be there as well.
    Both culchies, strange saying that, being from a city..:eek:

Didn't know there were any cities outside of Dublin :p

lol, sure take a spin around the world and you soon realise that even Dublin is hard pressed to be called a city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

Seve OB wrote: »
    lol, sure take a spin around the world and you soon realise that even Dublin is hard pressed to be called a city

You sure you're a Dub Seve? I get the impression your sticking up for these country folk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Milk_Tray

Shame its early in the year as it might be off alot of mats but great course - definitely hit off the nose on the 6th- 200 yard carry!!

Milk_Tray wrote: »
    Shame its early in the year as it might be off alot of mats but great course - definitely hit off the nose on the 6th- 200 yard carry!!

Captain, any idea if it is mats?

It's more than likely going to be off mostly mats unfortunately. You guys can still play off the 6th though.

If that is the case then I wouldn't be playing unfortunately - will wait for official confirmation though

Captain, any idea if it is mats?

Not yet, I'll give them a call later today.

Nephew is a member.

At the moment most (but not all) holes are teeing off mats. No fairway mats, placing in fairway and first cut. No temporary greens.

Seve OB wrote: »
    Nephew is a member.

At the moment most (but not all) holes are teeing off mats. No fairway mats, placing in fairway and first cut. No temporary greens.

I've no major issues with mats on the tee boxes. Wouldn't be too keen on fairway mats though

Agreed - my understanding of being "off mats" is carrying a square of astroturf round with you and hitting all fairway shots off it. Tee boxes not an issue.

No- definitely no fairway mats! It's placing through the green (so everywhere except hazards) and most holes will be off mats at the teebox. The greens really are in great condition and are playing very fast! Some difference from this time last year when most courses were like bogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

What's the format of this likely to be?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    What's the format of this likely to be?

Format will be confirmed in the next day or so but ideally four all matchplay as a practice session for the Jug but I'm open to other, better ideas if anyone has some.

Just to follow up on the above.. played today and it was only the par 3's (bar one par 4 (the 15th) which was getting work done on the teebox) that were off mats. Hopefully it will be the same next week for you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Hacker111

HighLine wrote: »
    Just to follow up on the above.. played today and it was only the par 3's (bar one par 4 (the 15th) which was getting work done on the teebox) that were off mats. Hopefully it will be the same next week for you all.

Grass tees mainly lads, mats for par 3s, weather dependent really but no major issue....

check out video on facebook page, its great

Enjoy your day In Wicklow lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Break80

Apologies lads. I will have to pull out next week.
    Damaged my back at work.I need to rest it to get it right for the season Enjoy putting the dubs back in their box.:):):)

HighLine wrote: »

Highline, what kind of warm up facilities are there at the course (range/chipping/putting?)

We do have warm-up facilities but they are limited. Putting green in front of the clubhouse and a short practice area with chipping green just adjacent to the 4th hole. There is also a net cage beside the 1st teebox.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Am not going to make this unfortunately, I've a soccer match on Saturday :(

Hacker111 wrote: »
    Grass tees mainly lads, mats for par 3s, weather dependent really but no major issue....

check out video on facebook page, its great

Enjoy your day In Wicklow lads!

Just spoke to the club and they said it should be a case of mats for teeing off on par 3s only. It's up to ourselves whether we play 3-balls or 4-balls.

Thanks for the tip on the facebook video Hacker111. Will have a look later. Are you playing there yourself on Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

Not going to make it on Saturday, sorry. Hope the day goes for the dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Early on the timesheet if at all possible would suit me please.

Sorry to hear about the injury Break80.

Thanks for the update Princess Poppy.

@ Roadrunner, no problem.

Can I also request an early tee time if possible please captain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jarrieta

Hey lads, I will be joining for this event and hopefully for most of the year

See you this Saturday

jarrieta wrote: »

See you this Saturday

welcome to the fun house :D

Can I also request an early tee time if possible please captain?

Sure thing.

jarrieta wrote: »

See you this Saturday

That's great. Are you a Dub or a culchie so we can allocate you to a team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jarrieta

Let's say a Dub