Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCPS clamp, YES I was clamped!

• 05-01-2017 9:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

I was in shop and decided to park by txt, while typing my car reg number I didn't pay enough attention and sent the txt missing one number, like my reg is 151D... I sent 15D....
    Got clamped, after a ****e day, I decided to break the locker with a hammer, after reading noticed its 'criminal offence' damage their property, but didn't came to my mind to lift the car with the jack and change the tire.
    I wasn't sure what to do, so I kept the chain and the triangle part while I figure it out - looking for help...
    No need to say after Xmas, hols pretty much broke €€€.

What should I do now?
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭josip

NCPS won't come after you.
    What should you do?
    Delete your post so that others don't start asking about being broke after Christmas yet driving a 151.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Spoils of war.
    Congrats mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

If you are sure you were not seen / identified, deny all knowledge of seeing a clamp and state that you paid for your parking after querying when and where they are referring to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

mickdw wrote: »
    If you are sure you were not seen / identified, deny all knowledge of seeing a clamp and state that you paid for your parking after querying when and where they are referring to.

There seems to be a person who goes around removing clamps
    No one knows who it is but it's definitely not the car owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Mhunk0 wrote: »
    I was in shop and decided to park by txt, while typing my car reg number I didn't pay enough attention and sent the txt missing one number, like my reg is 151D... I sent 15D....
    Got clamped, after a ****e day, I decided to break the locker with a hammer, after reading noticed its 'criminal offence' damage their property, but didn't came to my mind to lift the car with the jack and change the tire.
    I wasn't sure what to do, so I kept the chain and the triangle part while I figure it out - looking for help...

What should I do now?
    Cheers

Change the tyre, good luck with taking the tyre off. It's more like take the wishbone apart. If it was as simple as changing the wheel then everyone would be at it.

Aside from being clamped you took it on yourself to steal and damage their property.

To answer you honestly I don't know what you can do now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

TonyStark wrote: »
    Change the tyre, good luck with taking the tyre off. It's more like take the wishbone apart. If it was as simple as changing the wheel then everyone would be at it.

Aside from being clamped you took it on yourself to steal and damage their property.

To answer you honestly I don't know what you can do now!

Say nothing to no one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭munster87

Angle grinder is the way to go with clamps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Mhunk0

munster87 wrote: »
    Angle grinder is the way to go with clamps.

Going to buy one of those

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Phil.x

What I seen in a carpark in blanch village a few months back.
    A car was clamped and the guys on the phone, next thing a man with a consaw rocks up and cuts the lock off and was gone in 20 seconds. The man puts the yellow triangle into his car and drives off😠it was sooooo quick. Dont know what if anything happened after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Buy the same lock, and keep in the boot to use it as a decoy when you are parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

eeguy wrote: »
    Say nothing to no one.

Maybe not post about it on the internet!

Satriale wrote: »
    Buy the same lock, and keep in the boot to use it as a decoy when you are parking.

And?

And?

Well, if you have your own clamp on the wheel, they arent likely to put on another one are they? :P

I think you should delete your OP and ask the quoters nicely if they'd do the same.

Satriale wrote: »
    Well, if you have your own clamp on the wheel, they arent likely to put on another one are they? :P

I think you should delete your OP and ask the quoters nicely if they'd do the same.

Satriale
    My intention wasn't to be clamped.
    Happened because of a silly mistake while typing the txt.

Now Looking for advise to fix the ****e I did. Lost 120€ Paying the fee- without the locker I've break....

Is it known any implications about this?
    Have ever someone being on trial for this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

It's grand, I took a consaw to one last year and left it at the side of the road, never heard another thing. It was my mam's car, she had a valid permit displayed but the management co. said there was nothing they could do so I felt justified in my own mind at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

josip wrote: »
    others don't start asking about being broke after Christmas yet driving a 151.

Yeah because if you bought a car 2 years ago you of course should be flush every week there after for years to come (ESPECIALLY AFTER CHRISTMAS) tut tut. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

tossy wrote: »
    Yeah because if you bought a car 2 years ago you of course should be flush every week there after for years to come (ESPECIALLY AFTER CHRISTMAS) tut tut. :rolleyes:

:rolleyes: There's always one that doesn't get the joke :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Satriale
    My intention wasn't to be clamped.
    Happened because of a silly mistake while typing the txt.

Now Looking for advise to fix the ****e I did. Lost 120€ Paying the fee- without the locker I've break....

Is it known any implications about this?
    Have ever someone being on trial for this....

Are you now saying you paid the release fee....and still broke the lock off the clamp ????

I càn tell you, I'd be keeping the clamp too if it cost me 120 notes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

I dont understand, You broke the clamp off and paid the fee??

Sorry lads
    Just asking
    Should I pay the 120€ fee
    Or leave it?
    Like if I pay, I still have the issue that I break their locker to release my car yesterday.

The €120 is a 'release fee'. Bit late for that now.
    Say nothing, and if you are really worried have a quick look at the location to ensure there are no cctv cameras pointing at the spot where this is alleged to have occured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

I'll give you €20 for the clamp :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

How did you get the clamp off again? I say fair to play anyone that gets the better of this extortion racket (which is all clampers are).

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    The €120 is a 'release fee'. Bit late for that now.
    Say nothing, and if you are really worried have a quick look at the location to ensure there are no cctv cameras pointing at the spot where this is alleged to have occured.

Near the entrance there's a camera, prob recording all cars in/out
    Not where I parked - in the very far end corner...

If nobody saw you break it..........

.....why are you posting here telling people you broke it ?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Laviski

road_high wrote: »
    How did you get the clamp off again? I say fair to play anyone that gets the better of this extortion racket (which is all clampers are).

necessary evil cause of the morons out there.

Parking in a disabled spot (without permit visible) or on a double yellow line which is interrupting the flow of traffic - cars should be just lifted and crushed. Lack of cop on and decency is lacking with the individual and the right to have a car should be taken away.

in this case for the OP, seems like a genuine mistake and if the company has a genuine appeals system you should have got your money back. I know some companies that don't have a genuine appeal system, but most do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

S'pose it's better than driving home with the clamp still on. Saw that once while waiting outside school to collect the kids.

Laviski wrote: »

Parking in a disabled spot (without permit visible) or on a double yellow line which is interrupting the flow of traffic - cars should be just lifted and crushed. Lack of cop on and decency is lacking with the individual and the right to have a car should be taken away.

in this case for the OP, seems like a genuine mistake and if the company has a genuine appeals system you should have got your money back. I know some companies that don't have a genuine appeal system, but most do.
    Did you read the Thread ?
    The Op did not pay anybody.

....as for the appeals procedure with Private clampers..good luck with that !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    Did you read the Thread ?
    The Op did not pay anybody.

....as for the appeals procedure with Private clampers..good luck with that !!!
    was making a point in the scenario provided that appeal was also any option.

but to spell it out for others i should have said if he did pay..... he could have appealed and on the merit what he provided it would have being refunded....

it does happen
    In any case, if you read cars shouldnt be clamped but crushed for reasons mentioned. Would solve driver behavior/visibility issues. If a car is parked in a marked space inside the white lines they shouldn't be interfered with.

if there is a lack of car park spaces then this fault is solely with the council's and planning department for allowing the development in the first place.

road_high wrote: »

I had a hammer in my car... Couple of hits and the locker broke.

I don't believe they have a fair appeal system.
    I tried to explain to CS on the phone I txt (have the answer in my phone "You're allowed to park somewhere") she said we haven't got any txt with your car register. Coz I miss 1 number 151D I txt 15D..... So I was pissed and break the locker
    Laviski wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Jim79

TonyStark wrote: »
    If it was as simple as changing the wheel then everyone would be at it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xNsnfzubbjw
    it was simple as that for this guy in galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

It could be pure ****e but I read somewhere that these companies have no right to put their clamps on your vechicle as its deemed to be your private property?? Hense you are fully within your rights to take the clamp off?

Faith+1 wrote: »
    It could be pure ****e but I read somewhere that these companies have no right to put their clamps on your vechicle as its deemed to be your private property?? Hense you are fully within your rights to take the clamp off?

its legal, providing no damage done to the car or clamp. Again most clamping is now done in private property as this is only method to ensure poeple dont park where they feel its okay.
    there further regulation for how clamping is carried out on private property for both for the clamper and clampee

the road traffic bill to be enacted will mean that the NTA will be responsible for this. Link to thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=102030816&postcount=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Wizard

I used to work for them, if you are on CCTV and you can be seen then they can come after you but most likely won't. If no CCTV you can put the clamp up on adverts or done deal and sell it to someone with a caravan.
    They lose about 80 clamps a week.

Wizard wrote: »
    I used to work for them, if you are on CCTV and you can be seen then they can come after you but most likely won't. If no CCTV you can put the clamp up on adverts or done deal and sell it to someone with a caravan.
    They lose about 80 clamps a week.

Theres just CCTV at the car park entrance - dunno if works...
    I'm 100% sure where i parked my car isnt visible at CCTV
    but im going to check it later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

I'd just cut it off.

Good job the Op broke it off 3 days ago, isn't it ? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Wizard

I will put it this way, as I said I used to work for them and if I got clamped by them I would cut it off. You could get someone with a cordless grinder, 20 second job.

Wizard wrote: »
    I will put it this way, as I said I used to work for them and if I got clamped by them I would cut it off. You could get someone with a cordless grinder, 20 second job.

What about the pic they took from my car?
    They won't come after me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

What about the pic they took from my car?
    They won't come after me?

I got clamped one time, so I went for a walk.

When I got back to my car there was no clamp on it anymore.... maybe someone cut it off, I don't know...

If the clamping company came after me with a photo of a clamp on it I would have been telling them I have no idea what they are talking about and where to stick their photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭CaptainR

There's a story I've heard off my dad of a lad he knew who had his own clamp years ago and just clamped it whenever he parked illegally. It was a council one that he'd gotten off someone. He got away with it for a year or two then one day he arrived to his car and all the wheels were clamped. Had to pay to get them all off.

• Site Banned Posts: 95 ✭✭EIRE forever

Only if you break their Lil yellow triangle it's "criminal damage".I got clamped outside the courts on Parkgate st.I was on the path. I smashed the lil plate behind the yellow plate that holds the chain & lock so there was no damage done to anything. Left the chain an triangle at the wall at the spot for them :D haven't heard anything from them. an ****ed up thing is, I got clamped while there was 2 other cars there that didn't get clamped,which was unmarked garda cars. So it's alright for theme to park there but not me? No laws for them but every other silly ass law for us to be controlled under. There has been cases in the UK about this an the people like us won the case. Ye gotta know your law though,which I've been studying :D

What should I do now?
    Cheers