Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late Show 6th January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Urrrgh - presumably they're getting all the RTE people out of the way in the first week and then the rest of 2017 will be a smorgasbord of amazing guests? Eh?

Neeee-il Morrissey - Can He Fix It?

Neeee-il Morrissey - No He Can't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

michael harding and blindboy were only on a few weeks ago?

this is like Parkinson and Billy Connolly at this rate, but with zero interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I'll be Staring at Lakes, Hanging with the Elephant and Talking to Strangers.

Just another Friday night at Lady C's (so to speak …...).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 250 ✭✭Clarebelly

Amy Huberman and Neil Morrissey will join host Ryan Tubridy to chat about their hit new legal drama Striking Out when The Late Late Show returns tomorrow night.

RTE pimping.

With Dancing with the Stars launching this weekend, three contenders – Hughie Maughan, Teresa Mannion and Des Cahill – and their dancing partners will also feature.
    They will be talking about how rehearsals have been going, who is discovering they've got two left feet and who is in contention to lift the glitterball trophy.

RTE pimping.
    RTÉ’s US correspondent Caitriona Perry will be giving viewers an insight into what it was like to cover the Donald Trump circus, where it went wrong for Hillary Clinton, and what it means for the undocumented Irish still living there.

RTE pimping.

The Great Irish Sell Off’s Ian Kehoe will be discussing how vulture funds are quietly buying up property across the country and finding out how their actions are impacting ordinary people.

RTE pimping.

The Rubberbandits’ Blindboy Boatclub and Can’t Cope, Won’t Cope writer Stefanie Preissner are also set to appear.

RTE pimping.

So basically a programme of ads with ad breaks.

Pure scour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Bandage

New year, same formula.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

According to an article on Independent.ie, both LLS and Ray D'Arcy Show have 'stellar' lineups this weekend, and is 'great news for those staying in'.

I kid you not.

Are they paid to write such nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

Catriona Perry always looks totally different on TV in Ireland compared to when she is on TV in the US (while we are watching in Ireland,if you know what I mean).She is not nearly as pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,019 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is Amy and Neil's show any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭brian_t

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is Amy and Neil's show any good?
    That question could lead to a serious derailment of this thread. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Right so, let's see how this is going to play out:

Neil Morrissey and Amy Huberman:

They are going to overplay this series as a mega success even though only one episode has been shown show far. He's going to talk up the popularity of Huberman as a media darling, and how great it is that a woman is the main character. Morrissey will probably have some low-rent joke about Brexit thrown in his direction.

Dancing with the Stars - will probably focus mostly on the gay traveller on the couch. A nice time filler where they don't really have to pay anyone.

Blindboy Boatclub, Michael Harding, Stephanie Pressner - where do I start with this one? Does the plastic bag guy have some sort of **** on Tubridy and the rest of these guys? He's on every week. I look forward to further ****e about how feminism is so important, or some other crap about how capitalism is rubbish and why Donald Trump is such an arsehole. Preissner will be feted as the best thing ever, and how important it is that she wrote a comedy with a female character as the prominent one (see Huberman). Since she also had a pop at Trump on Brendan O'Connell you can expect another one this evening (see Blinboy).

Catriona Perry - the icing on the cake here. This woman was the Irish ambassador for Hillary Clinton propaganda. She absolutely hated Donald Trump, and was practically giddy in the lead up to the vote expecting a Hillary landslide. She was almost in tears the night of the election, I've never seen somebody go through the Kubler-Ross model so quickly. The rest of the evening will be the appetiser in what Tubridy seems hellbent on being a US focused political show, and where one man is criticised constantly.

Anyways, this show is becoming increasingly narrow in its thinking, and Tubridy is at the forefront of this tide towards the liberal narrative on TV here. I'm sure it's a view shared by many here so fair enough, but at this stage it's just boring and he/they should really just get over it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I somehow stumbled on RTE Radio 1 yesterday and Ryan was interviewing Tommy Tiernan. The interview was chalk and cheese to how Ryan is on The Late Late. He was relaxed, funny, able to take the mick out of himself and Tommy.

I don't know what happens when he gets to The Late Late studio as listening to him and Tommy and I was laughing thinking this guy would be good on the TV!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Bandage

I wonder if tonight's guests will go home from RTE and come back in for the show or just hang out in the canteen for a couple of hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

That line up is disgraceful. Absolutely disgusting that it'll be a 2 hr 15min ad for RTE. You listen to the Liveline and it's one ad after another for RTE.

It's obvious now that they need to drop the two chat shows per weekend idea and save a pile of money is wages while they're at it, as the guests just aren't there anymore for two shows.
    CatFromHue wrote: »
    I somehow stumbled on RTE Radio 1 yesterday and Ryan was interviewing Tommy Tiernan. The interview was chalk and cheese to how Ryan is on The Late Late. He was relaxed, funny, able to take the mick out of himself and Tommy.

I don't know what happens when he gets to The Late Late studio as listening to him and Tommy and I was laughing thinking this guy would be good on the TV!

Tubridy is permanently nervous and giddy on the Late Late, he can't cut serious chat which is why he's not suited to it and should just go. He always looks massively relieved when it's over and when each guest has been through the system without some massive screw up.

He never derivatives from his script, and is in a panic if somebody does, always ready with the.... "you must come back another time and tell us more about that" like line.

We've been paying for his apprenticeship for long enough. Stick to the radio or give him his old show back, but he is utterly lost on this programme.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Oh yeah I agree on his TLL performance's, I was just taken back at how good he was on the radio doing the exact same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I somehow had predicted before I found out that Amy Hubermann would be on promoting this new series and there would be something about Dancing with the Stars. It really seems to be the case that this Tubridy show is just a vehicle to promote all other RTE shows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

NIMAN wrote: »
    According to an article on Independent.ie, both LLS and Ray D'Arcy Show have 'stellar' lineups this weekend, and is 'great news for those staying in'.

I kid you not.

Are they paid to write such nonsense?

The Independent, RTE and most of the rest of the media are all one and the same. Controlled and owned by the same individuals behind the scenes. Just look across the media and you see the same people writing in papers, presenting TV programmes, etc. and the same guests. The media = the Irish dictatorship/elitist system simple as. So of course they are paid to write this by their bosses who control these shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The Independent, RTE and most of the rest of the media are all one and the same. Controlled and owned by the same individuals behind the scenes. Just look across the media and you see the same people writing in papers, presenting TV programmes, etc. and the same guests. The media = the Irish dictatorship/elitist system simple as. So of course they are paid to write this by their bosses who control these shows.

If you look at the articles on different sites, they are just slightly rehashing the RTE press release. Lazy journalism at it's best.

You are right in that there aree certain people in the media who won't critiscise RTE. I mean how else can you guarantee the odd appearance on Marian Finucane, Claire Byrne, Miriam O'Callaghan et. al. if you start to point out that the emperor has no clothes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Sure feck it lads. Chill out with a beer and some whining!

Lookin forward to it!

Happy New Year (same as the old year)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Just got a notification from the Irish Times about some musical tribute to the artists who died last year.

I'm gonna try to be nice this year (ha!).

Bet it'll last for ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

ligerdub wrote: »
    Blindboy Boatclub, Michael Harding, Stephanie Pressner - where do I start with this one?

Jaysus, it says a lot when the guy with a ripped plastic bag over his head is the sanest one on the panel.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Sure feck it lads. Chill out with a beer and some whining! Lookin forward to it! Happy New Year (same as the old year)!

Exactly Done... I actually enjoy it more when I'm drinking a beer that reflects the personality of the presenter.

disclaimer: This is a bit risqué, even for me.

12-big-cock-ipa-dirty-beer-names.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,303 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Evening all! :D

New Year, New...and 'improved' LLS?

*looks at tonight's line-up of guests*

*record scratches*

Oh. :(

Bonus points for anybody who can find the link between my beer and WMM's video (above).

Although to be fair, I should have read the warning signs when RTÉ decide to have a programme about 1916 on over midnight on New Year's Evzzzzzzz...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Just got a notification from the Irish Times about some musical tribute to the artists who died last year.

Would have been more appropriate to have such a tribute at the end of 2016, surely? Evening all. Nathan Carter is doing a Bowie number, I hear or maybe not.

Happy New Year to ye!

Ladies, I hope you’re enjoying *Oíche Nollaig na mBan. Now Guys, we’re all about equal opportunities on this thread, so we’ll happily include ye in our little celebration, shur it wouldn’t be the same without ye ;)
    nollaignamban.jpg?w=700&h=400

Translation/background info for the forum’s favourite Welshman.

*Women’s Little Christmas or ‘Little Christmas’ – so-called because years and years ago the 6th of January marked the day that the ladies took a break from domestic duties and celebrated their own (little) Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

That vulture fund show is likely to want me put my can through the tele followed by my foot.

''Vulture funds''

Aaaaaand, we're back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all.

If these are "stars", then I'm a China man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

Striking out is a "smash hit" now is it? Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭tinpib

To quote Conor McGregor "Who da fcuk is dat guy??" [Red Suit]

Huey Maughan?

He sure has changed his image since Fun Lovin' Criminals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

For the money and their careers, Tubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

ah shut up Des

M

At least he's honest, wonder how much a head €20k?

I've a feeling Des is going to be the Ann Widdecombe of this Dancing with the Stars lark.

article-2075671-0ED9B24800000578-436_468x560.jpg

M

I'm going to approach RTÉ with a script for a show next year called Strictly Come Drinking, basically 10 people drink at a table until they fall down, winner is last person standing.

Des Cahill is due on the cruise ship for tonight's performance.

Hughy must be sponsored by Cocoa Brown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Des and Hughie must share the same hair colour.

Des Cahill is due on the cruise ship for tonight's performance.
    I think he is going to start calling de Bingo numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Hooked

I'm going to approach RTÉ with a script for a show next year called Strictly Come Drinking, basically 10 people drink at a table until they fall down, winner is last person standing.

So... Basically... Those following this thread... With more people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Dicky bow boy is annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I'd give Teresa a dart

There isn't much craic to be knocked out of Des, is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Hooked

Dicky bow boy is annoying

Ah Des isn't that bad :)

M

Des and Hughie must share the same hair colour.

Valspar - Jet Black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Berserker wrote: »
    Would have been more appropriate to have such a tribute at the end of 2016, surely? Evening all. Nathan Carter is doing a Bowie number, I hear or maybe not.
    :eek: Wash your keyboard out with soap and water! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Tandey

Any time I see that Manion one it looks like she is borderline drunk.