Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IMRA Season 2017

• 04-01-2017 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭

Looking forward to Jan 15th, always great to kick off a new season!
    https://www.imra.ie/events/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I think we used to have this in the main forum - was it more popular then? Was just thinking of kicking off a BHAA thread and was going to stick it in the main forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Djoucer

Might be worth combining it with existing mountain / trail thread; IMRA Season / trail races 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Djoucer wrote: »
    Might be worth combining it with existing mountain / trail thread; IMRA Season / trail races 2017.

Agreed, it tended to get lost in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭summit2summit

Looking forward to Jan 15th, always great to kick off a new season!
    https://www.imra.ie/events/

Was meant to start this in athletics and running, didn't cop it was athletics and running events! Mod, please move as you feel fit. Thx!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

https://www.imra.ie/events/view/id/1502 - Interested in this one.. hopefully more details will go up in the next week, dunno how I would get from the finish back to the start etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭lenihankevin

Real interested in the sli muscrai as well but not sure if after only a year of running if I'll have the legs for it....worked in the area for years and always loved the area...sure mite head down and give it a go...what's the worst that could happen!!

It turns out to be a good bit longer than 50k!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭lenihankevin

It turns out to be a good bit longer than 50k!

Yea that's what could go wrong alright... ( cue image of me wandering the hills of baile bhuirne for days!!) Mite put it off for another year!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Running Fool

Proper newbie question but... the Howth Winter https://www.imra.ie/events/details/id/1424/

Hows that for a 1st timer?

Hi Running Fool, this would be a good intro into hill running alright. The distance is relatively short and the climb is not too bad either.

S2S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Running Fool

Hi Running Fool, this would be a good intro into hill running alright. The distance is relatively short and the climb is not too bad either.

S2S

Great! I think I might. Looking through the site mandatory kit mentions a jacket.
    Through the various discussions on the forum I can only see people arguing back and forth about it. Is there an example of a basic/cheap jacket that fulfills this criteria?

Any type of jacket, as long as it is shower and wind proof, will suffice. You could spend €10 or €500 on one. Up to you really but you do need one to race. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

Is there an example of a basic/cheap jacket that fulfills this criteria?

I use this ultra lightweight cycling jacket - €20, from Decathlon. It packs away to nothing, acts as a windbreak if nothing else.

100412.2526@compuserve.com

I use a €6 Lidl or Aldi one. Never wore it on a standard IMRA mountain run, had it that day on Galtymore 2 years ago that was one of the catalysts for the rule...but left it at the bottom and regretted it for the half hour we were pulverised on Galtybeg and Galtymore summits. In the UK they are strict about taped seams, they've had a few bad incidents over the years and leggings also required for kit check in a good few runs there, so presume in time it might be brought in here. It's an interesting one, the debate between letting runners be wholly responsible for themselves or having kit requirements, but it's the rule and can see the wisdom of getting runners used to carrying it, even when getting baked on Carrauntoohil like last year.

Another opportunity to use my photo from last years Brokagh race and the difference that 40 mins can make in the hills...377875.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Another opportunity to use my photo from last years Brokagh race and the difference that 40 mins can make in the hills...377875.jpg

Jaysus :eek: not sure the jacket I used for RTL would be any help in those conditions!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Another opportunity to use my photo from last years Brokagh race and the difference that 40 mins can make in the hills...

I was thinking of this exact set of photos when recalling the last race I was glad of a good rain jacket.

Jaysus :eek: not sure the jacket I used for RTL would be any help in those conditions!!

A lot of people ran that race in a singlet, fortunately for Des Kennedy in the first photo he was up and down before the fuss, but plenty of people in singlets summitted in the whiteout. Thankfully due to the rule, everyone would of at least have had one extra layer in case of a fall.

Yea that's what could go wrong alright... ( cue image of me wandering the hills of baile bhuirne for days!!) Mite put it off for another year!!

Just back from doing the Kealkil Ballingeary section. And it's very tough, 29km, 920m of cumulative ascent and a mix of oozing mud, treacherous slick grass on downhills and then tarred road - hard to even pick shoes, but I have well worn Mudclaws that were okay on each. If they start it at night, there could be a few wandering off and a few nursing bruises. The plus side was the wonderful scenery around Gougane Barra...but again a night start would mean runners don't even get that benefit. That was 3.5 hours, now there was 6 of us and all starting back into training so not peak fitness...but on the other hand knowing it was 30km meant we could run faster than it would be run in the race. They're thinking of changing the start time to morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

:eek: at least in Howth you're never too far from civilisation! (For us beginners who are considering it)

annapr wrote: »
    :eek: at least in Howth you're never too far from civilisation! (For us beginners who are doing it)

FYP :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

Sone big numbers in howth this morning. Thanfully it started down the hill, it would have been some mess going up the steps.

Squeezed into the top 20 after a dolmen disaster at the end. Lots of people done the follow the leader and not the flags so i didnt loose to many places but lots of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

Great start to the East Coast IMRA season. Unseasonable temperatures of plus 10, indoor registration, chip timing and a course that twists and turns to make the most of Howth Head. I had been warned about bottle necks and dashed off from the start like a man possessed, alas gravity and faster men took over.
    In the first 3k I was thinking this is hard, I wish it was longer and in the last 3k I was thinking this is hard, it wish it was shorter/over. You can't beat racing.
    Fair play to Laura, Pól and all on duty. Getting 230 runners in and out and started so efficiently is an unpaid job well done.
    A very difficult course to mark with tight turns in high vegetation and thanks to Gerry Brady and the marking team. I also headed for that Dolmen on the last right hand turn and in fairness there were 7 pieces of tape on the corner :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

was this an actual dolmen or is that an IMRA technical term?

annapr wrote: »
    was this an actual dolmen or is that an IMRA technical term?

Aideens grave, a megalithical portal tomb.

It could be new IMRA slang for 'follow the tape not the leader!!'

IMG_2888.jpg

A proper dolmen with one of the stones after slipping off.

Peterx wrote: »
    Great start to the East Coast IMRA season. Unseasonable temperatures of plus 10, indoor registration, chip timing and a course that twists and turns to make the most of Howth Head. I had been warned about bottle necks and dashed off from the start like a man possessed, alas gravity and faster men took over.
    In the first 3k I was thinking this is hard, I wish it was longer and in the last 3k I was thinking this is hard, it wish it was shorter/over. You can't beat racing.
    Fair play to Laura, Pól and all on duty. Getting 230 runners in and out and started so efficiently is an unpaid job well done.
    A very difficult course to mark with tight turns in high vegetation and thanks to Gerry Brady and the marking team. I also headed for that Dolmen on the last right hand turn and in fairness there were 7 pieces of tape on the corner :)

I had ran up that way for my warm up, the tracks were marked v clearly and i knew not to go down to the dolmen. Still when your tired and flying towards a finish and trying to figure how your gonna get by 3 lads you just lose all sense and follow the leader.

I was sick when i seen it, i thought ( correctly) i could just go right to the finish, but i turned and went left with everyone else, i changed my mind and shouted at them to go the other way, then someone else came flying down and went left and we all followed to the left again, he then stopped and said he was lost too. I starting to feel like we were trapped.

At this stage my brain came back and i went off to the right, out onto the golf course and seen the finish. Instead of charging onto the finish, i turned back toward the dolmen and shouted at about 4 or 5 lads to follow me, at that stage i could not get back up to speed and they all passed me and about another 2 or 3 that had gone the correct way. Regardless it wwas thorougly enjoyable race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Can't wait for race 2 at Hellfire, one of my favourites. Did the Spting and Summer last year.
    You will know me by the lad with the pint of Smithwicks at the end of the race next Saturday!

Weather looks good for Hellfire with little or no wind. Just the small matter of the hill, twice.

Registered for this & was really looking forward to it but body says no :(

Haven't raced in two months due to injury, done no speedwork or anything lately. But I'm missing these runs so I hope to make tomorrow at least for the craic.

Btw if you're not running, it's always a good time to get the volunteering in;)

Gimme a break I haven't done any imra races yet :pac: I'm good at volunteering though so will do my fair share once I'm back on my feet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

First hill race of the year for me. Looking forward to it.

I'd not raced Hellfire before. Enjoyed the course, the climbs are tough but not sustained so you know each time you'll get a breather soon enough. Great to see so many out again.

With the weather forecast, I might get a chance to get some snowy running pics like last year...
    408587.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Djoucer

Park runners deciding to try hill runs.

http://youtu.be/1CH4kCYyI6I

That's a brilliant one. Anyone own a T5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That's a brilliant one. Anyone own a T5?

Road Trip!

Hello. Anyone here available to do laptopper for the Ticknock race. Exemptions apply for the usual suspects Mick ;)

Another of the usual suspects in Dermot Murphy is now doing laptop at Ticknock.

Car parking will be very tight at Ticknock as the overflow carpark we have used in the past is unavailable. Please carpool, get dropped off or cycle up.

If you wish to race you must be registered for 2017 on the www.imra.ie site using their myimra log in system. There are no on the day entries for unregistered runners.

thanks,
    Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Hey Mr DubOnHoliday. Share with the good people on boards that photo, you know the one....

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

Hey Mr DubOnHoliday. Share with the good people on boards that photo, you know the one....

This one? The title is: Gravity 411584.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Super photo. More photo delights and the video of same on the IMRA FB page.

We need to see you at Annagh Hill next year...

You must be bloody joking. Well, maybe....

Entries for the WWR (Wicklow Way Relay) are now open.

One of the best days out on the IMRA calendar this event has been almost completely annexed by the 8 person team.

The fabled 2 man teams of burnt feet, balanced 4 person teams and perplexing 5 person teams of yore are fading into distant sean nos territory.

My club has been batting the emails back and forth for the last few days trying to get the ducks in a logistical line and balancing the egos and the needs of the one(s) with the needs of the eight.

Speaking of the egos and the needs of the one I myself have entered this category announcing my unavailability for certain legs and preference for another leg.
    Such emails used to vex me slightly when I was briefly tasked with helping the organising of the team and now here I am, at the same messing..for shame..

It's a great job being team captain on the good daze although it does seem to have a high burnout rate, possibly due to the bad days.. :)

Have entered a team. I believe its the first time for my club so it will be an eye opener to say the least.

Ah ''tis a great event to be sure to be sure.
    I'll be on the Glendalough Mountains AC team, unless I'm assigned Leg 2 for the the 3rd time(I'll be injured if I am :D )

It was great crack at the finish last year. The first two teams had crossed the line and everyone was expecting xxxxxxx(forget the team) to arrive in third but out of the blue UCD took bronze. With that xxxxxxx team arrived from the complete opposite direction! Oh how we laughed:pac::pac:

Have entered a team. I believe its the first time for my club so it will be an eye opener to say the least.

What leg are you doing A?