Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terrorised in our own home

• 03-01-2017 6:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭

My life has turned into a living nightmare and I just dont know what to do.

My 14 yo son was set upon but a gang of lads on New Years Day. He managed to get away and get safe by someone giving him a lift to his girlfriends house. This person who gave him a lift saw him running from this gang jumped out punched one of the gang and got my boy to saftey. Turns out the punched fella is from a big angry family and now they r very upset and blaming my boy

This gang came after my boy before on the first day of his summer holidays last year and he was almost stabbed. AskING around it appeared the came from quite dodgy families so after weeks of agonising we decided to put our heads down and try get in with things and not involve the guards. My son stayed in everyday of his summer holidays

After they chas ed him on new years day I woke my husband who had been on nights and he went to fetch our boy home . When he got back there was 12 of them sitting on the wall opposite our house staring over. They have never been down here before. My husband went over roaring to get away from our home and leave our boy alone. They didn't even move. 14 to 16 year old with not an ounce of fear in them.

Called guards and got the oh well call you back we have no cars in the area story. I took the kids away that night just to be sure and we are now on holidays in the country. We get a call yesterday to say my husbands van has been smashed to pieces in the garden. His livelihood destroyed. Called guards and they made a note . I don't know why we bother

This gang of animals all had weapons on Sunday. The reason they are after my boy was all this he said u said something about me bull. Which boils down to them being bored animals and picking on whoever it suits them.

I am physically sick to my stomach and haven't slept since this happened. They won't stop at the van. What if my home is next . My husband does nights do I sit in the window watching and waiting trying to protect my kids. A neighbour has cctv of the gang decending on my house last night .

Do I try approach their families and reason with them? The guards are sitting on their hands . What if these families won't appreciate the guards nosing in their business and we'll have agrivated a much older group. A more dangerous group.

I can't think staight . How do I help my boy. Has anyone any expierence of this type of situation?

We both work very hard and live in a nice community and kids are so settled in schools. I don't want to leave. Any why should I have to ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Yes, CCTV is a good idea.

But more importantly involve the Garda in everything. Tell them everything and get down to the station and be as loud and obnoxious as possible. If there is another local station involve them too. Make sure there is a Tour De Force of complaints about these people and the handling of it.

Write to your local councilllor and TD. Contact the media if need be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Get in touch with GSOC for a start. The Gardai ignoring sh!t like this is a disgrace and needs to be stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

My life has turned into a living nightmare and I just dont know what to do.

My 14 yo son was set upon but a gang of lads on New Years Day. He managed to get away and get safe by someone giving him a lift to his girlfriends house. This person who gave him a lift saw him running from this gang jumped out punched one of the gang and got my boy to saftey. Turns out the punched fella is from a big angry family and now they r very upset and blaming my boy

This gang came after my boy before on the first day of his summer holidays last year and he was almost stabbed. AskING around it appeared the came from quite dodgy families so after weeks of agonising we decided to put our heads down and try get in with things and not involve the guards. My son stayed in everyday of his summer holidays

After they chas ed him on new years day I woke my husband who had been on nights and he went to fetch our boy home . When he got back there was 12 of them sitting on the wall opposite our house staring over. They have never been down here before. My husband went over roaring to get away from our home and leave our boy alone. They didn't even move. 14 to 16 year old with not an ounce of fear in them.

Called guards and got the oh well call you back we have no cars in the area story. I took the kids away that night just to be sure and we are now on holidays in the country. We get a call yesterday to say my husbands van has been smashed to pieces in the garden. His livelihood destroyed. Called guards and they made a note . I don't know why we bother

This gang of animals all had weapons on Sunday. The reason they are after my boy was all this he said u said something about me bull. Which boils down to them being bored animals and picking on whoever it suits them.

I am physically sick to my stomach and haven't slept since this happened. They won't stop at the van. What if my home is next . My husband does nights do I sit in the window watching and waiting trying to protect my kids. A neighbour has cctv of the gang decending on my house last night .

Do I try approach their families and reason with them? The guards are sitting on their hands . What if these families won't appreciate the guards nosing in their business and we'll have agrivated a much older group. A more dangerous group.

I can't think staight . How do I help my boy. Has anyone any expierence of this type of situation?

We both work very hard and live in a nice community and kids are so settled in schools. I don't want to leave. Any why should I have to ???

Get CCTV and record everything.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Tell the guards you've captured one of them and he looks like he's bleeding to death. They'd have to make some effort to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Oh God, that is absolutely appalling. I'm so very sorry your family are experiencing that.
    I have never experienced anything at that level, though as a stranger in a very rural location we did experience harassment from morons in the early years, including some minor attacks on the children, but nothing even approaching the level you describe.

I am a great believer in running away from battles that cannot be won. It may be seen as the cowards option, but I don't see it like that - some people cannot be reasoned with, some battles will wear one out in the end. In your shoes I would leave that place. Put the house up for sale. Start somewhere else. Life is short. Life is precious. Another place would be better. Just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Also if the Garda are not doing anything to stop this, construct methods of community retribution. Remember, if they are from rough families they probably have a lot of enemies. The law abiding citizens is the last person on the list of suspects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭murphydublin

I point blank refuse to move my kids schools. They are doing really well and I'm not having some no marks mess up their education.

I say this because even if we did move (which is a horrific thought I love our home) animals will simply follow kids from school or me collecting them

I just can't see how this will ever end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I point blank refuse to move my kids schools. They are doing really well and I'm not having some no marks mess up their education.

I say this because even if we did move (which is a horrific thought I love our home) animals will simply follow kids from school or me collecting them

So sorry. A terrible situation.

Make a formal complaint to the Garda Ombudsman. see

https://www.gardaombudsman.ie/complaints/complaints.html

There is even a form online to make it easier

Or, first, write to the head honcho locally and say that you will do this if something is not done.

I had to do this after I was assaulted .. I got action at local level then.

They have a duty of care to you. .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Keep on and on at the guards. If your neighbours have cctv coverage insist they take this as evidence. Do not even consider moving. This will pass if they get enough hassle from the guards.

14 year old - chased - punched - almost stabbed - confined to home for summer months - gang waiting on wall opposite house.....

Their performance in education will be affected more in the long run by that kind of dreadful violence than by any move.

I would live in a caravan in the middle of a bog rather than live one more minute with that level of threat to my child. Even though I love my home, I would drop the attachment to it in a heartbeat.

As you said yourself, you do not see how this would end. I don't either. Cnuts like those attackers do not have epiphanies.
    Anyways...best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭sharkfox

Do you know anyone around the area that they might have some respect for or even be afraid of that could have a word with them for you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

sharkfox wrote: »
    Do you know anyone around the area that they might have some respect for or even be afraid of that could have a word with them for you?

Parish priest maybe? Not joking, often the only authority figure that these kind of scummers respect.

sharkfox wrote: »

We have made some calls in the hopé that someone knows someone who can help.

Part if me wants to go to their schools and arrange to meet with parents and try sort it all out but how likely is it that the parents will listen or be surprised or even entertain me .

On one side if the families are dodgy they may get angrier at us for bringing police attention to them. On the other side they may give the bullies he'll for doing it. Leaving the bullies more angry and prone to lash out

I feel so trapped. My husband is in ribbons. He wants to sort once and for all. But he's an adult and they r legally children and I can't loose him. He wants to protect us and is so angry and frustrated that nothing is being done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Is there a local Sinn Fein politician you could talk to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

Forget about living in a caravan in the middle of a bog ..... Camp out in your local Garda Station. This is a law and order issue, and thats what the Gardai are there for. Speak to the Superintendant TODAY. Have your concerns noted and recorded. If more intimidation happens, there will be a record on Pulse & the guards will have to intervene. This is a dreadful ordeal for you & your family. I hope you can stop it. Best of luck.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

where about s is this area? in Dublin? can we ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Rmgblue

Get in touch with GSOC for a start. The Gardai ignoring sh!t like this is a disgrace and needs to be stopped.

Where did she say the guards are ignoring ****? Is it not reasonable to accept that they might not have had a car in the area at the time? Going to the local super is a better idea rather that gsoc! GSOC I'm sure are up the walls dealing with other fabricated complaints

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Have you gone down to the guards in person? They mightnt be as quick to fob you off that way.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭sqdz

@murphydublin :

Hi ! I'm surprised they don't come, I think you need to call again the Garda. if the guy doesn't want to move his ass, ask to talk with a superior.

Personally my ex neighbor call the Garda, because we had a little dispute (I yelled in the street.. he probably be afraid because I'm foreigner and was in Army). After 10 min, they come at home, and I explained the story.

maybe try to talk with the parents ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

Is there a local Sinn Fein politician you could talk to?

An excellent way of putting it!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

I'd try talking to the family of the ringleader first before going to the guards, if you go straight to the guards your going to be labeled a rat. If your husband goes to the father/older brother first and explain the situation you will get more respect in the long run. It may or may not work but it has always worked for me. Obviously if that doesn't work and the intimation continues then involve the guards.

Just got a call from a neighbour . The front win dow has now been put in. I'm 5 hours away and need to get back but cant put my children in that house. I feel so helpless

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Have you gone down to the guards in person? They mightnt be as quick to fob you off that way.

Yes we took my son there on new years day to make a statement. They said they will be in touch ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭jennyhayes123

I have no advice but am thinking of you since I read your thread earlier this morning. It's an absolute disgrace. Bullying is the worst thing you can do to any person and to do this to not only a child but a whole family is a disgrace. I would be ashamed to have raised a scumbag. Chances are the parents are no better. Some people should be put down.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Just got a call from a neighbour . The front win dow has now been put in. I'm 5 hours away and need to get back but cant put my children in that house. I feel so helpless
    Yes we took my son there on new years day to make a statement. They said they will be in touch ......

That sort of craic isn't on. No family should have to live in fear in their own home. So I would be inclined to go over the heads of the Gardai where possible and speak with the Garda Ombudsman and local TDs. Would you consider a community effort with neighbours to resolve this in a non-violent manner? I'm sure they wouldn't appreciate this sort of carry on around their own homes either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Don't bother approaching the parents. The little cnuts obviously didn't lick it off a stone.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Don't bother approaching the parents. The little cnuts obviously didn't lick it off a stone.

I would say, if the OP does approach these hooligans parents, do so as a group with Neighbours. Strength in numbers, especially with the Gardai, in order to be taken seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭sullivk

This is just shocking, I can't believe the Gardai are doing nothing about it. I firmly believe that people who shout loudest get what they want. Go to the station and refuse to leave until something is done about it.
    I would make a log of every little incident and phone the Gardai for each and every one. Be an absolute thorn in their side until they take some action. Call the local newspapers, TDs etc. And xplain how you've been fobbed off.

I wouldn't bother approaching the parents as likelihood is they are not much different than the kids they are rearing. Even if they are decent people, it sounds like they have no control over these little sh!ts...

I am fuming just reading this thread, I feel so sorry for you and your family OP. Nobody should have to put up with this behaviour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

My sympathy OP. Been there, done that. I wouldn't rely much on garda assistance unfortunately. But based on your location in previous posts you are between two garda stations - based on experience, deal with the one in "rougher" area if you understand me. The other one will never have a car, won't respond even to an active incident, isn't interested. The "rougher" one is better. Try the community liaison garda but don't be too hopeful.

Contact local councillors and if any of the culprits are council tenants then make a complaint to them. Don't bother dealing with the families they will just laugh at you or will pretend to care then laugh when you're gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

L.Jenkins wrote: »
    I would say, if the OP does approach these hooligans parents, do so as a group with Neighbours. Strength in numbers, especially with the Gardai, in order to be taken seriously.

+1. Have the neighbours rang the Gardaí at all? I'm sure they're fearful too. It's likely they would have witnessed a few of the incidents and heard your window being put in, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

My guess is a lot of neighbors won't want to get involved and bring this sort of attention on themselves.

OP you say you won't move as it will affect the kids education. Well there is no good waiting till they are beaten within an inch of their lives or worse.

Desperate times call for desperate measures, get out and start looking for a new place to live. Kids are resilient and will appreciate the break from this carry on and settle into new schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Advising people to move is a huge step and its very easy thing to say off the cuff when you are not going through it yourself.

OP.

Deal with the guards first be forceful be ever present and push them hard. Bring the CCTV with you ask to speak to the Super. With all that done see how it pans out.

Moving should however be in the table. But as a last option.

listermint wrote: »
    Advising people to move is a huge step and its very easy thing to say off the cuff when you are not going through it yourself.

OP.

Deal with the guards first be forceful be ever present and push them hard. Bring the CCTV with you ask to speak to the Super. With all that done see how it pans out.

I would not have advised it if I had not done it myself in the past. Yes, from rented accommodation, but I would do it from my bought house too. Plus when I was a child my parents moved us away from a house (they owned) where the neighbours were violent and threatening. It might be a big thing to do but an injured/traumatised child or worse is a bigger thing. It's just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

OP.

I moved myself to get away from a mentally unstable neighbor who was becoming more and more obnoxious and ended up stabbing a bloke who was in doing work for them after some crazy argument broke out.

It's easy to say to this person to do this, that and the other but when your there 24/7/365 wondering what will be next it's an awful position to be in. The person we moved away from is still there making people's lives a torture.

Sometimes there is no other option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yeah that's the way to do it, complain about the only people that can actually help you. Well done on that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Yes, CCTV is a good idea.

But more importantly involve the Garda in everything. Tell them everything and get down to the station and be as loud and obnoxious as possible. If there is another local station involve them too. Make sure there is a Tour De Force of complaints about these people and the handling of it.

Write to your local councilllor and TD. Contact the media if need be.

Get on to Niall Boylan show for example. He would most likely tackle this type of scenario.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

From my reading of it they didnt have a car on a particular night, I dont yet see further evidence that they are not helping though.

But they need to be pressurised, it really is a case of those that shout the loudest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

You cannot fight them on your own. Take all the advice here and see if others be they councillors guards priests neighbors will stand with you. This gang will not stop unless pressure makes them and that has to be pressure they understand.

Your case is an outrage. It is a real local and national outrage. And you are not supposed to say that. Make an unholy row. Make it political. Make it known to every house in the area.

The truth is that there are people who should not be let bring up kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Unfortunately the OP's story isn't an uncommon one :(

My late mother was similarly tortured in her own home by a bunch of "kids" like this for years, and our boys and girls in blue wanted nothing to do with it for the most part - in fact, when they got tired of the calls and complaints, they'd turn up at our door making threats to arrest my mother instead. As said above the neighbours either didn't want to get involved and make themselves a target as well, or were already involved in the abuse.

It all stemmed from the next door neighbours wanting what was the end house (ours) for themselves and the council denying them before we'd moved in. Of course, being antisocial scum they saw a single mother with two young kids as an easy target - except my mother was too damn stubborn to give in to that sort of crap (even though it made her life a misery and made an already serious disease worse from the stress).

As we later found out, because the family in question were also police informants, the local Garda station (a certain north Dublin one) did nothing about it, and the local scum kept it to a level just beneath them having to ("restricting" themselves to things like broken windows, damaged cars, vandalism, verbal abuse, stone-throwing, spitting, poisoned meat thrown over the back wall in an attempt to kill the dogs etc), and it was almost always perpetrated by the younger member of the family (and their friends) of course so as to further limit police involvement - these people are generally more aware of the law than anyone else

Mam went the 24x7 CCTV route (ultimately dozens and then hundreds of VHS cassettes), the logging of EVERY call to and visit by the Gardai (right down to recording shoulder numbers), lobbying local TDs, and the story even featured on an episode of Prime Time, but to no avail. Ultimately things only died down when the groups involved grew up and moved away, and some of the Gardai involved retired and were replaced with a younger crowd (this all went on for well over a decade)

I'm afraid my only advice to the OP is that if things don't settle down - or worse, escalate - move if you can... there's no talking to scum like that, and our "wonderful" police service will do nothing unless someone is actually badly hurt (through a combination of being under-resourced yes, but also unwillingness to do their jobs in such areas), but as I mentioned it's more likely that the crowd involved will just keep it to property damage, juvenile assault and intimidation to prevent that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Something doesn't add up with me here, I mean I know there can be incompetence in the gardai but not to have done anything seems strange.

Has to be the area your living or the family your son got involved with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

Murphy i sympathise with you completely. My family went through this and I can speak from experience. 5 years of terror,cars burned out,house petrol bombed on xmas night. I went from the speak to parents phase, through the whole gardi,cctv,report and chase up every incident phase. There was no difference no matter what I done.
    I really wish I could give you a solution, a way to end this and go back to your normal life, all I can tell you is what worked for us. Run, run as fast and far as you can. Move house,move school and get your ass outta there. It seems extreme, it seems like giving in and letting them win, but it's the only way to regain your life.
    We left it behind almost 12 years ago, but I still suffer from PTSD. Its not just a combat soldier who gets that, when your in danger for a sustained amount of time your whole mental health is effected, get out now while you have some sanity left.
    There is nothing gardi can do to help, even if they wanted to. This crap won't end, it won't go away. These animals only respond to force, so either take them out of the area or take yourselves out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

From my reading of it they didnt have a car on a particular night, I dont yet see further evidence that they are not helping though.

But they need to be pressurised, it really is a case of those that shout the loudest.

And from my reading of it someone tried to stab a 14 year old which should be treated as attempted murder ..
    I don't know how the guards do the job they do...
    I suppose they know dragging these scumbags before the courts to begin their 100 previous convictions count is a waste of time...
    But what happens when they murder someone? Is 'sure we'd no car available' a valid excuse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

jamesbere wrote: »
    Something doesn't add up with me here, I mean I know there can be incompetence in the gardai but not to have done anything seems strange.

Why should the area or people involved stop the Gardai doing their job??

Bunch of cowards is all they are, which I've seen first hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Are you for real? Why would any of those things prevent the Gardai from doing the job the taxpayers pay for?

Sympathy OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

You are niave and victim blaming.
    Not your fault, I'm guessing you've never had any experience with real live scumbags before

FixitFelix wrote: »
    Why should the area or people involved stop the Gardai doing their job??

Bunch of cowards is all they are, which I've seen first hand

It does happen, gardai will not go to certain areas if they don't have back up. I not saying it's right but it can happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Not meaning to upset you OP, but will you still think that way if one of your kids ends up dead? This is a distinct possibility here. A friend of the family was 16 and attacked and kicked repeatedly in the head and was lucky to survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

It does happen, gardai will not go to certain areas if they don't have back up. I not saying it's right but it can happen

As I said ..cowards

Lackey wrote: »
    You are niave and victim blaming.
    Not your fault, I'm guessing you've never had any experience with real live scumbags before

How am I victim blaming, asked a valid question.

I've total sympathy for them but I'm a skeptical person. More answers from the gardai are required here as to way they're not doing there job to help this family