Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brussels

• 02-01-2017 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭InterestedK

Going to be going to Brussels for 3 days, at the end of the month. We are flying into Charleroi and staying in the middle of Brussels city.

Just wondering what are the must see's and do's whilst there as we don't want to miss anything!

So far we have Grand Place....!

Looking forward to hearing from you with some tips etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

take the train to Bruge have lunch and do a trip on one of the boats on the canal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,059 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Trains are very reliable and cheap.
    Visit Brugge and Antwerp. Lovely places.
    Feck all in Brussels itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

We were there for the Christmas Market last month. It was great. The Cathedral is worth a visit anyway.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cathedral_of_St._Michael_and_St._Gudula
    Churchills Pub is ok for a few beers.
    https://en.yelp.be/biz/churchills-bruxelles
    We didn't do much other sightseeing as the markets were why we were there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭ngunners

The Atomium is worth a visit. Really nice views!

• I second bruge and Antwerp

Minute you get to Brussels get out of there again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Leuven is only 25 minutes by train, with nice architecture, good shopping and choice of bars (as it is a student city).
    Gent is about 35 minutes by train (same train line that goes to Bruges).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭alane20

ngunners wrote:
    The Atomium is worth a visit. Really nice views!

Fully agree with ngunners the atomium is well worth a visit, make sure you go inside it, the views are stunning and if you put it into YouTube the light show inside it is spectacular, don't bother getting the combo ticket for mini Europe it's pretty ****e, take the tram to point Louise for great views, it's their version of grafton st so has all the high end shops but some nice places for lunch, and it's where the courts of justice are it's a nice walking area, just be careful not to override the trams, I went too far on my second day and let's just say it was like a tram to Afghanistan pretty dodgy area, of course you have the manikian pis, find out who your Mep is and they will bring you into the European parliament building, it's pretty nice, there is a visitor centre there and it's rubbish so skip it and go straight into the parliament but you will need your Mep to arrange access into it, Brussels is a really nice city, enjoy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 Octavian Pepper

Hi OP, I was in Brussels at the weekend. :)

It's pretty cold atm, so be prepared!

Regarding The Atomium, be prepared for a long queue, turn up early. Honestly, I didn't think it was worth the queing, I'd reckon we were only in the structure for 10 minutes.
    We also went into the MiniEurope next door, which I thought was much better. It does seem a bit childlike, but I enjoyed it thoroughly.
    It's only €5 extra to get a combi ticket for both.

We took a day trip to Antwerp, it was €30 return for two and took an hour on the train. Enjoyable town, Antwerp Zoo was excellent.

Mannekin Pis and Grand Place are must visits!

Anything specific, ask away. I can't think of anymore to add! :P

Enjoy the wide range of beers that you can get, the waffles and all the chips! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Have a beer in Delerium and then get the train to Antwerp.

Also, don't visit Charleroi, it's terrible. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

If you're into cars the auto museum there is class. The military museum directly across from it is well worth a visit
    Train world is really good as well.
    Some of the best breweries in the world are located in Belgium, if you're into beer, cantillon is a must visit for a brewery tour
    I'd recommend going on a walking tour, ideally one based on tips as I find them the best.
    Roger casement had an important role in bringing to light the atrocities committed by king Leopold in the Congo and he got a mention a few times on that tour as a result. Nice to hear that he's remembered outside of Ireland.

I quite enjoy Brussels. It seems to get a rough time as a bit of a boring place, but the upswing of this is weekend breaks are cheap. Flights are cheap and the politicians leave at the weekend so hotels are cheap. The Belgian cuisine is excellent. No it's not pretty, but sweet Jesus does it taste nice. And you get proper portions! Mussels and chips, carbonnades, stoemp, chicon au gratin are all must try. But especially the carbonnades cooked in rochefort beer :cool:

The beer is unreal and the Brussels people, whatever the term for them is are great craic. Like come on, their most famous statue is that of a pissing boy. In second and third place it's a pissing girl and then a pissing dog. It's a brilliant city if you go there with an open mind, I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

If you're into cars the auto museum there is class. The military museum directly across from it is well worth a visit
    Train world is really good as well.
    Some of the best breweries in the world are located in Belgium, if you're into beer, cantillon is a must visit for a brewery tour
    I'd recommend going on a walking tour, ideally one based on tips as I find them the best.
    Roger casement had an important role in bringing to light the atrocities committed by king Leopold in the Congo and he got a mention a few times on that tour as a result. Nice to hear that he's remembered outside of Ireland.

I quite enjoy Brussels. It seems to get a rough time as a bit of a boring place, but the upswing of this is weekend breaks are cheap. Flights are cheap and the politicians leave at the weekend so hotels are cheap. The Belgian cuisine is excellent. No it's not pretty, but sweet Jesus does it taste nice. And you get proper portions! Mussels and chips, carbonnades, stoemp, chicon au gratin are all must try. But especially the carbonnades cooked in rochefort beer :cool:

The beer is unreal and the Brussels people, whatever the term for them is are great craic. Like come on, their most famous statue is that of a pissing boy. In second and third place it's a pissing girl and then a pissing dog. It's a brilliant city if you go there with an open mind, I love it

Only thing you left out was the kebabs on boulv Anspach ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Great city, as Quadrifogli said, keep an open mind, and you'll find loads to do in in 3 days.

Go to the cinquantenaire museum too, near autoworld. Mummies, ancient greek pottery, mammoths, irish elks and a replica and display of human ancestor Lucy IIRC.
    Rue des bouchers for restaurants.

Stay out of the Irish and English bars, meet the locals they'll point you in the right direction.
    There's always something going on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

take the train to Bruge have lunch and do a trip on one of the boats on the canal.

Don't think the canal trips are done during the winter. It's too cold. A couple of years ago, I was there in early Dec & was told the canal trips didn't resume until March. It's still a city that is well worth seeing though. The trains are frequent & reliable. Ghent is roughly between the two & is well worth a stopover for a couple of hours. It has a wonderful castle that is well worth a mooch around. There is a Luas type tram that runs from the train station to the castle area. Trip time is only about 10 minutes. There is a wonderful cathedral & some lovely old medieval buildings in the area too, as well as several spots to have something to eat. Then jump back on the train & continue on to Bruges.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Only thing you left out was the kebabs on boulv Anspach ;)

Im Not a kebab fan!
    A visit op to tonton garby is a must.
    Best cheese sandwich in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,059 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The smell of the waffles makes me want to womit. Detest the things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,043 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Can i jump in here and slightly hijack please?

I've just booked one night (!) in Brussels next weekend (yes, it was that cheap!) and am looking for recommendations for a place for dinner/drinks - not necessarily in the same spot obviously!

Not michelin starred, but nice food - and any bars that aren't Irish or English (got dragged to those last time i was there :eek:) and have a bit of atmosphere.

Anyone who knows the city well have any tips please?

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Can i jump in here and slightly hijack please?

I've just booked one night (!) in Brussels next weekend (yes, it was that cheap!) and am looking for recommendations for a place for dinner/drinks - not necessarily in the same spot obviously!

Not michelin starred, but nice food - and any bars that aren't Irish or English (got dragged to those last time i was there :eek:) and have a bit of atmosphere.

Anyone who knows the city well have any tips please?

Neutnigenough! Excellent Belgian food paired with Belgian beers.
    Really good value for money as well
    I may have flown to Brussels to just eat there
    It is small and doesn't take reservations, really good atmosphere.
    Bar wise moeder lambic if there for only a night. Delirium is great but can be a bit tourist trappy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭InterestedK

Wow... I thought we would be struggling to fill up our weekend in Brussels... but it doesn't look like it now!

Thanks to all of you for your information!

I'll be there in 2 weeks so will report back on everything that we did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭BetsyEllen

Wow... I thought we would be struggling to fill up our weekend in Brussels... but it doesn't look like it now!

Thanks to all of you for your information!

I'll be there in 2 weeks so will report back on everything that we did.

Please do - I'm going for 2 nights in May, after 2 nights in Bruges (with a day trip to Ypres) so would be really interested to hear what you recommend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

The Manekin Pis is seriously underwhelming (it's only 2 feet tall) but is so near the Grand Place it's probably worth a look. Way more interesting for me is the Poechenellekelder only 30 metres from the statue. One of Brussels quirkier pubs it has a great beer menu and very friendly staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 marty81

Hi folks, would really recommend Poechenellekelder beside Manekin Pis for a few beers, great Belgium pub. Regards things to do in Brussels my two favourites are the Military Museum and the Grand Place, you can do a tour of the Hotel de Ville. Saint-Michel Cathedral is really nice and you can do the Parc du Cinquantenaire beside the Military Museum. Brugges and Ghent make fantastic day trips.

Neutnigenough! Excellent Belgian food paired with Belgian beers.
    Really good value for money as well
    I may have flown to Brussels to just eat there
    It is small and doesn't take reservations, really good atmosphere.
    Bar wise moeder lambic if there for only a night. Delirium is great but can be a bit tourist trappy
    Thank you SO much for this recommendation - it was fantastic! We got about five or six tapas dishes between two of us, all of which were really gorgeous except for the black pudding one (nothing at all wrong with it, we both just hated it!). What a gorgeous, understated spot, with amazing decor - would definitely go back there if in Brussels again.

We googled places to have breakfast before we left this morning, and for once the reviews/web listings came up trumps - Peck 47 just down the road from Grand Place was amazing. Really, really good coffee and properly gorgeous brunch - couldn't recommend it highly enough!

For those visiting and wanting to do touristy things, I've been to Brussels a few times in the past, both as a tourist and working - and never came across - or even heard of - the Atomium until the other day - and it's fantastic. A properly bonkers concept building from the 50's that has been restored/refurbished/redone in the last 10 years and houses an exhibition about its own history and also other standalone installations or exhibitions. http://atomium.be/ Crap description by me, but well worth a morning or afternoon while you're there - it's brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Anybody with a sweet tooth look into the chocolate tours also ;).

The only chocolate you need to know about is Pierre Marcolini :cool:

(You'd want to make sure your credit card is in good order, mind you)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Buckfast W

I know people have mentioned different places to visit just thought I'd throw my 2c in, if you're looking for a few cheap drinks try the Celtica pub near the Grand-Place it's €2 a pint and other Belgian beers all day, its a bit of a hole but still

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

The only chocolate you need to know about is Pierre Marcolini :cool:

(You'd want to make sure your credit card is in good order, mind you)

Patrick Roger for me ...Basil and lime choc...Sweet baby Jesus

Oooohhhh........

*books return visit to Brussels very soon*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Wellyd

Went last minute to Brussels last year with a friend and really was surprised how much fun we had. We loved Delerium and tried as many of the beers as we could. I felt like I was going to turn into a frite by the end of the week! The atomium is worth a visit and we loved the pure tack of mini Europe! I preferred Ghent over Bruge for a day trip. But both are very pretty. Ypres is also a great day trip. In Flanders Field Museum was really interesting and definitely worth the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭garbanzo

Thank you SO much for this recommendation - it was fantastic! We got about five or six tapas dishes between two of us, all of which were really gorgeous except for the black pudding one (nothing at all wrong with it, we both just hated it!). What a gorgeous, understated spot, with amazing decor - would definitely go back there if in Brussels again.

We googled places to have breakfast before we left this morning, and for once the reviews/web listings came up trumps - Peck 47 just down the road from Grand Place was amazing. Really, really good coffee and properly gorgeous brunch - couldn't recommend it highly enough!

For those visiting and wanting to do touristy things, I've been to Brussels a few times in the past, both as a tourist and working - and never came across - or even heard of - the Atomium until the other day - and it's fantastic. A properly bonkers concept building from the 50's that has been restored/refurbished/redone in the last 10 years and houses an exhibition about its own history and also other standalone installations or exhibitions. http://atomium.be/ Crap description by me, but well worth a morning or afternoon while you're there - it's brilliant!

Thanks from me too. I was in neutnigenough a couple of Fridays ago courtesy of this recommendation and really enjoyed it. Very traditional. Great busy vibe about the place. Good staff, good food. Had the sausages and stoemp (pronounced stoump) and some nice beer. Kept away from the 12-14% ones as I don't think us Irish have any business with beer that strong.

Some nice pubs there on the Rue Du Lombard which are old school. It's a nice small in scale city which is grand for mooching around. Wrap up in February though, it was bloody freezing.