Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Year's Eve Live - RTE ONE, 10.15PM

• 31-12-2016 3:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭

405126.jpg

"As the 1916 Centenary year comes to a close, join Clare Byrne, Kathryn Thomas and Bryan Dobson as we look back on a momentous year for Ireland".

I don't know about the rest of ye, but I honestly can't wait.. And when the grandkids ask me 'what did you do on New Year's Eve of 2017', I shall simply smile and say .. 'I spent it with Claire Byrne' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Dobo is not their usual pick for these type of shows, hopefully he has a few festive shandys on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'd happily spend the evening with Clair/Clare Byrne and Kathryn Thomas

But not tonight where I'll be watching MOTD on BBC Two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Katherine Thomas... again.
    Can we have any occasion in this country without Katherine Thomas shrieking at us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

I'll be watching Jools Holland. :o;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

free trip to NY for Dobo London for Thomas, byrne must be miffed getting left at home ! (jools holland here as well)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

free trip to NY for Dobo London for Thomas, byrne must be miffed getting left at home ! (jools holland here as well)

I bet they don't feel as bad as somebody who's New Year's Eve thread was gazumped.

#badstartto2017 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I bet they don't feel as bad as somebody who's New Year's Eve thread was gazumped.

#badstartto2017 :(

Aw, the first of school the New Year is always the hardest, you'll be grand Peter :)
    Depositphotos_45871469_xs.jpg

Does anyone know if this is a new episode of Mrs Brown's Boys or a repeat?

It's extremely difficult to get accurate information on the subject.

Mrs. Brown's Boys has had its day me thinks, this episode is p1ss poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭funtime93

Mrs. Brown's Boys has had its day me thinks, this episode is p1ss poor.
    It's always been piss poor. Comedy for the mentally handicapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

New I think
    PART 2
    Part 1 was on Christmas?
    Same story line , it's a continuation ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Katherine Thomas... again.
    Can we have any occasion in this country without Katherine Thomas shrieking at us?

No . I went to an all Ireland final a few years ago to get away from her and guess who appeared at the side of the pitch before the match to interview and introduce an act...Katherine f.....g Thomas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

You just know there is going to be so much misery p0rn in this :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Did Dobo just speak in a semi USA twang?

This has too much of a Six One feel, I'm out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I always feel a bit sorry for the folk presenting these shows, trying to force enthusiasm. Meanwhile in Hong Kong, 100 billion is spent on fireworks.

Michael D is wearing a suit? I was expecting him to arrive wearing something like this.

che-t-shirt.jpg

He talks fluent Leprechaun .

Michael Squee Higgins

I always feel a bit sorry for the folk presenting these shows, trying to force enthusiasm. Meanwhile in Hong Kong, 100 billion is spent on fireworks.

I dunno about the whole fireworks thing. Maybe 50 or 60 years ago fireworks were a big deal but today?

What's with you Irish and fireworks?!

You need Dublin to look as if it's being blown up! Bigger and better than London!

Get on it! :D

Pan out, pan out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

New episode.

What's with you Irish and fireworks?! You need Dublin to look as if it's being blown up! Bigger and better than London!

You just don't understand the Irish, WMM. As you can see we're not all about building up the atmosphere, we're about killing it stone dead. I mean what in God's f**king name is the man droning on about.

Flux capacitor behind Michael

She asked a short question, answer 5 minutes long .
    A simply yes would have done.

Five minutes in, all my balloons have self-deflated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

He gets a laugh/applause for "stuff the turkey's hole with holly" so it must be from around 1979.

This is riveting stuff so far. I'm as excited as Fr. Stone at a funeral.

Eh Michael, I don't think people referred to it as the "Great" war because it was great craic, they referred to it as "Great" because it was HUGE, some many countries were involved and so many people died.

Claire Byrne dressed like a Double Centre is just about keeping me awake.

He goes on and on and on and on
    Should do ads for Fairy Liquid

The RTE Player has just died of boredom.

I have never heard answers this long.
    Still on second question 12 mins in

He goes on and on and on and on
    Should do ads for Fairy Liquid

I can't believe I;m saying this,...... bring back Katherine Thomas!

The RTE Player has just died of boredom.

Okay, you won me back over with that one... :D
    It may be possible for us to be friends in 2017.

Ah most of the commemorations were in March/April.

It feels a life time ago now. So much has happened in Ireland and the World since.

Oh, we're back - Bressie on stage right now.

Addressing the crowd about mental health in 3...2...1...

Oh, we're back - Bressie on stage right now.

Addressing the crowd about mental health in 3...2...1...

He might save a few people after listening to Michael D.

Could be 2018 by the time he stops speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Can you get a rebate on your TV licence if you torch your telly?

Mother of god, he's still talking :D

This long philosophical interview is out of place. It's NYE!

Lashing it down in Dublin right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Thank God for Graham Norton.

Was that chat moribund, I don't think so!

Is she miming?

I though Claire Byrne was going to say 'right there Uachtarain we're going to have to stop you there as we're counting down the New Year'

vlcsnap-00641.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,644 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Is she miming?

She's singing live but it's not an easy song to sing : that wasn't pitch perfect