Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toyota Aygo

• 28-12-2016 12:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭

Lads need car enthusiast advice.

I need a nice handy yoke and have been looking at an Aygo as it's a 1.0 engine so tax and insurance should be decent

Seems to be an old ladies kinda car so they seem to be priced ok for year and mileage I've seen advertised. I couldn't give a **** as long as it drives well and looks well as I always look after my car's.

I'm driving a 1.4 MK2 Focus hatchback at the moment and its grand but it's a 01 and needs to go soon parts are cheap as chips but gonna need to change

What's the rep for these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

They'd be ok around town but they are a bit crap really. The 3 banger isn't great and they are a bit flimsy inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

What's crap? Bad for parts or what?

I don't care about a small engine I'm not one for wanting to go shoe to the floor in big 2 litre engine cars I just need a handy yoke to do say 40 miles a day on a primary road but cheap insurance, tax and the likes you know just want to make sure if I got one it isn't known for loads of parts going often be just my luck :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I'd say it'd be reliable enough, the 3 cylinder runs pretty woefully though even for a 3 cylinder and they are quite partial to a drop of oil.

I love a good small car but the Aygo is really nothing more than a two seater, the rear seats are useless and the boot wouldn't hold anything really, 2 shopping bags would be a struggle. The dash is very fisher price and flimsy and the seats are very prone to wear. They are a bit of a rattle box.

A late mk1 Yaris, 05 ish would be much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Can you not get another Insignia from Opel? :pac:

bazz26 wrote: »
    Can you not get another Insignia from Opel? :pac:

Had to think for a second there ya fecker ha :p

I'm still the boss as I decide where to go :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Grand yoke for messing around in around town, but wouldn't be commuting in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Seat Mii is a much better car to drive if you need a 1.0 litre, and they're great value secondhand as there's lots of ex hire ones dragging the price down .they're all 75 bhp whereas it's cousin skoda citigo can be 60 bhp.
    The Aygo was my favourite small car til I drove a MII , they drive like a much bigger well planted sturdy , peppy safe car, plus they have an excellent crash rating. VW a group also seems to have sorted all issues with the 3 cylinder engine including switching an almost lifetime timing belt, away from a troublesome chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It'll come down to budget though. You'll see Argo/c1/107 for €1500

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It'll come down to budget though. You'll see Argo/c1/107 for €1500

Fair enough, but a 2013 modern car for under 5 k would save a lot of money and maintenance hassle/cost over the next good few years, especially the way insurance has gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Bigus wrote: »
    Fair enough, but a 2013 modern car for under 5 k would save a lot of money and maintenance hassle/cost over the next good few years, especially the way insurance has gone.

Vag cars from that era didn't really lend themselves well to hassle free maintenance.
    Also buying a car with lots of depreciation left to go is never going to save money.

Plenty of decent little daihatsus for cheap and they'd fit the op's requirement.

Tbh though I can't see the logic in limiting oneself to 1.0 cars it's not like anything up to 1.4 will break the bank in running costs amd it opens up a world of options many of which are nicer places to be for a commute.

Oh that Seat Mi looks nice is there any bad rep for them at all? I'd seriously consider it could knock another year or more outta the focus and save more towards the seat I think if it was worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

VW Up!, Skoda Citigo and Seat Mii are all the same car with different badges. Fiat Panda is another one to look at depending on budget.

Oh that Seat Mi looks nice is there any bad rep for them at all? I'd seriously consider it could knock another year or more outta the focus and save more towards the seat I think if it was worth it

No good yokes all round , go for a decent spin in one .
    Your model Focus are a great drivers car , so you'd be surprised that a lot of more modern cars are inferior to drive to a mark 1 Focus , hence my recommendation of the Seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Bigus wrote: »
    No good yokes all round , go for a decent spin in one .
    Your model Focus are a great drivers car , so you'd be surprised that a lot of more modern cars are inferior to drive to a mark 1 Focus , hence my recommendation of the Seat.

A 1.4 ford focus is not a great drivers car tbh.