Mark Crossfiled (And Others Christmas Special)

• 26-12-2016 08:55PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,649 ✭✭✭✭

I Know Mark is not for everyone - but these Christmas specials are good the last few years.

You can see the lads - well Mark in particular has done well and they now have sponsers and the production of the videos have gone up over the years - now even overheaed drone etc..

That cheeky chappy English banter "mate / Bro" is a bit daft - but the courses they play are unreal. Not sure you could play with all the "right laugh mate". But fair play, they invented a little industry for themselves.

This course looks a classic - but sadly is in a part of England you would hardly get to (Cornwall).

The one bad thing I noted with some clips, now that they are sponsered , you rarely hear them speak bad about a course even if it is bad. Seen another pair of vlogers - on O'Connor course (Portugal) and it was in bits - but they never mentioned it as they are sponsered.

Anyway - good for Christmas boredom or need for golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,649 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

"Its proper banter mate."

2nd course looks like one you could make it to some day - maybe not as good , but haven't watched it fully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

This I think is still the best Golf video on youtube.

Crossfield done a few vids here aswell, Druids Glen and a few others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

I Know Mark is not for everyone - but these Christmas specials are good the last few years.

You can see the lads - well Mark in particular has done well and they now have sponsers and the production of the videos have gone up over the years - now even overheaed drone etc..

That cheeky chappy English banter "mate / Bro" is a bit daft - but the courses they play are unreal. Not sure you could play with all the "right laugh mate". But fair play, they invented a little industry for themselves.

This course looks a classic - but sadly is in a part of England you would hardly get to (Cornwall).

The one bad thing I noted with some clips, now that they are sponsered , you rarely hear them speak bad about a course even if it is bad. Seen another pair of vlogers - on O'Connor course (Portugal) and it was in bits - but they never mentioned it as they are sponsered.

That's a funny statement Fix, for someone based in Dublin you could say the same about courses in Kerry, and the reality is you could be in Cornwall in the same time as it takes to get to Kerry.
    All the best course are a little remote, and are well worth the travel and effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭golfer79

dan_ep82 wrote: »

This I think is still the best Golf video on youtube.

Crossfield done a few vids here aswell, Druids Glen and a few others.

The vlog he did with Nicolas Colsaerts was also top drawer.

That's a funny statement Fix, for someone based in Dublin you could say the same about courses in Kerry, and the reality is you could be in Cornwall in the same time as it takes to get to Kerry.
    All the best course are a little remote, and are well worth the travel and effort.

I've only played golf in kerry once . And was by accident. Haven't played in Donegal at all.

So yes as inaccessible as Kerry and Donegal and hence haven't played in them places .

At least you can drive to Kerry.

So not surprising, just geography.

I'll go to Kerry and Donegal at some point . But only when I have about 4 days at least in each and play about 3 of the big ones in each .

I know a good few lads from Cork and they haven't been North of Dublin.

Dubs and myself in particular are the last people that deserve accusations of travelphobia.

But always on for "quality banter mate " as Mark would bang on about.

Look we see incredible courses all over the world from Hungary to South Africa.

We know in out heart we ain't going to get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

I've only played golf in kerry once . And was by accident. Haven't played in Donegal at all.

So yes as inaccessible as Kerry and Donegal and hence haven't played in them places .

At least you can drive to Kerry.

So not surprising, just geography.

I'll go to Kerry and Donegal at some point . But only when I have about 4 days at least in each and play about 3 of the big ones in each .

I know a good few lads from Cork and they haven't been North of Dublin.

Dubs and myself in particular are the last people that deserve accusations of travelphobia.

But always on for "quality banter mate " as Mark would bang on about.

Look we see incredible courses all over the world from Hungary to South Africa.

We know in out heart we ain't going to get there.
    Yes I know it's a revelation for ye Jackeens, that there is life outside the pale;), and the boys in Cork suffer from a similar belief.

In all seriousness though, I agree with you that the 4 day trip that is all encompassing is only a pipe dream and will probably never happen.
    A more sensible and manageable approach is to break it down into smaller chunks, i.e a weekend at a time, e.g. you could play Ballybunion SSC one weekend, it consists of 36 holes(18 on both courses), it's played on a Saturday in May, so travel down Friday evening, few pints, then bed, golf on Saturday followed by a few more quiet ones ;) and travel back (to the pale) at your ease on Sunday, and rinse and repeat for all the courses you'd like to play, 2 or 3 of those trips a year shouldn't upset the quare too much:P

Here is the one mentioned