Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you had the Christmas arguments yet?

• 25-12-2016 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭

Almost every year it was the same with my family for Christmas, there would be a row over something and it would sour the whole day for everybody. Too many strong personalities in the same place and some lingering resentment/bitterness over something or other, or a snide remark would lead to a blazing row.

When the grandparents were alive we used to have large get-togethers which is what caused it. Always felt I had to walk on eggshells, just waiting for one to kick off, usually involving the same people. Didn't like it one bit. Thankfully though for the last few years it's been just me and the mother at home, and for the most part, we get on just fine.

I always dreaded Christmas in a way because of this. There were good times too of course, but I much prefer staying at home with just the two of us. I know quite a few families who consistently have the Christmas Row. Tears, screaming, the whole nine yards.

Anyone here have theirs yet? :rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Expecting the first when the uncle turns up to discover I ate his dinner as well as my own. **** him, you don't turn up on time, you lose out. Plenty of biscuits and Quality Street :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Nope I am the argument I'm 4 miles away from the duckers now hope at least one of them chokes on a lump of undercooked turkey. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Pitt the Elder vs. Lord Palmerston

That controversial debate sparks fury every year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

1. Get some raw uncooked meat (say turkey) from the fridge
    2. Go to the bathroom with it.
    3. Lock Yourself in.
    4. Put the raw meat in the bath.
    5. Turn on the hot tap
    6. Whenever your name is mentioned in the argument shout "I'm just trying to defrost the Christmas dinner, not ready yet!!"
    To personally avoid the Christmas Argument:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

We've never had any arguments at Christmas. Thankfully nobody in my family has ever been selfish enough to ruin it for everyone else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭Train Dragon

No.

Im avoiding the one cünt in my family that loves a row on any given day but moreso over Christmas.

It sadly means missing out on spending time with other members of my family but so be it. It's worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Not this year so far. Mother is on great behaviour. A turn for the books. Usually she's causing ructions. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Im avoiding the one cünt in my family that loves a row on any given day but moreso over Christmas.

Every family has one. Thankfully she's in New Zealand having pissed off too many folk.

No arguments here yet. Nor won't be either.

Thankfully she's in New Zealand having pissed off too many folk.

You know you're a bit of a fücker when you need to go 18,616 Km to have friends ;)

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Pitt the Elder vs. Lord Palmerston

That controversial debate sparks fury every year.

Pitt the elder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Never any arguments here. No drama queens, so all is good. Have cousins who fit the bill though and their house is routinely a war zone at Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭limnam

RayM wrote: »
    We've never had any arguments at Christmas. Thankfully nobody in my family has ever been selfish enough to ruin it for everyone else.

Oh to be a fly on the wall at that xmas dinner! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Pitt the elder

Okay, you asked for it, bud!

limnam wrote: »
    Oh to be a fly on the wall at that xmas dinner! :rolleyes:

I know... so boring when everyone's getting along. Sometimes I want to flip the table or throw my plate at the wall, just to liven things up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I can honestly say I've never experienced the Christmas Day argument thing.

I had a strop earlier because the vase on the grave had broken and there was nowhere to put the flowers and I went back to the car and had a cry like a four year old but that was just at the world, not at a person.

I wouldn't be able for that at all at all. We have a marvellous time of it at Christmas with everyone in the best of spirits.

I know... so boring when everyone's getting along. Sometimes I want to flip the table or throw my plate at the wall, just to liven things up a bit.

What's that supposed to mean!? You've been having little pops at me all day. If you've a problem with me just come out and say it!

Collie D wrote: »
    What's that supposed to mean!? You've been having little pops at me all day. If you've a problem with me just come out and say it!

I'm surprised you've noticed, what with all the drink you've had...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Nope. all good here. but noise volume is going up slowly :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yep, went to drop my brothers Xmas present to him yesterday. He was in a stinker of a mood, and he ended up breaking the handle of the sweeping brush on my legs, then threw a plate at me. Spent the night in the car because I was too upset to go back to my partner because I didn't want him to find out what happened. If Xmas didn't suck enough he'd have to pull his **** and ruin an already hard day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Yep, went to drop my brothers Xmas present to him yesterday. He was in a stinker of a mood, and he ended up breaking the handle of the sweeping brush on my legs, then threw a plate at me. Spent the night in the car because I was too upset to go back to my partner because I didn't want him to find out what happened. If Xmas didn't suck enough he'd have to pull his **** and ruin an already hard day

What a whanker. How it kick off

Poor woman

Tell your partner.

Your brother needs a hiding.

Jaysus that's on the extreme end of the family row.

Tell your partner.

Your brother needs a hiding.

Not usually one for violence but can't say I would disagree with this.

At least make sure it's the last Xmas he sees you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I argued with myself over whether to have butter on my brown bread with smoked salmon. I lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

It's about to start here between myself and father in law, I've sat back quietly for now without saying anything but he has taken it upon himself to discipline my dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Ghekko

Did your dog need to be disciplined? MIL would discipline my kids on occasion - saved me looking like the bad one yet again��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

hairyslug wrote: »
    It's about to start here between myself and father in law, I've sat back quietly for now without saying anything but he has taken it upon himself to discipline my dog.

Maybe your dog is a pain in the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

The dog was looking out the window, got dragged off by his collar, in my book there was no need for it. He's (not the dog) has been on Jameson since around midday so that didn't help the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

None here. The one most likely to cause something we keep well oiled as he's better craic that way. His sober self is a much more prickly matter.

Fun Bobby in a lot of ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

My old lad is the source of all arguments... So as long as I'm not where he is there will be peace. He's at my sister's this year.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Not this year so far. Mother is on great behaviour. A turn for the books. Usually she's causing ructions. :-)

Breaking News: A few brandies and glasses of wine after the dinner has set her off. In the past 20 minutes the youngest brother has been berated as he owes her an insignificant amount of money. Then she has attacked me and the GF for wanting to head off home. Basically made insinuations that we were heading home for the ride.

Before this me and my gf could see her getting progressively drunk and we're watsapping each other making escape plans. As I'm driving I'm not drinking.

Me to Mam: Thanks for the dinner. We're gonna head off now.

Mam: *Hic* Where are you going? It's Christmas night. You have to stay here. What are ye going home for? Some hanky panky. *snigger and sips brandy.

GF: No we are going to our house

Mam to GF: Don't come back here pregnant

GF: It's none of your business what we do in our house

Mam: It is my business because I'll have to mind it.

Annnnd were outta here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

Oh dear! They warned us about this in college.

You are the one family that needs therapy the most!!

Any controlling figures?

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Breaking News: A few brandies and glasses of wine after the dinner has set her off. In the past 20 minutes the youngest brother has been berated as he owes her an insignificant amount of money. Then she has attacked me and the GF for wanting to head off home. Basically made insinuations that we were heading home for the ride.

Before this me and my gf could see her getting progressively drunk and we're watsapping each other making escape plans. As I'm driving I'm not drinking.

Me to Mam: Thanks for the dinner. We're gonna head off now.

Mam: *Hic* Where are you going? It's Christmas night. You have to stay here. What are ye going home for? Some hanky panky. *snigger and sips brandy.

GF: No we are going to our house

Mam to GF: Don't come back here pregnant

GF: It's none of your business what we do in our house

Mam: It is my business because I'll have to mind it.

Annnnd were outta here

Every family has one, mine included, but your Mam sounds like a horror show.

To alcohol the cause of all lifes problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I clicked into this thread because my mam and dad are having an ongoing low key little bicker about what to have on the telly but it's all in good fun. Jesus some of the stories here, I'd stay in the states if I had yere families. I'm anticipating a big row about whether or not we have to endure Mrs Browns boys...

Curious there's very few on this thread who are the cause of the rows...just as an aside, if there's always dramas and arguments in your life, it is worth asking if you might be the problem.

Yep she has literally ruined the last 7 or 8 Christmases from her drinking. Very sad because it was a really enjoyable time when we were kids. Mam and Dad made really made the effort. Dad passed suddenly last year we blame her drinking for putting him in the grave tbh.

All that being said I still love the woman. She was a great mother to me for my first 19 years. Everyone I speak to tells me to cut her out of my life. I suppose I've inherited my father's softness. He stuck with her and defended through all her troubles.

just as an aside, if there's always dramas and arguments in your life, it is worth asking if you might be the problem.

No.

Some people just have horrible family members. A very easy thing to have whilst being a nice person yourself.

just as an aside, if there's always dramas and arguments in your life, it is worth asking if you might be the problem.

No.

Some people just have horrible family members. A very easy thing to have whilst being a nice person yourself.
    Come on now, there's no need for an argument, today of all days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Elessar wrote: »
    Almost every year it was the same with my family for Christmas, there would be a row over something and it would sour the whole day for everybody. Too many strong personalities in the same place and some lingering resentment/bitterness over something or other, or a snide remark would lead to a blazing row.

When the grandparents were alive we used to have large get-togethers which is what caused it. Always felt I had to walk on eggshells, just waiting for one to kick off, usually involving the same people. Didn't like it one bit. Thankfully though for the last few years it's been just me and the mother at home, and for the most part, we get on just fine.

I always dreaded Christmas in a way because of this. There were good times too of course, but I much prefer staying at home with just the two of us. I know quite a few families who consistently have the Christmas Row. Tears, screaming, the whole nine yards.

Anyone here have theirs yet? :rolleyes::D
    What sad b@stards you lot are :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Come on now, there's no need for an argument, today of all days.

Yeah nobody asked you anything. Every year is the same with you, chiming in with comments like you f*cking know everything.

** backs slowly out of and unfollows thread **

https://media.giphy.com/media/4pMX5rJ4PYAEM/giphy.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Poor you. Take better care Lexie. You don't deserve this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Brother stormed off halfway through dinner. Wasn't allowed use his phone or wear his paddy cap so flipped.
    The rest of us are delighted. Peace and quiet and no longer walking on eggshells, so we can actually have a conversation
    ****er didn't buy anyone any presents, never does either. He can go to hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Surprised no one has asked what you got him, being After Hours and all.

But that's very rough stuff to have to put up with, I don't know you but I'm sorry that this happened to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

Gone past all that nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Sam Kade wrote: »
    What sad b@stards you lot are :)

Qué?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Fcuk that Lexie, I'll give you a hug if it makes you feel better :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

No arguments here, and never have been on Christmas Day either thankfully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭bikubesong

I've an auntie who is very difficult to deal with. As a consequence she ends up spending every Christmas with us because there's no where else she can go.

She insisted on snatching the tea towel out of my hands earlier so that she could dry the dishes even though my mam told her to sit down and that my brother and I would take care of it. Then she picked a fight with my mam about the injustice of HER having to do the washing up in OUR house... despite the fact she was repeatedly and explicitly told not to worry about it. :confused: Further ructions likely as the evening progresses.

Small fry compared to what goes on in a lot of houses though so I shouldn't complain.

bikubesong wrote: »
    I've an auntie who is very difficult to deal with. As a consequence she ends up spending every Christmas with us because there's no where else she can go.

She insisted on snatching the tea towel out of my hands earlier so that she could dry the dishes even though my mam told her to sit down and that my brother and I would take care of it. Then she picked a fight with my mam about the injustice of HER having to do the washing up in OUR house... despite the fact she was repeatedly and explicitly told not to worry about it. :confused: Further ructions likely as the evening progresses.

Small fry compared to what goes on in a lot of houses though so I shouldn't complain.
    Tell her she needn't worry, there won't be any dishes to clean next year only her own.