Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a pug - help!

• 22-12-2016 3:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭

Since we met each other my wife has been asking me to buy a pug. Now shes loved them forever but her parents weren't interested in buying one - I was happy to buy her one but I've never bought a dog or any animal besides a rabbit when I was small so I've been kind of wary of going and buying one - the main concerns I have

1. How do you know a reputable breeder from a bad one?

2. What's the general (if there is one) price for a pug puppy?

3. Are males or females more friendly or does it matter?

4. What are things to look for in a seller

5. When are pugs usually bred?

6. Do they have many common health issues to be aware of?

Note to mods: I saw the sticky about puppies at Christmas - this isn't one of those I am by no means buying it for another while yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

1. How do you know a reputable breeder from a bad one?
    Simplest way is to ask to see the mother. If she`s well treated and in good nick you`ll know the person is reputable.
    If someone offers to come to your house or meet you on the side of the road and sell it out of their boot chances are they aren't legitimate.
    Also beware of people selling pugs at very low prices. Find out the market value for the type of pug you are interested in.
    2. What's the general (if there is one) price for a pug puppy?
    As with most dogs the price varies. Prices average out at around E500. Mixes will be cheaper than that. Pure breeds can be considerably more.
    3. Are males or females more friendly or does it matter?
    If they are neutered it wouldn't make any difference. Unneutered male dogs tend to be more boisterous.
    4. What are things to look for in a seller
    See point 1
    5. When are pugs usually bred?
    Generally around 2 years. I`d hope this isn't why you`re buying it. If its a pet it should be a pet, particularly as you are clearly a novice.
    6. Do they have many common health issues to be aware of?
    Yes quite a lot and require regular vet visits, regular (preferably daily) skin fold cleaning (their folds can gather dirt which leads to infections and require swabbing).
    They are firmly in the "designer breed" category. The desirable traits that people like and find cute i.e bulging eyes, skin folds, small and fat etc directly increase their risk of health issues.
    Pugs have a very narrow and short nasal cavity as a result of their stubbed snouts and this makes them more susceptible to breathing issues.
    Their eyes are prone to injury and infection because of their bulging anatomy
    Their curled tails are the perfect environment for fleas as this area becomes sweaty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

No I meant is there a particular time of year they are bred not what age I have no intention of breeding pugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

Has your wife spent time with pugs, played with them, walked them and groomed them? Or is it that she likes their appearance?

If you're both young and active, bear in mind that a pug won't be physically capable of nice long walks. You'll also need excellent health insurance for your dog as they are prone to a lot of ailments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Dubl07 wrote: »
    Has your wife spent time with pugs, played with them, walked them and groomed them? Or is it that she likes their appearance?

If you're both young and active, bear in mind that a pug won't be physically capable of nice long walks. You'll also need excellent health insurance for your dog as they are prone to a lot of ailments.

Not every pug is incapable of long walks ours loves walks

Not that I know of but she could've as she spent a long time volunteering in an animal rescue as well as raising two kittens from birth so she's defiantly not a noob when it comes to minding cats and dogs. Once we know the basics of properly taking care of a pug we can work towards getting one for ourselves. I won't be popping out next week to buy one like!

we're 21 and 23 respectively and we would be out often enough but not out for 5 mile walks every day. It's not a big issue to take the dog for his excersise then if we need to go shopping for groceries or something make sure he's safe and secure at home. We won't be forcing the poor thing to walk beyond his limits. What would you say is the usual amount of walking a pug could handle? I imagine not a whole lot given how small they are.

Not that I know of but she could've as she spent a long time volunteering in an animal rescue as well as raising two kittens from birth so she's defiantly not a noob when it comes to minding cats and dogs. Once we know the basics of properly taking care of a pug we can work towards getting one for ourselves. I won't be popping out next week to buy one like!

we're 21 and 23 respectively and we would be out often enough but not out for 5 mile walks every day. It's not a big issue to take the dog for his excersise then if we need to go shopping for groceries or something make sure he's safe and secure at home. We won't be forcing the poor thing to walk beyond his limits. What would you say is the usual amount of walking a pug could handle? I imagine not a whole lot given how small they are.

You're better informed than I thought then. My 18 year-old niece wanted a pug last year because 'cute' even though she had zero experience with dogs so we persuaded her that a bit of a wait might be best, especially since at her age she's hoping to move to college next autumn. Your OP just touched a nerve. :-)

Ah yeah I get that. I do see where she's coming from they are adorable looking yokes, we were thinking of a Labrador but we just don't have the space for a big dog like that, it would just be cruel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

I thought I liked pugs until I spent some time around them. I couldn't deal with the snoring out of them! Some of them can be incredibly noisy, not just with barking.
    One thing I'd say though is do not let them get over weight. It puts a lot of pressure on their already compromised breathing!
    And get a good brush from day one, they shed like mad.
    Price wise, a lot I've seen have been from €800 into the thousands. Do some research into the health tests a pug should have and make sure you find a breeder who tests for them (not the same thing as a yearly vet check where they're deemed healthy!)
    They are incredibe clowns though and I've never met one with a shred of bad personality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

I cant offer anything here other than fair play for having the cop on to research this fully before committing OP. I wish there were more like you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Honestly PUGs is a classic example of where you better be looking at spending above average money simply to get as healthy pug as possible (and of course all relevant health checks completed etc. as price alone is not going to tell everything)

Nody wrote: »
    Honestly PUGs is a classic example of where you better be looking at spending above average money simply to get as healthy pug as possible (and of course all relevant health checks completed etc. as price alone is not going to tell everything)

Money is not an object anyway so that's no issue but I don't want to be ripped off either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Hasmunch wrote: »

Absolutely, breeding a litter of pugs regardless of what health tests have been done is a practice I personally find abhorrent. The breed is so far gone that they should be let live out their lives without ever having pups and allow the breed to slip gently into extinction.

Just my two cents.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

Hey OP, in case you don't know (and as Cherry Blossom mentioned), there is a bit of controversy about flat-faced dogs like pugs right now. The British Veterinary Association released a comment on it a while back (can't find it right now but article refers: http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-37423040). I love pugs, they're just adorable clowns, but I don't think I could buy a pug puppy right now with what has been done to the breed.

Also, don't write-off all big dogs. Labs are energetic, but a small dog like a jack russell is likely to need WAY more time and attention than a big lazy greyhound, so it's not just size you need to consider, it's the overall breed characteristics. :)

Op there is a current trend of people thinking that pugs are automatically unhealthy. all dog breeds with all face types have health issues. I know someone who's apparently young and healthy lab died at 18 months from heart failure. And another persons lab had serious hip problems. In my opinion it's down to people throwing any two dogs of the same breed together.

Hasmunch wrote: »

False and over exaggerated

PucaMama wrote: »
    Op there is a current trend of people thinking that pugs are automatically unhealthy. all dog breeds with all face types have health issues. I know someone who's apparently young and healthy lab died at 18 months from heart failure. And another persons lab had serious hip problems. In my opinion it's down to people throwing any two dogs of the same breed together.

Pugs are a toy breed/designer dog. Its accepted that they are more susceptible to health problems than more rugged breeds such as Collies or German Shepard's.
    There`s no exaggeration that they suffer more health problems than most other dogs. Of course a person may be lucky and have a pug with little to no health problems but the odds aren't in favour of this.

https://www.rspca.org.au/campaigns/pedigree-dogs/the-pug

Second line on that page: "Pugs usually have serious breathing problems as a direct result of their exaggerated, flat face."

"Throwing" two dogs together is part of it, but so is the lack of enforcement around current legislation, not to mention that more legislation would be an idea if it were to be enforced.

If we want healthy, well-socialised pups, very small breeders (born and reared inside the owners' own living-accommodation, few litters per year, max ?2 bitches) seems much more logical than those who have licences for breeding many, many pups at a time.

It would be in the interests of the pedigree breed committees to fund genetic testing and in-depth health-testing of any pair of pedigree dogs prior to their being allowed to breed.

Pugs are a toy breed/designer dog. Its accepted that they are more susceptible to health problems than more rugged breeds such as Collies or German Shepard's.
    There`s no exaggeration that they suffer more health problems than most other dogs. Of course a person may be lucky and have a pug with little to no health problems but the odds aren't in favour of this.

https://www.rspca.org.au/campaigns/pedigree-dogs/the-pug

Second line on that page: "Pugs usually have serious breathing problems as a direct result of their exaggerated, flat face."

I honestly don't understand how you can use German shepherd as a supposedly healthier breed. Compare show type German shepherd and show type pug. Now what do they have in common?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Just rescue a damn dog from a pound if you want a companion. Dog breeding is cruel and should be banned.

Why do you want to spend hundreds on a pure bred pug, which, as many posters have pointed out is prone to disease. Get a mongrel that'll be glad to be rescued, will be a great companion, will cost only the price of a donation to the pound and will live much longer than a pure bred.

People who breed dogs and the people who supply demand are scum.

dfeo wrote: »
    Just rescue a damn dog from a pound if you want a companion. Dog breeding is cruel and should be banned.

Why do you want to spend hundreds on a pure bred pug, which, as many posters have pointed out is prone to disease. Get a mongrel that'll be glad to be rescued, will be a great companion, will cost only the price of a donation to the pound and will live much longer than a pure bred.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with well bred well cared for dogs and if we had more of those we would have less in pounds. The issue is with the methods of breeders not the actual breeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

There is absolutely nothing wrong with well bred well cared for dogs and if we had more of those we would have less in pounds. The issue is with the methods of breeders not the actual breeding.

+1 Well bred dogs from reputable breeders aren't what's filling up pounds and rescues for lots of reasons one being because the breeder will always take a dog back.

I wish people would get their facts straight before shoving adopt don't shop in everyone's face as it gets tiresome.:rolleyes:

Yes rescue we're not allowed name - I DO actually know when my pup came from and where her parents, grandparents, great great grandparents came from too!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

Yeah, but it doesn't have to be one against the other. 
    I've no problem with properly bred dogs, but that doesn't excuse the fact that the vast majority aren't well bred. There are puppy-farm bred pups everywhere I look (as evidenced by their breeds, where they come from and the time of year they arrive). The big problem is the number of puppy farm dogs, rather than the number of properly bred dogs. 
    That's totally different from the issue of pugs as a breed. I, personally, wouldn't have a brachiocephalic breed. That's my opinion. I also disagree with what they've done to the show GSD. That's totally separate to the breeder v rescue argument that (please)  we wont get into on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

I think you need to educate yourself. If breeding was banned & we only had mongrels then we would have no decent Service dogs, no decent Police or Search Dogs, no sheep herding dogs, Sled Dogs, Drug Sniffer dogs, Gun dogs, Working Terrier dogs, Live stock guarding dogs - I could go on & on. You obviously have failed to notice that the best of these are pure breeds.

Many of our native Irish Breeds would go extinct, along with other very vunerable breeds.

Oh I am one of those scumbags you talk of & secondly my mongrel died aged 3 from heart failure. Pedigree issues are documented & researched so you hear about them a lot more often, mongrels not so much. The pedigree dogs I have regularly live until their late teens.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Please rein it in. This is not a rescue forum and people who choose to purchase a pedigree dog will not be treated any differently than those who choose to rescue.
    The op is asking how to do things right. That is an excellent first step.
    Do not reply to this post on thread.
    Thanks,
    DBB

I honestly don't understand how you can use German shepherd as a supposedly healthier breed. Compare show type German shepherd and show type pug. Now what do they have in common?

I never said anything about show type dogs. Its an entirely different area. Think a thoroughbred horse and a Shetland pony.
    Collies and German Sheppard's are classed as rugged or working dogs.
    While there are illnesses specific to every breed there is no comparison between the ruggedness of a German Sheppard and that of a Pug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I never said anything about show type dogs. Its an entirely different area. Think a thoroughbred horse and a Shetland pony.
    While there are illnesses specific to every breed there is no comparison between the ruggedness of a German Sheppard and that of a Pug.

Seriously? Have you seen the roach backed show GSDs?

The issues gsds have go way beyond the show ring but that's where they started. Look at all the pets with the awful sloped backs. Belgian malinois are starting to replace them as police dogs.

Also it's working dogs, no rugged in the name.

Get a grip :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Walter2016

Best option is to let a couple of rescue places know you are interested in a pug.

From March to April is the busiest time for rescues as all the "no longer wanted" Christmas pups appear and you'll be able to rescue and get the breed you wish and give donation rather than pay a breeder.

Walter2016 wrote: »
    Best option is to let a couple of rescue places know you are interested in a pug.

From March to April is the busiest time for rescues as all the "no longer wanted" Christmas pups appear and you'll be able to rescue and get the breed you wish and give donation rather than pay a breeder.

I'll give it a go but I don't think many people around my area would be buying pugs! I don't drive either so I couldn't take bus to Dublin or around to pick one up. But I'll chance it sure

Walter2016 wrote: »

It might be the best option if you want a puppy farmed dog at a discount price ...It's not the best option if you want a dog from a reputable breeder and want it as healthy as possible (I know pugs are known for their health issues..) You'd fare better with insurance with a pup you've had from the first day it left the breeder so they can't put anything down to a pre-existing condition.

I have 2 dogs from different backgrounds who I love dearly but I know which one is less work and healthier....and which one is known by name but EVERYONE who works at our vets (some rotate between 5 practices) because he's in all the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

tk123 wrote:
    It might be the best option if you want a puppy farmed dog at a discount price ...It's not the best option if you want a dog from a reputable breeder and want it as healthy as possible (I know pugs are known for their health issues..) You'd fare better with insurance with a pup you've had from the first day it left the breeder so they can't put anything down to a pre-existing condition.

tk123 wrote:
    I have 2 dogs from different backgrounds who I love dearly but I know which one is less work and healthier....and which one is known by name but EVERYONE who works at our vets (some rotate between 5 practices) because he's in all the time!

Just to counteract this, my friend, who has been a fan and owner of Pugs since I've known hwt (20+ years), her last 4 Pugs have been rescues, one an ex breeding bitch and she's had no particular health issues with any if them, the ex breeder died of old age last year and her current one was an impulse buy, kept in a crate etc, as told to her by the Rescue and he is a dote with no issues as yet, he's about 2 or 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Choc Chip wrote: »
    Hey OP, in case you don't know (and as Cherry Blossom mentioned), there is a bit of controversy about flat-faced dogs like pugs right now. The British Veterinary Association released a comment on it a while back (can't find it right now but article refers: http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-37423040).
    tk123 wrote: »
    Well bred dogs from reputable breeders aren't what's filling up pounds and rescues for lots of reasons one being because the breeder will always take a dog back.

Further to the two comments above, there's a limit to the number of dogs a reputable breeder can take back, and not every owner who's bought from a reputable breeder is prepared to take them back to the breeder either: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/05/22/vets-call-for-healthier-breeding-standards-for-pugs-and-shih-tzu/
    The number of Pugs left at Battersea Dogs & Cats Home has almost tripled over the last five years as the breed has grown in popularity - only for owners to find it difficult to cope with the breathing problems they suffer.

Now senior vets have called for the British Veterinary Association, Royal Veterinary College (RVC), the Kennel Club and the RSPCA to take immediate steps to reform breeding standards, including the introduction of minimum muzzle length and functional tests before such dogs can be bred.

As someone with regular contact with many different veterinary clinics and two rescue centres, I would advise any potential buyer that pugs are known as one of the best "practice builder" breeds - their health problems are so far above average, they contribute massively to the profits of the clinic. It's not just their genetic susceptibility to disease that makes them expensive, but also the fact that they need special treatment (and sometimes special equipment) when undergoing tests and surgery, and if that technology isn't available, the risk (= emotional strain on the owner) of things going wrong during, e.g. an x-ray for breathing problems) is increased.

Full disclosure: I've probably met over a hundred pugs in my time; I can't think of any good reason for having one. They represent just about all the disadvantages of having a dog without any of the advantages. In the squished-face category, Boxers are so much better.

Tranceypoo wrote: »
    Just to counteract this, my friend, who has been a fan and owner of Pugs since I've known hwt (20+ years), her last 4 Pugs have been rescues, one an ex breeding bitch and she's had no particular health issues with any if them, the ex breeder died of old age last year and her current one was an impulse buy, kept in a crate etc, as told to her by the Rescue and he is a dote with no issues as yet, he's about 2 or 3

I'm sure people who've bought from puppy farmers online could counteract it as well with dogs that never been sick a day in their lives too? My BYB dog didn't fare so well.

Further to the two comments above, there's a limit to the number of dogs a reputable breeder can take back, and not every owner who's bought from a reputable breeder is prepared to take them back to the breeder either:

I don't think there's a limit in Ireland? I had to sign a contract saying I'd return my dog to the breeder. Granted I could be the type of person who'd ignore it (which I'm not) but the breeder vetted everyone who wanted one of her puppies and turned a few away that she didn't think we're suitable owners so in our case no puppies were returned but we all had the breeders support if we needed it. One of them wanted a female retriever as a guard dog(!)

One of them wanted a female retriever as a guard dog(!)

:eek::eek::eek:

What kind of lunatic was that? People never cease to amaze.

I adore goldens but a relative's extremely well-bred golden died of kidney failure at a young age within a couple of months of his litter-mate (same issue) and it was just too sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Paola95

Hi Atari Jaguar,

Just wondering did you find a reputable breeder? I m currently looking to purchase a pug puppy and have many similar questions. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,413 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Paola95 wrote: »
    Hi Atari Jaguar,

Just wondering did you find a reputable breeder? I m currently looking to purchase a pug puppy and have many similar questions. Thanks!

Please reconsider.
    Pugs have terrible lives plagued with health issues. Buying a pug feeds into the cruel industry. I think the phrase "reputable pug breeder" is an oxymoron.

If you really want a pug rescue one from a pound.

Paola95 wrote: »
    Hi Atari Jaguar,

Please reconsider.
    Pugs have terrible lives plagued with health issues. Buying a pug feeds into the cruel industry. I think the phrase "reputable pug breeder" is an oxymoron.

If you really want a pug rescue one from a pound.
    Your wrong. As I've said before not every single pug has issues and it's mostly in either poorly bred puppy farm dogs or from the very people winning shows with inbred dogs. That's why a reputable breeder is important. They shouldn't be breeding too closely related dogs.

Choc Chip wrote: »
    Hey OP, in case you don't know (and as Cherry Blossom mentioned), there is a bit of controversy about flat-faced dogs like pugs right now. The British Veterinary Association released a comment on it a while back (can't find it right now but article refers: http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-37423040).
    Well bred dogs from reputable breeders aren't what's filling up pounds and rescues for lots of reasons one being because the breeder will always take a dog back.

Further to the two comments above, there's a limit to the number of dogs a reputable breeder can take back, and not every owner who's bought from a reputable breeder is prepared to take them back to the breeder either: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/05/22/vets-call-for-healthier-breeding-standards-for-pugs-and-shih-tzu/
    The number of Pugs left at Battersea Dogs & Cats Home has almost tripled over the last five years as the breed has grown in popularity - only for owners to find it difficult to cope with the breathing problems they suffer.

Now senior vets have called for the British Veterinary Association, Royal Veterinary College (RVC), the Kennel Club and the RSPCA to take immediate steps to reform breeding standards, including the introduction of minimum muzzle length and functional tests before such dogs can be bred.

As someone with regular contact with many different veterinary clinics and two rescue centres, I would advise any potential buyer that pugs are known as one of the best "practice builder" breeds - their health problems are so far above average, they contribute massively to the profits of the clinic. It's not just their genetic susceptibility to disease that makes them expensive, but also the fact that they need special treatment (and sometimes special equipment) when undergoing tests and surgery, and if that technology isn't available, the risk (= emotional strain on the owner) of things going wrong during, e.g. an x-ray for breathing problems) is increased.

Full disclosure: I've probably met over a hundred pugs in my time; I can't think of any good reason for having one. They represent just about all the disadvantages of having a dog without any of the advantages. In the squished-face category, Boxers are so much better.
    I can think of several good reasons for ME to have MY pug. He's loving, laid back, no trouble, reliable with strangers and children, healthy and is an overall wonderful little man with a lovely personality. What else should a toy/companion breed be?? The disadvantages? He needs company. I have other dogs so he's ok when we're out. His health? He's rarely seen a vet since I've had him (took him in at age 2) I honestly can't think of any disadvantages of pugs.