Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

unwanted fertilizer pallets

• 21-12-2016 5:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭

So how do ye get rid of unwanted fertilizer pallets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

degetme wrote: »

Loads of lads looking for pallets, just look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

i know a farmer who uses them for fencing gaps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

farmerjj wrote: »

Loads of lads looking for pallets, just look.

Don't see any around here looking for fert pallets. Only the feeding pallets or the shorter stronger one's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

The stove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

A lad rang me last week wondering what I was doing with a stack of them. He is only 17 and has got into about 90 ewes and is making up divisions with them in a shed. His dad never farmed but they have 12 acres behind the house and this young lad has always worked any day he can for the last few years with farmers. I was so encouraged by his get up and go I delivered them and put in the evening tying them together with him.
    He says they are only until he gets going and can afford gates. I told him I thought that one time too. Took me 15 or so years to get the last pallets out of calf houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    The stove.

You'd be filling it every half hour, pure nuisance. The nails would also explode in the stove not a nice job pulling them before burning.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    You'd be filling it every half hour, pure nuisance. The nails would also explode in the stove not a nice job pulling them before burning.

To light the stove.
    Kindling.

(Never heard tell of an exploding nail).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

Sam Kade wrote: »

To light the stove.
    Kindling.

Was just going to ask are they any good as kindling when tried out. There out in the weather at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

We used a few of them this year in a creep for calves and put straw on top of them. Keeps the straw dry anyway

Was just going to ask are they any good as kindling when tried out. There out in the weather at the moment

There's lots of lads around me cutting them and chopping and bagging them and selling them for kindling.

Never seen them do it but they'll take any pallets you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

you can use 4 of them to make somewhere to put bale wrap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Grueller wrote: »
    A lad rang me last week wondering what I was doing with a stack of them. He is only 17 and has got into about 90 ewes and is making up divisions with them in a shed. His dad never farmed but they have 12 acres behind the house and this young lad has always worked any day he can for the last few years with farmers. I was so encouraged by his get up and go I delivered them and put in the evening tying them together with him.
    He says they are only until he gets going and can afford gates. I told him I thought that one time too. Took me 15 or so years to get the last pallets out of calf houses.

I know another young lad who could live like a king off the dividend without ever working a day and he's selling kindling cut from pallets for a fiver a bag. The family wouldn't be where they are without a willingness to work but this lad beats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

To light the stove.
    Kindling.

New kind of nail bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Get the pallets cut at about 40% of the way down in half, bolted to a frame with a cushion on the seat part then sanded to smoothen and laquered. But of box steel in the frame, quite a good idea if done by someone tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Get the pallets cut at about 40% of the way down in half, bolted to a frame with a cushion on the seat part then sanded to smoothen and laquered. But of box steel in the frame, quite a good idea if done by someone tasty.

Be right yokes for a shed BBQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Pity they went the disposable route. Returns took a little effort on everyones part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,124 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Hate the fecking things. Still pulling them out of ditches. They rot but the nails at still there and could end up anywhere. Strong plastic pallets are the job. I use them to stop calves going through the cubicles, where I have them penned in. The light plastic pallets are great too for putting in under the firewood. The air gets in under them and dries out the timber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I use them for feeding silage in the field to sheep. Sit the bale on them and clip the ring feeder around it. Keeps bale off ground and enables the sheep to eat down nearer to the end of bale. After they get busted up from this the end up as stove kindling. Also use them for sitting the turf on top of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

ganmo wrote: »
    you can use 4 of them to make somewhere to put bale wrap

At this for years but was on a farm walk last year in the back end of Kerry and saw a lad there using 5 pallets, had one one the ground and the other 4 tied sitting on top tied to it. Used to lift the full thing with the bale prongs onto the trailer, cut the ropes and lift off the side pallets. The lads at the collection then used to lift it out of trailer and didnt have to touch anything falling around when trying to load it up.
    It's true what they say, if you have a hard job give it to a lazy person & they will find an easy way to do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Welding Rod

Grueller wrote: »

All I can add is fair fuccs to you!!! Any young lad with a bit of go is well entitled to a bit of a hand. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

All I can add is fair fuccs to you!!! Any young lad with a bit of go is well entitled to a bit of a hand. Well done.

This young lad will need very little help. Cute as a fox, a hoor to work, straight up and every euro is a prisoner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Be right yokes for a shed BBQ

Moe's cafe in tramore has pallets used as wall cladding over a good portion of the seating area. One of these things that just works. The owner had a couple of different ventures in the premises and after they didn't work out he tried this and he can't keep up with the demand.

I was in a restaurant on Sat night which was designed by a farmers son. The wall at the end of the booth we were sitting is was a couple of sheets of old style corrugated sheeting c/w a couple of flecks of rust on the sheets where the zinc was facing us and old green oxide paint on the other. We've been in there a few times and I never copped it. Got one of the best steaks I ever had there too. A Dexter cut, off the shoulder, unreal. Not from a dexter animal. The cut was Dexter not the breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Who2

Moe's cafe in tramore has pallets used as wall cladding over a good portion of the seating area. One of these things that just works. The owner had a couple of different ventures in the premises and after they didn't work out he tried this and he can't keep up with the demand.

I was in a restaurant on Sat night which was designed by a farmers son. The wall at the end of the booth we were sitting is was a couple of sheets of old style corrugated sheeting c/w a couple of flecks of rust on the sheets where the zinc was facing us and old green oxide paint on the other. We've been in there a few times and I never copped it. Got one of the best steaks I ever had there too. A Dexter cut, off the shoulder, unreal. Not from a dexter animal. The cut was Dexter not the breed.

Done work in a pub in Australia that used old corrugated sheeting that was lying out the back as the upstanding for it's bar and it looked class. They also wallpapered the walks with the old newspapers that were lying around and lacquered everything. It's unreal what can be achieved with a bit of imagination.