Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stylish & Reasonable

• 21-12-2016 1:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭

Lads I'm asking ye as you seem experts.

I know it's all expensive watches you all own just wondering are there many watches within €150 range that would be considered classics?

Thinking of getting something nice to go with suits or a blazer and shirt but causal evening wear combo

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

There's be a fair few Seiko and Citizen that would be nice for that kinda money. Fossil too. The only thing I'd avoid would be any sort of gold plating as it wears off all too quickly.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

Something in the Seiko "5" Range can be had for around the €150 mark from the likes of creation watches..

Looks well on the standard bracelet..

su-15.jpg

but can also be swapped out for a leather band if you like..

blogger-image--599977120.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Homer wrote: »
    Something in the Seiko "5" Range can be had for around the €150 mark from the likes of creation watches..

Looks well on the standard bracelet..

su-15.jpg

but can also be swapped out for a leather band if you like..

blogger-image--599977120.jpg

That one gorgeous! I think maybe the silver bracelet would be nicest :) I like that kinda face on a watch

If people have any more rec please post em even names I can look em up myself it's no problem thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

love the 5 sport on the brown strap, need to get one for mine now!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

+1 for seiko, can't really go wrong, but look on-line, jomashop or creation watches are worth a google. High street jewellers will know how to charge in this country. At least price them on-line before you buy.

Have a look here too before you buy

http://forums.watchuseek.com/f72/

Let us know what you get.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

+1 for the Seiko 5 series, it's a great value for money, nice looking range.

If it's a dress watch you're looking for at a reasonable price then the Orient Bambino range is hard to beat. I think the blue or black dials are the nicest looking

fer24004b0_bambino.still009.jpg

One I'm looking at at the moment is the Seiko SUP880 which is basically a Cartier Tank style for cheapskates like me :D (I definitely don't have any expensive watches OP! but you can absolutely get decent watches for sub-€200)

61cCOYZ%2BYIL._UX342_.jpg

-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Seiko or Orient great suggestions. But for the good models you usually need to go online. For "classic" the bambino is so nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Special edition Vostok Amphibia, currently available for 122 USD
    Vostok_Amphibia-SE_020677-05-max-900.jpg
    https://meranom.com/amphibian-se/020se/vostok-watch-amphibian-se-020677s.html

Or the real "classic scuba dude" for a very affordable 58 USD
    Vostok_Amphibia_090059_01-600x900.jpg
    https://meranom.com/amphibian-classic/090/vostok-watch-amphibian-classic-090059.html

or any other Vostok, really:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭ronanc1000

peasant wrote: »
    Special edition Vostok Amphibia, currently available for 122 USD
    Vostok_Amphibia-SE_020677-05-max-900.jpg
    https://meranom.com/amphibian-se/020se/vostok-watch-amphibian-se-020677s.html

Or the real "classic scuba dude" for a very affordable 58 USD
    Vostok_Amphibia_090059_01-600x900.jpg
    https://meranom.com/amphibian-classic/090/vostok-watch-amphibian-classic-090059.html

or any other Vostok, really:D

Sorry for bumping up the thread (newbie to the watch thread) I really like the Amphibia but in green like this one

https://meranom.com/amphibian-se/020se/vostok-watch-amphibian-se-020678s.html

My question was on relation to the site it particularly as I've never ordered from them before. I presume it's coming from Russia, are they grand to order from, what's their shipping times is there any customs charges etc I should be aware of? Thanks in advance.

Yes, they ship from Russia (Tatarstan, to be precise) and no there is no real problem other than a lot of patience required.

I've ordered about 20 odd items from them, never a problem, got caught for customs only once and that was about an extra tenner payable to the postman.

Time...shipping time, is the issue.
    It can take anything from three to six weeks to arrive. They normally ship next day (if the item is in stock), it's just the post that's so slow.
    It takes a good week from Tatarstan to Moscow, then another good week from Moscow to Moscow (prepare for Export), then Russian customs might sit on it for a while and then it'll take another week to Ireland.

You do get a tracking number though and as long as there is at least one entry on that you will eventually receive your watch.

Oh ...and I would recommend to order the mesh with the watch. Nothing wrong with the rubber, but the mesh is well worth the money and makes the watch a little less loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Jentle Grenade

Like peasant I've ordered a lot of watches from Meranom without any issues at all bar the postage. It normally takes about six weeks to arrive. The follow up customer support is good to, I had one problem with a bezel before and they sent out replacement parts at my request the next day but that too took six weeks! Can't fault the quality though.

Thanks guy's. That info is very much appreciated.

Just finally, would you consider this site the best to purchase Vostok watches from?

Meranom is the only one to sell the special editions, as they make them (the green one is a special edition).

Regular Vostok watches can also be bought from other sellers on ebay for example. Some of them can perhaps ship a little quicker, but Meranom is the official seller and a safe bet.

Sometimes it can happen that other sellers still have models that already have sold out with Meranom or are currently on pre-order. In cases like that I have also bought from other sellers ...when the watch costs around 50 quid, how much can you possibly lose?:D

Thanks for all that info lads. I've ordered anyway. Can't wait. We'll see how it goes! Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

One of the teenagers wants one of these,DANIEL WELLINGTON MEN'S DAPPER 34MM ST MAWES WATCH , are they any good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

A2LUE42 wrote: »
    One of the teenagers wants one of these,DANIEL WELLINGTON MEN'S DAPPER 34MM ST MAWES WATCH , are they any good?

Some good discussion about them on this thread.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101699698

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

You can get Brauns for about 100, and Mondaines for a bit more. Neither would be regarded as great watches, but they have classic designs.

Well gents it's been a long time since I looked at this but I've decided on the Orient Bambino. I'm prob looking at Gen 2 V3 with the grey dial

https://www.google.ie/search?client=ms-android-huawei&biw=360&bih=234&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=qgokW7zKHdOtgQbA65Io&q=orient+bambino+v3&oq=orient+bambino+v3&gs_l=mobile-gws-wiz-img.3..0l5.39168.41470..41794...0....107.900.8j2......0....1.........41j0i67.hCaHdLDo2J4=

Where is the best place to buy from? Or would teh gen 1 be cheaper without the wind up mechanism?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 176 ✭✭The_Guvnor

Well gents it's been a long time since I looked at this but I've decided on the Orient Bambino. I'm prob looking at Gen 2 V3 with the grey dial

https://www.google.ie/search?client=ms-android-huawei&biw=360&bih=234&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=qgokW7zKHdOtgQbA65Io&q=orient+bambino+v3&oq=orient+bambino+v3&gs_l=mobile-gws-wiz-img.3..0l5.39168.41470..41794...0....107.900.8j2......0....1.........41j0i67.hCaHdLDo2J4%3D

Where is the best place to buy from? Or would teh gen 1 be cheaper without the wind up mechanism?

Excellent choice. They are a great piece value/quality at the price tier.
    I would recommend Amazon or Creationwatches. See links below:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bambino-Japanese-Automatic-Stainless-Leather/dp/B072K5C5G1/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1529088772&sr=8-3&keywords=orient+bambino
    http://www.creationwatches.com/products/orient-automatic-288/orient-2nd-generation-bambino-classic-automatic-fac00005w0-ac00005w-mens-watch-9317.html

Quick question lads

What brands would be considered good craftsmanship for low prices?

For instance I know Orient above are rated but who else around the 100/200 euro mark?

Citizen, Seiko and Hamilton I've seen from forums would they be considered solid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Yes to the 3 above, but not sure you'll get a Hamilton for that budget. Tissot are from same family and in the same segment. Casio worth a look too.

Thanks lad. Saw 1 single Hamilton for 220 and teh rest way above, didn't really fancy the look of it gonna do some more looking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Orient Bambino, automatic, hacking, date complication, hand wind...it has it all. Good quality....this one is for sale (wink) https://www.adverts.ie/dress/orient-bambino/15645262

20180626_210422.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭dsaint1

Agree with the above post... Orient Bambino...so good for the price, just buy one :)

43027873562_696b40c628_b.jpg

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

+1 Bambino. Here's mine as posted in the picture thread the other day.

454296.jpg

Hand winding and hacking for a watch of that price is excellent imo.

Nice and thin as a dress watch should be. I would recommend white face, brown strap tough as it's more versitile than my black on black. (I've two brown leather straped watches so I specifically got it to wear with black shoes/belt.)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Those Bambinos really remind of 1960's vintage Longines. Conquests in particular.

XXX_35500bw.jpg

XXX_21_1302272264_1.jpg

No bad thing in your humble servants's opinion. And at that price point with hacking and water resistance(the Longines would be about as water resistant as a teabag), that's a no brainer. Nice.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

That Orient with the white dial is a gorgeous looking watch. A quick check shows the white one with the steel case to be more in the €250 price range.

Edit: Oh my god, I gotta have one. Look at that!

454638.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Jumping on the bandwagon here to see if you guys could advise on a new watch for myself, if you don't mind? :)

Same criteria as the OP with the additional caveat of it having a black dial and looking nice with a black leather strap. Kind of fell in love with the Orient Gen 2 Ver 3 that artanevilla linked above and after seeing the Seiko SARB033 linked in the "Best watches under 100 Euro price tier thread" but with a replacement strap as seen here, that was going to be added to the consideration list too until I saw it was over three times the price of the Orient if purchased from Creation Watches at the moment.

There are definitely some Fossils I saw that took my fancy but being new to the world of watches I'm not sure how they compare to the Orients outside of random comments from folk online. Are there any recommendations you could make in a similar style and price range?