Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Dinner.

• 20-12-2016 10:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭

I was wondering.... What time do people have their Christmas dinner at?

I'm trying to get herself to have it earlier. Last year it's was served up some time after 7 pm.

You end up goin to bed full as a poisoned pup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

About 1 pm. 7 pm is sandwich time and a movie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

One or two o clock would be normal... five o clock if you want it "late"... by seven you'd want to be empty enough for some more sherry trifle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Whenever the bread is buttered and the kettle boiled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Between 1 and 3 normally. Closer to 3 more recently. Turkey normally goes on round 6 or 7 in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

1.30-2.00 start time with the father.

The one year we stayed at our own place it was about 2pm when we sat down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

The earlier the better around 1pm then turkey sandwiches around nine.
    Then turkey curry Stephens day.
    Another Xmas dinner in the 27th and turkey soup if there's anything left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

About half 8. Have a good run at the day then.ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

I said wrote: »
    The earlier the better around 1pm then turkey sandwiches around nine.
    Then turkey curry Stephens day.
    Another Xmas dinner in the 27th and turkey soup if there's anything left.
    ah Jaysus surely you will keep a bit forPaddys day😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Sometime between 2 and 4. Usually try to go for a few drinks Christmas Eve with the kids they are all legal now after Mass. Get up Christmas morning and have a smallish breakfast. Go back to the farm with the lads and feed the cattle so will be home a bit before 1pm. Eldest lad is working this Christmas and will not be home until St. Stephen's Day.

We are gone away from Turkey none of the young lads like it. We will cook the ham (smoked) Christmas Eve and have some for dinner that evening. We are buying a large Chicken and will have that on Christmas day with the ham. What ever is left over will be finished the St. Stephen's Day. We are going to get a large sirloin roast and some fish as well for over the Christmas period.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Around 6 after evening milking. We all meet in my parents house after mass for soup and wine. Then I cook the Turkey in the aga. My sister does the ham in her house my mother does the veg. We divide them all between us and we eat Christmas dinner in our own houses. Kids are normally tired come evening time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

2ish usually, 7pm is just wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

High bike wrote: »
    ah Jaysus surely you will keep a bit forPaddys day😜

No ate it and keep ateing him don't give him a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭visatorro

Changes every year. Depending on people arriving home. I hate eating and then going out to milk, so some years we eat at half five. Some years it could be stephens day or 27th!! Don't really drink in the house any of the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Sometime 3-4pm depending on how the day is running and how many visitors there are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Fry about half six and dinner at the parents house bout half twelve .
    The wife usually had to work a few hours on Christmas day but got off this year so we might go a bit later with the fry but I doubt it .
    Genghis you would want to have words with herself over that late serving , what's she at all day at all !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

We usually only have breakfast at about 10 or 11 , so dinner then somewhere between 2 and 3 and kinda party food like goujohns , a cheese board , spring rolls , cocktail sausages that kinda stuff bout 8'ish ... the leftovers from dinner usually get sent home with my grandparents to save them cooking Stevens day or the day after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We have party food on Christmas Eve night. I always treat myself to a bit of venison (loin) for breakfast on Christmas morning and aim to have dinner between 3 and 4.
    I like to head out to the yard on Christmas night and check everything, fork up hay, feed meal etc. The bit of exercise helps to alleviate the full tummy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Breakfast at 8ish and out feeding, back for mass at 10 and dinner around 1pm. A few sausage meat sambos around 6 and a glass of wine and chill for the evening:)

My Aunt has the turkey and ham on Christmas eve and cold meat and salad on Christmas day but that seems to be the done thing in their area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Bullocks wrote: »
    Genghis you would want to have words with herself over that late serving , what's she at all day at all !!!

I asked her that very question. When she calmed down I could make out something about running, racing and cleaning up after a ****er like me :-o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Santa is still live in our house. Kids wake about 2 am, we vainly attempt to keep them upstairs for a while but relent at 2.30. I get a fry and go to milk. All finished in yard by 7, home for coffee. Go to my mother's for wine and presents at 12. I then milk and be home by 2.30. Dinner about 4 pm. We get mass Christmas Eve. I don't go to the pub anymore on the eve as kids are sure to be up early.......

Kids must be wrecked getting up that early? 5am is the earliest they are allowed up here

Shir Santa doesn't come if they get up too early, used to work.on us for a bit anyway ha. Same as base heading out to do the milking and feed the calves sorts the food coma after the dinner. Should only be an hour or so, generally one of the brothersite would be out to do calves anyway.

Mooooo wrote: »
    Shir Santa doesn't come if they get up too early, used to work.on us for a bit anyway ha. Same as base heading out to do the milking and feed the calves sorts the food coma after the dinner. Should only be an hour or so, generally one of the brothersite would be out to do calves anyway.

Good idea, I'll try that.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Kids must be wrecked getting up that early? 5am is the earliest they are allowed up here

Wrecked isn't even close. They are all early risers bar one of them. 5am is usual here, feckers would ware you out

Good idea, I'll try that.

A bit mean but had a chuckle at it

Mooooo wrote: »
    A bit mean but had a chuckle at it
    Saw another one on fb last week that santa has run out of coal to give to bold kids so they are getting Meath jerseys instead:o

whelan2 wrote: »
    Saw another one on fb last week that santa has run out of coal to give to bold kids so they are getting Meath jerseys instead:o

I must say that to the brother in law he's a meath man

Love a good fry on christmas morning, lamb chops, superquinn sausages, rashers, egg, pudding, mushrooms and beans :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I asked her that very question. When she calmed down I could make out something about running, racing and cleaning up after a ****er like me :-o

Haha you could've been talking to my wife , aren't they some devils for the back chat these days !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Have a pick at the turkey Christmas Eve after a few in the local. But I wouldn't like to be caught by the mother. Have the dinner at 1ish and then tea around 6 before the fighting starts due to either monopoly or 25. Early dinner Stephens day and straight into kilkenny to blow the last of the turkey money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Have a pick at the turkey Christmas Eve after a few in the local. But I wouldn't like to be caught by the mother. Have the dinner at 1ish and then tea around 6 before the fighting starts due to either monopoly or 25. Early dinner Stephens day and straight into kilkenny to blow the last of the turkey money :D
    We're15. I got that trick with the 2♠ when mam came round with the 6 after you played the king of hearts:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

We're15. I got that trick with the 2♠ when mam came round with the 6 after you played the king of hearts:D

It's a dangerous game but good craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

I'm going out on a limb here and saying dinners when I have it ready. Just finished preparing the gravy there now to get ahead. Only myself the oh and the kids for dinner this year, did dinner for 16 the past two years but the kids r really into Santa now so want to spend a bit of time with them. Mass xmas eve, then up the yard at 8 xmas morning and into the parents at 10 for smoked salmon and poached eggs and then home to get dinner on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

We have our uncles over for dinner at 1 or 2 (depends when they arrive) and sometimes a next door neighbour comes in for their dinner here too (either here or other neighbours). We kind of stagger out the dinner as there wouldn't be room for everyone at the one time.

The sister and mother here are big into a traditional Christmas dinner (whatever that is?) there's Turkey, ham, brussel sprouts, potato wedges, carrots, mashed potato, mushy peas, baked potatoes, turnip, parsnip, gravy, cranberry sauce with plenty of wine and for desert either plum pudding or sherry trifle and then tea with Christmas cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

I go home for the dinner around 1 and over to the in laws around 5 to see what their dinner is like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Coolfresian

Usually have it at 1. :-) milk early around 5.45 Christmas morning and feed all in the yard so il have most of the day free after 9. Milk again at 5 and finished for the evening around 6.30 then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

2pm here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

You are either abroad or your clock is fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Muckit wrote: »
    You are either abroad or your clock is fast.

Ahhh Muckit....the shadow I never wanted :D