Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Good Deed have you done.

• 15-12-2016 11:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭

Okay it is that time of year to love all equally etc.

I was at a service station yesterday. it was dark and cold, I had just done my Christmas shopping, a slab of Heineken that bargain alerts recommended !

As I was driving out onto the main road, I noticed an old man weighted down with shopping trying to hail passing taxi's.
    All the taxi's were ignoring him. I went over, offered him a lift, he accepted. I put his shopping in the boot and drove him to his door. I opened his door and left him and his shopping in his front room.

Will karma get me a ride for this over Christmas ?
    What good deed have you done of late ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

6541 wrote: »

Painted a house for Barnardos

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Filled photocopier tray with paper.
    Wasn't even using it at the time

Just don't call me a hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

It wasn't done by me but the clampers took the clamp off my car for free even though I was 100% in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I filled the water tank in the coffee machine at work after I had already gotten my coffee.

Selfless to a fault I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I noticed an old man weighted down with shopping trying to hail passing taxi's.

So did you get the ride off the old man or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

100 euro yearly donation to a charity that a think does great work instead of buying mindless tat for people at Xmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Okay it is that time of year to love all equally etc.

I was at a service station yesterday. it was dark and cold, I had just done my Christmas shopping, a slab of Heineken that bargain alerts recommended !

As I was driving out onto the main road, I noticed an old man weighted down with shopping trying to hail passing taxi's.
    All the taxi's were ignoring him. I went over, offered him a lift, he accepted. I put his shopping in the boot and drove him to his door. I opened his door and left him and his shopping in his front room.

No, for two reasons.
    The first is that Christmas is a time for giving not getting so no ride for you. Secondly, why the hell would you leave his shopping in the front room? That's a good deed fail right there.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Helped a woman with a pram down the steps of the Stevens Green Centre. Then I found a phone in the loo of a cafe and handed it into the staff. Us heroes are a breed apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I changed a strangers flat tyre a few weeks ago in the Tesco carpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I did the deed yesterday evening.

Wasnt my best work I have to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Walked around a crowded Dublin shopping centre for an hour without punching a dawdler in the back of the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

I was out for a few pints last night and there was this old fella nursing a pint beside me. He was pulling out his false teeth between mouthfuls and just generally making a meal of the whole thing. Really struggling. He only had that gooey part of the Guinness left. You could tell he didn't want it but was too old stock to just walk away. So I went over, introduced myself then drank off the rest of the pint for him. He was delighted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

Talking about something takes the good out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Shifted a fat one at the christmas party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

A few weeks back while I was filling my car at the station, I noticed a guy walking up to other people in their cars and asking them something.
    When I was walking back out after paying he came over to me. He asked if I would help him jump start his car, no bother, so drove over to his car at the entrance and parked along side.
    He even had the leads so very little effort on my part. Done and dusted, he thanked me and I was on my way.
    What occurred to me then was that the other people he had approached before me had said no....... at least 2 others cars and van couldn't find 60 seconds out of their day to help this man.
    Anyway, felt good ;)

LordSutch wrote: »
    I changed a strangers flat tyre a few weeks ago in the Tesco carpark.

Was she hot? Because it doesnt count if she was hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

For some people, no good deed goes unmentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I bought Mc Donalds food for a homeless person and made them get in a selfie with me for FB so he could get all those much needed likes to get him through the cold nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Walked around a crowded Dublin shopping centre for an hour without punching a dawdler in the back of the head.

That could come back to haunt you.

There were not many men quicker than I until I broke my neck and sustained spinal injuries. Now I'm one of the dawdlers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I didn't smack the kids and wife this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I resisted the temptation to post 'self praise is no praise' in this thread

Yay me

*pats self on back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭misterdeeds

Put some small items in the trolly outside dunnes for the vincent de paul yearly collection ,felt so good about it even though they were only a few items , hope the right deserving people get them .

I didn't smack the kids and wife this morning.

One day at a time sweet jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Oodoov wrote: »
    One day at a time sweet jesus.

Thank you. That song might actually get me through today :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Not me, but a friend.

Every year our group of friends heads to the pub on Christmas Eve, and every year he shows up for a pint but heads off early. We give him loads of stick and make jokes about what time he's going to ditch his mates this year.

It turns out he's been volunteering on the Samaritan's hotline every year on Christmas morning.

He doesn't know I know, and is very secretive about the whole thing. Fair play to you buddy. You won't get stick from me this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Oodoov wrote: »
    100 euro yearly donation to a charity that a think does great work instead of buying mindless tat for people at Xmas.

That's good value if the 100 euro replaces all the presents you would otherwise be buying. also you get the good feeling of giving to charity.

Its a win-win for you really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Just my mere presence is a gift to mankind everyday.I feel good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

cajonlardo wrote: »
    That could come back to haunt you.

There were not many men quicker than I until I broke my neck and sustained spinal injuries. Now I'm one of the dawdlers :)

Print out your user name and put it on your back and I will spare you. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Print out your user name and put it on your back and I will spare you. :pac:

Too lat.

I already wrote " andekwarhola please don't hit me" in tippex on the back of my jacket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

I was driving past an old lady the other day and there was a large puddle on the road, i drove around the puddle to avoid soaking the old dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Someone stole my phone at the weekend. I got it back, but it had been bricked. One of the lads in work has managed to fix it for me, he spent a huge amount time doing it for me.

Another deadly person offered me

Yesterday in the post, I got a packet of buttons, two tea bags, and a christmas decoration because I was feeling a bit crap.

I just got handed a cup of tea by my boss.

I was told this morning that I look gorgeous which brightened my day.

My job collected over 100 shoeboxes filled with items for homeless people in Ireland.

My job have also organised a huge raffle to raise money for simon community.

I won't bore you with my good deeds but they're some that I've witnessed this week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Today I taught an internet poster that taxis and all other plurals in English are not spelt with apostrophes as that denotes possession. :-)

Apart from that I have pushed strangers cars when they were stuck and also changed people's tyres in car parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I didn't fart on the Bus this morning after a night on the sauce, I want a Nobel prize for this compassionate deed

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

My job had organised a charity food hamper drive for SVP and I forgot to pick up some food for it.

Someone had donated a box of 6 crackers ( the kind with the hats inside )

So I carefully opened the box of crackers and put a tenner into 2 of them.

Hopefully someone deserving gets a nice surprise with their dinner on Christmas day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I know the most special of all the elves. This elf organised for santa himself to go visit a little boy in his own home while there was a party going on. The true meaning of Christmas. Putting a smile on a child's face and making his family so happy :)

Love having people who go to this amount of effort for others in my life :)