Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda armed response unit - 5 series

• 15-12-2016 9:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭

Saw on the news they're rocking 162 5 series BMWs - is there a reason for this rather than usual Mondeo/Hyundai's?

Is it a waste of taxpayer's money....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

not a waste of money, they need to be able to give chase properly.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I'm guessing likely a deal with BMW?, perhaps BMW is a more suitable chase/response car and performs better then the avg Mondeo/Hyundai. Time is likely an important factor in the work they carry out, if they responded too slow you'd likely be posting a thread here bitching about the Gardai and how they got somebody killed.

Sure don't many different response units in the UK have BMW's for this very reason? For example armed response in UK use BMW X5 and the most common traffic car is the BMW 530d in the UK.

Whats with people in this country moaning about every little thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Always thought those hyundais looked ridiculous, especially in estate versions (wouldn't catch a cold comes to mind). What spec are the bimmers they acquired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Not a waste. Its good.

I will feel safer knowing they actually have capable car and can get to emergency in time or give a decent chase.

Garda in lowest tier ecobox is was joke, they needed fleet of decent car ages ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Cabaal wrote: »

Please point out where I was moaning? I was genuinely curious as assumed you could get cheaper cars that perform just as well, since so much of a BMW price is attributable to the brand/image.

Why not say a skoda VRS etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

well thankfully our government thinks its best to kit out our police force with adequate equipment and are not promoting the general population to go and shoot drug dealers and drug users! best of luck to our gardai. tough job

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Please point out where I was moaning? .

Oh so

Was a positive comment?

To be fair I know feck all about cars but even I could see the benefit of a much more capable, faster response car for certain Gardai roles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Saw on the news they're rocking 162 5 series BMWs - is there a reason for this rather than usual Mondeo/Hyundai's?

Because hyundais and Mondeos are not pursuit cars. Did you not listen to the news item you saw them on???

Please point out where I was moaning? I was genuinely curious as assumed you could get cheaper cars that perform just as well, since so much of a BMW price is attributable to the brand/image.

Why not say a skoda VRS etc.

Be interesting to see a list of what they could use instead of the usual BMW, the vrs being one I hadn't thought of. Be funny to see them in new type r's. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

those vrs's are stunning

To be fair I know feck all about cars but even I could see the benefit of a much more capable, faster response car for certain Gardai roles

Since when was a 5 series more capable or faster? not knocking the car obviously I drive one myself, just surprised the armed response are rocking them.

You just assume because it's a BMW it's faster and more capable :rolleyes:

Because hyundais and Mondeos are not pursuit cars. Did you not listen to the news item you saw them on???

Nope just saw the image quickly on TV.

What makes a 5 series a pursuit car? I didn't see what model but assuming it's a 520d that's not a pursuit car.

I could understand maybe an m5 better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭road_high

kay 9 wrote: »
    Always thought those hyundais looked ridiculous, especially in estate versions (wouldn't catch a cold comes to mind). What spec are the bimmers they acquired?

A guard told me they hate them- soft gearboxes and clutches- call them High n Dries 😂.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

Didn't BMW offer to give the cars for free last time around but they went for the Hyundai due to the perceived bad PR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I'm guessing likely a deal with BMW?, perhaps BMW is a more suitable chase/response car and performs better then the avg Mondeo/Hyundai. Time is likely an important factor in the work they carry out, if they responded too slow you'd likely be posting a thread here bitching about the Gardai and how they got somebody killed.

Sure don't many different response units in the UK have BMW's for this very reason? For example armed response in UK use BMW X5 and the most common traffic car is the BMW 530d in the UK.

He was'nt moaning he just asked a question and I agree with him. A high spec VW would be way better value for money and just as effective.

The mondeo st is awd and be hard lose on a twisty country road but perhaps lacks grunt for such a big car. I think they should be old school 2.5 & 3.0 petrol turbos

I would hope they are 3L petrol models which would make sense but in all likelihood they are 520d, which for me makes no sense (hope to god they're not 518d :eek:).

Maybe they were given them for free? Doesn't make sense the gardai spending their money on BMW 520d "pursuit" cars when they could spend less on more appropriate cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Since when was a 5 series more capable or faster? not knocking the car obviously I drive one myself, just surprised the armed response are rocking them.

There is a big difference between for a example a Octavia Vrs and a 530d BMW. I've driven both and whereas the Skoda was bloody quick the BMW was quicker and felt more planted on the road.

The BMW is a car proven for the role in various other armed response units around the world so instead of spending a whole heap of cash to develop another car for the job, why not use one that's already been developed and parts available off the shelf ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭keano25

But the 530 is faster? No doubt about it. Do you drive a 530d? Or just a BMW itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

they are 530D and they also have Audi Q7s.

530d is bigger than an Octavia bra which is important as they have a ton of kit to carry around and is proven is other countries for the role.

I think it is a great addition to the Garda fleet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

I saw one already yesterday in Dublin, it was a 5 series estate or a Tourer, just like what they use in the UK, big cumbersome yoke so unlikely suitable for pursuits. The UK police complain that they are cumbersome in a pursuit.

If they are the Armed response unit, what are the Audi Q7's for then?
    I thought the Q7's were the Armed response unit as were the Volvos?

The mondeo st is awd and be hard lose on a twisty country road but perhaps lacks grunt for such a big car. I think they should be old school 2.5 & 3.0 petrol turbos

Mondeo ST's are Fwd, I don't think there was ever a Awd version, unless there is a new model coming with Focus Rs drive train..

mloc123 wrote: »

That's fair enough then, proper performance car. What would the viable alternatives be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

Still not sure what was wrong with the Vauxhall Victor.

Mondeo ST's are Fwd, I don't think there was ever a Awd version, unless there is a new model coming with Focus Rs drive train..

Nearly sure I read the new ones are awd.

Dia1988 wrote: »
    I saw one already yesterday in Dublin, it was a 5 series estate or a Tourer, just like what they use in the UK, big cumbersome yoke so unlikely suitable for pursuits. The UK police complain that they are cumbersome in a pursuit.

If they are the Armed response unit, what are the Audi Q7's for then?
    I thought the Q7's were the Armed response unit as were the Volvos?

The 530d is replacing the Volvo. They use both the Q7 and the 5 series. Depending on requirement

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

mloc123 wrote: »

Those cars were registered seemingly in July/August with such a low reg number.

Wonder where they were hiding for those couple of months, it would not surely take 4 months to prep the car.

Also, The UK and Irish government should join forces when buying their fleet, making for a bigger order and more bargaining power.

Wonder where they were hiding for those couple of months, it would not surely take 4 months to prep the car.

Also, The UK and Irish government should join forces when buying their fleet, making for a bigger order and more bargaining power.

The 55 members of the new unit have been training for the last 13-15 weeks. The majority did the advanced driving course in the new cars. I presume that's where they have been

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

One of my friends is in the ARU, and according to him it does take 4mths to fully prep the cars.
    the 530d and also the Q7 are heavily remapped to adjust for the extra weight and add grunt.

Remember what country you live in... takes 2 years to fix a pothole, I'm surprised the cars weren't registered in 2015 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭thierry14

That's fair enough then, proper performance car. What would the viable alternatives be?

Jags, Audi's, Merc's

Not a huge amount of choice outside of Germans for big powerful diesels

530d is a good pick, great straight line power

Easily keep up with your average criminal cars like Evo's, Type R's, M3's etc

Would need 500bhp + to blow away a 530d in a straight line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭kooga

also from a safety point of view I am glad to see the guards with audis and bmws for high speed pursuits rather than a Hyundai.

530 d se with business navigation no pro nav upgrade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They probably got a decent deal off BMW on them given the F10 is now nearly at the end of its model life. I wouldn't be surprised if BMW do a basic police spec on the assembly line too given the amount of cars they sell to police forces across various countries. Not really a fair comparison to the likes of other Garda cars like i30s/i40s used as the BMWs and Audis are specifically used as pursuit vehicles.

I think they have a place down here in Limerick where they retro fit some of the additional gear and tuning as I was passing a unit in a local retail park down here and the front shutter was up with a number of Garda cars inside from the ERU and there was lots of garage equipment set up in there too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

thierry14 wrote: »
    Jags, Audi's, Merc's

Not a huge amount of choice outside of Germans for big powerful diesels

530d is a good pick, great straight line power

Easily keep up with your average criminal cars like Evo's, Type R's, M3's etc

but why not go petrol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Be funny to see them in new type r's. :D

They tested out a Lancer Evolution IX back in 2006. Saw it driving around town a few times.

Tigger wrote: »
    but why not go petrol?

The cheap motor tax....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

thierry14 wrote: »

Really? You would need something with double the bhp? Can you explain?

Effects wrote: »
    Really? You would need something with double the bhp? Can you explain?

They're torquey engines to be fair, but I can't see them even catching an evos dust. An evo is in a different league in every way especially weight and sheer handling ability. But I guess in reality, they ain't going to have run down many evos here in Ireland, sure the tax on them yokes is fierce altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Hopefully they get plans together on how to chase a car and don't end up doing this sort of stuff...

A stock 530d is a nice quick car but it's not a rocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

Tigger wrote: »
    but why not go petrol?

Torque. They'd be loaded up with equipment and the diesel would be better suited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Senecio wrote: »
    Torque. They'd be loaded up with equipment and the diesel would be better suited.

big petrol not little petrol
    diesel engins are much heavier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Fair bit of poke in the 530D. Personally, I'd have the ARU in M5s. A statement if nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

I would guess the majority of chases that they will be involved in will be after stolen 5 series/A6 etc.. not Evos (are there still Evos in the country?)

Edit: Chases are not about overtaking the car they are chasing, it is about keeping up with/tracking them until they crash.. A 530d will comfortably keep up with any car on Irish roads, motorway or backroads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Its probably an easy choice to be fair -

Only certain makes would even want to tender so narrows choice

Then you have performance requirements, doubt Hyundai as others have much to offer here.

As for costs, I believe BMW were actually the cheapest option in a previous tender (not sure why it didn't go through)

Then as mentioned mods, if BMW's are used in similar fashion elsewhere I'd say chances are the parts required for fitting it out are cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭thierry14

They're torquey engines to be fair, but I can't see them even catching an evos dust. An evo is in a different league in every way especially weight and sheer handling ability. But I guess in reality, they ain't going to have run down many evos here in Ireland, sure the tax on them yokes is fierce altogether

An Evo is not going to blow away a 530D in a straight line

530D would keep up just fine

For a 530D to blown away on a straight you would need a massive power to weight difference, almost supercar territory like 911, GTR, R8 etc

Not too many of them around

530d was a great pick for performance/economy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

OSI wrote: »
    Please provide me with figures for the purchase of these BMWs and the Hyundais they regularly purchase instead, their long term maintenance costs and their intended purposes, and I will make an informed decision. Until then it's just "OMG dem fecking Gards are after getting BMWs and all the cheeky fecks, sure what'd they be needing them for."

It also appears that 530d's with a tonne of gun safes & equipment in the back are the fastest & best handling cars on the road too.

I'd take my chances in an Evo tbh, AYC and all that....

Cheensbo wrote: »
    It also appears that 530d's with a tonne of gun safes & equipment in the back are the fastest & best handling cars on the road too.

I'd take my chances in an Evo tbh, AYC and all that....

I'd have the 530d any day over an Evo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Did I miss where all these Evo's are coming from.....:confused:

Any news reports I remember involved burnt out Mazda's, Audis and Vw's etc.