Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tyre tax motorists to be hit again

• 08-12-2016 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭

Surprised no threads on this.

Truck drivers protest outside Leinster House over tyre levy http://jrnl.ie/3125472

Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment Dennis Naughten has written to the tyre dealers about the proposed levy, which will see private motorists pay €2.80 (€3.18, including VAT) per new tyre.

All this and a new government agency too.... Why.

Road deaths on the increase, driver safety dropping.

Why

What's the point

Why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

What the actual ****.

Seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

In a word: revenue.

It's the small, sneaky little changes like this over the past 10 years that have made this country an expensive place to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Like why is this government to fixated on fixed and flat rate charges against motorists.

Every day they open up a new sneaky revenue stream which they can bump up as they please.

Like the co2 system, they forced people to drive diesels they don't need and got a massive payday on vrt and vat but now they are feeling the pinch on reduced motor tax income and they are looking at moving the goalposts again with this new diesels are bad for the enviorment spiel "We knew they were"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,684 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Will buying tyres in uk avoid this tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Gas bastards what must go on in their heads coming up with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

mickdw wrote: »

They will charge you for the disposal of your old tyres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They'll probably slap it on the price of fitting which will still catch you if you when you want to get them fitted and/or the old ones disposed of.

Another stealth tax, I guess the pay increases they promised the Gardai and Dublin Bus has to be got from somewhere and the motorist is always easy way of getting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

We is getting taxed out of existence in our own country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,573 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

€710 to tax my car per year.
    €2800 to insure it per year.
    €4000+ just in tax on diesel per year.
    The farce that is the NCT robbing me every year.
    Tyre ****ing tax.
    A ****ing toll anytime I want to use a road that's not in complete ****e.

The government would want to **** off with themselves at this point. My pockets are empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

I have relatives in the tyre business. This is just another way for the government to make money and the new agency is just another jobs for the boyos exercise. There's also plans to track every tyre sold and when and how they're disposed. Expect the disposal charges in tyres to rise even more........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

More bureaucracy and forms to be filled in for businesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,686 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I was under the impression there was already a levy or fee on tyres for disposal?

It's a joke all these regulations and quangos we have to finance, they should simply make it law for each tyre seller to have an authorised disposal firm appointed.

If you have been listening to the radio lately you can see a whole industry built up around safety and common sense, there's ads telling people to...
    • Be careful around electric gates
    • Dial before you dig if your unsure of electric cables
    • Report to gas networks Ireland if you can smell gas
    • Only use a registered electrical contractor
    • Clean your hands properly if your over 50 as you may be more prone to food poisoning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

mickdw wrote:

Yes it will avoid this specific tax.... and their usually cheaper.... trip up the North anyone???

This is the brain fart of a former ITIA (Irish Tyre Industry Association) member and Ironically now on the board of directors of the new Repak ELT company that will be responsible for the scheme.

There is also a bit of legislation pertaining to the restriction of tyre sales & banning of second hand or used tyres that might be coming into force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Seeing as most establishments already charge €5 ish per tyre for private disposal, it'l be interesting to see will it be adjusted to reflect the levy or will it simply be added on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,893 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

The funny thing is we are very much out of recession , country is doing fine, now it's just a case of '' lets see how far we can take this '' .No one in Ireland is capable of protesting anything, it's a joke of a country. People will drink tea and talk and that's it . People of Ireland are like sheep.

Yes it will avoid this specific tax.... and their usually cheaper.... trip up the North anyone???

This is the brain fart of a former ITIA (Irish Tyre Industry Association) member and Ironically now on the board of directors of the new Repak ELT company that will be responsible for the scheme.

There is also a bit of legislation pertaining to the restriction of tyre sales & banning of second hand or used tyres that might be coming into force.

Brain fart.... skid mark more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Seeing as most establishments already charge €5 ish per tyre for private disposal, it'l be interesting to see will it be adjusted to reflect the levy or will it simply be added on.

That's a rhetorical question, right?

Of course this is just the beginning.. next year it'll be a fiver, then 7.50....

Is this actually in, or a proposal as per the article?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Another "Green" tax, €15 per tyre on hauliers, €3 on cars. The government and their environment saving taxes are crazy. As an example, the price of smokeless fuel increased to make it even higher than smoky coal thanks to the govt. and a green policy. They are doing the same with motorists,we need heat,tax fuel,we need transport,tax drivers.Tyres can be chopped up and used in asphalt for road building, why not be proactive and do something like that instead of paying somebody to dispose of them and see them make a profit through their recycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,573 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

The funny thing is we are very much out of recession , country is doing fine, now it's just a case of '' lets see how far we can take this '' .No one in Ireland is capable of protesting anything, it's a joke of a country. People will drink tea and talk and that's it . People of Ireland are like sheep.

A nation of people who don't even complain to the waiter if served a pile of steaming crap on a plate.

The only time we ever kicked up a fuss was over water charges...because it was the dole drawers and wasters with no jobs out protesting.

The motorist gets ridden every year by the government and we just accept it. Watch this tax just creep in without a whimper.

Anyone who protests is called a doler and scummer who wants everything and pay for nothing. Just take a look at the IW threads.

zerks wrote: »
    Another "Green" tax, €15 per tyre on hauliers, €3 on cars. The government and their environment saving taxes are crazy. As an example, the price of smokeless fuel increased to make it even higher than smoky coal thanks to the govt. and a green policy. They are doing the same with motorists,we need heat,tax fuel,we need transport,tax drivers.Tyres can be chopped up and used in asphalt for road building, why not be proactive and do something like that instead of paying somebody to dispose of them and see them make a profit through their recycling.

Environment saving my backside. The tyres are re exported to China for disposal.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

Gas bastards what must go on in their heads coming up with this
    what goes on in their heads before they sleep at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

screamer wrote: »
    I have relatives in the tyre business. This is just another way for the government to make money and the new agency is just another jobs for the boyos exercise. There's also plans to track every tyre sold and when and how they're disposed. Expect the disposal charges in tyres to rise even more........

Iv heard this also.... Basically to stop the partworns being fitted. As the number of tyres in the yard have to match to new tyres sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,099 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Like why is this government to fixated on fixed and flat rate charges against motorists.

Every day they open up a new sneaky revenue stream which they can bump up as they please.

Like the co2 system, they forced people to drive diesels they don't need and got a massive payday on vrt and vat but now they are feeling the pinch on reduced motor tax income and they are looking at moving the goalposts again with this new diesels are bad for the enviorment spiel "We knew they were"

They have to make up for the loss of revenue when we all switch to electric vehicles, get the charges in now to be safe.

€710 to tax my car per year.
    €2800 to insure it per year.
    €4000+ just in tax on diesel per year.
    The farce that is the NCT robbing me every year.
    Tyre ****ing tax.
    A ****ing toll anytime I want to use a road that's not in complete ****e.

The government would want to **** off with themselves at this point. My pockets are empty.
    you are forgetting the greens levy each april, which puts up the price of all fuel

how many tyres have to be sold before this new quango breaks even

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

It sounds ridiculous.

Ireland is the country with roads where tyres wear several times quicker than on the roads on EU continent.

My tyres here is Mayo on average last 10-12k km front and 15-20k km rear.
    With the same driving style in Poland, tyres lasted me about 40-45k km front and 60-70k km rear.

That's pretty much 4 times as long as here.
    With extra levy, it makes tyres a real considerable cost of motoring here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Dont be daft....of course it will.....wont:D

A nation of people who don't even complain to the waiter if served a pile of steaming crap on a plate.

The only time we ever kicked up a fuss was over water charges...because it was the dole drawers and wasters with no jobs out protesting.

The motorist gets ridden every year by the government and we just accept it. Watch this tax just creep in without a whimper.
    you are wrong about the water protesters

DakarVert wrote: »
    Iv heard this also.... Basically to stop the partworns being fitted. As the number of tyres in the yard have to match to new tyres sold.
    i recon it will not take long for a way around that to be found, folk are rather inventive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭F34

CiniO wrote: »
    It sounds ridiculous.

Ireland is the country with roads where tyres wear several times quicker than on the roads on EU continent.

My tyres here is Mayo on average last 10-12k km front and 15-20k km rear.
    With the same driving style in Poland, tyres lasted me about 40-45k km front and 60-70k km rear.

That's pretty much 4 times as long as here.
    With extra levy, it makes tyres a real considerable cost of motoring here.

Bollix roads in Poland are a far worse state than here.

flutered wrote: »
    how many tyres have to be sold before this new quango breaks even

My relatives were at an industry meeting to discuss this before this new "repak agency" was setup. They brought up lots of valid objections and questions regarding this and also the cost of installing a new "agency". Others just sat there like sheep and said nothing. My relatives actually got up and left as they were getting no answers and just BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Isn't there money in old tyres? Arn't they mixed in some forms of tarmac and other building materials as bulking agents?

I'm always amazed we tax things that someone could literally make a business out of and get paid handsomely for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,686 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

ironclaw wrote: »
    Isn't there money in old tyres? Arn't they mixed in some forms of tarmac and other building materials as bulking agents?

I'm always amazed we tax things that someone could literally make a business out of and get paid handsomely for it.

They use them for making astro turf pitches and playground surfaces but in recent news they have been linked to cancer and UEFA looking in to banning them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Theyre actually making fuel out of them now, real usable fuel. There is money in them this is complete horse ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,099 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

My relatives were at an industry meeting to discuss this before this new "repak agency" was setup. They brought up lots of valid objections and questions regarding this and also the cost of installing a new "agency". Others just sat there like sheep and said nothing. My relatives actually got up and left as they were getting no answers and just BS.

The great Repak were a business can pay into it and then sell products with loads of packaging that you can't leave in store as "they make a payment towards disposal". They don't cover the cost of my bins and the packaging is rarely recyclable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

Buy online from Europe, burn the old ones on a bonfire, simples!

mags1962 wrote: »
    Buy online from Europe, burn the old ones on a bonfire, simples!

I think you'll find that very soon the tyre fitters here are going to only fit tyres they supply themselves. No way they'll incur the additional paperwork for tyres purchased elsewhere.
    Oh yeh and burning tyres in a bonfire is a bad idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I think you'll find that very soon the tyre fitters here are going to only fit tyres they supply themselves. No way they'll incur the additional paperwork for tyres purchased elsewhere.
    Oh yeh and burning tyres in a bonfire is a bad idea.

worked for us every June when we were younger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Could be an opening for a fleet of mobile tyre fitters equipped with a tyre shredder for the old ones. Then advise the customer to put the shredded tyres in the recycling bin. Problem solved lol.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 896 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fuzzytrooper

Gwan so you go first.

They use them for making astro turf pitches and playground surfaces but in recent news they have been linked to cancer and UEFA looking in to banning them.

Kids should stop eating the stuff so.I'm sure if they checked everything they'd find it would be bad for us in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

My new motto. "The only solution is another revolution!". I'm gonna wreck the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Awwww just feck off now...

So an extra 10eu per 4 tyres, does not sound too bad now, but magically 2.5eu per tyre won't be enough, because managing this system is going to be more expensive and will need more people and big wigs to get payed, it will be increased to 20eu per tyre very soon.

You let them put a head in and before you know it the whole shaft and balls deep in your anus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Because it will increase the cost of tyres across the board, it'l surely directly increase the amount of ditchfinders on the market too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,850 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

So I can't just put them on my silage pit anymore?

Do the UK or EU have a similar tax? Up shot of Brexit could be a massive tyre fitting outfit just over the border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭yannakis

Buy your tyres online, people, and let them tax whirlpools play around. Also, 95% of the time, prices are better anyway.

www.tyreleader.ie
    www.eiretyres.com
    www.oponeo.ie
    www.tirendo.ie
    www.camskill.co.uk

YanisK wrote: »
    Buy your tyres online, people, and let them tax whirlpools play around. Also, 95% of the time, prices are better anyway.

www.tyreleader.ie
    www.eiretyres.com
    www.oponeo.ie
    www.tirendo.ie
    www.camskill.co.uk

As has been said before, if the Irish outlets become liable for collecting the tax, they likely won't fit tyres not sold by themselves as they'll need to pay for the disposal of tyres they didn't sell. That or they'll charge a fee for doing so, likely undoing any saving made in the first place.

The cynic in me thinks this could be a play by the relevant associations as they are being hit hard by online sales, show little interest in developing the market and they did run a campaign a while ago about winter / check ups for your tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭yannakis

As has been said before, if the Irish outlets become liable for collecting the tax, they likely won't fit tyres not sold by themselves as they'll need to pay for the disposal of tyres they didn't sell. That or they'll charge a fee for doing so, likely undoing any saving made in the first place.

The cynic in me thinks this could be a play by the relevant associations as they are being hit hard by online sales, show little interest in developing the market and they did run a campaign a while ago about winter / check ups for your tyres.

You're be paying for both fitting and disposal for tyres purchased online (some breakdown the price some not). They are already paying for disposing tyres they didn't buy. Worse case scenario, they'll ask you to pay the new tax on top. So online price plus 15-20 a corner is still cheaper and better quality. This obviously won't interest someone looking to spend ~€50 for blacklions, brownzebras, or purpledragons :pac:

My latest purchase came at €105 a corner after fitting, and the best price I found around Dublin was €145.

Some can deny fitting tyres bought online, but since no law is prohibiting it, competition will stay strong.