Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hotel damage

• 02-12-2016 2:14am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7

Hey me and my wife stayed in a hotel in galway 2 weeks ago when we got back to the room my wife we decided to turn on tv and when she turned the tv around it fell off the wall (its on one of the moving stands) we said to the hotel the next morning that it fell off the wall and they said it was grand that they would sort it now the hotel have rang us and told us we have to pay €200 when we told them we weren't they say ok now they have the gaurds ringing us up the wholetime. What should we do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

That really sounds like a civil issue and the guards have no business getting involved. What do the guards say when they call you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

hey2015 wrote: »
    Hey me and my wife stayed in a hotel in galway 2 weeks ago when we got back to the room my wife we decided to turn on tv and when she turned the tv around it fell off the wall (its on one of the moving stands) we said to the hotel the next morning that it fell off the wall and they said it was grand that they would sort it now the hotel have rang us and told us we have to pay €200 when we told them we weren't they say ok now they have the gaurds ringing us up the wholetime. What should we do?

Don't pay if it genuinely just fell off. That would be their problem, not yours. Don't ever speak to anyone claiming to be a guard over the phone. Hang up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 hey2015

That really sounds like a civil issue and the guards have no business getting involved. What do the guards say when they call you?

That if we don't pay up they will be taking us to court. I still dunno why the gaurds are involved when we told the hotel staff about the tv falling off the wall

Don't pay if it genuinely just fell off. That would be their problem, not yours. Don't ever speak to anyone claiming to be a guard over the phone. Hang up.

I don't I won't answer the phone to any number I don't know. But the hotel have my bank card details cause I made the booking online can they take money out of my account without my permission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Sound like the TV wasn't properly secured to its mount. If I was you I`d consider getting in contact with the Health & Safety Authority. http://www.hsa.ie/eng/Customer_Service/Making_a_Complaint/
    If the hotel contact you again I`d inform them you intend to follow the matter up.

As the other poster has said its a civil matter, the guards really shouldn't be getting involved and really don't have any jurisdiction in the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Edups2.0

I don't I won't answer the phone to any number I don't know. But the hotel have my bank card details cause I made the booking online can they take money out of my account without my permission

No they can't.
    Also I'd ask for the Garda ID no if they call you again because it sounds like bollix to me.

As the other poster has said its a civil matter, the guards really shouldn't be getting involved and really don't have any jurisdiction in the matter.

Exactly, I don't believe that they would get involved with such a thing at all. Anyone can claim to be a guard over the phone. It could be just a tactic to frighten money out of them.

I just rang the number that I got a missed call from and it was the gaurd station

Very easy to fake a number.
    In any case OP the Gardai have nothing to do with this. If the calls persist contact your solicitor. That's all you can do.

Edit: it could be hotel management have a Garda who's a friend or regular visitor and is trying to scare you into paying. Also would it be a civil matter when it's a business I wonder? Like damage to hotels is surely something the Gardai are in their right to investigate?

Edit edit: although on second thought the Gardai have no right to pester you for money in this case. And never mind the empty threats of court OP. It would cost more to hire a solicitor for a half hour than the 200 euro fee they are looking for. If the Garda phones answer and tell them you have nothing to say unless your solicitor is present. If it keeps up make a complaint to the Superintendent

Edups2.0 wrote: »
    Very easy to fake a number.
    In any case OP the Gardai have nothing to do with this. If the calls persist contact your solicitor. That's all you can do.

Edit: it could be hotel management have a Garda who's a friend or regular visitor and is trying to scare you into paying. Also would it be a civil matter when it's a business I wonder? Like damage to hotels is surely something the Gardai are in their right to investigate?

The calls only seem to happen after 10pm each night the last time they rang me was at 12.04am tonight and there was no damage to the room only the tv that fell off the wall and it was working perfect when I left the room that morning

Was it a small family run hotel? Or a larger hotel? As the other poster said it is easy to make any number pop up on someones caller id. The Gardai would have no business getting involved with something like this whatsoever. It could be someone making it seem like the guards are ringing you, or again as the other poster said it could be some regular who happens to be a cop...Either way it is scare tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

The calls only seem to happen after 10pm each night the last time they rang me was at 12.04am tonight and there was no damage to the room only the tv that fell off the wall and it was working perfect when I left the room that morning

Well that's fishy as hell!
    Id be very suspicious , its could well be the hotel owners/managers buddy or a faked number.

Even if it is the Guards, they shouldn't be ringing you at that hour. Fully in your rights to refuse to speak at such a late hour.
    Look for the name of the guard you are speaking to and his ID number.

Then they can get to fcuk. They're only acting the clown OP. If the calls persist report to superintendent and the hotel can't charge your card without permission.

Was it a small family run hotel? Or a larger hotel? As the other poster said it is easy to make any number pop up on someones caller id. The Gardai would have no business getting involved with something like this whatsoever. It could be someone making it seem like the guards are ringing you, or again as the other poster said it could be some regular who happens to be a cop...Either way it is scare
    tactics.

Its a small family hotel and the telly was only about 20inch size

Yeah not surprised to hear it's a family run place. OP the Garda is trying to scare you. Tell the hotel owners to stop or you'll be getting your solicitor involved. Even if you get s solicitors letter.

They have my address from when I booked it I'm just worried the gaurds who keep ringing me will inform the gaurds in the town I live in

Sounds like they are trying to extract money from you by using harassment. If it persists get on to your solicitor. Whatever you do don't hand over a cent to them. If a real guard is ringing you about this matter that doesn't concern them then you have grounds to make a complaint.

They have my address from when I booked it I'm just worried the gaurds who keep ringing me will inform the gaurds in the town I live in

There is nothing they can do to you, don't worry. No guard will come to your door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Would you not replace the tv?

mansize wrote: »

Why? The tv was not damaged at all it's a wall stand that was shoddily put up or just weakened from age. Neither of those are the OPs problem, that's the hotels problem. Proper maintenance was not carried out.

Why would they do that if it fell off the wall because it wasn't secured properly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

If all is as you stated.

Cancel your card. It's not a big issue.

If you receive another call from the guard. You get your wife to video the number. Answer it. Put the phone on loudspeaker and inform the guard you are recording the conversation chances are this will end things with the guards. If not you have what you need should they harass you further.

Why? The tv was not damaged at all it's a wall stand that was shoddily put up or just weakened from age. Neither of those are the OPs problem, that's the hotels problem. Proper maintenance was not carried out.

How do you know this?

.. the OP said? How do you know he broke it since you seem to be accusing of such?

And if the TV was broken it would have been billed at checkout and this thread wouldn't exist. Bit of common sense never goes astray.

.. the OP said? How do you know he broke it since you seem to be accusing of such?

And if the TV was broken it would have been billed at checkout and this thread wouldn't exist. Bit of common sense never goes astray.

I don't recall accusing OP of anything, perhaps you you could quote it for posterity???

I didn't say you were. You're questioning of when the OP stated it was an accident and the TV is undamaged sounds to me like accusations. I'm not really interested in arguing about irrelevant topics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Walter2016

People actually belive the OP?

Come on - I know many replied in middle of the night, but the OP and other posts by the OP is at a level of ridicoulness that borders on prposterus.

Do you REALLY REALLY think a member of gardai would get so involved in a civil manner even if he was brother of the hotel owner?

Do you really really think that a TV just "falls off a wall" in a building that is part of an industry that has phenonemal heath and safety standards.

Look, the OP was probably pissed and bored and decided to troll boards.

btw - op is new account and also posted similar in Kilkenny thread - matbe the OP is just dreadfully unlucky and two different hotels in two different counties had two TV's fall when his wife looked at them? And gardai from two different districts started to call him in the middle of the night.

Come on - are youse all that gullible????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Walter2016 wrote: »
    btw - op is new account and also posted similar in Kilkenny thread - matbe the OP is just dreadfully unlucky and two different hotels in two different counties had two TV's fall when his wife looked at them? And gardai from two different districts started to call him in the middle of the night.

Come on - are youse all that gullible????

Or two threads about the same thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I've seen Gardai get involved in private car sales where the buyers were not happy.
    Once the garda was reminded that it was a civil matter, they backed off.

If this is true (not saying it's not), next time the garda calls, get his no. and station, get his supers name. Follow up the following day with a request to meet the super and ask why you are getting these calls.

hairyslug wrote: »
    I've seen Gardai get involved in private car sales where the buyers were not happy.

If this is true (not saying it's not), next time the garda calls, get his no. and station, get his supers name. Follow up the following day with a request to meet the super and ask why you are getting these calls.

ah come on - this thread is a load of bollix.

In terms of private car sales - there can be a criminal element to it, (fraud), but a TV falling off a wall in a room. Come on you simply cannot be that gullible?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057677445

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    Or two threads about the same thing?

I woneder what odds Paddy power would give on two totally different people having identical issue of a TV falling off a wall in a hotel when just "looking at it" and the hotels over 100 miles apart and gardai in both areas call in the middle of the night.

April fools day is still 5 months away.

ah come on - this thread is a load of bollix.

In terms of private car sales - there can be a criminal element to it, (fraud), but a TV falling off a wall in a room. Come on you simply cannot be that gullible?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057677445

I can't see what's so unbelievable. Previous occupant knocks TV off wall, manages to get it back on the wall, gets the feck out before someone notices, cleaners wouldn't notice. Next occupant brushes off it, and down it comes.

It all may well be bollix, but nothing to say it defo is and everyone's gullible.

I woneder what odds Paddy power would give on two totally different people having identical issue of a TV falling off a wall in a hotel when just "looking at it" and the hotels over 100 miles apart and gardai in both areas call in the middle of the night.

I think the Kilkenny thread and this are about the same incident.

Ahh, Just copped the two different usernames....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

hairyslug wrote: »

It is common for garda to get embroiled in this kind of situation. This post above is exactly the way to deal with this. It will likely stop the minute you ask for his number. If not, tell him you'll make a complaint to the sargeant. The sargeant will likely just hang up when you try to complain but persist and mention the ombudsman.

This is a civil matter. The Garza involved has no remit to be calling you and what he is doing is harrasment. Calling at midnight would not be seen as acceptable to anyone.

Good luck with it and let us know what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Flatzie_poo

Ask the guard for their ID number and what station they're in.

Google that station number, ring, ask for his/her name.

It's a civil issue. Ask (politely) why they are involved.

The only thing I can think offhand is that the hotel might have spun it as criminal damage/breach of peace.

The TV broke while you were using it - Once there was no excessive force applied, you're not liable.

As a previous poster said, get in touch with Health and Safety and tell them them all the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭c_meth

Ask the guard for their ID number and what station they're in.

Google that station number, ring, ask for his/her name.

It's a civil issue. Ask (politely) why they are involved.

The only thing I can think offhand is that the hotel might have spun it as criminal damage/breach of peace.

The TV broke while you were using it - Once there was no excessive force applied, you're not liable.

As a previous poster said, get in touch with Health and Safety and tell them them all the details.

Why is everyone so sure that its a civil matter ?

It could be Criminal Damage to the hotel's property. It would appear that the hotel definitely seem to think so. They have reported it as such hence the calls from the guards.

Let the guards investigate. If everything is as the OP says then there is nothing to be worried about for the OP. However if there is evidence to the contrary...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Mod
    Closing this thread for review