Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thursday races

• 24-11-2016 6:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭

Going for ew doubles and singles today ballyluskey 14/1 in the last at thurles and vinnnie Lewis 16/1 2-10 towcester good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Wild Sam in the 2.35 at Thurles today.
    Has had a lot of niggles up to now but today should be his day with the Davymeister on board 9/2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Thurles 1:00 - Lord Windermere is a monster 16/1 in what looks like a very interesting seasonal debut for most of today's participants. Champagne Fever after a year and a half off the track and has been immediately slotted in as favourite. On past form, this one should be winning this easily, but I would be very fearful backing it at a fairly short price all considering. The two Gigginstown runners look like decent enough 7 year olds, but I think both would need to step it up a little to be winning this. That leaves us with Lord Windermere who disappointed last season, but obviously has proven ability and could win this if fit. With races like these, early into the season with very little prize money at stake, trainers naturally have bigger targets. The two Gigginstown horses are both 7 and improvers with high profile entries, so I don't imagine they would be driven too hard to win this. Willie could just have Champagne Fever out for the spin, so with that in mind, maybe Culloty will give this a go and try to pick up the pieces.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Unlucky Francie, ran a blinder.

25/1 at the off, so at least my pain is eased a little bit with the e/w part of the bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Wasn't there a lot of talk about this Admiral Chief when he was with Mullins last year but never made the track.

Runs in the bumper today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Are You The Way 16-1 4.55

One of few who has ran over a mile before. Has kept on in all it's recent races, I think this trip of 1-2f may suit.
    At 16-1 I like its ew shot

1pts ew 16-1

Catalinas Diamond 20-1 4. 25

Has run consistently this year, always thereabouts but never winning. Drops into this grade 7 donkey derby.
    At 20-1 I hope it's consistency alone will grab it a place at a nice price

1pts ew 20-1

Gone for Eric The Third in the next at Thurles, amazed to go with a Rothwell horse, but this is a bad race and this has bits and pieces of form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭magicmoves

Great shout none the less

kfallon wrote: »
    Wasn't there a lot of talk about this Admiral Chief when he was with Mullins last year but never made the track.

Runs in the bumper today.
    Must have lost a leg, massive drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Shanee.

This wont be winning anyway. A place lay i'd be thinking

Filth.

Rotten to the core.

Shanee. wrote: »
    Rotten to the core.
    Go Racing!

Just make sure you are well lubed up before hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Custom Cut

Mouse Morris doesn't have to make the horse a non trier to ensure it's tailed off, that's their usual run style, especially with debutantes. Don't blame connections of the horse, blame the people who thought the horse would deliver on its Mullins reputation on debut for Mouse and backed it in so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭tinpib

On Secret Bird in the 4:25pm in Chelms. Its jockey Lulu Stanford, quite pretty incidentally, looks like she hasn't received too many hind leg kicks to the face, essentially said "drawn 14 in Chelmsford you write off your chances" :(

She is hoping Secret Bird can jump out well. So I will know if it's curtains after about 5 seconds.

Come on Lulu!

Edit: You little beauty Lulu. She got the first bend in 2nd so wasn't 7 wide the whole way as she feared. Fair play to her.

Custom Cut wrote: »
    Mouse Morris doesn't have to make the horse a non trier to ensure it's tailed off, that's their usual run style, especially with debutantes. Don't blame connections of the horse, blame the people who thought the horse would deliver on its Mullins reputation on debut for Mouse and backed it in so much.
    Horse should have been pulled up it was so unfit,thats whats called schooling in public.
    Stewards should have been straight down to the boxes after the races to check over the horse and a report sent back in to its fitness.

Rotten to the core.
    Go Racing!

Would you believe I used to work on course. So I know exactly what does be going on!

Rotten to the core.
    Go Racing!

Would you believe I used to work on course. So I know exactly what does be going on!

Rotten to the core.
    Go Racing!

Ajuna Beach 33-1 7.55

Won over this trip two back
    Worth a 1pts ew

Bottom weight here

1pts ew

Loving the after-timing.

The fact that gigginstown won the race shows how rancid this really was. Punted from 5/2 into evens and drifts to 6.8 on machine 5 minutes before the off. Wasn't off a yard today even drifted from 1.25 to 2.68 to be placed?!

@tipptom, I'm not saying anything about fitness. I'm saying Mouse does terribly in bumpers and with newcomers. In any case there's no rule about a horse having to be hard fit to go on the track.

@Francie, I made no mention or implication of any bet, I didn't have one. I didn't care enough to comment until accusations of wrongdoing surfaced.

@tipptom, I'm not saying anything about fitness. I'm saying Mouse does terribly in bumpers and with newcomers. In any case there's no rule about a horse having to be hard fit to go on the track.

@Francie, I made no mention or implication of any bet, I didn't have one. I didn't care enough to comment until accusations of wrongdoing surfaced.
    The horse went from even money to 8's on Betfair, there was a wall of money opposing it. For you to suggest that it was obvious that it'd be tailed off after the fact is after timing.

You know what, I didn't know how this horse would run, he was a newcomer. I'm just saying the race clearly wasn't rigged. Is anyone else who responds to claims of race fixing without posting an opinion beforehand an aftertimer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Stop talking rubbish. There was fook all money on this to make it an even money shot the night before. Any mug that went in on that basis deserves everything they get. Gigginstown play with a straight bat.

Anyone with half a brain cell would know that if Morris had Yeats running in a bumper he would get beaten. They guy is a disaster of a trainer. in fairness to him he can ready one for a target, however his horses run with no consistency throughout the season and that will be his downfall with Gigginstown. I would predict he won't have have them as owners after next season!!

You know what, I didn't know how this horse would run, he was a newcomer. I'm just saying the race clearly wasn't rigged. Is anyone else who responds to claims of race fixing without posting an opinion beforehand an aftertimer?

It's a default setting for the mugs. 'The fav drifted' it must be rigged.

Kauto wrote: »

Stop talking rubbish. There was fook all money on this to make it an even money shot the night before. Any mug that went in on that basis deserves everything they get. Gigginstown play with a straight bat.

Anyone with half a brain cell would know that if Morris had Yeats running in a bumper he would get beaten. They guy is a disaster of a trainer. in fairness to him he can ready one for a target, however his horses run with no consistency throughout the season and that will be his downfall with Gigginstown. I would predict he won't have have them as owners after next season!!

I believe you are mistaken as the horse in question was backed from 5/2 to odds on with bookmakers and was also matched at 2.1 on betfair or even below it last night. As for gigginstown playing with a straight bat? Look at the Beg Chase in Naas Saturday 2 weeks ago. Road to Respect backed from massive prices on machine into 12-1 and 11/10 fav Prince of Scars not even put into the race. I believe your view of Gigginstown is slightly tainted....

Am I back in school, did you just call me a mug? :pac:

I believe you are mistaken as the horse in question was backed from 5/2 to odds on with bookmakers and was also matched at 2.1 on betfair or even below it last night. As for gigginstown playing with a straight bat? Look at the Beg Chase in Naas Saturday 2 weeks ago. Road to Respect backed from massive prices on machine into 12-1 and 11/10 fav Prince of Scars not even put into the race. I believe your view of Gigginstown is slightly tainted....
    I liked the way the two boys put words into our mouths, suggesting that the race was "rigged".

No, I don't think the race was rigged, or that horse was stopped. I think the horse just wasn't right and someone got wind of it and laid the crap out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Calm down Danny Dyer

I liked the way the two boys put words into our mouths, suggesting that the race was "rigged".

No, I don't think the race was rigged, or that horse was stopped. I think the horse just wasn't right and someone got wind of it and laid the crap out of it.

It ran a similar race to the way the majority of Mouse Morris horses run. Crap.

A Morris horse at 8/1 or less on debut is an automatic lay on debut in a bumper. Check the stats.

The horse is probably useless for all you know and will more than likely end up in a 0-102 handicap next April.

The horse was backed from 5/2 to odds on the night before? Wouldnt take anymore than €5K max to do that. Its not unheard of for the books to start a fake gamble and for all the mugs to follow in backing it.

As for the Prince of Scars, i seem to remember he jumped poorly in Naas and if not for that he would have won. My view of Gigginstown is not slightly tainted. You can be just about certain you are on a trier when backing one of theirs. Road to Respect was always going to be a better chaser and his price was simply to big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

The horse was backed from 5/2 to odds on the night before? Wouldnt take anymore than €5K max to do that. Its not unheard of for the books to start a fake gamble and for all the mugs to follow in backing it.

As for the Prince of Scars, i seem to remember he jumped poorly in Naas and if not for that he would have won. My view of Gigginstown is not slightly tainted. You can be just about certain you are on a trier when backing one of theirs. Road to Respect was always going to be a better chaser and his price was simply to big.

Nice of you to ride in on your white horse after the event! I wasn't even aware of the race but commenting after it loses and calling the lads who backed it "Mugs" (a dreadful term used by asholes who like to project themselves as good punters) just makes you look a tool.

Gregk961 wrote: »
    Nice of you to ride in on your white horse after the event! I wasn't even aware of the race but commenting after it loses and calling the lads who backed it "Mugs" (a dreadful term used by asholes who like to project themselves as good punters) just makes you look a tool.

I have been been called worse. Have you a better term for someone backing a Morris horse at that price??

The horse was backed from 5/2 to odds on the night before? Wouldnt take anymore than 5K max to do that. Its not unheard of for the books to start a fake gamble and for all the mugs to follow in backing it.

Wouldn't agree with you in regards to bookies starting a gamble. The horse was freely available at 5/2 and 2/1 Wednesday evening. I know as I backed it at these prices a few times. I also have worked in one of the biggest bookmakers in the world and know how they operate in relation to over night pricing. I also heard that P Mullins asked to ride the horse all week and was kindly declined. Whatever happened either the horse wasn't fully fit or didn't try a yard it stank. Word was put out that he was a machine and obviously someone didn't fancy the price and laid ye bolox out of him win and place. I'm sure we will see him hack up soon. Watch this space

Overnight prices are a disaster. The books getting their cards marked for pennies.

As for the horse, it may well hack up soon but it certainly wont be carrying my money, whilst trained by Morris. No horse is going to improve for the switch from Mullins to Morris.
    The horse went off at a price he should have been in the morning. Win or lose (of course i am afertiming)

No horse should be run that unfit over that distance,it can lead to long term problems in the future in some horses.

I agree they are a joke for the punter. Completely marking the card of the books, it should be changed back to the way it was no prices untill the morning! I wouldn't regard Mouse as that bad of a trainer but yesterday was clearly evidence of a non trier. Anyway, today's another day!

Mouse is a great target trainer. A Horse will run for its life at Cheltenham but throughout the season by and large the do not perform. He got a warning letter last year off Gigginstown and will probably get another next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Kauto wrote:
    Mouse is a great target trainer. A Horse will run for its life at Cheltenham but throughout the season by and large the do not perform. He got a warning letter last year off Gigginstown and will probably get another next year.

Warning letter? Elaborate please

Pull up your socks or suffer similar fate to Martin and Hughes. He has since won Grand National but his horses are not consistent throughout the season, hence he will eventually lose them id say.

Anyhoo,on my perusal through the stewards reports this morning I came across Magnification in Dundalk a couple of weeks ago with an explanation from Shane Foley to his poor run a couple of weeks back so he will be my bet around my multiples today.

Probably a mug bet but im no professional and I can afford to lose the few quid on them and enjoy it win or lose.