Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor NCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,720 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I'd say it's inevitable really that some form of testing will be brought in.

The big question is how much will be watered down and at what age will tractors be exempt. From what I remember when rollbars were enforced it didn't apply to tractors before a certain date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

surely motorbikes and then push bikes having safety checks would be more beneficial to deaths and accidents

Some of the general regulations and Health and safety rules would sicken the bol1x off you.

If people used some cope on it would go along way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Some of the tractors I've driven over the last few years for other lads and my aul lad were absolute death traps no handbrakes no lights no mirrors no door etc it's about time something like this was brought in if anything is to be done to try reduce farm accidents

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Some of the tractors I've driven over the last few years for other lads and my aul lad were absolute death traps no handbrakes no lights no mirrors no door etc it's about time something like this was brought in if anything is to be done to try reduce farm accidents

why did you drive an roadworthy tractor on public road ?

that would be your fault not the owners fault. You should have took action then instead of coming on here with the eye rolling ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

_Brian wrote:
    I'd say it's inevitable really that some form of testing will be brought in.

I'd agree that some form of test should be in place. But beyond lights, breaks and safety guards they shouldn't be looking at much else. Stuff like seat sensors is a step too far imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

i reckon a farmer lead voluntary scheme might help to prevent a statutory scheme.
    its not too long before someone gets jailed for driving a tractor with no brakes. Everybody knows whats dodgey about their own tractor, here the steering is a bit looser than i'd like it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

ganmo wrote: »
    i reckon a farmer lead voluntary scheme might help to prevent a statutory scheme.
    its not too long before someone gets jailed for driving a tractor with no brakes. Everybody knows whats dodgey about their own tractor, here the steering is a bit looser than i'd like it
    Yeah but it's not always possible to get it fixed straight away with farm returns the way it is going atm.

The biggest single thing that could be done to improve farm safety is to ensure that returns on farms are someway fair so the finances are there to fix those problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Normally agree with you Buford but if a tractor is on a public road it needs to be in good working order. I have spent €6000 on my 2 tractors in the last 18 months, (that includes 4 new tyres). I get them serviced every 12 months. then pay the guts of a grand to tax and insure them.

Had a tough year myself and I am a full time farmer but if farming not making money that still no excuse you would not allow a plumber's van out without insurance, tax or not in good mechanical order simply because there is a downturn in his trade.

Pet hate of mine lads looking to borrow tractors not because theirs is not working but because its a pile of ****e that could not pull a Tonka trailer.

Suppose il be shot for bringing this up.

What about tractors that don't go on the road, in a factory an employer would be prosecuted for a dangerous piece of equipment, but so many tractors on farms are lethal death traps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

surely motorbikes and then push bikes having safety checks would be more beneficial to deaths and accidents

Some of the general regulations and Health and safety rules would sicken the bol1x off you.

If people used some cope on it would go along way

Unfortunately it has been proven time and time again that relying on peoples copon does not work.

People who don't maintain their machines to a safe standard now, won't ever unless they are made to do so.
    Yeah but it's not always possible to get it fixed straight away with farm returns the way it is going atm.

The biggest single thing that could be done to improve farm safety is to ensure that returns on farms are someway fair so the finances are there to fix those problems.

Its not even just about fixing every little thing as it happens, there are far too many machines on the road that never receive any form of maintenance.

We all know of farmers with poorly maintained tractors on the roads, with little or no lighting, no brakes and questionable steering. To make it worse most of these lads had old tractors capable of only 20-30kph but they are now upgrading to worn out machines capable of 40+kph and will still pull the same crappy trailers they always had at these higher speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

HSA prosecution and a farmer losing his farm would soon cure a few lads. We all know that machinery needs to be kept in good order and I can gauratee you if, God forbid, a lad had an accident with a dodgy tractor etc his farm insurance will be worth zero.

Om a side note I think HSA inspections of farms will become much more common but my Bord Bia QA gut is, strangley, strict as it on stuff like that.

barnaman wrote: »
    Normally agree with you Buford but if a tractor is on a public road it needs to be in good working order. I have spent €6000 on my 2 tractors in the last 18 months, (that includes 4 new tyres). I get them serviced every 12 months. then pay the guts of a grand to tax and insure them.

Had a tough year myself and I am a full time farmer but if farming not making money that still no excuse you would not allow a plumber's van out without insurance, tax or not in good mechanical order simply because there is a downturn in his trade.

Pet hate of mine lads looking to borrow tractors not because theirs is not working but because its a pile of ****e that could not pull a Tonka trailer.
    Same as, barnaman, one good tractor and a yard tractor that never goes on the road but both taxed and insured and it's not cheap. But I've seen lads with new tractors working machinery without a PTO guard. That's one I can never understand, lads operating without a PTO guard because it's unbelievably stupid, imo.

I think a lot of lads chance going on the road because the outside block is so close to the home farm so they reckon the chances anything going wrong is so small that they'll risk it.
    _Brian wrote: »

What about tractors that don't go on the road, in a factory an employer would be prosecuted for a dangerous piece of equipment, but so many tractors on farms are lethal death traps.
    I'd be inclined to agree with you on that, Brian. Some of the machinery I've seen pulled into a neighbours yard for a few repairs would boggle your head.

Saying that, though, I was that lad up to a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

[quote="barnaman;101746542"

Om a side note I think HSA inspections of farms will become much more common but my Bord Bia QA gut is, strangley, strict as it on stuff like that.[/quote]

Let HSA do the safety and let Bord Bia to the food like they should be.
    Only time you hear about the HSA is AFTER a fatal accident. If they called as regularly as Bord Bia they'd soon sort out the sxxt and who knows maybe prevent a few accidents.

No, not at all. But there is a big difference between what is safe for road use and what is safe for yard use. However the many of the machines used on the road are not even safe for yard use.

Let HSA do the safety and let Bord Bia to the food like they should be.
    Only time you hear about the HSA is AFTER a fatal accident. If they called as regularly as Bord Bia they'd soon sort out the sxxt and who knows maybe prevent a few accidents.
    I've had two HSA calls in the last 5 years and I was very impressed, tbh. They pointed out things that I wouldn't have thought would cause a problem but they explained why it could. They weren't bossy, just straight talking and gave me a month to get things sorted the first time.

There was no issue the second time as I think it was mostly PTO shafts they were looking at that time.

emaherx wrote: »
    People who don't maintain their machines to a safe standard now, won't ever unless they are made to do so.

look at the epa's hazardous waste collections, just because ppl don't do something doesn't mean they won't if given some education and encouragement.

hell an enterprising tractor mechanic could start doing 'safety tests' and do a quick assessment of the brakes, steering etc. sometimes all it needs to fix a problem is the right tools

look at the epa's hazardous waste collections, just because ppl don't do something doesn't mean they won't if given some education and encouragement.

hell an enterprising tractor mechanic could start doing 'safety tests' and do a quick assessment of the brakes, steering etc. sometimes all it needs to fix a problem is the right tools

Thanks for reminding me, have stuff to send to my local collection at the end of the month.

Still plenty don't bother to take advantage of that great service.

Of coarse there are lots of people who are very particular about how they maintain their stuff. And many more who do an adequate job. But there are as many more that won't bother unless they think they won't get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

The same thing crops up every year along with the shock horror of 16 year olds driving tractors and I say the same thing every time it does.

Tractors on the road are probably the least dangerous part of farming.

Livestock, poor health and safety practices while carrying out physical tasks and operating pto driven machinery are the main dangers.

Relating to a possible test imo the criteria of what's tested would want to be very simple (brakes, lights and steering) things like new agri tyres are nothing to do with safety on the road. Well worn tyres would actually provide more road grip and things like catastrophic blowouts from cracked tyres don't happen either no matter how bad the tyre is it'll simply just go flat.

However all of this doesn't matter beacuse the burocratic can of worms along with the cost of implementation coupled with the almost garunteed public out cry from many farmers means the chances of any government implementing such measures are slim.

And tbh it's no harm either plenty of other more pressing issues to be tackled in relation to farm safety

The same thing crops up every year along with the shock horror of 16 year olds driving tractors and I say the same thing every time it does.

Tractors on the road are probably the least dangerous part of farming.

Livestock, poor health and safety practices while carrying out physical tasks and operating pto driven machinery are the main dangers.

Relating to a possible test imo the criteria of what's tested would want to be very simple (breaks, lights and steering) things like new agri tyres are nothing to do with safety on the road. Well worn tyres would actually provide more road grip and things like catastrophic blowouts from cracked tyres don't happen either no matter how bad the tyre is it'll simply just go flat.

However all of this doesn't matter beacuse the burocratic can of worms along with the cost of implementation coupled with the almost garunteed public out cry from many farmers means the chances of any government implementing such measures are slim.

And tbh it's no harm either plenty of other more pressing issues to be tackled in relation to farm safety

You could be right about it not being the biggest farm safety issue. But it is a very real public safety issue. All vehicle's used on public roads should be in suitable condition, and many farm vehicles fall very short of this.

As for the 16 year olds you mentioned, maybe there should be some restrictions on size and or speed of vehicles which they can use. Let's face it tractors are changing so should the regulations.

You could be right about it not being the biggest farm safety issue. But it is a very real public safety issue. All vehicle's used on public roads should be in suitable condition, and many farm vehicles fall very short of this.

As for the 16 year olds you mentioned, maybe there should be some restrictions on size and or speed of vehicles which they can use. Let's face it tractors are changing so should the regulations.

I don't disagree with your sentiment but it's just that the statistics don't stack up to warrant such action. When other aspects of agriculture are so much more dangerous will this be tackled? (imo I don't think so) and more importantly should it be tackled? (again I'm not so sure considering the other more pressing issues)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Why does everyone write breaks it's brakes. The machinery 30 years ago that silage contractors had would give some people on here heart attacks.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Why does everyone write breaks it's brakes. The machinery 30 years ago that silage contractors had would give some people on here heart attacks.
    b3d7fdef-bff2-4a5b-8c95-077b8c89084f.jpg

I don't disagree with your sentiment but it's just that the statistics don't stack up to warrant such action. When other aspects of agriculture are so much more dangerous will this be tackled? (imo I don't think so) and more importantly should it be tackled? (again I'm not so sure considering the other more pressing issues)

Nor me with yours in fairness, plenty of work to be done across the sector. But when it comes to road safety it's more the remit of the RSA than the HSA.

Have to be honest and say that farming will be seriously frowned on if there is huge push-back on any sort of testing for tractors.

We have (and rightly so) the name of being the most dangerous business in the country. Testing, at least on the surface to the public, is an obvious move to ensure roadworthy equipment is being used.

If we push back it will look like we're just not interested in safety, of ourselves or other road users. And the chances are that an over zealous test will be brought in..

It would serve all farmers best if farming faced up to this inevitability and negotiated a proper sensible testing system rather waiting on something completely unsuitable being forced upon us and then moaning about it..

Auto correct and trying to get used to an Android phone after switching from iOS is my excuse :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

How could / would it work?

I only have what ye refer to as a yard tractor. NCT centre is 20 miles away - would I have to pay someone to haul it to such a centre?
    And maybe go back again a week later if something wasn't right...

I accept that some tractors are on the road all the time, so some form of tests may be necessary. But maybe there should be a cut off on year or something, as am sure there are plenty tractors out there that never see the road either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Have to be honest and say that farming will be seriously frowned on if there is huge push-back on any sort of testing for tractors.

We have (and rightly so) the name of being the most dangerous business in the country. Testing, at least on the surface to the public, is an obvious move to ensure roadworthy equipment is being used.

If we push back it will look like we're just not interested in safety, of ourselves or other road users. And the chances are that an over zealous test will be brought in..

It would serve all farmers best if farming faced up to this inevitability and negotiated a proper sensible testing system rather waiting on something completely unsuitable being forced upon us and then moaning about it..

The problem is health and safety is a monster in Ireland. The reason that there are so many death on Irish farms are....................money. If there was money in farming we would be regulated for as much as they could catch us.

Look up serious accidents that cause death or injury on Irish farms

http://www.hsa.ie/eng/Your_Industry/Agriculture_Forestry/Further_Information/Fatal_Accidents/

If you look at the stastics they are frightening and I imagine that very few happen on public roads.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

why did you drive an roadworthy tractor on public road ?

that would be your fault not the owners fault. You should have took action then instead of coming on here with the eye rolling ideas

I very rarely drive machinery now due to lack of time for it and because f#ck it I'm old enough to have sense now and lads as for the HSA there inspections aren't worth a w#nk to be fair they just tell you what dangers are there that's all when in reality they should be doing a 're check in 6 months time and then fining the farmer for anything he has not fixed since the last visit

Better living everyone

I only have what ye refer to as a yard tractor. NCT centre is 20 miles away - would I have to pay someone to haul it to such a centre?

I accept that some tractors are on the road all the time, so some form of tests may be necessary. But maybe there should be a cut off on year or something, as am sure there are plenty tractors out there that never see the road either...

Yard tractors wouldn't need to pass a road worthiness test, how ever that wouldn't stop the HSA from inspecting it for safety reasons during their farm inspections.
    The problem is health and safety is a monster in Ireland. The reason that there are so many death on Irish farms are....................money. If there was money in farming we would be regulated for as much as they could catch us.

Look up serious accidents that cause death or injury on Irish farms

http://www.hsa.ie/eng/Your_Industry/Agriculture_Forestry/Further_Information/Fatal_Accidents/

If you look at the stastics they are frightening and I imagine that very few happen on public roads.

There may be less chance of accident on the public road but the chances of it involving members of the public who have nothing to do with farming is much higher. Yes we all need to improve safety on our farms, but on our farms we and our families are the most likely victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

surely motorbikes and then push bikes having safety checks would be more beneficial to deaths and accidents .

Not many people will drive a dangerous motorbike as the person going to get hurt is the rider. The risk of a tractor injuring 3rd parties is fsr greater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

I would not worry about it as it will be like the DOE for commercials where its always possible as they say to "grease the wheels"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

liam7831 wrote: »
    I would not worry about it as it will be like the DOE for commercials where its always possible as they say to "grease the wheels"

Not anymore Liam. Very strict now and rightly so.

Back to farming though, money is the problem. Farmers run off their feet, taking chances, shortcuts and making bad decisions is what leads to accidents. All because they can't afford to pay for help to take the pressure off.

Coops, meat factories etc take note. Unless there is a meaningful price passed back to farmers for they're investment, farming is doomed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Farmers run off they're feet, taking chances, shortcuts and making bad decisions is what leads to accidents.

I couldn't agree more with this

Very simple to link it to tax/insurance. If ya want to tax/insure you need a test cert.. This essentially makes them compulsory for road going tractors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Ginger83

I came across this article just now about tractors may need an NCT to be legal. Some of the proposals are unlikely to passed by any tractor more than a few years old.

http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/machinery/farmers-could-be-facing-an-nct-for-their-tractors-35230791.html

It's early days and there will be a lot of watering down done but it looks like it will be a runner in a few years time.

And the sooner the better....

An elderly farmer near me has a wreck of a yolk and drives everywhere with hazards on at night as he has no lights and wont/cant afford/too mean to get them fixed.

He collects 2 friends every Sunday to go to mass and they stand each side of him in the tractor, and then theres spilt milk when theres an accident.

I've gotten fed up with him so I switch my own lights off when I see him coming, makes for a great meeting.

Not anymore Liam. Very strict now and rightly so.

Back to farming though, money is the problem. Farmers run off they're feet, taking chances, shortcuts and making bad decisions is what leads to accidents. All because they can't afford to pay for help to take the pressure off.

Coops, meat factories etc take note. Unless there is a meaningful price passed back to farmers for they're investment, farming is doomed.
    I couldn't agree more with this

I would be in complete agreeance, problem is though is there is no interest in having a proper functioning farming sector.
    Interesting Ella McSweeny was on Anton Savage the other morning and she said that farmers had no control and that control had shifted up the line to processors.. This is the problem, they have the power and influence and so they are structuring the industry so they have the lions share of profits, with only enough going through the farm gate so they will have a plentyful supply of raw material at/below cost price.

We need an irish regulator whom would assess the farming goods throughout the chain of production and ensure that all parties get appropriate share of the profit.. Beef ends up in the shops at ~€45/kg, someone is making serious cash, a portion should in fairness be paid to farmers. Its in place for energy so the model already exists - problem is nobody has any interest in shifting the profitability down the chain to farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

I would be in complete agreeance, problem is though is there is no interest in having a proper functioning farming sector.
    Interesting Ella McSweeny was on Anton Savage the other morning and she said that farmers had no control and that control had shifted up the line to processors.. This is the problem, they have the power and influence and so they are structuring the industry so they have the lions share of profits, with only enough going through the farm gate so they will have a plentyful supply of raw material at/below cost price.

We need an irish regulator whom would assess the farming goods throughout the chain of production and ensure that all parties get appropriate share of the profit.. Beef ends up in the shops at ~€45/kg, someone is making serious cash, a portion should in fairness be paid to farmers. Its in place for energy so the model already exists - problem is nobody has any interest in shifting the profitability down the chain to farmers.

Going off topic here but unless there is a substantial increase in farmers margins the processors are going to end up cutting their own throats. They have a margin on every kg of meat and every litre of milk.
    Whether we like it or not, wages are only going one way. Farmers won't be able to compete with other sectors for employees which will leave harvest 2020 and 2025 in shreds due to reduced production. Without extra Labour expansion can't continue. I can foresee a reduction in cow numbers in the next 3 years due to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Welding Rod

Farmers as a rule are much better at breaking than at braking!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

i have no problem with having some sort of safety checks on tractors especially ones that are used on the road and on a daily basis but we all know when these things come in its just a money making racket and probably in turn hoping that fellows will either scrap and buy newer tractors like the nct did when it came in first.Then something over so many yrs an insurance company won't touch it as its too old for a working tractor and become more or less obselete.I think alot of guys only fix tractors when they have to really and are not worried if certain things are going once they do what they need it to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

"Safety" is a difficult word for a farmer to digest..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nor me with yours in fairness, plenty of work to be done across the sector. But when it comes to road safety it's more the remit of the RSA than the HSA.
    I am sure if the rsa really wanted to they could put alot of farmers off the road. OH is in dread of meeting them on the road even though all his trailers etc are in test. They always find something wrong. He used to always be giving out about the doe test finding things wrong but now he is of the mind at least everything is working as it should be. Especially if carrying big weights. Too late to find out something is wrong when you have an accident. We went to look at a tractor trailer a few weeks ago. A eureka trailer, looked a lovely trailer from the top. Total rust bucket underneath. Shouldnt be let out on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

I got the handbrake fixed on my tractor a few years ago cost me an arm and a leg as the back wheel had to be taken off. Worked for about 4 weeks there was no alarm to tell you it was applied I kept driving around with it on and it lasted no length.

I agree with an earlier poster tractor road accidents are not as major an issue as some are making out especially low speed older ones.

I think as regards farm safety trying to eliminate all farm deaths through bodies like the HSA is a woefully inefficient strategy. Farmers should be warned about the dangers involved in farming and let them decide themselves if they want to continue in that occupation.
    Where there is no risk to public safety there should be no issue. Wasting man hours with guys with clipboards going around to individual farms is ridiculous.

20silkcut wrote: »

I agree with an earlier poster tractor road accidents are not as major an issue as some are making out especially low speed older ones.

Where there is no risk to public safety there should be no issue.

These 2 sentences are in conflict. Once you are on a public road, it's no longer about your farm safety, it's about public safety.

Also a lot of people who were driving low speed older ones are now buying higher speed old ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

These 2 sentences are in conflict. Once you are on a public road, it's no longer about your farm safety, it's about public safety.

Also a lot of people who were driving low speed older ones are now buying higher speed old ones.

The risk of a serious accident with a low speed older tractor is incredibly low.
    In my near 40 years on this earth I know of only one accident involving a tractor and another road user in my local area and that was 25 years ago.
    This is not a pressing safety issue. A low speed tractor can be just driven into the ditch without major damage in the event of brake failure. There is no need for another layer of bureaucratic nonsense in relation to them.
    Of course tractors in excess of 40km/hr are different and there is appropriate legislation with regards to pulling trailers for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Farmers as a rule are much better at breaking than at braking!!!!

Nothing that a welding rod won't sort :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

In reality most of us have no issue with a tractor NCT. However it should deal with the reality of farming. It should deal with lights indicators and brakes only on older tractors. If it deals with steering it should have acceptable tolerances. As Silkcut said fatal road accidents or even road accidents in general involving tractors are minimal. What we do not want is a nightmare of regulations that will force older tractors off the road with out any benefit to general safety

Slava Ukrainii

In reality most of us have no issue with a tractor NCT. However it should deal with the reality of farming. It should deal with lights indicators and brakes only on older tractors. If it deals with steering it should have acceptable tolerances. As Silkcut said fatal road accidents or even road accidents in general involving tractors are minimal. What we do not want is a nightmare of regulations that will force older tractors off the road with out any benefit to general safety

Exactly a basic test. Most are right in that it should not be nessacery. But a lot of the answers on here prove even more that there probably is a need.

Answers like: "it's too expensive to maintain our tractors" and "sure we can just plough them into a ditch in case of emergency", I find to be extremely disturbing. We have 5 tractors which are between 20 to 40 years old, each has working brakes, lights and have had steering issues sorted out. When a machine has an issue with brakes, lighting or steering it does not leave the yard.

High speed tractors have been around for 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Exactly a basic test. Most are right in that it should not be nessacery. But a lot of the answers on here prove even more that there probably is a need.

Answers like: "it's too expensive to maintain our tractors" and "sure we can just plough them into a ditch in case of emergency", I find to be extremely disturbing. We have 5 tractors which are between 20 to 40 years old, each has working brakes, lights and have had steering issues sorted out. When a machine has an issue with brakes, lighting or steering it does not leave the yard.

High speed tractors have been around for 30 years.
    I dont think its fair that lorries etc are subject to doe etc and tractors that do the same work are not. Can also use green diesel in a tractor, making a major saving on white

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

whelan2 wrote: »
    I dont think its fair that lorries etc are subject to doe etc and tractors that do the same work are not. Can also use green diesel in a tractor, making a major saving on white

Get a tractor then.;)
    Ah no seriously a lot of the soil and muck moving companies have tractors for places unsuitable for lorries.

whelan2 wrote: »

The distances travelled and road speed is generally incomparable though between the two. Fasttracs and MB tracs make up a small minority of the countries tractor population even they are incomparable to hgv's

I'm not completely against testing but if it's carried out like the doe (€100+ a go) and sometimes big distances to travel to a center and then to fail on minor sh1te like the outer layer of a brake line looking a bit old when in fact the line itself is in perfect condition is going to cause massive headaches when testing in relation to tractors.