Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reo Speedwagon- Keep on Loving You

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's not even the best REO Speedwagon song ever.

Time For Me To Fly, Roll With The Changes, Take It On The Run, all vastly superior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

bollox. This is

I might have even said Don't stop believing until Glee ruined it.

Oh no, not one of the kitsch threads about Journey, REO Speedwagon or Toto.

Not the worst bands mind you, but overplayed and overrated.

Still, not as bad as people bursting in Spandau Ballet's "Gold". That was the height of gassness during the Celtic Tiger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Time For Me To Fly, Roll With The Changes, Take It On The Run, all vastly superior.

And 'can't fight this feeling'.
    Very cheesy. Would never admit to liking it....doh!

Still, not as bad as people bursting in Spandau Ballet's "Gold". That was the height of gassness during the Celtic Tiger.

Vienna was so much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

It's not Monday night :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Funny thing about AOR shi'te is that now I'm ancient and Trump is in power they sound much better than they did in the 80s when I was young and Reagan was Prez. That said ultimately it's the musical equivalent of cheese in a spray can, okay in a one off guilty pleasure fashion but impossible to sustain oneself on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I'm only learning how to drive so I can play this Queen power ballad type song in my car...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oaEM4JYFPfw

The lyrics are funny, dramatic and melody is really catchy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Best power ballad ever.
    That soaring chorus is pure bliss.

yay loved that. had the album on cassette tape!
    luckily, never got to see the video, they need a good haircut the lot of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

simply red..... dreadful chav fodder which every wannbee cool soul boy had on in their pimped up ford escort hoping to get a grope of their big haired, big shoulder padded blonde chewing gum girlfriend...probably called sharon
    jon bon not jovi.....found out their one song was quite catchy and then lived off it for the next 20 years...actually wasn't all that good to start with...just no
    Robbie Williams...music to drive off a cliff to

simply red..... dreadful chav fodder which every wannbee cool soul boy had on in their pimped up ford escort hoping to get a grope of their big haired, big shoulder padded blonde chewing gum girlfriend...probably called sharon

At the outset they had a few good songs like "Do the Right Thing".

But Stars was just awful, sold by the gazillion and they just kept pumping out that bland crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

MOJO letters page, lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

5 of the best.

1: Heart : Alone
    2: Whitesnake : Is This Love
    3: Patti Smith : Because The Night
    4: John Waite : Missing You
    5: Starship : Nothin's Gonna Stop Us Now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,392 ✭✭✭COH

17 replies and not one mention of Roxette? This thread is f*cked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Frankie's the Power of Love extended version FTW.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjvFho9cQs4

COH wrote: »
    17 replies and not one mention of Roxette? This thread is f*cked

The were ****e!

5 of the best.

1: Heart : Alone
    2: Whitesnake : Is This Love
    3: Patti Smith : Because The Night
    4: John Waite : Missing You
    5: Starship : Nothin's Gonna Stop Us Now

Missing You...a feckin classic. Lets have it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Frankie's the Power of Love extended version FTW.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjvFho9cQs4

That's not even the best power ballad named The Power of Love, never mind the best power ballad ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Take it on the Run is one of my favourite songs.

Have to go listen to it on repeat now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Who is old enough to remember this underrated power ballad?

Ah **** it. Bastard youtube isn't cooperative.

We Built This City is hardly a power ballad?

You're right. Its not.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Olishi4 wrote: »
    I'm only learning how to drive so I can play this Queen power ballad type song in my car...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=oaEM4JYFPfw

The lyrics are funny, dramatic and melody is really catchy!

On the subject of great driving tunes. There is no better song to drive along to with the windows down and the volume up, than this soft rock classic: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Alice Cooper - Poison

Boston - More than a Feeling

ELO - Don't Get Me Down

Chicago - If You Leave Me Now or... Hard to Say I'm Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I've always had a thing for the romantic lyrics and peeled back beat of Vienna by Ultravox. I was less than a year old when it was released, so I'm sure I heard it on the radio at some stage during my early formative period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Purple rain.

No YouTube video.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Me_Grapes wrote: »
    Purple rain.

No YouTube video.

Ah who needs the studio? The live version is all you need:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The last resort

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Big REO Speedwagon fan. Some great songs posted already, they really just don't make songs like them any more. Even if you did, would it even get any play these days? This is probably my favourite though from that era. You're welcome!

This is a gem too, still gives me goosebumps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Grandeeod wrote: »

More like Sh1tesnake compared to the band they once were in the early eighties and Deep Purple MK3 before them.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I love everything from Reo not to mention Roxette I love smokie too!

The Eagles.

I hate the fcking Eagles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Wellyd

Oh god Smokie! I personally preferred rock away your teardrops!

On that note I would like to take this time to thank my father for rearing us on power ballads and rebel songs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Best power ballad ever.
    That soaring chorus is pure bliss.

What octane was the emotion in that one ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Take it on the Run is one of my favourite songs.

Have to go listen to it on repeat now :pac:
    I don't believe it

Not for a minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

It's a power anthem rather than power ballad. An important distinction.

Take Pat Benatar: We Belong - power ballad, but Love Is A Battlefield... power anthem.

Flimpson wrote: »
    It's a power anthem rather than power ballad. An important distinction.

Take Pat Benatar: We Belong - power ballad, but Love Is A Battlefield... power anthem.
    There's no such thing as power ballads really, there's good tunes and shite songs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,464 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vKQcdX8rV7Y

Here's a rare one. It was a song for Norway In the 2005 or 2006 Eurovision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,577 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Grayson wrote: »
    Vienna was so much better

Means nothing to me.

OH VIENNA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

There's no such thing as power ballads really, there's good tunes and shite songs
    Well I wasn't being serious.

But yeah there is such a thing as power ballads all right - a jokey name, but in reference to a particular type of song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,464 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Africa and Rosanna from Toto great songs

https://youtu.be/FTQbiNvZqaY

https://youtu.be/qmOLtTGvsbM

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

Back in the days when people could actually write good music instead of pressing buttons that just might generate a half menorable 3 note melody.

Music has been shown to have become more monotonous and less "musical" over the years.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/music/9430338/Modern-music-really-does-sound-the-same.html

http://wmbriggs.com/post/4405/

And the audience has gotten dumber, with less of an attention span and lower expectations.

I feel so lucky to have grown up in the 70s 80s and 90s!!

Today, a young chap by the name of James Arthur is honing his craft singing about holding his girlfriend's hair back while she vomits.

FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

REO Speedwagon are crap, that song is too, nearly as bad as Foreigner and their output.

Glazers Out!