Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Homeless in the city centre

• 13-11-2016 9:49pm

Has anyone else noticed a rise in Homeless people in the City Centre? Not just the regular winos you'd see around the place, but people that are sleeping rough.

There's a few camped out outside the Forster Court Hotel, outside the Ulster Bank on Eyre Square, and have seen more dotted around the place.

Right now they're not doing anything bad, as such, but I just really hope it doesn't become like Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I did notice it the last time I was in Galway and that was in the summer. I can't imagine much comfort for homeless people on the West coast during the winter.

I presume your thinking of helping out with the issues or starting something up? I worked on a volunteer basis in Dublin on projects. PM me if you want info. The Galway Simon community are very active and you can volunteer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Ya. Not quite sure what the story is: if someone presents to the council as homeless, they have to be accommodated. So we're seeing an increase in people publically not presenting. My suspicion is that spots in very prominent positions (Forster Court hotel) are keenly sought after, because of the amount of donations from people going to the bus-station.

I guess partly the accommodation crisis (well done the government for outlawing bedsits!) has made move on spaces more likely to be filled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭bobbyss

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I did notice it the last time I was in Galway and that was in the summer. I can't imagine much comfort for homeless people on the West coast during the winter.

I presume your thinking of helping out with the issues or starting something up? I worked on a volunteer basis in Dublin on projects. PM me if you want info. The Galway Simon community are very active and you can volunteer.

Used to be a volunteer for Simon but only for a very short time. I got an insight into what life was like in a shelter. It was so long ago that I can not remember where it was. It may have been in the Claddagh. You had all sorts there whose lives had broken down for one reason or other. You can't help but admire volunteers' dedication especially the long termers. It is not an easy job. Walking along Forster St one day at about 5pm I saw a couple of homeless and also beside Tesco at hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

With Fairgreen House just around the corner, I wonder why they're consistently sleeping rough?

I see the same two guys every morning when I drive past Forster Court Hotel. Pretty sure I saw one of the guys sitting in his sleeping bag and reading off a tablet the other day. Just struck me as a weird stark contrast...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Ya. Not quite sure what the story is: if someone presents to the council as homeless, they have to be accommodated. So we're seeing an increase in people publically not presenting.
    Well that is not true. Galway City Council can and do refuse people homeless services.
    I see the same two guys every morning when I drive past Forster Court Hotel. Pretty sure I saw one of the guys sitting in his sleeping bag and reading off a tablet the other day. Just struck me as a weird stark contrast...
    You expect him to be reading a paperbook?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,977 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

In my limited and possibly outdated experience the fairgreen is often at full capacity but the bigger element is that it is a dry house. There are no 'wet' houses as far as I'm aware in the city currently.
    Again i will say i am a bit out of date with how things are currently however i intend volunteering again this year in which case I'll update here..

With Fairgreen House just around the corner, I wonder why they're consistently sleeping rough?

People will be refused by the Fairgreen if they are drunk, or have previous form for anti-social behaviour there. But even then they're provided with bedding (that's why the sleeping bags you see on the street look so clean), and refered to other options. But some aren't interested in the other options, because they don't provide enough cash for alcohol, or are unacceptable for other reasons.

The people sleeping rough usually have complex long term problems, some of which (eg low intelligence) can never be fixed.

And as long as kind hearted people walking by give them cash, there's an incentive to stay on the street.

Winos With Smartphones.

I was walking passed them last night and saw quite a large stack of Dominos pizza boxes. Unless someone got it for them, it seems odd because Dominos isn't exactly cheap ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Smartphone and a keyboard are two things I've seen being used by the chap in the door of Forster Hotel. Always has a supply of takeaway trays, coke etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,237 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I've never seen those boys begging actually. They've certainly never asked me for anything.

Winos With Smartphones.

I was walking passed them last night and saw quite a large stack of Dominos pizza boxes. Unless someone got it for them, it seems odd because Dominos isn't exactly cheap ...

Indeed, he should be cooking stuff in his imaginary kitchen.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Indeed, he should be cooking stuff in his imaginary kitchen.

Yes, because that's exactly the point I'm making. Good for you for figuring it out.

Oh, and /s, just in case it wasn't ruddy obvious.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,977 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I was homeless for a few months some years back, i ate takeaway because i couldn't store or prepare food.. I stayed away from hostels because of the con artists and the expense, i managed to save a deposit for a room by avoiding hostels/shelters too. I used the packaging from the food to insulate me from the ground.. To this day i'll talk to someone on the street to make sure they are managing ok, such a world to come to this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭bobbyss

I was homeless for a few months some years back, i ate takeaway because i couldn't store or prepare food.. I stayed away from hostels because of the con artists and the expense, i managed to save a deposit for a room by avoiding hostels/shelters too. I used the packaging from the food to insulate me from the ground.. To this day i'll talk to someone on the street to make sure they are managing ok, such a world to come to this..

Sorry to hear that. How did people treat you generally?

bobbyss wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that. How did people treat you generally?

I wasn't very visible, i was so ashamed i didn't really stick around the main streets much.. Almost all people i did interact with were nice but a lot of people walked by i guess maybe they felt threatened or embarrassed themselves i don't know what they may have thought. I mainly slept in fr burke park and four star pizza used to be around the corner so i'd grab boxes at night.

Yes, because that's exactly the point I'm making

I don't think so. You started the thread to complain about the homeless people, not about homelessness. You continued on that vein by pointing out homeless people eating what you'd consider to be too expensive for them. You got called out on it and you're pretending "that's your point"?

yeah.

I've never seen those boys begging actually. They've certainly never asked me for anything.

They don't beg directly. One plays his accordian with a cup out though.

But people walking past think "oh you poor thing" and tuck cash down beside them, thinking that it will help the person afford a hostel bed for tomorrow night. Typically that's not what the cash is used for - though of course there can be exceptions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

But people walking past think "oh you poor thing" and tuck cash down beside them, thinking that it will help the person afford a hostel bed for tomorrow night. Typically that's not what the cash is used for - though of course there can be exceptions.

Have you asked him what he uses the cash for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 The spook

I was walking idly by city hall the other day, and noticed a mountain of cans hidden in the trees. I followed the trail of cans further into the brush, and spotted six or seven of those pink sleeping bags that they give to homeless people.
    It struck me as awful, considering how many homeless there must be in Ireland that would appreciate a sleeping bag.
    Only somebody that was certain that they could easily acquire another one would discard it so flippantly. Which brings two things to my attention:

A) Giving out sleeping bags is pointless if they are always going to be there
    B) Cheap Alchohol must be an issue.

That's probably where a few people sleep together, similar spots around the city..

The spook wrote: »
    I was walking idly by city hall the other day, and noticed a mountain of cans hidden in the trees. I followed the trail of cans further into the brush, and spotted six or seven of those pink sleeping bags that they give to homeless people.
    It struck me as awful, considering how many homeless there must be in Ireland that would appreciate a sleeping bag.
    Only somebody that was certain that they could easily acquire another one would discard it so flippantly. Which brings two things to my attention:
    A) Giving out sleeping bags is pointless if they are always going to be there
    B) Cheap Alchohol must be an issue.
    Are City Hall 'housing' homeless people on their lawns?
    I assume you have a bed and a key to a door, where you can leave your bedding. Where do you think a homeless person can leave theirs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

Could the city do with more homeless accommodation however basic eg warehouse or better . At present is it only Fairgreen for men and Waterside/Osterley for women. Not a lot , and fairgreen has its troubles which lead to some of the homeless doing their own thing and sleeping out which they may see as a better option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

/QUOTE]

Isn't that busking though? Is it different because he sleeps rough?

I think think as you and others have mentioned, the reasons for people sleeping out are complex and varied. Ranging from *not* feeling safe in shelters, to not being allowed in for several reasons, to mental illness, to simple fear. I don't think it's ever a one size fits all for homeless people. Also I know of a couple of people in Dublin who have given their old phones to the homeless, particularly to women as a safety measure, so seeing them on a smartphone, or accessing the internet, does not mean that they are loaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

For anyone on Facebook, there's a page called 'Shoot The Homeless'. It's really worth a look.

youngrun wrote: »
    Could the city do with more homeless accommodation however basic eg warehouse or better . At present is it only Fairgreen for men and Waterside/Osterley for women. Not a lot , and fairgreen has its troubles which lead to some of the homeless doing their own thing and sleeping out which they may see as a better option.

Cope were advertising for premises for their colleagues weather initiative a few weeks back, they open some extra beds over the winter.

The issue with extra facilities that are ultra basic is that some people become institutionalised into them, and don't want to move into more independent places. I believe official policy is to not have hostels except as a very short term thing, but obviously that'd be a big change from the current situation.

And of course the current imbalance of housing supply and demand location is making things very difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭thegodlife

Find this so sad as the numbers are rising and always try to give them what I can afford, although think it would be better if I could just buy them some food or something to keep warm

Spent the night in the car in a lay by near cashel about a fortnight ago as was it was in the early hours and was tired and couldn't safety make the remainded of my journey from Dublin to West Cork. I had a blanket in the car but still found it very difficult and it took me a few days to feel right afterwards, so can only imagine what it must be like night after night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

inisboffin wrote: »
    For anyone on Facebook, there's a page called 'Shoot The Homeless'. It's really worth a look.

That's really good

Whatever happened to the female who was sleeping in the AIB alcove on Eyre Sq?
    I observe AIB have now put shutters in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I heard from a few folk that people at Shelter and Cope had offered the Forster St folk accommodation, but they turned it down as they made more money and sympathy in the street staying put where they are. I wouldn't like to be out there tonight myself at 4 degrees.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

I heard from a few folk that people at Shelter and Cope had offered the Forster St folk accommodation, but they turned it down as they made more money and sympathy in the street staying put where they are. I wouldn't like to be out there tonight myself at 4 degrees.

Ya that's telling in itself. I'm not sure what it's telling us exactly but I don't think I'd accept a pay raise if it came with the condition I had to sleep on the street :D

snubbleste wrote: »
    Whatever happened to the female who was sleeping in the AIB alcove on Eyre Sq?
    I observe AIB have now put shutters in place.

The shutters have been there and being closed at night for years and years.

The alcove where a woman was sleeping last year (or the year before, I'm not sure) is the former BOI premises, across the road from the AIB, now being used as BOI's start-up hub (whatever they're calling it).

The woman eventually disappeared from street-sleeping as the weather got worse. I'd assume she finally accepted some help, because when I saw her around town again earlier this year she seemed to be in a better condition. She did appear in the alcove again a few nights early this summer, but only a few. I'd guess that the support services now know what to say to tempt her to accept help.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

I don't doubt this (as I've encountered this attitude before) but it's certainly no reason to stop helping these people. Not poiting the finger at you just thought it needs to be said. A lot of homeless people aren't in a right state of mind and many do turn down help as you said, it's a different world for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

inisboffin wrote: »

Not what I was expecting :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

For people interested in helping the local homeless I suggest a "reverse advent calendar"

Every day you buy an useful item and put it together with others in a large box.

Then just before Christmas give it to a local shelter or even a homeless person you find on the street

You can't help everyone but you can help someone.

biko wrote: »
    For people interested in helping the local homeless I suggest a "reverse advent calendar"
    Every day you buy an useful item and put it together with others in a large box.
    Then just before Christmas give it to a local shelter or even a homeless person you find on the street
    You can't help everyone but you can help someone.
    Where would a homeless person put such a box?

I don't know snubbleste but I'm sure they can figure something out.
    The box doesn't have to be that large if you intend to give it to a person rather than a shelter

The items can be small like small tins of food and a tin opener. Maybe some hand warmers. Toothbrush and toothpaste.
    For women maybe lipstick and such too. A spot of makeup can lift spirits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭what_traffic

biko wrote: »

Have you actually run this by one of the local shelters?
    I say cash donations of what you suggest people buy instead of goods would be more useful to the local homeless charities.

No I haven't but if Simon sees this and want to PM me about how to help I can post on behalf of them.
    Simon already have a cash donation option on their webpage - if people would rather do that.

I got the idea because my company used to do the Christmas Tree where you give a box to Simon for them to pass on to people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Don't know whether what I was told is true or not but anyway..

One of the two fellas sleeping with outside Forster Court approached me in late August and gave me a long spiel about his life and how he got here etc. Long story short; him and his childhood friend were emigrating here (illegally), his friend drugged him when they got to Galway, stole his money/things, he woke up the next day not knowing what happened, has a wife and kids at home (in Hungary I think), tried to get help from the relevant embassy but they essentially fobbed him off and told him it would be around a year before they could do anything for him, held a lot of disdain for the alcoholics/drug addicts in the city, he obviously can't work because he's not meant to be here. He was talking to us for a good 40 minutes and all he asked for at the end of it was a sandwich, which I bought him. I don't know if he was genuine or not but why would he just be looking for food otherwise? Seemed like a decent enough guy, maybe he's just trying to get funds together to get home if he is staying where he is simply for the money? Could just be a chancer as well, hard to know..

Would that be to fund the €89,623 salary of GalwaySimon CEO or the similar salary of pro-rata part time Cope CEO?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

Would that be to fund the €89,623 salary of GalwaySimon CEO or the similar salary of pro-rata part time Cope CEO?

Jaysus have you any suggestions yourself or are you just here to knock other people's, didn't you do something similar when some charity collectors slept outside and were collecting money, think you called them weak or something

No.
    Those people stated they'd be 'sleeping out' on a night until 6am on William St last December. Instead, they toddled off to an alcove adjacent a licenced premises for "elf & safety reasons". They failed to honour their commitment

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

No.
    Those people stated they'd be 'sleeping out' on a night until 6am on William St last December. Instead, they toddled off to an alcove adjacent a licenced premises for "elf & safety reasons". They failed to honour their commitment

And how much did they raise and was it not sub zero conditions?

Again have you any suggestions or are you just going to knock other people like Biko or the people in your post above for making an effort and actually doing something for the homeless?

And how much did they raise?
    Again have you any suggestions or are you just going to knock other people like Biko or the people in your post above for making an effort and actually doing something for the homeless?
    Lobby politicians for homes, homes, homes. All levers to solve issues surrounding homelessness in Galway are controlled by either the City Council or the Minister for Housing.

I don't know about that, there is always a big appeal for long shelf life foods (times food, pasta, cereal etc) and bedding around this time of year.

In fact my work place (not in Galway) do pretty much exactly what Biko suggested in conjunction with one of the charities. A box is left in reception and people are asked to fill it up with food or other useful items. There is also an svp giving tree to get some presents for kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭what_traffic

I don't know about that, there is always a big appeal for long shelf life foods (times food, pasta, cereal etc) and bedding around this time of year.

In fact my work place (not in Galway) do pretty much exactly what Biko suggested in conjunction with one of the charities. A box is left in reception and people are asked to fill it up with food or other useful items. There is also an svp giving tree to get some presents for kids.

You missed the point I was making. The difference with your workplace is that you are working and communicating with said charity on what there needs and wants that they actually have

Lobby politicians for homes, homes, homes. All levers to solve issues surrounding homelessness in Galway are controlled by either the City Council or the Minister for Housing.

If the lads on Forster St won't accept a hostel bed, what makes you think they accept a house?

As pointed out earlier, people will avoid hostels for a number of reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I brought some food to a shelter in Galway about three years ago. The people running it were very happy for the donation but said it was over the top and not really needed because they get 3 meals a day and a snack in the evening.

I was happy to hear they get such great care.

I think Galway needs a wet room. Wasn't there a lad who use to be homeless in the city who wrote a book about it. He talked about friends of his dying during the winter and waking up stuck to the path by the ice. In a city where there's been some over the top and stupid spending even through the recession, we really should be doing more to help those sleeping rough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Been homeless. Those boys at forster court are there for the money. When you're homeless you don't camp on main roads. They don't beg because people give without asking. Homeless hide. Through experiences like waking up whilst being pissed on and laughed at, set on fire, kicked half to death.

Cold is not much issue when you are homeless, people are the danger. You don't stay in one spot long and you certainly don't lounge in your bed all day. Same as the bint opposite the hospital. Prime begging spot without begging.

These guys make about 40 euro per hour and get the odd sandwich/pizza to boot.