Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its only the John Lewis Xmas ad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

This is not a thing. The coca cola truck ad is a thing, hearing the first Xmas song on the radio is a thing, knitted jumpers are even a thing.

John lewis is not a thing. John lewis can fùck off. Its the 10th of November!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

As if the majority of GAA lovin', haven't left my county inbreds know what stores exist in the UK. If you haven't been in a John Lewis fire hazard maze store before they "did xmas ads" then f*ck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Its the 10th of November!

Or as it's also known, "Christmas Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

That cost 1million pounds my dear dog what rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Saw a tweet about this ad. Was so disappointed when I went to YouTube.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

What's the story with the hype about these ads here, is there even a John Lewis store in this country? I'd never heard of them before people were going on about their ads last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

That cost 1million pounds my dear dog what rubbish

7, it cost 7 million pounds

Had 12,000,000.00 views online today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Not going to watch. These things have no christmas magic and are grey and depressing. John Lewis & John Tesco can f**k off

Make America Get Out of Here

I love those ads. My old sentimental heart swells. Now I'm off to look up youtube for more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Major let-down this year.

Selfish dog. No moral message. Dad that ruins Christmas for kids everywhere by showing that there is no Santa.

I think coz last year's one was so grim and depressing they decided on something "upbeat" this year and came out with this innocuous forgettable shyte.

Bring back the ESB ad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

But but but....why did the man make the trampoline and not santa? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

buried wrote: »
    Not going to watch. These things have no christmas magic and are grey and depressing. John Lewis & John Tesco can f**k off

Busters a dude, you got to watch it.

SeaFields wrote: »

Of course it's a present from the kids parents, not from Santy

The indo tried to make a story about this online today saying the John Lewis ad broke Christmas - idiots

Some superstore should ask Joe Dante to make a Christmas ad with The Gremlins thrashing the shop for two minutes like they did to that pub in the first film. Modern christmas ads are way too much zero craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

vicwatson wrote: »
    7, it cost 7 million pounds

Had 12,000,000.00 views online today

1 million to make, 6 million for ad alots.
    The advert, shot entirely on a set made to look like an townhouse in Black Island studios in London, cost around £1m to make and features CGI versions of bouncing Buster, foxes, badgers, squirrels and hedgehogs.

The upmarket department store is spending a further £6m on TV slots, including its debut screening at 9.15pm tonight and recreating a virtual reality version in its flagship Oxford Street store.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2016/11/10/john-lewis-christmas-advert-2016-released-buster/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭sunflower3

I had heard about the ad all day and came home from work, turned on laptop 'Come on kids, lets all watch the Xmas ad together' - Boy was I sorry. :mad::mad:

Very very 'confusing' for kids who believe in Santa - I hope they only screen it after 9pm on TV

(And it wasn't great either) - Don't let your young kids see it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Feck sake it is Santy, not Santa.

Well for us Dubs anyway. LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Of course it's a present from the kids parents, not from Santy

The indo tried to make a story about this online today saying the John Lewis ad broke Christmas - idiots

The dimwits on facebook were also moaning about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

John Lewis don't sell to santa...

Don't sell to too many black folk either but...

beks101 wrote: »
    Major let-down this year.

Selfish dog. No moral message. Dad that ruins Christmas for kids everywhere by showing that there is no Santa
    Santa only delivers, he doesn't assemble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

mansize wrote: »
    John Lewis don't sell to santa...

Don't sell to too many black folk either but...

What??????

muddypaws wrote: »
    What??????

Most black people living in the U.K. would tend not to ship at John Lewis.

I think some of the dislike for the ad is covert racism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Is there any suggestion though that the trampoline is from Santa?

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Is there any suggestion though that the trampoline is from Santa?

I thought her parents bought it at John Lewis

mansize wrote: »
    Most black people living in the U.K. would tend not to ship at John Lewis.

I think some of the dislike for the ad is covert racism

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

I assume you have never been to John Lewis in Brent Cross?

This is not a thing. The coca cola truck ad is a thing, hearing the first Xmas song on the radio is a thing, knitted jumpers are even a thing.

John lewis is not a thing. John lewis can fùck off. Its the 10th of November!

Barrys Tea......Santa will bring them what they want..........

muddypaws wrote: »
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

I assume you have never been to John Lewis in Brent Cross?

Only Oxford Street Dahling

This is why I fekkin hate Christmas.

FGS what is the actual problem here? An ad by a company that has no presence here AT ALL.

This is just getting ridiculous now, and I can't wait for 27th December, the day the turkey carcass gets thrown out, and normal service resumes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

As if the majority of GAA lovin', haven't left my county inbreds know what stores exist in the UK. If you haven't been in a John Lewis fire hazard maze store before they "did xmas ads" then f*ck off.

What??? This is Ireland. If you think people who didn't know about John Lewis before they did the Xmas ads are all inbred rednecks, you can do the same!

This is why I fekkin hate Christmas.

FGS what is the actual problem here? An ad by a company that has no presence here AT ALL.

This is just getting ridiculous now, and I can't wait for 27th December, the day the turkey carcass gets thrown out, and normal service resumes.

You throw the turkey carcass out on the 27th? Thats when it goes into the pot to make the stock for the soup, curry etc etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Because the girl's a bauld wee shít

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Same diff Ad

More money than sense so to speak ;)

I love the Christmas solstice party, few days off, partying and drinking with your mates all night and day. But these mega grocery shop ads are a total grey depression session. And they're the shops for christsakes, they sell the booze and the food that fuels the indulgence, they're not the sermon at mass preaching about some lonely man living on the moon or how you should remember your dead granny. Just tell me what deals you have for large bottles of rum John lewis tesco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Fair play to John Lewis for making this a 'thing' that people wait for and look forward to.

A feckin Trampoline for Christmas, asked no-one ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Does John Lewis exist in Ireland?

The only way I've ever heard about it is because of the Christmas ad they run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

Ahhh i love this years john lewis ad, put a smile on my face anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

You call that a Christmas ad???

These are the Christmas Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

The penguin was the best.

IIRC, Pingu gets drunk at the office party and gets it on with the receptionist.

Then, the following year ,Pingu is hiding out on the moon because the child support agency are after him.

Why are so few people Bah Humbugs?

27th December and a turkey carcass for the bin, is my cue that the madness is all over.

The sooner the better.