Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boardsie mountain biking spin-Saturday 26th November- Ticknock

• 09-11-2016 12:20pm
    Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭

Thought I'd make a new thread to try and get a good group.

So we're planning a boardsie mtb'ing spin (mainly beginners I think but all welcome) at Ticknock on Saturday 26th November, probably morning time.

3 or 4 have expressed interest in coming along - any other takers?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Dammit, thanks! Think I need to get a mod to edit that to Saturday the 26th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

I'll put my name down provisionally Colm depending on start times etc....
    Just to bear in mind Dublin/Wicklow mountain rescue team Run the line race is on at 9am that Saturday based in Lamb Doyles so traffic will be heavier than normal in the area....and on Ticknock itself as the course cross paths only slightly mind....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

As per the other thread. Count me in wouldn't mind seeing a bit of run the line anyway I mean who kind of nut runs a half marathon on a mountain. :)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

colm18 wrote: »
    Dammit, thanks! Think I need to get a mod to edit that to Saturday the 26th?
    Sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Tomred13

Hi Colm

Sweet, il be there, mite only manage 3 hours as have family commitments.
    Dermot

Better put up a time for this - say 9:30 at the Biking.ie hut?

Bump. People still up for this?

Yes but I'm 50/50 at the minute family getting in the way of my cycling career ;) As it stands I'll be there. Where we meeting I've never been on those trails.

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Yes but I'm 50/50 at the minute family getting in the way of my cycling career ;) As it stands I'll be there. Where we meeting I've never been on those trails.

Plan on meeting at the biking.ie hut, directions here http://www.biking.ie/index.php/mountain-bike-trails-ticknock-and-ballinastoe/mountain-biking-ticknock

Scratch that I just got the green light you can be sure it's gonna cost me. :eek::D

I'll confirm Friday night lads.
    Not looking good presently.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Reckon I'll join ye for this lads :) Biking.ie hut for 9:30 yeah? I'll be wearing a MAD jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I'll be stuck in work, have a good one lads

looks like il be able to join ya too at 9.30

Cool - looks like there'll be a few of us so

Lads apologies due to a **** load of punctures on the road bike all this week...
    I'm way behind on my climbing schedule so will have to take a rain check on this spin and go road instead in the morning
    :(
    Feck it anyway!!
    I was up on the tarmac path to the aerials tonight so it's all thawed out from last weekend. The back section was fairly frosted last week but the temp has risen..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭bikedude

Run the line will take place tomorrow in Ticknock,
    http://runtheline.ie

Route map
    http://runtheline.ie/course-map/

Should be ok for the official trails, but be mindful that will be busier than usual up there and some routes may be closed

I'll have to leave this lads sorry, woke up with migraine so day is a write off

Running 5 min late

Did I miss ye or did nobody else show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

Not sure, all I know is that colm pulled some French bird , woke up with her this morning and decided to spend the day with her. :)

On a serious note, hope you recover soon Colm, .

Ah I was surrounded by sick patients so didn't make it. I text colm this morning sounds like he was otherwise engagedo. I wouldn't mind but a cracking day for it.

secman wrote: »
    Not sure, all I know is that colm pulled some French bird , woke up with her this morning and decided to spend the day with her. :)

On a serious note, hope you recover soon Colm, .

Only got out of bed at 6..no french women to be seen though :P

Hope to get out tomorrow, though still feel like sh*t

Ah I was surrounded by sick patients so didn't make it. I text colm this morning sounds like he was otherwise engagedo.

Didn;t get any text off you? You sure you have my number right (it's an awkward one!)

Copy and paste from pm :confused: someone got a text :D

Turns out I didn't copy the last digit. My bad :(

Copy and paste from pm :confused: someone got a text :D

Weird, that's definitely the right number too :confused:

Hi Folks

Sorry, i missed the spin. projectile vomiting kid decided to keep me up til 7am. can make next sat ? say 10am?

D

Tomred13 wrote: »
    Hi Folks

Sorry, i missed the spin. projectile vomiting kid decided to keep me up til 7am. can make next sat ? say 10am?

D

I'm going to tag along on the MAD MTB into spin at Ticknock on Saturday. Went to the one last month and it was great - (email intro@madmtb.com if you're interested in coming along)

What sort of distance do they cover Colm in the spin,
    I've emailed them as a few of the lads i go out with are injured at present and not looking like they'll be out this side of Christmas...

On a separate note i was thinking about doing the Wicklow way as far as Glendalough over the festive break...any interest if there is i will start a thread by itself.

The MAD spin I did last month was pretty short - https://www.strava.com/activities/759278103 , about 15k around the trails with a fair bit of stopping and starting

Ha, re Wicklow Way to Glendalough , great minds - I was thinking of doing exactly the same so I'm well up for that. I've been doing a bit of research on it : http://andrasgercsenyi.blogspot.ie/2011/09/wicklow-way-my-first-attempt-has-failed.html
    http://ryansherlock.blogspot.ie/2008/10/wicklow-way-record-attempt-part-1.html

I'd be interested in the wicklow way spin I've been meaning to do it for a while now. I'll more than likely be sandbagging but I'll start out with ye no bother.

Is it a loop spin you have in mind or point-point

A gaggle of rug rats to consider so participation may be time dependant. :(

I was thinking point to point for the first spin...
    Dropping transport to glandalough to see what i was up against.
    Did it years and years ago so would like to reccy half of it before committing to a full spin...say summer would be better for the full trip.

Sounds like a plan I may read up on those links Colm they may be enough to out me off. I got the mtb for the down hill bit ;)

Anybody know the way ;D

Here's another account of doing the WW https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1041430129259451&id=443581442377659&substory_index=0

Colm, might see you on that intro spin.

Anybody know the way ;D

I'll be following you :D

Well holy shiiitee.. 130kms offroad and I won't mention the climbing :eek:

I'm packing the tent :D

It seems like the second half after Glendalough is pretty boring. I think a weekday would be best so as not to annoy too many walkers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭jmrc

if you are doing the Marley park to Glendalough, you need to start very early at this time of year due to walkers. especially if there are a few of you... by the way much more fun going Marley to Glendalough than the other way around... plus you can have a well earned pint in Laragh waiting for your lift...

Did the whole thing a couple of years back, stopped over in Glenmalour. second half was painful with not as much technical stuff and some killer road sections, still I'd think I'd do it again.... on the hard tail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

i ll be out Saturday morning at ticknock for 8:30 - 8:45 kinda have a route in mind, dont use strava so just kinda pieced it together, rode it last Saturday, takes about 2 hours ish
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/1373805961

I registered an interest on the MAD spin but not sure i can commit to the times tomorrow....

Levi i cant open your link but might be interested in joining you as it fits my time schedule better.
    Send me a pm with your number ive to drive to Waterford so wont be near the phone for a few hours ill make up my mind on the journey if thats alright with you?