Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do to protect your cars from knocks, scratches and dings?

• 07-11-2016 11:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

Every time I park in a carpark, it is a perfectly and well executed plan to park in a spot that'll compromise my car the least.

My own car is a 1.4 L Peugeot 207.

In the time I've had it, since 2012, it has sustained a hairline scratch (at hip height), wonder what from :rolleyes:

The rear bumper scuffed and damaged from a car reversing it's tow hitch onto my bumper

The driver B post pushed in (presumably from a piss-poor driver who chose t drive into the space instead of reversing in and didn't have a proper swing at it reversing out again).

I got some body work done recently and fixed up the imperfections, (I was sick of looking at them), luckily only a few hundred in total. My car is now immaculate again. Hopefully it'll stay that way.

I always try to park in an isolated spot far from the building I'm going to, but it's like a scientific rule that "no car shall ever be alone" and you always come back to a car beside you which results in scratches or children slamming doors open.

What do you do to keep your car so immaculate? Any hints? Or is it just a case that you're not able to have nice cars or nice anything in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I don't buy food in supermarkets, i forage in local forests.

350z life :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 PK2K16

1050381d1463169307-you-pull-into-the-shopping-center-with-your-gt3-rs-bubble.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Pick the furthest away parking spot and walk 5 minutes to the shop :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i park carefully beside the right cars
    today i parked beside a 162 white audi tt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I don't care.
    Car will be scratched or dented anyway.
    Either by other people parking, opening doors, etc.
    My wife driving.
    Or even me myself sometimes might make a scratch.

For me what is important is how car drives, not how it looks.
    And my cars always drive top class :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

shietpilot wrote: »
    Pick the furthest away parking spot and walk 5 minutes to the shop :D

if this is possible i do this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Never park beside...
    • A 3 door car
    • Car with baby seats in the back
    • Car with L or N plates
    • Car with front wheels not pointing 100% straight
    • Opposite a car which has reversed in
    • Any van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭weekaizer

Never park beside...
    • A 3 door car
    • Car with baby seats in the back
    • Car with L or N plates
    • Car with front wheels not pointing 100% straight
    • Opposite a car which has reversed in
    • Any van

Why not opposite a car which has reversed in?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Its near impossible.

There are ignorant gulpins everywhere, and no matter how hard you try, they will always get you.

I have had occasions where I have been parked in car parks, been sitting in the car, people parked next to me approach their car, see me, and yet still hit my car when opening the door. If they don't even take care when they know I'm sitting watching them, what are they going to do to an empty car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

weekaizer wrote: »

Because even though, someone may have passed their driving test. The individual feels reversing out of a normal parking space in their car similar to reversing an artic truck out of said parking space.. I have often seen someone doing like a 10 point turn reversing out of a parking space, literally a 10 point turn.. :rolleyes:

NIMAN wrote: »
    Its near impossible.

There are ignorant gulpins everywhere, and no matter how hard you try, they will always get you.

I have had occasions where I have been parked in car parks, been sitting in the car, people parked next to me approach their car, see me, and yet still hit my car when opening the door. If they don't even take care when they know I'm sitting watching them, what are they going to do to an empty car?

The dings are what annoys me the most, like just because you carelessly bang the door off my car when I am not there, does not mean it doesn't matter. Was sitting in my car one day in a parking space and a mother and two sons both under 10 I say. One gets in the other side, while the other gets in the front and slams the door of my car. I literally felt like pulling him out of the car and kicking him in the face... The mother didn't pass one bit of heed either of the childs carelessness B1tch..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'm lucky enough in that I have my own space at my work with nothing either side. I look at large company carparks and shudder at the though of having to park next to some randomer every day and be at their mercy. That's the main reason i've avoided any dings with my current car, combined with parking down the back of other carparks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

weekaizer wrote: »

They will likely be loading their groceries in to the boot, if they were thick enough to reverse in knowing this they are thick enough to smash the front of your car with the trolley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Never park beside...
    • Any van

This is the best advise which I hope most people will follow.
    If less people parked beside vans then most likely my van would have less dents and scratches from ignorant cnuts who seem to have the attitude "..sure it's only a van".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

They will likely be loading their groceries in to the boot, if they were thick enough to reverse in knowing this they are thick enough to smash the front of your car with the trolley.

I rather the safety of not sticking 3/4 of my car into the flow of traffic before I know it's safe to pull out when exiting a space than worry about something which I can't control

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

job seeker wrote: »
    The dings are what annoys me the most, like just because you carelessly bang the door off my car when I am not there, does not mean it doesn't matter. Was sitting in my car one day in a parking space and a mother and two sons both under 10 I say. One gets in the other side, while the other gets in the front and slams the door of my car. I literally felt like pulling him out of the car and kicking him in the face... The mother didn't pass one bit of heed either of the childs carelessness B1tch..

Simply get out of your car and take her insurance details. And a photo of the cars and damage. You don't even get into a row. Report it at your local Garda station, and make a claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Take up two spaces, next to another car that has also taken up two space, at the far side of the car park.

Works well for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Just had the whole side of mine painted due to minor damage on door and rear quarter panel. Cost a few hundred and the next passenger I had opened the door onto a concrete wall. Nice grind on the seam.

I park as far away as the cars thin out and hope for the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

You're right and you're wrong... They didn't end up with their arse on the wrong side because they reversed in.... They drove in through another space and into that one so that they wouldn't have to reverse out, because reversing fills them with anxiety even the 3 xanax they took can't quell.
    They WILL still batter your car with their trolley though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Simples...

Attachment_1.jpg

Before people get their knickers in a twist, this is a quiet corner of a very large prvate car park surround by 3 other cars all parked the same way. We aren't robbing any wheel chair bound war heroes of a space.

Out in the big bad world i always try to park far from the madding crowd or at least besides something that looks special and/or cared for.

As for the van comment, i always park the van straight and well and i'm always respectful of peoples cars.

I will admit to trying to avoid on street parking though as you don't know what kind of ejit is going to try and parrallel park around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Seriously lads???? are yis for real....tesco delivery...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

dashoonage wrote: »
    Seriously lads???? are yis for real....tesco delivery...

Then the delivery driver reverses into your car :D:D:D

tossy wrote: »
    Then the delivery driver reverses into your car :D:D:D

Dont tell me ye peasants keep your car outside?

Of course, we need to utilise the garage for storing items of a much lesser value and other worthless sh!te that should have been binned years ago. :D:

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Of course, we need to utilise the garage for storing items of a much lesser value and other worthless sh!te that should have been binned years ago. :D:

Ye only have one garage???

FFS lads yis arent looking after the cars at all!

Ye only have one garage???

FFS lads yis arent looking after the cars at all!

Who said it was small .. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Someone scrapped the side of my car this morning disastrous day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,629 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Because even though, someone may have passed their driving test. The individual feels reversing out of a normal parking space in their car similar to reversing an artic truck out of said parking space.. I have often seen someone doing like a 10 point turn reversing out of a parking space, literally a 10 point turn.. :rolleyes:

Whereas I would have said that the person who has reversed in is likely to be more cautious and competent as they have parked in a safer manner leaving them less exposed to hitting moving objects (principally people).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭sneakyST

If I must visit a supermarket I never go without one of the kids so I can use those extra wide parent spaces. Those spaces were invented by crafty car enthusiasts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

They'll probably do more financial damage to their car if they hit my rusty old Merc

Plus where it's not rusty, it's a tank! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

2 spaces at the far end of the carpark and rollerblades to get to front door

kw4WPf9.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I park as far from other cars as possible. I take the end spot in a car park so only exposed on one side. I avoid parking near anything with a child seat or any badly kept/dented cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

Parent & Child ones work fine! :)

Just don't get out the car as Mary is coming back with 2 year old Johnny and giving you dagger eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I suspect that modern cars have thinner skins and are more susceptible to dings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

DakarVert wrote: »
    Parent & Child ones work fine! :)

Just don't get out the car as Mary is coming back with 2 year old Johnny and giving you dagger eyes.

Had a run in with a Mary myself, when I parked in one. She didn't know which way to look when I shouted over to my OH "Look at the state of her tyres, there's nothing left on them!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Personally for me it depends on what I'm driving. If I'm in my old 156 that has 16 years of small dings and scrapes then I don't care as much where I park. To be honest I have too much going on to care that much about finding a parking space.

That being said if the car was immaculate and all that I'd probably care more :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I just try to minimise the risk wherever possible. I'm lucky at work. Underground car park, loads of safe spots. I'd hate to have to park in a really busy unpredictable work car park - it'd be enough to put me off applying for a job there!!

Outside of work I'd avoid certain carparks that I know are a numpty waiting to happen and in carparks I consider ok, I just try to pick a space at the end of a row, against a wall, etc.

I used to use the wife's car whenever i was going somewhere dodgy and there's great comfort in not caring tbh. Thing is, she's after getting a decent car now so now I've 2 cars to worry about lol.

All that being said, it's really not worth the worry and aggravation. It's "only" a car and sometimes you have to suck it up and accept it'll get the odd wear and tear mark. You really can easily take things too far and not wear your new shoes for fear of scratching the soles....

pablo128 wrote: »
    Simply get out of your car and take her insurance details. And a photo of the cars and damage. You don't even get into a row. Report it at your local Garda station, and make a claim.

Would the Garda even entertain something like that? I know it's damage all the same, but I can't imagine a Garda even taking someone seriuosly for the claim of a ding on a door...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Would the Garda even entertain something like that? I know it's damage all the same, but I can't imagine a Garda even taking someone seriuosly for the claim of a ding on a door...

They won't. They'll tell you it's a civil matter (i.e. f**k off and don't be annoying me).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

To make an insurance claim, you must report the incident to the Gardai first. Make sure they take a report off you. They don't have to be called to the scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

On the toddler issue. My 4 year old is some wagon for dinging doors. I've scolded and reminded her more times even before we get out of the car.

The whole door-edges are covered in clear nail varnish waiting for a respray when it finally dawns on her not to be ****ing doors open at full pelt.(most of them are at home where I park close to the side of my own house, only once has she done damage where I waited for the owner to sort it out)

There's surely a pneumatic or hydraulic mechanism with in built sensors available to sort this phenomena out no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

On the toddler issue. My 4 year old is some wagon for dinging doors. I've scolded and reminded her more times even before we get out of the car.

The whole door-edges are covered in clear nail varnish waiting for a respray when it finally dawns on her not to be ****ing doors open at full pelt.(most of them are at home where I park close to the side of my own house, only once has she done damage where I waited for the owner to sort it out)

There's surely a pneumatic or hydraulic mechanism with in built sensors available to sort this phenomena out no?

Solution: Use the child lock feature and open the door yourself. Been doing it that way since my little fella was a baby (also to prevent him opening the door himself while the car is in motion) and it prevents any dings.

On the parking question, I try to park at the end of a row where possible or a little further away and I 99.9% of the time reverse into spaces- it's a lot safer and easier when moving out again later.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Solution: Use the child lock feature and open the door yourself. Been doing it that way since my little fella was a baby (also to prevent him opening the door himself while the car is in motion) and it prevents any dings.

On the parking question, I try to park at the end of a row where possible or a little further away and I 99.9% of the time reverse into spaces- it's a lot safer and easier when moving out again later.

She sits in front with me, the lock turns off on the front door when i either turn off the car or take the keys out(not sure which) I know I can set it up on the control screen must look into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

She sits in front with me, the lock turns off on the front door when i either turn off the car or take the keys out(not sure which) I know I can set it up on the control screen must look into it.

Oh that's right.. they're allowed sit up front once they get to 4. My little man is the same age, but don't think I'll give him any ideas just yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭SuperS54

Despite my best efforts my 16 year old Toyota has had a multitude of scars from idiots in car parks. The worst one recently was when I found a nice corner space in the local car park leaving only the front and right side exposed, parked tight to the wall to allow maximum idiot space as I had no passenger. Come back and &^%ing idiot has used that extra space to not only wallop his door off mine but the extra space obviously allowed his door end to scrape along before getting jammed. Massive 12 inch by 12 inch scratch terminated by a long dent. How hard do you have to swing a door to do that?!

As a result of another idiot rear ending it at a red light I needed a new bumper and respray at the rear so decided to get the whole car done as the new rear would look ridiculous with the scarred front. Will pick it up Friday, as much as I'm looking forward to my "new" car I don't know how I'll deal with the parking anxiety and first dent, I'm sure I won't have to wait long to find out. Have already picked up another dash cam to cover the rear, for all the good it will do.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/04/08/bmw_haptic_doors/

Has it ever been implemented anyone know?

Nah too busy making shoite of timing chains.

The rolls matt Le blanc had on top gear, that had self opening/closing doors didn't it? might be possible on something in that range. No one would spec it on a 520d though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

My car goes months between washes although its not manky its dirty enough for me to notice people will hold their door getting out as they won't want to rub their clothes off the bodywork.

Can't be avoided though because theres always that one fook that just doesn't give a toss wether your in the car or not.

I don't think I'd ever be able to have anything nice as I'd go fooking Rambo on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

dfeo wrote:
    I always try to park in an isolated spot far from the building I'm going to, but it's like a scientific rule that "no car shall ever be alone" and you always come back to a car beside you which results in scratches or children slamming doors open.

shietpilot wrote:
    Pick the furthest away parking spot and walk 5 minutes to the shop

My rule of thumb is never park in front of shops or supermarkets . People with kids want fast exits always around the sides parked beside a better car than mine and well parked. never park beside or behind a van / 4X4 or people carrier and avoid badly parked cars . I try and get a space beside a wall .

No matter what I do if I parked half a mile from the shop and and empty spaces all around someone would still park on top of me

My mates brother in law serves swift justice when this happens if anyone parks on top of him. he ll bang his door off the car until it marks it !!!he makes ****e of it !!!