Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leopardstown Christmas

• 03-11-2016 11:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭

I see there is a big increase in the Winter Warmer ticket prices for the Pavillion section. Tickets last year were 80 quid iirc now up to 110. About 16 of us head out every year but wont be going this year with that increase. Has there been an increase across the board that I must have missed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭chancer007

agree..very steep
    €30 last xmas for a days racing was too expensive,we have decided not to go this year...vote with your feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭picachu

chancer007 wrote: »
    agree..very steep
    €30 last xmas for a days racing was too expensive,we have decided not to go this year...vote with your feet

As well as the terrible service, lack of ATM's... Christmas festival is a disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Yeah its a pure cluster**** especially Stephens Day. The toilets in the main area are nothing short of shambolic too. Queing for ages and piss everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

No way I'd head Stephens Day, always go PP Day!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Gringo180 wrote: »
    I see there is a big increase in the Winter Warmer ticket prices for the Pavillion section. Tickets last year were 80 quid iirc now up to 110. About 16 of us head out every year but wont be going this year with that increase. Has there been an increase across the board that I must have missed?

Forgive me for asking, but would ye just get the regular ordinary ticket, have they gone up too? (Yeah, yeah, I know , when there is a load of ye, people want to have a special day, nice stand/food/experience etc)

picachu wrote: »
    As well as the terrible service, lack of ATM's... Christmas festival is a disaster

How bad? I was always going to go for Stephens Day but last years really bad weather put me off and of course the Big racing was on at Kempton. Is it really packed out that week?

I regularly go to the Irish Gold Cup Day/Hennessy Gold Cup day - that seems to be very enjoyable. Leopardstown being my favourite track

flexi ticket is 33, 30 on the day..25 in advance
    + the PP on course shop is tiny...
    interesting to see what crowd turns up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Stopped going 3 years ago, bar service was terrible, call me old fashioned but I like racing, getting a pint, having 20 minutes drinking with friends and then out for the next race and repeat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 moneymore

I was there for the first time on champions day this year, really enjoyed the experience and was thinking of going again at xmas. Would it be a lot busier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

flexi ticket is 33, 30 on the day..25 in advance
    + the PP on course shop is tiny...
    interesting to see what crowd turns up!

It actually doesnt seem too small when you're in before racing before the crowds swarm but not fit for purpose for the Stephens day crowd as its dangerously packed by the heaving throng.
    PP dont make it any easier by showing the live premiership game so half the hairstyles who dont really care about racing but are there because they hear Leopardstown is the place to go Stephens day are stood there mouth agape just watching the football with no intention of placing a bet. That Leop PP is a right mess during the festival and dangerously overcrowded and if it rains forget about it. If they didnt show the live premiership game it would be a help but all the screens are probably just set on a national auto shop feed.
    Said a couple years ago i wouldnt go back unless this is changed and kept my word and dont plan to go this year either as nothing has changed in this respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Earendil

califano wrote: »
    It actually doesnt seem too small when you're in before racing before the crowds swarm but not fit for purpose for the Stephens day crowd as its dangerously packed by the heaving throng.
    PP dont make it any easier by showing the live premiership game so half the hairstyles who dont really care about racing but are there because they hear Leopardstown is the place to go Stephens day are stood there mouth agape just watching the football with no intention of placing a bet. That Leop PP is a right mess during the festival and dangerously overcrowded and if it rains forget about it. If they didnt show the live premiership game it would be a help but all the screens are probably just set on a national auto shop feed.
    Said a couple years ago i wouldnt go back unless this is changed and kept my word and dont plan to go this year either as nothing has changed in this respect.

Teehee..."the hairstyles"...lovely.

Lt Dan wrote: »
    How bad? I was always going to go for Stephens Day but last years really bad weather put me off and of course the Big racing was on at Kempton. Is it really packed out that week?

I regularly go to the Irish Gold Cup Day/Hennessy Gold Cup day - that seems to be very enjoyable. Leopardstown being my favourite track

They dont know how to cater for a crowd... ATM's, bars packed. How can they give flexi tickets??? We'll let 10k in one day and 40k the next day?

I was so frustrated last tear i enailed the racecourse , no response... 40 mins to get to an atm

They dont know how to cater for a crowd... ATM's, bars packed. How can they give flexi tickets??? We'll let 10k in one day and 40k the next day?

I was so frustrated last tear i enailed the racecourse , no response... 40 mins to get to an atm

Its an absolute shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Went last year for the 3rd day and doubt I'll go again this year. Tickets had gone up €10 from previous year and the food prices are crazy for what you get, which is student food if you're a normal punter.

All they want are the best dressed ladies crowd and the young lads in 3 piece suits who are drunk by 3 o'clock cause they spend the money.

The amount of people who actually go for horse racing are either dying off or staying away due to the prices and that they can see it all from their living room.

40k ? Christ, no more than 14 500 each year or so go for Irish Champions Stakes Day, and while it feels comfortable enough, I never felt that it could that that many more. 40,000 - lord National Hunt is way more popular (I knew Punchestown gets big crowds and knew that the Irish Gold Cup gets a nice big crowd) Thanks, I dread to see what it is like with 40 ,000.

40k is an exaggeration but they dont turn anyone away thats for sure.... Attendance should be capped as they do in Cheltenham. Leopardstown doesnt hold a v big crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭uxiant

Although the Curragh needs an upgrade the 65 million euro development looks excessive given the popularity of flat racing over here. Move the whole of Irish Champions Weekend to Leopardstown and then invest to give the facilities the upgrade it badly needs for the big occasions. You can see the potential in the Saturday card with lots of people travelling over from across the Irish sea but many don't bother with the trip to the Curragh probably out of convenience. Irish Champions Weekend needs the support of those from abroad as the interest in the flat just isn't here. Making it a 2 day meeting at Leopardstown would make the trip over more worthwhile and increase interest in the Sunday card. The course just isn't planned well enough to deal with the NH crowds, student race day and potentially Irish Champions Weekend particularly if they move the whole thing to Leopardstown as unlikely as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Why would you wait til you get to the course to go to an ATM? Madness imo!

The changes they made in L'town last year has made it worse imo, no interest in going there anymore (except for a few smaller meetings)

uxiant wrote: »
    Although the Curragh needs an upgrade the 65 million euro development looks excessive given the popularity of flat racing over here. Move the whole of Irish Champions Weekend to Leopardstown and then invest to give the facilities the upgrade it badly needs for the big occasions. You can see the potential in the Saturday card with lots of people travelling over from across the Irish sea but many don't bother with the trip to the Curragh probably out of convenience. Irish Champions Weekend needs the support of those from abroad as the interest in the flat just isn't here. Making it a 2 day meeting at Leopardstown would make the trip over more worthwhile and increase interest in the Sunday card. The course just isn't planned well enough to deal with the NH crowds, student race day and potentially Irish Champions Weekend particularly if they move the whole thing to Leopardstown as unlikely as it is.

Sweet FA go to the flat racing. Only 14,500 went to the Irish CS at Leopardstown, a 5% rise from the year before (last year was down) despite the fact that last years race and indeed card, was very good (and would have been better had Gleneagles turned up). The year before had a decent turn out. But 14.500 is crap - Yes the format is new , but the race is not! The race has had a decent reputation of giving one a clue as to who will run well in the Arc.

The St Leger Sunday, the attendance was pathetic and it had 3 Group 1's - 2 in juvenilles - a note of the future horses. (I remember well, Gleneagles and Found, coming 2nd again) I understand though, the St Leger race itself was not enticing with a huge odds on winner. I struggled to make myself go to it. Glad enough that I went.

Didn't Capri win a Group 1 where it was attended by almost one man and his dog?

Ah, I like the two day split of tracks. Their promotion of €35 for the two days is good value (great even) . Dublin Coach do an excellent and cheap service to the Curragh from the City. Yep plenty of the English come over, for both days. If it was not for them............ yikes!

Promotion needs to be better , people in Kildare should be well aware of when it is on.

The cards have attracted very good horses, especially Leopardstown (which you pretty much pointed out).

I would like to see more in promoting the Irish St Leger. Those not Melbourne bound should be coming to this, and not that 18 f Group 2 race in Doncaster. If Big Orange stays in training , this should be a target next season. (I had a long rant about making the long division more sexy on other posts) O'Brien's record in this race in recent years is poor. So why be running away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

(I remember well, Gleneagles and Found, coming 2nd again)

You can't remember it too well, Found was 3rd in the Moyglare if memory serves me right ;):p

kfallon wrote: »
    You can't remember it too well, Found was 3rd in the Moyglare if memory serves me right ;):p

Jolly good. You are right, It was Cursory Glance for Varian - LUICIDA for Bolger, and Found. I knew Bolger's ran (tipped it) but thought that was third.

Mind playing tricks

And Found then went on to win at the Arc Weekend, while Cursory Glance never rode again, and Luicida somewhat disappointed at 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

. 40,000 - lord National Hunt is way more popular

Most of them will have little interest in the racing,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

50 Euro gets you in for the 4 days at the Limerick Christmas Festival. A fair price

Its a meeting that I gave up going to to be honest. I couldn't hack the queues for everything, betting, drink (not that I was on a session) and food, state of the toilets.
    Haven't been in over 10 years but sounds like its no better. That price would be steep too in my opinion for the way that you are treated.

Drop them an email and voice your opinion. Let them know you wont be going and the reasons for it. If enough people do it they might listen.

I normally go on the 27th. It's busy but I thought last year was an improvement, after the early rush the bar in the marquee next to parade ring settled down fine. You have to accept it's a social event in addition to a race meeting, if you can do that and get into the spirit of things you'll enjoy yourself.

Make sure you have a good feed, a wallet full of cash and most importantly smokes (if required) BEFORE you arrive. Don't assume you'll get into the stands from the inside. Out the front to the ring and then up as many steps as you can manage.

I do agree that for a completely predictable crowd the facilities are lacking. Would it be so hard to put up a dozen portaloos (couple of hundred euro?) and get a few more bar staff in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Wouldn't go to Leopardstown again for love or money, shambles.

I normally go on the 27th. It's busy but I thought last year was an improvement, after the early rush the bar in the marquee next to parade ring settled down fine. You have to accept it's a social event in addition to a race meeting, if you can do that and get into the spirit of things you'll enjoy yourself.

Make sure you have a good feed, a wallet full of cash and most importantly smokes (if required) BEFORE you arrive. Don't assume you'll get into the stands from the inside. Out the front to the ring and then up as many steps as you can manage.

I do agree that for a completely predictable crowd the facilities are lacking. Would it be so hard to put up a dozen portaloos (couple of hundred euro?) and get a few more bar staff in?

Make sure you have decent lighters too with those smokes. Impossible to buy one (not the type to be going up to strangers asking for a light - too O'Connell Street for my taste)

Does anyone ever do the old fashioned GAA thing of bring a flask of tea and hang sandwiches to the races? Or do they just pig out before the races? Lord knows why people agree to que for silly lengths of time for food that is frankly, rubbish and / or extremely expensive. It would wanna be some special burger before I depart anything over a 6 quid for (basically use to live on the €5 burger/hot dog stand at the Curragh and Guinness for nourishment)

TheTorment wrote: »
    Its a meeting that I gave up going to to be honest. I couldn't hack the queues for everything, betting, drink (not that I was on a session) and food, state of the toilets.
    Haven't been in over 10 years but sounds like its no better. That price would be steep too in my opinion for the way that you are treated.

Drop them an email and voice your opinion. Let them know you wont be going and the reasons for it. If enough people do it they might listen.

I had a conversation with the Manager of Leopardstown about 18 months ago where I put this point across about the food prices and quality, long queues for everything and the people they are aiming for - socialites of D4 while ignoring the actually racing fans who are there for the racing. My point of view wasn't entertained in the slightest so I wouldn't bother with the email, it will be a waste of your time.

chinguetti wrote: »
    I had a conversation with the Manager of Leopardstown about 18 months ago where I put this point across about the food prices and quality, long queues for everything and the people they are aiming for - socialites of D4 while ignoring the actually racing fans who are there for the racing. My point of view wasn't entertained in the slightest so I wouldn't bother with the email, it will be a waste of your time.

I dont do Facebook/Twitter but Id imagine they have a page. Surely when its out on public pages they may respond....?????

chinguetti wrote: »

What did the management say, out of interest?

TheTorment wrote: »
    I dont do Facebook/Twitter but Id imagine they have a page. Surely when its out on public pages they may respond....?????

They wouldn't care. Only a certain clientele they are interested in attracting and it ain't genuine racegoers. Any racing fan contemplating going there over xmas is off their head as far as I am concerned.

What did the management say, out of interest?

In brief: They had upgraded the food and opened more stands which provided better quality and price of food. I disagreed and also said they hadn't done much for people who actually went for the racing. He said that they had done research and were giving people what they wanted. Refuted the fact that the crowd was turning into a mix of people who are there to drink and the best dressed ladies crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭STADEdeLUC

lemush wrote: »
    They wouldn't care. Only a certain clientele they are interested in attracting and it ain't genuine racegoers. Any racing fan contemplating going there over xmas is off their head as far as I am concerned.

Lads, come off it! I go to Leopardstown on Lexus day every year of the Christmas and I'm at all the other major days at the course. It's not that bad at all, as a racing fan what more could you want from Leopardstown? You arrive at the gate, entry never takes more than 3 minutes. Grab a race card if you want. Head over to the pre-parade ring (it's always busy on the fence, but there is always space) Then head to the parade ring (again busy at the centre, why not move to the shoot area or the area beside the cabin, never busy) Once that's over, just follow the crowd into the betting ring if you want a bet and if not up into the stands. There's always room. Repeat.

I know there's many that go racing for the social aspect, drink, food, fashion etc. Real racing folk should not be put off by this, it's no excuse. I know myself I've hardly time to sit down between all the above mentioned. Fair enough costs are high, Leopardstown at Christmas always has plenty of free tickets from sponsors, Stand outside long enough and you'll definitely get lads offloading a few.

STADEdeLUC wrote: »
    Lads, come off it! I go to Leopardstown on Lexus day every year of the Christmas and I'm at all the other major days at the course. It's not that bad at all, as a racing fan what more could you want from Leopardstown? You arrive at the gate, entry never takes more than 3 minutes. Grab a race card if you want. Head over to the pre-parade ring (it's always busy on the fence, but there is always space) Then head to the parade ring (again busy at the centre, why not move to the shoot area or the area beside the cabin, never busy) Once that's over, just follow the crowd into the betting ring if you want a bet and if not up into the stands. There's always room. Repeat.

I know there's many that go racing for the social aspect, drink, food, fashion etc. Real racing folk should not be put off by this, it's no excuse. I know myself I've hardly time to sit down between all the above mentioned. Fair enough costs are high, Leopardstown at Christmas always has plenty of free tickets from sponsors, Stand outside long enough and you'll definitely get lads offloading a few.

Yep, too busy flying through the At The Races Website on the phone to look over past races and form (You can see old Irish races on it) and looking at them in the Pre Race ring . Never too pushed about getting food and drink, only go when there is a race that I have little interest in (in case I missed it)

As for price , meh, I have a habit of just standing as close to the winning post area. Actually more comfort in a way as oppose to the stand .

STADEdeLUC wrote: »

It's not that bad until you compare Leopardstown to other tracks in the UK and Ireland on their big days. Tracks that also have to cater for those that go for the social aspect but do it so much better. For the price of admission, drink, food etc it is without doubt in my opinion the worst value for money of any big track on the National Hunt scene. You'd dread the trek to the jacks for a piss nevermind anything else. A glorified cattle mart.

was over in Cheltenham at the weekend.
    obviously its a lot bigger than Leopards but the facilities are top class.
    3 on-course bookie shops so no real queueing
    lots of space/seats to sit down pre-racing to pick out a few winners.
    any amount of food outlets/shops/coffee etc..
    I really hope Leopardstown get the crowd they deserve this year at €30 a ticket.
    if ur thinking of going racing with a few mates ur better off meeting up in a pub for a few drinks/bets than give €30 to be treated like cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Shaungoater

I really hope Leopardstown get the crowd they deserve this year at €30 a ticket.
    if ur thinking of going racing with a few mates ur better off meeting up in a pub for a few drinks/bets than give €30 to be treated like cattle

On this, I usually get a flexi ticket off pigsback but forgot this year. €30 is steep for the facilities. If anyone is selling or has a code let me know please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭morrga

On this, I usually get a flexi ticket off pigsback but forgot this year. €30 is steep for the facilities. If anyone is selling or has a code let me know please

Pigs back offer was a joke this year. €40 for two tickets. Before it was €30 for two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Not a fair comparison. You went to Cheltenham for the International Hurdle week - was it even at half capacity? If you go during March, it is absolutely bunged to the max, queues for everything. I have been there and done that. Frankly, I am too old to be travelling over for that sort of thing.

Personally, I find Leopardstown even at its busiest to be grand. I never have to wait more than 10 minutes to get a drink. If I want to use the Paddy Power it'll take no more than 3-4 minutes to get a bet on (even if it is rammed). The only thing that annoys me is the crowd that Leopardstown sometimes ends up attracting. For example, I have seen English lads over for stags all decked out ladieswear and singing football songs with everyone around them just aghast. Likewise, a certain D4 element has definitely moved in for the Summer racing. At least those boyos aren't too loud.

Seriously, you people are actually complaining over nothing. I went to Newcastle last year for the Northumberland plate. Queues at the bar were 30 minutes,and the selection was restricted to 3 sh!tey beers, seating consisted of patio furniture on the grass at the grandstand and god help you if you wanted to try and get a bet on, because the bookies had no odds displayed, and no TV screens. Oh, and did I forget? We paid £35 in for this fixture.

Said it before and will say it again! Kilbeggan man. Beautiful little track, bring your own beer/picnic. Crap horses, summer NH, who cares, a Kilbeggan 8/1 pays as much as a Cheltenham one.

Seriously, you people are actually complaining over nothing. I went to Newcastle last year for the Northumberland plate. Queues at the bar were 30 minutes,and the selection was restricted to 3 sh!tey beers
    I can top this again. When I was young we had to walk to school, barefoot. For three miles. There and back. In the snow. And we paid for the privilege.

Jesus Francie just because you can prove that some other track is a bigger shitehole than Leopardstown at Christmas, doesn't really detract from the fact that Leopardstown at Christmas is a shitehole. The racecourse management has forsaken fans of racing for a social event. As far as I'm concerned it's a televised-only race meeting.

I'm heading to Limerick for Stephen's Day, but other than that I'll be watching Leaopardstown from my living room, betting online, and enjoying a mulled cider with my feet by the fire. You can queue for half an hour for the privilege of acquiring your own money to spend on the racetrack if that's what you think acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

And most of the barmen arent real barmen they are just guys on the stewards rostered onto the bar slowing down the whole show further. They should consider doing outdoor stalls like the Curragh does on big race days where 1 or 2 different beers is all they sell per stall and they have one fella dedicated to pre pulling pints and the other fella on the till the whole time making the turnaround quicker.

But the single on course pp bookies is the worst indictment for me as ive already mentioned and the lack of RUK screens around the place makes it hard to even get a glimpse of Kempton, packing the pp shop even tighter. Ive said it before but theres going to be a fatal crush there, that pp shop is dangerously cramped. Imagine a fella keels over with a heart attach in that scrum, no chance of getting him out quick. They would be negligent too because they havent done a risk assessment on the pp shop similar to this claim.
    Stop screening premiership football in the pp shop and it wouldnt be so bad.

califano wrote: »
    And most of the barmen arent real barmen they are just guys on the stewards rostered onto the bar slowing down the whole show further. They should consider doing outdoor stalls like the Curragh does on big race days where 1 or 2 different beers is all they sell per stall and they have one fella dedicated to pre pulling pints and the other fella on the till the whole time making the turnaround quicker.

But the single on course pp bookies is the worst indictment for me as ive already mentioned and the lack of RUK screens around the place makes it hard to even get a glimpse of Kempton, packing the pp shop even tighter. Ive said it before but theres going to be a fatal crush there, that pp shop is dangerously cramped. Imagine a fella keels over with a heart attach in that scrum, no chance of getting him out quick. They would be negligent too because they havent done a risk assessment on the pp shop similar to this claim.
    Stop screening premiership football in the pp shop and it wouldnt be so bad.

That is what makes me laugh. The screening of football on the race course. Yes yes, people want to keep an eye on the scores of big games and have a bet or two, but come on, they are suppose to be there for the horses. Aren't those same games shown in the bars? Yes.

I noticed that during the Irish Champion Stakes meeting, they did have a special stall at Leopardstown for the Guinness Hop House, just under the entrance to the stand. But other than that, as much as I like Leopardstown, would never go into the bookie shops for fear of being trampled on during the big days . People's discussions of what the Christmas Festival is like puts me right off

Along with the PP shop the toilets are an utter disgrace. I think ill pass on having to que ten minutes and then walk through puddles of piss when i want to have a slash. Kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

One thing I can never understand about racecourses is why there's not an army of young lads with those Carlsberg/Heinken/Budweiser rucksacks on their backs selling plastic bottles of beer, similar to what they have at Rugby and even HT at Soccer games. Make the cap be taken off if you want to overdo the health and safety, but no reason not to have them otherwise. Far quicker to disperse drink and saves people queuing and getting annoyed, plus more sales.

The only racecourse ive seen in Ireland that handles the food and drink queues well is funnily enough Galway, the one course that packs in a crowd way too large far it's other facilities. They seem to have grasped the simple fact that if they hire enough extra students and have enough extra drink taps, they will sell enough to cover the costs. Easy to get a drink even on Ladies day which is over double the Leopardstown Stephens day attendance on a similar sized course.

We are generally not as bad as the UK however, albiet only saved because bar and restaurant staff have a good work ethic over here, whereas in the UK the phrase "pay peanuts and get monkeys" rings through everywhere. Cheltenham at November there was very disappointing in that respect, just brought back memories of the festival where the pursuit of refreshments were nearly always abandoned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

with 30 euro admittance the the over priced food and drink you down 100 euro plus cost of getting there  before you strike a bet I won,t be there again ever

barney4001 wrote: »
    with 30 euro admittance the the over priced food and drink you down 100 euro plus cost of getting there  before you strike a bet I won,t be there again ever

€30 is a fcuking disgrace but all race courses are over priced on food and drink. It's the horrific service, likely crush spot that is the PP shop, and rivers of piss in the facilities that make this particular venue a kip on those dates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Barbaric Gentleman

Absolute robbing prices on food/drink at most tracks either side of the Irish Sea. Doesn't exactly encourage first time visitors to come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Is it not worth the €30 just to go and watch the racing.

This moaning about drink and food queues is something i cant understand.

I here a lot of this about cheltenham on say gold cup day, but if you are anyway savvy at all about it its easy to get a drink or something to eat in 5 mins. My guess its the same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

aidankkk wrote: »
    Is it not worth the €30 just to go and watch the racing.

This moaning about drink and food queues is something i cant understand.

I here a lot of this about cheltenham on say gold cup day, but if you are anyway savvy at all about it its easy to get a drink or something to eat in 5 mins. My guess its the same here.
    Of course if your savvy enough you'll find things easy enough but on days like this how many will do the extra bit to find these places which are quicker.

Well I wasn't intending on going but got email to say I'm working Monday and Tuesday on the tote...