Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Broken arm from arm wrestling

• 25-10-2016 8:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭

On Sunday morning at 5am my wifes phone rang. It was her 30yr old son (my stepson) telling her our other son aged 18yrs was after falling and breaking his arm while going into house to collect him from a house party.

So my 18yr old son broke his arm very badly up above the elbow on the main bone that runs up towards the shoulder. He had to have surgery yesterday with metal plates inserted. Doctor said it might take a while for full hand movement to return.

So anyway I'm not stupid. I know when you fall you break the bones between your wrist and elbow. I know the two lads at the house party where my son went are lunatics for the drink. So I persuaded my son last night to tell me what really happened and he told me on condition I never tell his mother my wife.

He was in bed asleep Saturday night. His half brother called him at 4am asked him to come and collect him from a house party. My 18yr old son stupidly got up and ended up in the house having an arm wrestling match against a hardy macho 31yr old army man.

So his arm snapped broke very badly and they made up a story that he fell on the pathway into the house.

I hate keeping secrets from my wife and family. What do you think I should do? Keep it secret for peace sake? Won't make any real difference I suppose as its not going to change things. My son with broken arm is in college hope he gets back there soon paying a fortune for that..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Say nowt. You promised the lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

Listen to the true word of Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Talk to Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I think he's talking shet ..... A broken arm from arm wrestling..

Wake up lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Telling your wife isn't going to fix his arm. What's done is done and as someone said you gave your word you'd keep it to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

You promised you wouldn't tell anyone so be a man and keep your word. The young lad did something stupid at a party and he's learned his lesson. There's no need to go worrying his mam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Wake up lad

What do you think happened..? :O:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

Keep it quiet. Your son has enough on his plate at the moment without listening to your wife as well. He's obviously in a lot of discomfort and he's probably embarrassed and annoyed at himself. Let him heal and get back to college asap. If it's still eating at you in 6 months time then tell your wife. Hopefully she'll understand that you just wanted your son to keep focused. Getting him back to college is the number 1 priority right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Extreme fisting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Say nothing, in the scheme of things, it's not a huge deal how his arm was broken. In the longer run, he knows you've got his back.
    Is that a common injury from arm wrestling though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ni idea...... But I'd imagine your wrist bones are weaker the your arm bones and would broke sooner

Some lad getting putts bed to go arm wrestling at 4am in a house party sober.... Has to be the worst attempt at a lie I've ever read

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It can and does happen, in this case there's zero to be gained from telling your wife, it's not as if he was doing anything wrong or illegal? Just let it go, nothing to be gained for any party by you not keeping the promise you made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

razorblunt wrote: »
    Say nothing, in the scheme of things, it's not a huge deal how his arm was broken. In the longer run, he knows you've got his back.
    Is that a common injury from arm wrestling though?

Yes, there are multiple videos doing the rounds of this happening, even to professional arm wrestlers.

Think the general consensus is right here OP - keep it schtum. If you tell your wife, you will have betrayed your son's trust. Besides, your wife is most likely better off not knowing what really went on to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Wake up lad

Exactly what I thought, but I typed it into google and sure enough up pops tons of videos of people doing just that. You live and learn.

Real question is why would your son want to keep this fairly innocuous happening from his mother - that makes no sense to me. That's what would lead me to be suspicious to be honest. (now that I know arm wrestling breaks are a real thing!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    Yes, there are multiple videos doing the rounds of this happening, even to professional arm wrestlers.

Think the general consensus is right here OP - keep it schtum. If you tell your wife, you will have betrayed your son's trust. Besides, your wife is most likely better off not knowing what really went on to be honest.

I always thought it was the elbow that would give out first.
    Every day is a school day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,760 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

On Sunday morning at 5am my wifes phone rang. It was her 30yr old son (my stepson) telling her our other son aged 18yrs was after falling and breaking his arm while going into house to collect him from a house party.

So my 18yr old son broke his arm very badly up above the elbow on the main bone that runs up towards the shoulder. He had to have surgery yesterday with metal plates inserted. Doctor said it might take a while for full hand movement to return.

So anyway I'm not stupid. I know when you fall you break the bones between your wrist and elbow. I know the two lads at the house party where my son went are lunatics for the drink. So I persuaded my son last night to tell me what really happened and he told me on condition I never tell his mother my wife.

He was in bed asleep Saturday night. His half brother called him at 4am asked him to come and collect him from a house party. My 18yr old son stupidly got up and ended up in the house having an arm wrestling match against a hardy macho 31yr old army man.

So his arm snapped broke very badly and they made up a story that he fell on the pathway into the house.

I hate keeping secrets from my wife and family. What do you think I should do? Keep it secret for peace sake? Won't make any real difference I suppose as its not going to change things. My son with broken arm is in college hope he gets back there soon paying a fortune for that..

If you're not stupid, you're not believing this but for the same reason you didn't believe the first one.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The story makes more sense to me if you replace every occurrence of the words "house party" with "house".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

He managed to break his humerus in an arm-wrestle? Was the other fella a Terminator or something? Jaysis! Anyway, keep it quiet - no need to worry the woman with this, he'll hardly do it again. Could've been up to a lot worse. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

If she's on boards it wont matter ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Who was he arm wrestling, Jeff Goldblum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I watched a documentary on medieval torture a while ago, and one thing they talked about was The Rack (where you get tied by arms and feet and the 'stretched').

They recreated the rack experience with some pig joints and just kept tightening the ropes, and were surprised to see that it was the bone itself which gave way to pressure first, and not the joints/ligaments as they'd expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Wake up lad

Seen it happen before. It was hilarious. Well not really hilarious but there was a lot of drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Exactly what I thought, but I typed it into google and sure enough up pops tons of videos of people doing just that. You live and learn.

Real question is why would your son want to keep this fairly innocuous happening from his mother - that makes no sense to me. That's what would lead me to be suspicious to be honest. (now that I know arm wrestling breaks are a real thing!)

Because he knows there will be a full length inquest and giving out and wittering and she will never stop going on about it. Speaking as a mother.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Honesty is the best policy. It'll come out eventually and be a bigger deal then instead of being honest now.

The lad will feel the trust is broken along with the arm, but responsibility comes before secrets sometimes.
    That's just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Jesus say nothing! It won't change what happened and won't make him heal quicker! It will break his trust in you though and that'll be a lot harder and more painful to fix than an arm!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Was Jeff Goldblum involved with any of these? (Although he broke the person's radius or ulna in The Fly...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

osarusan wrote: »
    I watched a documentary on medieval torture a while ago, and one thing they talked about was The Rack (where you get tied by arms and feet and the 'stretched').

They recreated the rack experience with some pig joints and just kept tightening the ropes, and were surprised to see that it was the bone itself which gave way to pressure first, and not the joints/ligaments as they'd expected.

that doesn't even bear thinking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

It probably depends on the starting position. I've looked at a couple of videos of this on youtube and the 'proper' table with the elbow pads looks like it's more likely to put bending moment on the radius/ulna and you'd get a forearm fracture.

Another video was more informal and the two guys weren't facing each other directly. This looked like it was more likely to put torsion on the humerus and that gave way first.

A broken humerus from this kind of torsion causes a spiral fracture like in this x-ray due to the brittle nature of the make up of bone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I'd be telling the wife, I'd actually talk the son into telling her then I'd pack the waster stepson's bags and throw him out on his ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Leave it alone, no need to spread alarm and despondency. I have found out a couple of things that happened between 10 and 20 years ago that I didn't need to know at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Let it go. Look at this way - you tell your wife, she's worried about it and possibly has a go at him for being an eejit (which I assume various people already have!). You tell your wife and you've betrayed your son's trust and you can whistle for him being honest with you in the future if he does something daft. It's not worth it. And if it ever does come out and your wife wants to know why you didn't tell her, tell her the truth then; you knew the story as she did, but he told you in confidence about it and you didn't want to betray that for something that would make no difference as to his arm healing or not. The only reason I'd call a halt to that is if the concept of suing the path-owner came up, as that would be blatently dishonest, ofc. As is, it's harmless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

arm wrestling ffs

sounds like somebody didnt pay his drug debts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

The lad has been punished enough. He is not going to able to wipe his ass properly or have a proper **** for the next while, amongst other things. Keep your word, or he won't be telling you of his future endeavours. Sounds like this won't be the last!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Say nothing OP , use this as your free pass in the future when that young lad finds your porn history or catches you in the lap dancing club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

He'll never trust you again if you mouth off after making that promise. You knew something stupid happened and you made the promise knowing that it was going to be a secret that was kept. Suck it up.

He's 18. An adult. Don't make him out to be some innocent little lad who got caught out by a big bad grown up. Whatever the reason for the arm break, he was messing himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

This is the kind of thing that will come out years down the line and will be laughed about...do ya remember the time..?
    Say nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So, I originally wrote a post saying that he may have been assaulted and is trying to cover it up because I'd never heard of an upper arm break from arm wrestling.

But then,
    http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-06-12/arm-wrestling-how-easy-is-it-to-break-an-arm-explainer/6540898

So, he's probably just really embarrassed. Though fair ****s to him for holding on long enough to break his arm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yeah, don't be a sneak. If you said you wouldn't tell, don't tell. If he knows he can trust you he'll come to you if he ever needs to. If you break that don't expect to be told anything ever again. Boys will be boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

How old is the son who broke his arm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

I wouldn't say anything. It is not going to make the injury heal faster, it is not going to make your wife feel any better and will cause a breakdown in trust between you and your stepson. Also it will probably cause your wife to worry everytime he goes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Hammer89 wrote: »
    How old is the son who broke his arm?

18. It's in the post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

ted1 wrote: »
    18. It's in the post

It was a joke :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

If you do break the promise don't moan when he doesn't trust you in future. You made a promise, keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Nothing to be gained by breaking his trust, it won't fix his arm.
    Best to keep quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Wake up lad