Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not cleaning your dogs sh1t

• 24-10-2016 4:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭

Okaaaaaay.

This is just something that bothers me, living in Enniscorthy only reinforced it, as seemingly no one cleans up after their dogs here. I mean, where do you people who do this get off? How can anyone find it acceptable and better yet, why are they getting away with it, Joe? It's purely disgusting, it's I think, worse than throwing gum on the pavment and if you do it, you're no better than the animal. If you clean up dog sh1t in your yard why wouldn't you on the streets? It's only worse when it's a park. If you're not gonna clean it up, don't have a dog or put it in nappies.

Dirty bastards ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Living in Sandycove, I would hold the same view towards this as I do towards people pissing in public at night after closing time - it's a pain in the hole, but the councils have to take their share of the blame by in many cases making it an inevitability. People who would otherwise not pee in public do so because there is only one public toilet for the entire area between Blackrock and Dalkey, and people tend to leave their dog's crap in bags down on the seafront because the number of public bins has been rapidly diminishing in recent years. I don't particularly blame people who don't want to walk for up to ten minutes with a bag of crap in their hand - there was a time when there was a bin practically on every lane corner, and there seems in my memory to be a direct correlation between the removal of a huge number of public bins and a rise in people just leaving steaming piles where they're made.

It becomes a little difficult not to break the law if the council or government starts to actively put barriers in the way of doing the decent thing.

Of course, having said that, what I don't understand is why people don't just throw it into the sea in the areas I mentioned - those pooper scoopers are made of cardboard anyway so at least that'd get them out of the way, and who knows, maybe the turds would have some nutritional value for whatever ecosystems live in the depts of Scotsman's Bay :pac:

EDIT: That was supposed to be "depths" of Scotsman's bay, IE what lives under the sea, and not "depts" of Scotsman's Bay, as in government or council departments. Although given their behaviour, one has to wonder whether there's a ring of truth in this unfortunate typo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

And yet cats sh1te everywhere and no one bats an eye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭WhoWhatWhere

If you don't want to walk with it... don't have a dog. I emphasise with the points, but there's always a bin somewhere and it doesn't matter where you live there's some toilet nearby in a shop or cafe. No where will see you piss yourself. Pissing on the street is just disgusting. Not long ago some bastard was pissing on the path at the bus stop, BESIDE THE PUB HE WAS HAVING A CIGARETTE OUTSIDE OF. and days before I was left to go in the bathroom not being a customer so that's not even an excuse. The public toilet thing I believe is because people were breaking them up and they weren't being used enough to jusitfy keeping them. I personally would burst my kidney before stepping into one, the ****ing state they left in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Horrible stuff to pick up when it's 'fresh', but I have a dog and that responsibility comes with ownership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Nobody is going to enforce it, simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

In my town it's so bad, that when people see me pick up after my dog, they congratulate me :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Skyfarm

try pushing yourself in a wheelchair and find out what it's like to have it spread like cheese over the hands.

there's nothing worse than finding that smell wafting while you search for it,many times i have effed and blinded while trying to scrape the crap off..

Die dog owners who shrug it off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Living in Sandycove, I would hold the same view towards this as I do towards people pissing in public at night after closing time - it's a pain in the hole, but the councils have to take their share of the blame by in many cases making it an inevitability. People who would otherwise not pee in public do so because there is only one public toilet for the entire area between Blackrock and Dalkey, and people tend to leave their dog's crap in bags down on the seafront because the number of public bins has been rapidly diminishing in recent years. I don't particularly blame people who don't want to walk for up to ten minutes with a bag of crap in their hand - there was a time when there was a bin practically on every lane corner, and there seems in my memory to be a direct correlation between the removal of a huge number of public bins and a rise in people just leaving steaming piles where they're made.

It becomes a little difficult not to break the law if the council or government starts to actively put barriers in the way of doing the decent thing.

Of course, having said that, what I don't understand is why people don't just throw it into the sea in the areas I mentioned - those pooper scoopers are made of cardboard anyway so at least that'd get them out of the way, and who knows, maybe the turds would have some nutritional value for whatever ecosystems live in the depts of Scotsman's Bay :pac:

It's more than a pain in the hole, it's an actual health hazard, and a lot more unpleasant than a bit of urine down an alley.
    I'm sure people swimming in Sandy cove wouldn't like too see you inconvenienced by having to carry your dog's sh1t in a bag for a few minutes.

The only person responsible for not putting their dog's sh1te in a bin is themselves. It's not difficult to not break the law in this regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭fixXxer

I walk our dog up Killiney hill fairly often and I've noticed a bizarre habit recently where people pick up their dogs poop and bag it....then hang the bag on a nearby branch.

I mean, if you're not going to bin it then at least leave it in a condition where nature can do its work on it.

That's how low the bar is with people cleaning up after their animals :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

fixxxer wrote: »
    I walk our dog up Killiney hill fairly often and I've noticed a bizarre habit recently where people pick up their dogs poop and bag it....then hang the bag on a nearby branch.

I mean, if you're not going to bin it then at least leave it in a condition where nature can do its work on it.

Sometimes if people are doing a linear walk, they pick it up, leave it and then collect it on the way back.

No excuse for not picking up after your dogs, all of my jackets have poo bags in the pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

My dog refuses to sh1t anywhere except my garden no matter how hard i try to train him

If you don't want to walk with it... don't have a dog. I emphasise with the points, but there's always a bin somewhere

There really isn't, not anymore. The councils have even acknowledged this to some extent, they have been trying to combat illegal household waste disposal in public bins by simply having a shortage of public bins in the first place.

Killiney Hill is a good example. The only bins there are in the car park and beside the Obelisk. If you're on the other side of the hill, it's a half hour's walk to a bin.
    and it doesn't matter where you live there's some toilet nearby in a shop or cafe.

If it's late at night / early morning, which is when most people do it as they're walking home from a pub or club nearby, those places you mention aren't open. There should be unmanned public access toilets which are available for 24 hour use.
    No where will see you piss yourself. Pissing on the street is just disgusting.

I agree, but again if you're walking somewhere at night, you've had a few and you're say 45 mins to an hour away from home, what else are you going to do? I guarantee you that if there were public toilets people would use them. The one public toilet in Sandycove is regularly used at night time by homecoming sessioners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Alcoheda

I live in Galway city where public bins have gone the way of the dodo.
    I have no problem picking up after my dog but having to hold on to it for 3/4 of a mile is a right pain in the arse.

I see a lot of people seem to bag it and throw it on the ground (presumably when nobody's looking).

I realise the dog's sh1t is my problem and I want to be responsible but I think the city should play it's part too.

fixxxer wrote: »

Agree with this completely. If you're miles from a bin up the hill, the best thing to do is get a few sticks, make an impromptu spade, and feck the sh!te as far as you can into some nearby thick forest that people are unlikely to attempt to walk through. You're never too far from a virtually inaccessible area of overgrowth up there, tbh. And as you say, then it can degrade on its own - God knows how long those plastic bags take to decompose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Do you ever wonder what your dog thinks of ye when he sees you picking up his crap ?

Keeps me up at night that question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

People who don't pick up after their dog are one thing but those who go to the trouble of picking it up and then just throw the bag away baffle me. It would be better off if it was not picked up at all rather than introducing non-biodegradable plastic into the equation.... :eek:

McDermotX wrote: »
    Do you ever wonder what your dog thinks of ye when he sees you picking up his crap ?

Probably think you're a weirdo.

Then again some dogs eat their own ****e so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

McDermotX wrote: »

Haven't had a dog in a few years now (apartment living) but every one of the three dogs we had would look at me like I had two heads when I'd pick up their leavings. Usually followed by them slowly turning away while still watching me as if I'm about to do something else... then returning to their typical mood of running around like a jackass.

I always got the impression they were judging me like a parent judges a child, "that's... not what you do with that, it stays on the ground".

Walking around the local park I'd occasionally see people 'not notice' that their dog had left something behind. If it were up a mountain, I wouldn't care but this is a park in an area with a lot of young children. I feel like a moron doing so but I always approach and point out what their dog has left behind. Most are embarrassed and clean it up and we laugh it off as 'oh that dog is such a scamp', one of which was then passed by a few kids kicking a ball around and turned bright red upon understanding the point of cleaning up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I have said this before, but anybody found not picking up their dog's crap should be forced to take off their shoe, put the crap in, then put their shoe back on and carry on with their walk.

I know it can never happen, but i would truly love to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Agree with this completely. If you're miles from a bin up the hill, the best thing to do is get a few sticks, make an impromptu spade, and feck the sh!te as far as you can into some nearby thick forest that people are unlikely to attempt to walk through. You're never too far from a virtually inaccessible area of overgrowth up there, tbh. And as you say, then it can degrade on its own - God knows how long those plastic bags take to decompose.

Its actually what the Forestry Commission in the UK prefer, flick it, don't bin it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Living rural, as I do, I've always incorporated the best of both worlds. Always carry a plastic bag in my back pocket. Dog drops one on the track? Simple. I pick it up, in my bagged hand, and jettison it into the drain. Bag gets turned back on itself again and back in my pocket.

I'm absolutely pathological about plastics being dumped in the countryside. Absolutely can't stand to see it. Well, any litter, come to that. I don't want to walk in my own Dogs sh1t either. And I go up that track every day. I keep it clean, just as I would anywhere I took my Dogs.

Hey; Imagine leaving one in a fast food place? Cyclonic thread merge! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Stigura wrote: »
    Living rural, as I do, I've always incorporated the best of both worlds. Always carry a plastic bag in my back pocket. Dog drops one on the track? Simple. I pick it up, in my bagged hand, and jettison it into the drain. Bag gets turned back on itself again and back in my pocket.

I'm absolutely pathological about plastics being dumped in the countryside. Absolutely can't stand to see it. Well, any litter, come to that. I don't want to walk in my own Dogs sh1t either. And I go up that track every day. I keep it clean, just as I would anywhere I took my Dogs.

Hey; Imagine leaving one in a fast food place? Cyclonic thread merge! :D

Am I reading this right, you're walking around with a shít stained back in your pocket?

I've had to adopt the "flick it " routine a few times when I didn't bring enough bags, but I'm also one of those people who "plank" it, I don't hang it from a tree but if I'm on a circular walk that I know is short on bins (the Saturday morning one has 2 bins for example) I'll pick the bag up on the way back to a car.

My main problem is people telling me "you're dog has done its business over" there. She hasn't, she went for a píss, that's how she goes.

It is incredibly annoying though when you step in a pile in the dark while walking to gather your own dog's business, that's happened way too often recently enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

razorblunt wrote: »
    Am I reading this right, you're walking around with a shít stained back in your pocket?

haha. brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I pick it up but I admittedly don't clean it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I walk dogs regularly and have done for years. I have never cleaned up after the dogs and never will. How did we survive years ago before all this horsecrap PC fukology came about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

I walk dogs regularly and have done for years. I have never cleaned up after the dogs and never will. How did we survive years ago before all this horsecrap PC fukology came about?

people are afraid their kids will eat or something to that effect.
    not a very bright kid if they eatin sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

We got toxocariasis and went blind.

Great craic altogether so it was.

:confused:Bag, obviously. But, we won't split hairs of we'll end up geocacheing.

Umm ..... Yes. I'd imagine a forensic pathology lab could probably demonstrate that there were canine faecal traces within the bag I'm walking toward my home with. Problem ....?

What's it like, to use a bidet anyway? I've often wondered about the exact mechanics there :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

If not wanting ****e on my shoes makes me a member of the PC brigade then sign me up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I see those little black bags everywhere,obviously having done the hard part finding a bin is a step too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

kneemos wrote: »
    I see those little black bags everywhere,obviously having done the hard part finding a bin is a step too far.

Theirs no public bins in my area. Great big part of a park with no bins whatsoever. I'll bring my pups scank home with me but others will just leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Alcoheda

kneemos wrote: »

I would never do that myself and I'm not condoning it but the next time you see one of those bags, have a think about how far away the next bin actually is.

You're right. We should go back to the days when doctors used leeches, we dumped rubbish out our windows onto the street and the church ruled the country. God them were they days boii.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

My dog refuses to sh1t anywhere except my garden no matter how hard i try to train him

Same with my puppy. She doesn't even take a piss on long walks.

Dog I had before used to piss every 50 meters. Sometimes he'd just stop, lift the leg and pretend he was pissing just so he could get a sniff at a tree or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

My dogs never cleaned mine up, why should I clean his up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Carlow town is disgusting, dog crap everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Owryan wrote: »
    Carlow town is disgusting, dog crap everywhere.

And then there's Carlow underneath it all :(

Your dogs don't feed you either, does that mean you leave them to starve? That's the most stupid post I've seen all day, congrats.

I always pick up after my dogs. Wouldn't dream of leaving it for someone to step in. I hate seeing it in the middle of paths. Disgusting.
    My dogs refuse to go on anything other than grass but I still pick it up. It is incredibly frustrating carrying bags of ****e with you for miles along an otherwise lovely walk because there's no bins anywhere. Two dog leads in one hand, three little bags of poo in the other. Cant even scratch my nose.

I've often wanted to leave it somewhere and collect on the way back but so many people throw them away I'm afraid of someone misunderstanding my intentions.
    I've often had to bring it home with me when there's been no bins around. That's the worst.

Someone else mentioned this as well but very annoying also when I'm clearly holding bags of poo already and my female dog squats to pee as females do and some busybody thinks she's pooing and gives me the evil eye.

my female dog squats to pee as females do and some busybody thinks she's pooing and gives me the evil eye.

What are you supposed to do about it tho? Animals do what animals do. It's not like you're taking a ****e on the path.

Pretty sure he means that they're thinking it's a dog about to do a dump.

Stigura wrote: »
    :confused:Bag, obviously. But, we won't split hairs of we'll end up geocacheing.

Umm ..... Yes. I'd imagine a forensic pathology lab could probably demonstrate that there were canine faecal traces within the bag I'm walking toward my home with. Problem ....?

What's it like, to use a bidet anyway? I've often wondered about the exact mechanics there :)

I actually meant bag too by the way, well actually I meant "bag in your back pocket" but I missed out a good few words.

I'm not going to pretend I'm not freaked out by a **** stained bag, will multiple stains just hanging around.

Bidets are nice, a bit too nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

You dirty, scruffy animal bastard. You and your dogs should be shot with a ball of your own ****!

You scruffy fcuk.

You're not allowed insult people on boards you'll get into trouble

Pretty sure he means that they're thinking it's a dog about to do a dump.

Thanks Brains Trust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

If you let your mutt sh1t in public places, you should have your face rubbed in it.

You're not allowed insult people on boards you'll get into trouble

I'm sure the thought police will be along shortly. Filthy animals should have their noses rubbed in it

I'm not going to pretend I'm not freaked out by a **** stained bag, will multiple stains just hanging around.

Seriously; Ye can relax :) My Dogs are fed on raw flesh and bone. Their sh1t thus comes out pretty hard and really just glossed with a thin veneer of mucus, to save rubbing their bums :D

I invert the bag. Pick and sling. Deinvert the bag and put it back in my back pocket. It's really not an issue.

Now, just today, a (new) neighbours Dog had come down here and sh1t on the track, outside my gate. I had to pick That up too. Jesus christ! What are they feeding that poor thing?! It was like picking up, well ..... slop! It made a right mess of the bag. Which I disposed off right away.

It's not as if I wander around with a bag in my pocket ye'd think I'd wiped my arse with, after a big feed of stout.

I've done this for donkeys years now. No one's Ever leaned into me and confided; " Stigura? Can you smell Dog sh1t? ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Went to a park a few years ago with our kids and friends kids....friends little lad stood in some...didn't know...hour later when we found out it was all over him and my lad....they were on swings , slides, car seats the lot..
    Utterly ruined our day.

Pick it up.