Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conscription

• 22-10-2016 5:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

Men were put out there to face the line, a member of my family died in the Great War.

My grandfather his son died during WW2. (RAF)

These men gave it all, they gave their lives.

I wouldn't be very confident if a conscription call was given today.

Men seem to be acting like nancy boys or emotional wrecks. You'd want a proper men putting the head forward. Men of Honour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

So which one are you OP, man of honour or nancy boy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Men were put out there to face the line, a member of my family died in the Great War.

Men seem to be acting like nancy boys or emotional wrecks. You'd want a proper men putting the head forward. Men of Honour.

Why don't you act like a man of honour and volunteer to go and fight ISIS.With the attitude you've shown in your post I assume you are a real man and I predict you'll end the conflict in a matter of weeks.

Not really surprising men today wouldn't be too happy with being conscripted. There is nothing worse than being forced to fight/die for something you don't believe in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Your uncle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

What a nonsense post. I presume you have been drinking all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

You talking about conscription or national service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Oh, how I yearn for the days when young working class men who didn't even have a vote were sent off to French trenches to be slaughtered for the delusions of their betters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Conscription, a really dumb idea that saw millions of young men slaughtered

Note to Hillary- this is why men are actually the real victims of war

Has there ever been conscription in this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

With conscription, motivation will be difficult, particularly when things are not going your way.Vietnam is a prime example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

The reason conscription was introduced in Britain was they were running out of volunteers who had been all blown to smithereens. Most folk thought the war be over by that Christmas.

Having said that imo conscription in Ireland today could put some fitness, stability and discipline into our young folks for a year or maybe two.

A conscription law was passed but was never put in effect; no one in Ireland was drafted into the British Army. The proposal and backlash galvanised support for political parties which advocated Irish separatism and influenced events in the lead-up to the Irish War of Independence.

https://www.google.es/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiBsKGd-u3PAhULtRQKHUl5CvcQFggeMAA&url=https%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FConscription_Crisis_of_1918&usg=AFQjCNEMcrND66o335LK-RtzcIfu5UE_Dw&sig2=RCVUOzKU2DkNLcePDLDsyg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

If you think a man can only be a proper man if he's forced (conscription) to be cannon fodder you need medical intervention from the two men in white coats variety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

People automatically think of WW1 when talking about conscription and the needles slaughter of the working class. What if the generation of Brits and yanks in WW2 rejected conscription? Would we all be speaking German now?
    Citizens have never been as eager to exercise their rights but have little appetite for defending them.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    People automatically think of WW1 when talking about conscription and the needles slaughter of the working class. What if the generation of Brits and yanks in WW2 rejected conscription? Would we all be speaking German now?
    Citizens have never been as eager to exercise their rights but have little appetite for defending them.

There are plenty of wars currently going on around the world if any man wants to prove he is a proper man - no conscription in Ireland required.

Personally I think Ireland was right to proclaim neutrality in WW2, however if it were the case it was required to defend the country then conscription would be appropriate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

So far, 8 nancy boy anti-conscription posts. Typical of boards. I believe every 18 year old should be made do 2 years national service, war or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

Its a case of "your country needs you" vs "i ain't got no quarrel with them viet cong"

It has been cancelled in the USA since 1973 and it doesn't seemed to have any effect on there foreign policy's.

Sweden had conscription in its people up to a few years ago, even though they were neutral during the two world wars.

Some folks say having a professional trained Army is much better than a forced conscription Army where the strength/will to fight is not as ingrained ??

So far, 8 nancy boy anti-conscription posts. Typical of boards. I believe every 18 year old should be made do 2 years national service, war or not.

I assume you're not 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Reckon the op would be shot in the back fairly quickly by his fellow conscripted nancy boys.

Collie D wrote: »
    I assume you're not 18

Why do you assume that?

Because the idea of national service or conscription is one that is usually touted by those who won't have to do it.

My assumption is open to correction.

Why do you assume that?

Why do you assume that anyone against conscription is a Nancy boy ?

nancy boy

an effeminate man; what gay men were called back in the days when gay meant happy

That feller was always a little funny, if you know what I mean. A real nancy boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

And should girls have to do it too?

Or would that be too much equality for the feminists?

RAMBO

National Service costs money....we don't have money.

Have you enlisted for state service yourself?

Because the idea of national service or conscription is one that is usually touted by those who won't have to do it.

I assume you ARE 18 so. I assume that you have no backbone, would flinch at the sight of a rifle, and would like to join the UK as part of a sub-category of a province. I assume you are a fine gael voter, you think gayness is ok, and you would like abortion to be normalised to the point that you could get "abortion vouchers" to be available as birthday / Christmas presents.

Laughable. I'm 36 by the way. You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

What is it good for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

conscription - none of them would be capable. would have te surgically removed from their phone and their mammy first.
    national service - might sort out both of the above.

future of country looks bleak:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Reckon the op would be shot in the back fairly quickly by his fellow conscripted nancy boys.

That's one way of putting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

What a wonderful collection of prejudices pretending to be a personality.

Fleawuss wrote: »

The Fine Gael one was especially uncalled for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Why stop at 18? Why not change it to every man and woman between 18 and retirement should be forced to do up to 2 years national service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

It has been cancelled in the USA since 1973 and it doesn't seemed to have any effect on there foreign policy's.

Sweden had conscription in its people up to a few years ago, even though they were neutral during the two world wars.

Some folks say having a professional trained Army is much better than a forced conscription Army where the strength/will to fight is not as ingrained ??

Are you talking about national service or conscription? In times of war you can be guaranteed conscription would be introduced if necessary.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Fleawuss wrote: »

Trolling 101. Must try harder.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Men were put out there to face the line, a member of my family died in the Great War.My grandfather his son died during WW2. (RAF)These men gave it all, they gave their lives.I wouldn't be very confident if a conscription call was given today.Men seem to be acting like nancy boys or emotional wrecks. You'd want a proper men putting the head forward. Men of Honour.

I have to agree with you OP. Modern man has been browbeaten by feminists into becoming almost female themselves. A lad who lost his wife in the Paris attacks was on the radio the other day and someone text in this: "We are builders on the way to work and we couldn't see out the windscreen with all the tears. We had to pull in and ring our wives...." can't remember the rest.

Seriously wtf???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

To what end? Why would you want a production line of war ready citizens? For a start, there aren't enough Securicor vans for them all to follow up and down the country, we only have 1 St. Patrick's day for them all to march in and not all of them would be good enough to play in the band. On top of that, Michael D would never get to a Galway game if he had to inspect every soldier in a Guard of Honour

Any real soldiers here? How would you feel about babysitting a bunch of young lads who have absolutely zero interest in being there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

RAMBO

Bless you. Have you a cold ?

To what end? Why would you want a production line of war ready citizens? For a start, there aren't enough Securicor vans for them all to follow up and down the country, we only have 1 St. Patrick's day for them all to march in and not all of them would be good enough to play in the band. On top of that, Michael D would never get to a Galway game if he had to inspect every soldier in a Guard of Honour

For balance.

1. Cash in Transit protection is not a function that the Defence Forces perform anymore...in a few years actually.

2. The RDF are the ones who mostly march in parades on St.Patricks Day.

3. There are a number of different types of Guards of Honour, none of which will ever require every soldier to attend.

4. I agree that there is no requirement for national service.

Any real soldiers here? How would you feel about babysitting a bunch of young lads who have absolutely zero interest in being there?

Conscription or National Service?

Fair point. National Service. I'd imagine in a conscription into battle scenario most people would get serious once bullets started flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

My grandparents all answered the call and did their bit to shoot de brits.

No need for it today anyway. Might be handy to have a few thousand lads taken up leitrim way and trained in on AK's in case them lot in the north get notions again what with all this talk of reunification

Fair point. National Service.

Well since we have neither Coscription nor National Service at the moment I can only speak from experience of being in Recruit training and from training Recruits myself.

A few general ideas first, Ireland specific.

If Ireland ever needed a standing military of a sizeable force, we could have a reasonable one without Conscriprion or National Service.

There are enough able bodied and well trained ex soldiers in the country that could be re activated into the DF if required. To a lesser extent, well trained Reserve and ex Reserve members who have integrated into permanent units would also be stood up.

In terms of national service. Well, that would cost a hell of a lot of funding, funding which we as a State simply could not afford.

Without going into things further, in all accounts, soldiering is not as easy as it seems. It can be incredibly complicated and is rife with hardship.

Because of this, to soldier, you have to want to soldier. If you have to force, coerce or incentify someone to do it, it fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭j.s. pill II

Why don't you act like a man of honour and volunteer to go and fight ISIS.With the attitude you've shown in your post I assume you are a real man and I predict you'll end the conflict in a matter of weeks.

Is that you there OP??

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/irishman-stopped-by-airport-security-after-attempting-to-travel-to-fight-isis-35149479.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

First, I hope there's never a need for conscripton. If there was, I agree that people wouldn't be up to it. That goes for men and women. We don't have the backbone that people had in those days. Every second word out of some of my friends' mouths is something like ''that's too hard, I can't do that'' ''that would take too long'', or ''can't be arsed'' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Well since we have neither Coscription nor National Service at the moment I can only speak from experience of being in Recruit training and from training Recruits myself.

A few general ideas first, Ireland specific.

If Ireland ever needed a standing military of a sizeable force, we could have a reasonable one without Conscriprion or National Service.

There are enough able bodied and well trained ex soldiers in the country that could be re activated into the DF if required. To a lesser extent, well trained Reserve and ex Reserve members who have integrated into permanent units would also be stood up.

In terms of national service. Well, that would cost a hell of a lot of funding, funding which we as a State simply could not afford.

Without going into things further, in all accounts, soldiering is not as easy as it seems. It can be incredibly complicated and is rife with hardship.

Because of this, to soldier, you have to want to soldier. If you have to force, coerce or incentify someone to do it, it fails.

I hope the few ex soldiers I know are atypical. They're strong but also fat, soft and gone to seed.

Without insulting you but what you see isnt important. You have no idea of their military qualifications or what they have done. You just see a fat, soft and gone to seed ex soldier.

Thats not unreasonable and also not specific to ex soldiers.

There are many different types of soldiers. To perform the function of an Infantry soldier you need to be reasonably fit, physically and mentally robust, determined and focussed. They are the ones you see assaulting enemy positions etc on TV.

An able bodied but less physically fit, fat, soft and gone to seed ex soldier could perfectly perform administrative, logistical, technical tasks which free up the fitter troops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

First, I hope there's never a need for conscripton. If there was, I agree that people wouldn't be up to it. That goes for men and women. We don't have the backbone that people had in those days. Every second word out of some of my friends' mouths is something like ''that's too hard, I can't do that'' ''that would take too long'', or ''can't be arsed'' .

Sure you must be a ferocious character yourself.
    A few more like you we would be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Well, that is what training is for.

I think young Irish folk would both benefit from and rise to the challenge of a period of national service.

It isn't doing the Finns any harm.