Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sweden???

• 17-10-2016 5:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭

Sweden, what the fk is wrong with you?!?!?!

"Sweden rules that flying the ISIS flag is NOT a hate crime because the terror group shows contempt for everyone rather than specific groups "

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3843054/Sw...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Not even sure what to say to that.

I guess technically they're correct! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

In Sweden they actually dumbed down the all conquering and barbarian/savage nature of the vikings in their history books because they thought the Swedes might get notions again. They were educated to be tolerant, neutral and peace loving.

PS. I am not condoning their action above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Dunno about anyone else, but I've got the popcorn on for when people figure out if they -can- outrage at free speech being allowed.

I would have nothing but contempt for anyone flying it (although people tend to confuse it with pirate flags and occasionally gay pride flags), but this is going to tie people in knots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Legends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I spent a few weeks in sweden once and concluded that they are all a bit fckin nuts.
    Sorry to be so un-pc.
    The ABBA Museum in Stockholm was good though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Anything goes in Sweden it seems.
    Isis support, victim blaming rape victims and absolving rapists of any wrong doing if the sluts have the audacity to be at all tempting. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

:D Tell 'em, girl!

Seriously though; A country going down the sh1tter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I always wanted to visit Sweden, and now I don't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Turkeys, meet Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I can kind of see some value in just ignoring it. ISIS live on the reaction of the west to their vitriol, they basically trol the west for reaction.

So when Sweden just go "meh, wave your flag" it denies them their satisfaction. In reality there's probably only a handful of people flying the flag hoping to upset people so they'll promote the ISIS agenda on social media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

News from Sweden in today's press seems like an social experiment gone wrong:

i) Clown emergency ongoing, with Police overwhelemd, receiving over 70 dangerous clown alerts/calls.
    ii) Gender neutral changing rooms being built in many high schools.
    iii) Lady in Wheelchair attacked by non-local lads.
    iv) Emigration at 50yr high, wonder why...

Emigration at 50yr high, wonder why...

Wonder where they're going to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

In Sweden they actually dumbed down the all conquering and barbarian/savage nature of the vikings in their history books because they thought the Swedes might get notions again.

In the Swedish army now if the general passes a private on the barrack square the general says "howya Paddy?" and the private answers "sure is it yourself, Mick? How's she cuttin'?" Equal citizens, don't you know. And Sweden hasn't won a battle in 300 years.
    Get notions again? A flea on an elephant's arse comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Stigura wrote: »
    Wonder where they're going to?

Syria,Iraq,Afghanistan???Maybe it's like foreign exchange students or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I though a flag is a symbol of a nation , or in this case one they want to create ie the caliphate of Islamic State. How can flying a flag that represents that be a hate crime ? Hate Crime would seem to me to be incorrect classification.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Whats Their rule for the Nazis flag ? Oh and public display of a wizard ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

And you pay money to buy the Daily Mail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭The Wolverine

Like a lot of places in the West these days too many "educated idiots" in charge in positions they shouldn't be next nor near

Too much book smarts and zero common sense

Like a lot of places in the West these days too many "educated idiots" in charge in positions they shouldn't be next nor near

Too much book smarts and zero common sense[/quote

Sadly I think Sweden just one step ahead of a lot of other countries Ireland included, who are terrified of upsetting minorities or depriving them of their so called rights to do anything. And yes, way too many bleeding heart liberals who are hell bent on destroying western society values and culture.
    What fools we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭triple nipple

I guess technically they're correct!

The best kind of correct!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

It's not that long ago that Sweden was the country lefties like me would hope our country would aspire to be.

"Beep, Beep, Beep, This aspiration is reversing".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Slieve Gullion

gitzy16v wrote: »
    Sweden, what the fk is wrong with you?!?!?!

"Sweden rules that flying the ISIS flag is NOT a hate crime because the terror group shows contempt for everyone rather than specific groups "

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3843054/Sw...

Sweden demonstrating why they're the most advanced nation on the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Well we may laugh, aren't we adopting the so-called Swedish model to the buying and selling of sexual service here? A law that according to sex workers left them more vunerable to violence than before. Chilling vision of what's to come

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

They are a bunch of loons: they want to remove crosses from Christian churches so as not to offend any Muslims; they considered changing their National Anthem so as not to make it sound like they consider Sweden to be better than any other Nation; they want to teach boys to pee while sitting down and they altered rules for Somali refugees to show how accepting of other cultures they are.

But Stockholm and many Swedish women are nice, so I'll forgive some craziness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

feargale wrote: »
    In the Swedish army now if the general passes a private on the barrack square the general says "howya Paddy?" and the private answers "sure is it yourself, Mick? How's she cuttin'?" Equal citizens, don't you know. And Sweden hasn't won a battle in 300 years.
    Get notions again? A flea on an elephant's arse comes to mind.

I've read that 3 times and I still have no idea what any of it means

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

Poor aul Sweden is banjaxed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

Sweden is done, it's gone from having one of the lowest rape rates in the world to one of the highest (think behind South Africa), everyone knows the reason why, but it can't be mentioned.

sad sad times.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sweden, the purple haired Tumblr blogger of countries. They've gone full retard and are engineering their own really scary future.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Sweden is done, it's gone from having one of the lowest rape rates in the world to one of the highest (think behind South Africa), everyone knows the reason why, but it can't be mentioned. sad sad times.

Pity we never get any feminists to comment on Sweden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Anything goes in Sweden it seems.
    Isis support, victim blaming rape victims and absolving rapists of any wrong doing if the sluts have the audacity to be at all tempting. Idiots.

Sweden also has the highest reporting of rape because the police have the highest level of trust. I believe they have one of the highest conviction rates and they are increasing the chances of getting a conviction by changing the law. Currently the definition of consent is not saying no. They're changing it to bring it in line with the rest of Europe to make the definition of consent as saying Yes.

Sweden is done, it's gone from having one of the lowest rape rates in the world to one of the highest (think behind South Africa), everyone knows the reason why, but it can't be mentioned.

sad sad times.

It can't be mentioned? Every single thread about Sweden or migrants brings up that false statistic. It's wrong. It's been proven wrong time and time again. Sweden does NOT have the highest number of rapes, either in total, or per capita, in Europe.

Sweden classifies far more crimes as rape. They charge a person with each individual count of rape and each of those gets included in a statistic. Sweden has the most trusted police force in Europe so more crimes get reported too.

Trying to compare the stats from Sweden with another country is like comparing apples and oranges.

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-19592372

Grayson wrote: »
    Sweden does NOT have the highest number of rapes, either in total, or per capita, in Europe.

Where does so :confused:

Stigura wrote: »
    Where does so :confused:

I believe it's Moldova or somewhere else in eastern Europe.

In Sweden most types of sexual assaults or sexual harassment is considered rape. So if for example your boss is a bit touchy and does this every day for a month, that is 30 individual counts.

Assange is charged with rape in Sweden. He is charged with tampering with a condom so that it would split whilst he was having consensual sex with a woman. I'm not even sure if it's a crime here.

The fact is that you can't compare that sort of statistic with ours here. not when there's so much stuff included in theirs that isn't included in ours.

I can tell you that the number of rapes dropped in 2014-2015. And that was a year that Sweden had an increase in the number of refugees. They took in 100k that year. If there was any correlation between rape and migrants then increasing the population by about 1.5% with migrants would have caused an increase.

The number of sexual assaults in any country is important and should be examined but it's wrong to start drawing conclusions without even examining how the statistics are generated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Whatever problems it has with the 2 dozen bomb attacks it has endured in the past year, Sweden certainly has a bright athletics future ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Grayson wrote: »
    Sweden also has the highest reporting of rape because the police have the highest level of trust. I believe they have one of the highest conviction rates and they are increasing the chances of getting a conviction by changing the law. Currently the definition of consent is not saying no. They're changing it to bring it in line with the rest of Europe to make the definition of consent as saying Yes.

Dont forget they also have (i) one of the broadest definitions ( not always in a positive way) and (ii) their slightly strange way if compiling crime statistics mean a rape classification once reported would not apparently be reclassified if it subsequently proves to be incorrect and (iii) they basically repeat count for every alleged instance

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rape_in_Sweden

Essentially depending on you view of statistics and data their approach is either a bit odd or completely bonkers

http://speisa.com/modules/articles/index.php/item.3180/swedish-court-releases-gang-rapists-starting-to-look-like-sharia.html

Loads more links to this,whatever about the compiling of statistics Sweden is in meltdown

'Sweden is in meltdown'. Must have read it in the Daily Mail, then it's true.

Water John wrote: »

Have you an obsession with the daily mail....
    A wheelchair bound woman was gangraped,it doesn't matter who did it,it matters that it happened it's disgusting despicable and all you've got is a quip about the daily mail.
    It's the like of you that would have Ireland accept the exact same scenario,jog on if you have nothing better to add than " uhhh daily mail bla bla "

You want links to trouble in malmo,you want statments from police about no go zones around Sweden,grenade attacks outside schools...there all there easily found and not in the daily mail...

Sweden doesn't collect information on the ethnicity of criminals. However a number of sociologists have studied crime there. They found that if you are a migrant you are more likely to commit crime. About 1% more likely.

btw, there aren't any no go zones in Sweden. None at all. They have identified certain areas where crime is higher than average but they are still safe areas.

https://www.thelocal.se/20160201/sex-attacks-and-radical-racism-are-not-the-new-norm-in-sweden
    https://www.thelocal.se/20160923/embassy-no-go-zones-do-not-exist-in-sweden-hungary

More than that support for anti migrant groups is dropping in sweden. Swedes are worried about the financial cost but over all they are not worried about the migrants themselves.

I think Grayson, you are destroying the fable with the truth. Might not go down well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I think Grayson, you are destroying the fable with the truth. Might not go down well.

Are you implying that what I've posted is made up?

Hahaha hahaha so funny I actually like the tune,it's very true....
    Notice though that I've provided 3 different sources only one was the daily mail

The Express, another reliable source.

Tell me whats good enough for you.
    Edit typo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Hahaha hahaha so funny I actually like the tune,it's very true....

Thats the point.... the daily mail as a source is a joke. More like the hate mail

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Thats the point.... the daily mail as a source is a joke. More like the hate mail

I agree but it doesn't mean it's all lies,they may write articles to sound a certain way to appeal to a certain demographic but it still doesn't mean its lies....
    It's most certainly not my go to source of news lol

A scientific kind of chap. I like generally, to deal in, facts.