Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

handling yard design

• 14-10-2016 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭

Hi, we're trying to manage with an old yard and setup here, tis a 2-man job for everything, am sick of it. I want to smarten it up, but theres a number of ways it could be approached - does anyone know of an 'expert' in designing a handling yard? I know O Donovans, Gibneys and the rest have someone, but I'd be happy to pay a few bob for an 'outsider'
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Why is a 2 man job?
    I move cattle around the whole time on my own. Find it easier that way. The extra stranger always sends them crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Why is a 2 man job?
    I move cattle around the whole time on my own. Find it easier that way. The extra stranger always sends them crazy.

Think he,s saying it a badly laid out yard,this makes it a 2man job, not that he wants a 2man yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

A rough design is fairly easy to do up.
    What ya need dimensions of area
    Number of cattle needed to hold at any time
    How many different groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Google temple grandin cattle handling

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Musketeer4

Where are you in the country?
    A friend of mine is an architect and he specialises in designing farm facilities, taking projects through planning, getting grant aids etc. He's from a farm himself so he knows the craic.
    He's based in Tipperary.

PM me if you want his contact details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

A friend eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

ganmo wrote: »
    A rough design is fairly easy to do up.
    What ya need dimensions of area
    Number of cattle needed to hold at any time
    How many different groups

Sure, but we,ve got existing sheds, crush, milking parlour, yards to work around, if it was greenfield, itd be easy.

Mooooo wrote: »
    Google temple grandin cattle handling

Did, interesting , but we,re constrained by existing yards, sheds etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 imabitthick

maybe not. at least in a yard you have to work with what youve got. Doing the same myself in a green field site and its driving me mad. Have to work out whether ill apply for the grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

Gates and sleeves, not permanent so it can be moved out of the way for access to sheds ect. Penty of dividing pens are a godsend. White tape works wonders if your stuck, especially if cattle are used to electric fences.

Take a trip to your local mart, might give you a few idea's on penning and set ups aswell.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

oldsmokey wrote: »
    Hi, we're trying to manage with an old yard and setup here, tis a 2-man job for everything, am sick of it. I want to smarten it up, but theres a number of ways it could be approached - does anyone know of an 'expert' in designing a handling yard? I know O Donovans, Gibneys and the rest have someone, but I'd be happy to pay a few bob for an 'outsider'
    Cheers

Any chance of a few pics of what you've got, and a few ides of what you want? Lots of good, free advice available here.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

blue5000 wrote: »
    Any chance of a few pics of what you've got, and a few ides of what you want? Lots of good, free advice available here.

Touche..

Upload a sketch of an aerial view of the yard.. plenty of lads here to bounce ideas off!

You'd be surprised at the difference something as simple as a strategically placed ring feeder with a gate tied on to it can make to a pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Sure, but we,ve got existing sheds, crush, milking parlour, yards to work around, if it was greenfield, itd be easy.

I'm not trying to be smart but what you're probably missing above all id a fresh set of eyes on the job. Our eldest lad suggested something one evening when he was around 10/11. A complete contrast to what we were doing for years moving cows for milking. Worked like a charm and we're doing it that way since. All he said was why don't we bring them this way? There was no good answer. Changed everything about how the yard is used and dramatically reduced the amount of yard scraping.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Musketeer4

Muckit wrote: »
    A friend eh?

Yeah a fella from near home. Is that a problem for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Musketeer4 wrote: »

😀😀thats you back in your box young Muckit.😂😂

Musketeer4 wrote: »
    Cheers for pm musketeer, will give that man a shout..

I'm not trying to be smart but what you're probably missing above all id a fresh set of eyes on the job. Our eldest lad suggested something one evening when he was around 10/11. A complete contrast to what we were doing for years moving cows for milking. Worked like a charm and we're doing it that way since. All he said was why don't we bring them this way? There was no good answer. Changed everything about how the yard is used and dramatically reduced the amount of yard scraping.
    You're dead right, we get used to our own perspective - the yard is so complicated, only an aerial view would make sense of it, will have to save up for a drone!
    Have asked lots of visitors to the place for suggestions - but nothing satisfactory, will try Musketeers chum..sometimes a pro is worth it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

You're dead right, we get used to our own perspective - the yard is so complicated, only an aerial view would make sense of it, will have to save up for a drone!

Google earth any use?

Suckler wrote: »
    Google earth any use?

Nah, wont give enough detail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Can you draw it out roughly on a piece of paper for yourself?
    Even get someone to help you with a long tape measure or distance wheel and then even a laser level to get falls.
    You can even get a laser distance finder to speed it up even more. If you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Tyson Lannister

I do this work myself. If you google osi map viewer and zoom in on your farm you will be able to buy a map for I think 59- the 1/2500 map will show all your farm buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Tyson Lannister

If you do decide to buy the map I can change the scale for you for to 1/500 no prob if you want to put the farmyard plan up here for ideas.

Hi, thanks, have a guru calling tomorrow, if no joy there will take you up on it, appreciate it..

Well, we had a fresh pair of eyes look over the yard, and I did a quick sketch of the current layout - I was thinking of relocating the crush within the old parlour, but was advised it was a waste of a useful building, true, and it would be too short - instead, maybe run new crush in place where the old cubicles will be ripped out - they're well past it - its a fine long wall by the 4bay shed, and could set it up so that we hold cattle in yard6, the animals enter the race next to gate L, and exit the other end (next to gate k), can then be diverted into any yard we want...
    At the moment as you can see the crush is by the side of the parlour, and the cattle are very resistant to going up it. We're lucky in having so much concrete, its the layout is a bit of a balls. Incidentally, we use yard 6 to store round bales at the minute. Ta all
    yard, crush.jpg

Better....
    399924.jpg

Is there a wall at the bottom of yard 4,5 and 6? Are you still milking?

blue5000 wrote: »
    Is there a wall at the bottom of yard 4,5 and 6? Are you still milking?
    Hiya, high bank there, 12' or so, no milking going on..also wall alongyard 3.