Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dual carriageway speed limit. Aggressive drivers

• 14-10-2016 8:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Right I'm getting bit pissed off Driving up Motorway in the mornings as when I'm overtaking Lorries etc I speed up to 130km passing them out but you still get these Numpties driving up behind you tailgating Flashing Lights etc to hurry up & get out of the way So they can drive 150+
    Pity the Speed vans don't be out between 6 & 9am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

**** it man. I hope you pull through this ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭sundodger5

I bet it was a blue Skoda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭yllw.ldbttr

jackson-im-just-here-to-read-the-comments-72.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

SIX PACK wrote: »
    Right I'm getting bit pissed off Driving up Motorway in the mornings as when I'm overtaking Lorries etc I speed up to 130km passing them out but you still get these Numpties driving up behind you tailgating Flashing Lights etc to hurry up & get out of the way So they can drive 150+

Just ignore them. There's no reason you should have to turn yourself into a second-class driver in order to facilitate other peoples' speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

How close were they when you moved into the overtaking lane? How far back from the lorry are you when you change lane?

If you are going 130 as you've said you should be around the lorry in < 10 seconds as they're limited to 100.

Details not adding up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

should only take a matter of seconds to pass a lorry doing 130

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Trucks are limited to 90k legally some go quicker.

Your car speedometer will be out slightly but what I find a lot is many don't use mmirros correctly and pull out into cars moving quicker.

Op just relax drive on move over as soon as safe to do so.

Just because a car doesn't have a blue light doesn't mean they may be on an emergency call out or Manny other factors but obviously most time just speeders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

and what's the deal with air-plane food?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Caliden wrote: »
    How close were they when you moved into the overtaking lane? How far back from the lorry are you when you change lane?

If you are going 130 as you've said you should be around the lorry in < 10 seconds as they're limited to 100.

Details not adding up here.
    I'm talking 3 or 4 Lorries buses etc but if 1 is overtaking doing 125 /130 it's not fast enough for some drivers behind you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Not to worry. We'll have a word with Shadowearth and Jayop and tell them to chill :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Mini850

Ive been known to flash my lights..........but only at idiots who are driving in the overtaking lane while not overtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I once got stuck behind an elephant race (one lorry overtaking another) and a car came up behind and started flashing me. Sometimes you just have to laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Ignore them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Mini850

cml387 wrote: »
    I once got stuck behind an elephant race (one lorry overtaking another) and a car came up behind and started flashing me. Sometimes you just have to laugh.

Pull in, let them past, pull back out to the overtaking lane behind them where they are now invariably stuck, and start flashing at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

It's all going to be OK, snowflake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Mini850 wrote: »
    Ive been known to flash my lights..........but only at idiots who are driving in the overtaking lane while not overtaking.

Daily occurrence on the dual carriageway out of Sligo. A lot of drivers seem to use the right lane as a driving lane (no traffic on the left lane). I have my dash cam on to record them in case it ever came up as to why they were flashed to move in. Shame RSA etc don't do more for poor driving quality rather than just on speed.

Sligo Metalhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Trucks are limited to 90k legally some go quicker.

Your car speedometer will be out slightly but what I find a lot is many don't use mmirros correctly and pull out into cars moving quicker.

Op just relax drive on move over as soon as safe to do so.

Just because a car doesn't have a blue light doesn't mean they may be on an emergency call out or Manny other factors but obviously most time just speeders.

Even if they do have a blue light, are you obliged, or legally protected to speed up to let them by?

Remember years ago, on one of the motorways in to Belfast, being over taken by a fleet of PSNI jeeps and motorbikes as if I was standing still, no blue lights, me doing 70mph. Came up behind two or three lorries, nothing in my mirrors, went to overtake, half way through, the out line of a motorbike appears. Near the end of my manover, full in my mirrors it was a PSNI bike, no blue lights. Had I sped up to let him through, could I have been done for speeding? When I did go back into the driving lane, he appeared so close as he went by, I thought if he reached out he could have touched my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

BronsonTB wrote: »
    Daily occurrence on the dual carriageway out of Sligo. A lot of drivers seem to use the right lane as a driving lane (no traffic on the left lane). I have my dash cam on to record them in case it ever came up as to why they were flashed to move in. Shame RSA etc don't do more for poor driving quality rather than just on speed.

I see this often on that road. Thankfully usally just a flick of the right indicator and they move over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Something tells me this thread started in AH.

I have done this...rarely...but I do it from a reasonable distance behind so I'm not even close to tailgating or crowding the car in front. The intended message is "I'm not hassling you or being aggressive, but it would be a big help if you moved in."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Stoogie

Op: don't drive on the continent you wouldn't like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Just complete your overtaking maneuver, as soon as is feasible, and let them off.

Drivers like you describe are absolute pains in the h*ole, but all you can do is focus on your driving. Don't start trying to frustrate them or anything else, as that will distract you from what you're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Why not report them to the Traffic Gardai?

Had a lad over take me and about ten other cars in the midlands coming into a village on Sunday evening.

Not a dual carriageway - he pulled in front of me across the cross hatching having already been on the other side of the singe white line.

I was forced to brake or I'd have hit him.

Rang the Garda number with the details the day after. They passed it onto the local Gardai who then rang the driver... The Garda was checking the details of the driver when on the phone to me .... "foreign national.... been done in the past for a road incident".....

HAve also done it when someone was driving so badly that he was forcing others to change their behaviour - called the traffic number and twenty miles down the road passed yer man who was being chatted to by a local Garda.

storker wrote: »
    Option 3...with your left foot, depress the brake pedal slightly so that the brake lights come on, but you don't actually slow down.... :D

Have to agree with another poster, I know you're messing Storker, but it's amazing the impact a left foot has on a pedal it's never been used on.

I left-foot-braked before and nearly went through the windscreen. And the car was only rolling at about 3kph as I was cleaning it and rolling it forward. Was shocked at the difference in my feet. My left foot is obviously so well trained for fully depressing a clutch and my right foot is clued into the sensitivity of the other pedals.

Mad the difference it makes. I can see now why people driving autos don't use left foot to brake and right foot to accellerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

I was in the UK last week and did a load of miles on the motorways, from what I can see its a totally different attitude from here. I mean if you indicate to move lanes people actually slow down to let you in !!

H I know you're messing Storker,

Of course it wasn't a serious suggestion...that's why the big grin was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Patww79 wrote: »
    For every flash of their lights drop your speed by 10km/h.

Yeah, and cause a huge tailback, or potentially an accident.

How about apply some awareness and no one will ever be up your hole flashing at ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

speeding up to 130, and complaining that they're doing 150?

Anyone going slower than me is an idiot and anyone going faster than me is a maniac ;)

if you're pulling out and making people slow down that's the most dangerous element of this whole situation you're describing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have removed some outright dangerous suggestions. No ban this time but if I see some stupid comments like that again it will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

If you are pulling out to overtake, having indicated and not causing anyone to take avoiding action and once you have passed the vehicle out , are pulling back in, then you are doing nothing wrong, ignore these people flashing..

The thing is, that's how I do it and never get anyone flashing me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Haha did you just post saying you speed and you hope the speed vans are out?

You'll be the one caught. The lad welded to your bumper won't.

Possibly the dumbest post I've ever read. What the hell is wrong with people.

If I'm overtaking a car, which I have every right to do, and some **** comes steaming up behind me flashing their lights way over the speed limit then they can just wait.

If I'm overtaking, which I have every right to do so, and some **** pulls out in front of me causing me to brake or take another form of action, he's gonna get flashed at.

Whether you agree with someone's speed or not, it's your duty to drive in a manner that doesn't cause other motorists to take any action as a result of your maneuvres, if you want to overtake and you see a car coming at speed behind you, wait for them to pass, then pull out and tootle along.

Where did I say in any of that I pulled out under someone? Where did I say I was 'tootling'?

If you're going to just make things up then why bother?

If you cut your speed by 10kmh for every flash you won't be long about tootling. Not making stuff up, you wrote that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

What's that going to achieve except aggravate the fool behind you even more and further increase the chance of a crash?

Stupid, irresponsible advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Buy a red D reg Mondeo saloon.
    You'll never have this problem again.

I have seen some atrocious tailgating and brake testing, there should be a means to submit DashCam footage for applying points to licences. Dangerous drivers are not being caught, speeding is the smallest factor in tailgating and aggressive overtaking/undertaking.

It pissed me off just watching it from the left lane, because I know I will be embroiled in the pileup they are likely to trigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

For every flash of their lights drop your speed by 10km/h.

Plus brake lights!

I said I'd be overtaking someone and you implied I cut up someone to do so.

For example, only last night I was on a dual carriageway with a limit of 80km/h. Pulled out to overtake a car that was doing no more than 60 and while I was alongside it a car came flashing it's lights from at least 10 car lengths behind me doing at least 120. On a straight road should I have stayed behind the 60 driver on the off chance some dickhead is in a hurry?

How do you know he's a dickhead? Maybe it's a nice guy in a hurry to get his kid to hospital or something.

I am simply trying to discredit your first post as much as possible by being as unreasonable as possible .

You're a regular contributor here, and a good one, but you must be called out when giving stupid and dangerous advice, and for what anyway? Spite??

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Generally speaking, if through whatever manuevere you engage in someone else on the road has to take action you're doing something wrong. There are of course exceptions but it's a good rule to try to live by while on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

TherapyBoy wrote: »
    Generally speaking, if through whatever manuevere you engage in someone else on the road has to take action you're doing something wrong.
    This 10000%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

outta my way biatch..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

zoobizoo wrote: »
    Why not report them to the Traffic Gardai?
    Rang the Garda number with the details the day after. HAve also done it.. called the traffic number..

Just concentrate on your own driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Jesus. wrote: »
    Just concentrate on your own driving.

Sort of hard when some are so aggressive and dangerous.

You know far too well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Don't forget all the idiots out there who call the overtaking lane the"fast"lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Terrlock

Is it just me that thinks there should be a lane created just for me and no one else is allowed use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

It is something that really grinds my gears. There you are overtaking slow moving traffic, with a few cars in front of you in your lane, and yet gobeen comes up fast behind and tail gates. Ya know the way there are rear end crashes most days on M50 etc., well I bet the majority are caused by these cave men tailgating.