Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Church of Scientology opening on Merrion Square

• 12-10-2016 8:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

Grand opening at 4 Merrion Square at 12:00 this Saturday, October 15th: imgur.com/kXH1scT.jpg

tonyortega.org/2016/09/25/scientology-in-ireland-is-nearly-dead-heres-how-tom-cruise-and-the-gang-plan-to-bring-it-back/

dialogueireland.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/sw2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭orubiru

Grand opening at 4 Merrion Square at 12:00 this Saturday, October 15th: imgur.com/kXH1scT.jpg

tonyortega.org/2016/09/25/scientology-in-ireland-is-nearly-dead-heres-how-tom-cruise-and-the-gang-plan-to-bring-it-back/

dialogueireland.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/sw2.jpg

What's with the thumbs down?

This kind of Scientolophobia is unacceptable in 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭RayCon

They've a bloody nice pad beside Herbert Park in Ballsbridge .... if I didn't know better I reckon there's some serious cash to be made in this whole religion thingy ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Is this like a Starbucks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

This is very enturbulating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Will the iOnanists be objecting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

For all the debate about the bible in the other thread - there is no more nonsensical 'religion' out there than this utter tripe. And from reading about it and watching documentaries it's arguably far more of a sick cult, possibly the world's biggest and most dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I suggest a mass gatecrash of proceedings on Saturday.
    Canapes and personality tests for all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Where can you buy anonymous masks in Dublin?

Cina wrote: »
    For all the debate about the bible in the other thread - there is no more nonsensical 'religion' out there than this utter tripe. And from reading about it and watching documentaries it's arguably far more of a sick cult, possibly the world's biggest and most dangerous.

Hahahaha. You have got to be kidding?

Why are you so Scientolophobic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

orubiru wrote: »
    Hahahaha. You have got to be kidding?

Why are you so Scientolophobic?
    I'm just jealous of Tom Cruise, ok? Gimme a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Literally "sky fairies".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

I cannot fathom how loons like these can gain popularity in the modern world.
    It just beggars belief. What am I missing?
    Religions are being exposed as bogus day-by-day so how can one so ridiculous attract supporters?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Can I get a Large LRH Latte with a Sea Org cookie please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Boom_Bap wrote: »

Would you like a burger with that?

Cina wrote: »
    I'm just jealous of Tom Cruise, ok? Gimme a break.

Haha. Me too! :)

Scientology always struck me as being a big massive red flag saying "SEE, RELIGION IS JUST A LOAD OF MADE UP BS".

I assume that their celebrity "partners" get some kind of financial benefit from being involved?

I think they have as much right to practice their religion in Ireland as any of the more well established others. Certainly I think there are other religions that have done more damage to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I I'm setting up my own religion. Blackjack and hookers.

On the first day the lord said hit me

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Would you like a burger with that?

With lashings of Audit Hot Sauce please.

I cannot fathom how loons like these can gain popularity in the modern world.
    It just beggars belief. What am I missing?
    Religions are being exposed as bogus day-by-day so how can one so ridiculous attract supporters?

It's the same with any cult (it's even the same with Trump). They appeal to people who are struggling, or who feel like they are struggling, with life and they offer acceptance and understanding through quick and snappy concepts.

Imagine shuffling into a Scientology branch on the worst day of your life or the lowest point of your year or whatever and then a week later you are feeling like the centre of the universe with all your problems accounted for and answered. They give you hope and encouragement and love and that's gotta be appealing.

It kind of just grows from that. A few celebrity endorsements here and there don't do any harm either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

It's the same with any cult (it's even the same with Trump). They appeal to people who are struggling, or who feel like they are struggling, with life and they offer acceptance and understanding through quick and snappy concepts.

Imagine shuffling into a Scientology branch on the worst day of your life or the lowest point of your year or whatever and then a week later you are feeling like the centre of the universe with all your problems accounted for and answered. They give you hope and encouragement and love and that's gotta be appealing.

It kind of just grows from that. A few celebrity endorsements here and there don't do any harm either.

Yeah but don't they make you go out and work your bollox off and hand over every penny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Boom_Bap wrote: »

Yes, but you can't get it to go

Dodge wrote: »
    Yes, but you can't get it to go

You can, just need to pay squirrel tax for the rest of your life.

HensVassal wrote: »
    Yeah but don't they make you go out and work your bollox off and hand over every penny?

I think they all do on some level. Maybe not every penny but there is generally some level of contribution from the members of any cult.

Obviously there are extreme levels, like Heaven's Gate, where the cult members ultimately give up their lives but in general there will be some kind of financial donation and some expectation that members will lend support to specific political issues.

I don't know exactly where Scientology sits on the scale. I don't think they are going out and killing people or committing mass murder but they are definitely into bullying and intimidation. I'd say that our more "mainstream" religions are worse but these religions also contribute to society too so... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭LCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Agreed. Some use it as a means of self improvement, personal development etc.
    Nothing at all wrong with that.

But the cult part of Scientology and the trap so to speak is their auditing sessions. You begin to reveal personal or private feelings, thoughts and experiences. It is all written down and documented. When people expose their inner beliefs in such a way, then toxic cults like that use it as a means of control. You start to fear that if you want to leave they might (and do) publicise these private feelings. You feel compelled to stay to prevent that from happening. They can then ask for anything they want. They are particularly fond of tax free 'donations' from uber wealthy members.

My mother was (thankfully) part of a sect in the Catholic Church which does something similar.

It's the neocathechumenate way. It's where you have these groups of people called 'communities' who meet weekly to pray and have mass. You read the gospels, talk about what it means to you personally and sing and dance. So far so good. The whole idea is that you are following the way of Christ, which is the way to be a christian according to the founder. You are made to feel unique, special. When you've become inculcated over the course of a year or so, then to complete your indoctrination you are asked to reveal what your cross in life is. If you are reticent then you are repeatedly told that this is necessary. They insinuate that you are not special and are not part of God's way etc if you fail to reveal the truth in the eyes of Christ. Guilt tripped on a divine scale so to speak.

This is usually a private and very personal thing. They don't accept anything like 'I got a speeding fine last week and my wife doesn't know'.
    It must be your biggest sin. And the juicier the better for them, particularly anything sexual from what I've read.

It could be that you were sexually abused as a child, are an alcoholic or drug addict, you beat your wife, you cheated on your husband, you get the idea.

That is the trap. When you reveal to a group something like that then it has a profound effect. You are far more likely to remain in case such information was made public. After this is done, the time taken up in activities within the sect really ramp up and it get's to the point where you feel that your life is taken over by activities within the Way.

It's toxic dangerous stuff and Scientology with it's bull**** auditing sessions using similar techniques of control. Approach with caution.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Is it true that this dialogue Ireland bunch are a christian cult funded by the Opus Dei to get the vatican the only cult in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

RayCon wrote: »
    They've a bloody nice pad beside Herbert Park in Ballsbridge .... if I didn't know better I reckon there's some serious cash to be made in this whole religion thingy ....

Have you a google maps link for that place? Be interested to see it!!

Their new offices in Merrion Square - expensive part of town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,438 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Excellent, sign me up. I'm a little busy at the moment though, so can only give a day or two a month. Loaded though, and willing to give Tom and co a few quid, must be a tough lifestyle for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Be interesting to see how many gardai are there. They like buying off the local police with free gifts.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-417782/Police-officers-accepted-gifts-Church-Scientology.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 LongCatSilver

irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/inside-the-strange-world-of-the-church-of-scientology-in-dublin-1.2831493

"Nothing in the room indicated this event had anything to do with Scientology, until you started talking to people. Almost no one in the room was Irish, and it was clear (from an overheard conversation) that many of them had been flown in from the US and the UK for the event. The National Affairs Office staff are all new too, they arrived from their respective countries just last week, according to a number of them I spoke to."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

More of a movemetarian guy myself.

Who wouldn't want to go to the planet blisstonia when the thingy comes to take us away.

Lovejoy; This so called "new religion" is nothing but a pack of weird rituals and chants designed to take away the money of fools.

Now,Let us say the lords prayer 40 times.....but first let us pass around the collection plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yes, it's like a Starbucks but without the coffee or muffins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Skyfarm

God be with the days when the only strange people in Ireland were the screamers. Bring them back i say:D

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/the-screamers-26413656.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

What is it about Merrion Square ? IONA Institute are based there as well I believe. Should be renamed Squares Square.

learn_more wrote: »
    What is it about Merrion Square ? IONA Institute are based there as well I believe. Should be renamed Squares Square.

i would name it"the Bermuda square"with the tag ,abandon hope all ye who enter here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Pickpocket

Yes, it's like a Starbucks but without the coffee or muffins.

So it's just like Starbucks then.

Pickpocket wrote: »
    So it's just like Starbucks then.

without the Coffee it's called Starsucks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Will there be a monorail?
    If there's no monorail , I'm not going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I heard they're advertising jobs but the 1 billion year contract seems a bit extreme.

you should claim a corner with a name like that, you could place a sign saying exit on your spot:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Would the Church Of Scientology be classed as a secret society?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I think we can all agree that South Park episode about Scientology is brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

What if Iona were only a front for them all along - that'd be some headline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Well, sir, there's nothing on earth like a genuine, bona fide, electrified, six-car Monorail! What'd I say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

I think we can all agree that South Park episode about Scientology is brilliant.

Yeah I agree on that. Considering this organisation is effectively a pseudoreligion with cultist tendandies and whats effectively a pyramid scheme with subversive overtures im surprised this is even opening here expecially with how the internet has blown open the whole thing.

Whats sadder is some people really believe in this scam expecially when some googling exposes some of the seriously dark parts of this pseudoreligion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

sjb25 wrote: »
    Well, sir, there's nothing on earth like a genuine, bona fide, electrified, six-car Monorail! What'd I say?

MONORAIL !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

That, and the one about Mormons.

Why people flock to this shiny distraction from reality is beyond me. They should have stayed with the Promise Keepers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

entropi wrote: »
    That, and the one about Mormons.

Why people flock to this shiny distraction from reality is beyond me. They should have stayed with the Promise Keepers...

Have you seen the musical 'the book of Mormon'
    Best musical I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

What is a scientologist favourite piece of furniture in Rivendell?

Elrond's cupboard!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭tinkerbell2310

valoren wrote: »
    Agreed. Some use it as a means of self improvement, personal development etc.
    Nothing at all wrong with that.

But the cult part of Scientology and the trap so to speak is their auditing sessions. You begin to reveal personal or private feelings, thoughts and experiences. It is all written down and documented. When people expose their inner beliefs in such a way, then toxic cults like that use it as a means of control. You start to fear that if you want to leave they might (and do) publicise these private feelings. You feel compelled to stay to prevent that from happening. They can then ask for anything they want. They are particularly fond of tax free 'donations' from uber wealthy members.

My mother was (thankfully) part of a sect in the Catholic Church which does something similar.

It's the neocathechumenate way. It's where you have these groups of people called 'communities' who meet weekly to pray and have mass. You read the gospels, talk about what it means to you personally and sing and dance. So far so good. The whole idea is that you are following the way of Christ, which is the way to be a christian according to the founder. You are made to feel unique, special. When you've become inculcated over the course of a year or so, then to complete your indoctrination you are asked to reveal what your cross in life is. If you are reticent then you are repeatedly told that this is necessary. They insinuate that you are not special and are not part of God's way etc if you fail to reveal the truth in the eyes of Christ. Guilt tripped on a divine scale so to speak.

This is usually a private and very personal thing. They don't accept anything like 'I got a speeding fine last week and my wife doesn't know'.
    It must be your biggest sin. And the juicier the better for them, particularly anything sexual from what I've read.

It could be that you were sexually abused as a child, are an alcoholic or drug addict, you beat your wife, you cheated on your husband, you get the idea.

That is the trap. When you reveal to a group something like that then it has a profound effect. You are far more likely to remain in case such information was made public. After this is done, the time taken up in activities within the sect really ramp up and it get's to the point where you feel that your life is taken over by activities within the Way.

It's toxic dangerous stuff and Scientology with it's bull**** auditing sessions using similar techniques of control. Approach with caution.

Its scary to actually think how scientology alienate families and basically brainwash these poor people who really r only looking for somewhere to belong. N as for the money they look for... I dunno how this Miscavige gets away with it