Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ash trees

• 09-10-2016 1:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭

Hi, I have several large ash trees in my land, about 2 or 3 really old ones, maybe 100yrs and another 3 or 4 younger trees. I am looking for info on whether they are worth anything to sell them. What is the situation as regards selling trees to a sawmill or getting the sawmill to cut them for sales to a hurley maker? They may be worthless, i dont know, who would i talk to ? I'm in Kerry by the way. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Welding Rod

Why would you even contemplate cutting down a 100 year old tree??
    Unless it's in a dangerous condition maybe!!
    Healthy ash trees are a national treasure considering the amount of these trees stricken with disease over the past few years!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭jaymla627

scientist wrote: »
    Hi, I have several large ash trees in my land, about 2 or 3 really old ones, maybe 100yrs and another 3 or 4 younger trees. I am looking for info on whether they are worth anything to sell them. What is the situation as regards selling trees to a sawmill or getting the sawmill to cut them for sales to a hurley maker? They may be worthless, i dont know, who would i talk to ? I'm in Kerry by the way. Thank you.

Not all ash trees are suitable for hurleys, really big old trees aren't suitable, the younger ones might be they would be worth circa 40-60 euro per tree stump and buyer stumps tree himself only the first 1.3m is used for hurleys....
    As regards a sawmill buying for planking ash isn't suitable for stakes and their is a limited market for ash.....
    As regards firewood you would get 55 euro per m3 plus as split timber if you process it yourself

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

jaymla627 wrote: »
    As regards firewood you would get 55 euro per cm3 plus as split timber if you process it yourself
    Either that's good money or you have the wrong measurement unit there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭scientist

Thanks for the info. The base of two of the trees is about 1 meter plus in diameter and has huge big branches. The other trees may be suitable for hurley making. So if i was to call a sawmill and get them to cut the trees for planks, for their own use to sell on, they may or may not want them,depends on the market for ash wood. Failing that, cut them and sell as firewood? So, the thing to do would be to get onto hurley makers first and see if the trees are suitable and if not go from there. The trees have to come down one way or another due to storms and flooding .

cubic meters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭50HX

a saw and a block splitter for a day and you'll keep you toes warm for a long while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Do you need permission to cut large trees? I seem to remember something about that?

The Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine advise that, under Section 37 of the Forestry Act, 1946, it is illegal to uproot any tree over ten years old or to cut down any tree of any age (including trees which form part of a hedgerow), unless a Felling Notice has been lodged at the Garda Station nearest to the trees at least 21 days before felling commences

https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/forestservice/treefelling/legalrequirementsfortreefelling/

I am aware of that. Usually the tree cutting company sort it out with a person. Its just forms to be signed. Not a problem.

Thanks for the info. The base of two of the trees is about 1 meter plus in diameter and has huge big branches. The other trees may be suitable for hurley making. So if i was to call a sawmill and get them to cut the trees for planks, for their own use to sell on, they may or may not want them,depends on the market for ash wood. Failing that, cut them and sell as firewood? So, the thing to do would be to get onto hurley makers first and see if the trees are suitable and if not go from there. The trees have to come down one way or another due to storms and flooding .

18-27 inch diameter is what hurley makers look for, also the trunk needs to be straight and clean, the more spurs/legs coming off the trunk the better as you get more hurls

Thank you. Lots of branches coming off the main trunk. I must get in touch with a hurley maker so and see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭kk.man

Thank you. Lots of branches coming off the main trunk. I must get in touch with a hurley maker so and see what happens.
    You need a felling licence for a tree over 10 years old....I cut trees 30 years ago I am so sorry I ever did...they will never be replaced in my lifetime...If they are in no danger please think twice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Welding Rod

I give up. All this auld balloney coming from farmers and farming organisations about farmers being the guardians of the countryside etc, etc!!

OP wants to demolish 100 year old trees, and we have a rake of lads lining up giving advice on how to max the benefit from so doing.

Guardians of the countryside my ass!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I give up. All this auld balloney coming from farmers and farming organisations about farmers being the guardians of the countryside etc, etc!!

OP wants to demolish 100 year old trees, and we have a rake of lads lining up giving advice on how to max the benefit from so doing.

Perhaps there's a very good reason the trees must go? We don't know that. Eg They could have been condemned as unsafe.
    For what it's worth we've sown more hedging and planted more trees here than we've removed. I'm certainly not alone on that regard.

You would of wept if you seen the Craic I was at Friday so, knocked 13 lovely big oak trees for stakes, and firewood, will pull about 6k's worth of profit, now if the eu wants to pay me a subsidy to protect these trees let them work away but until that point I'll knock whatever timber I see fit on my own property..
    Its all well and good being guardians of the countryside but it won't pay the bills

Personally, I wouldn't mind much about cutting a tree as long as a few more are planted to replace them. My biggest arguments with my father was over his wanting to cut down the last few mature trees here. At some point in the past, someone planted a tree that they would never see mature but thought it was worth us for us being around to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Personally, I wouldn't mind much about cutting a tree as long as a few more are planted to replace them. My biggest arguments with my father was over his wanting to cut down the last few mature trees here. At some point in the past, someone planted a tree that they would never see mature but thought it was worth us for us being around to see it.
    The fields here are surrounded in places by huge old trees, oaks especially and old forests of a good few centuries old.
    We are able to run a central heater for 7 houses close to the main farm fueled by fallen/dangerous trees and limbs from field edges.
    Have an old boy with a mobile sawmill that cuts the big stuff for chipping in exchange for the choice pieces, the wood used to be just heaped up and burnt annually.
    Replant a few thousand over winter, if 1% sets old leaves it more than being taken out.

The trees have to come down and we will be replacing them with about 100 new ones in that field. I am not on here to explain my decision to cut them. Thats my business since it's my land and as long as i get a felling licence , my reasons for doing it are my own and whether you approve or dissapprove is your business, im not bothered. I came on here to find out out how to go about selling the wood from them, some help in regards to good sawmills companies in kerry and options that i havent thought of since im not in the business. Thank you.

I just think most are just sad that a mature Ash tree is being cut down and may not see their likes again with the prevalence of Ash Dieback.

The decision, of course, is yours and yours alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭queueeye

Are tree auctions on such trees (with appropriate felling licence) something from a bygone era due to health and safety, insurance etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

If trees are near a yard, houses or along a ditch most saw mills are reluctant to cut them. There saws are worth a lot of money and you never know what you will come across in the tree I mention above. 30 years ago cutting up a tree with a chainsaw came across a horseshoe in it. Have come across stone as well inside a tree..

Slava Ukrainii