Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

24: Legacy (2017)

• 07-10-2016 9:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭

Anybody looking forward to the reboot of 24. Jack will be missed (What a charactor!). Will be good to hear the clock again.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

24 without Jack Bauer is merely 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭bgr123

Zaph wrote: »
    24 without Jack Bauer is merely 12

Great reply! Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Love 24 but not sure how i feel about it without Jack. Especially considering his storyline is not resolved following the last series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I thought that they were going to make a film. The Bourne without Jason was pants. 24 without Jack will be pants too, but even worse it'll be a pair of lady pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

They probably should have called it CTU because without Jack it's not 24.

Big enough news.

It's just been announced that
    Tony Almeida
    will return so I guess that's going to be a link to the original series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Mac B

I'M looking forward to it. Of course it won't be the as good without Jack but I'll still give it a look,. I just hope the don't screw it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Now I'm on board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I'm on board as of an hour or so ago. Definitely will be giving it a look now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Tony
    makes me want to watch it that bit more. Probably the best 24 character barring Jack himself. (barring Elisha:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Hmm, not sure about that trailer.

Bleh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Argh, Alison from Homeland. Not sure I can watch her in something else.

Hang on, how many other (official) spin-offs/minis have there been already that I never heard of?
    24:India
    24:Solitary
    24: Day Six - Debrief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I thought the whole premise of 24 was beginning to get a bit repetitive and stupid. How many times can Jack go through the same thing? By series three they should have said, "look the last two times we thought Jack was a bad guy he ended up saving the day, maybe we should hear him out this time".

I think changing the protagonist every year and maybe extending it out to include any member of the American defense forces, as a sort of day in the life of type show would allow for it to continue on without ignoring glaring problems with the format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

It starts on FOX UK on Tuesday February 14th at 9pm

MUCH better trailer than the first one.

Starts tonight right after the Super Bowl.

Over all an average start to the series without Jack.

It has all the cliches you expect but no Jack!

The one thing it's missing being 24 is Jack.

No Jack = no 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭swine

I miss the 4 hour 2 day premieres (though obviously a leaner series with less filler is better).

Hearing someone other than Jack read 'the following takes place...' felt weird.

Some of the dialogue some really poor 'I'm the only person I can trust'

The blue clock having more than 7 bits for each digit was also a minor niggle.

Still, enjoyed the episode and will stick with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Acting was awful for the most part. Will give it a few more episodes.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Oh good, a teenage subplot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I liked it. Went in with low expectations, because as mentioned Jack Bauer is what made 24 what it was and I didn't have high hopes without him, but I enjoyed it regardless. Loved the shoutout to Edgar Stiles as well - one of my favourite unsung heroes of the original run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,560 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Was pretty much more of the same, with people being able to get places within minutes.
    Was standard 24 fare.
    Since it's only 12 episodes, I assume they'll just do what they did with Live Another Day and skip to hour 24 for the last episode.
    This new guy still needs to work on convincing us he's a new Jack Bauer. I know Jack's first episodes weren't his greatest Jack moments

If episode 1 was average episode 2 was less than average.

The acting is a whole lot worse in the second episode as well.

I just seen the first episode. The main thing that stands out for me is that yerman looks like a child next to Jack. Don't really expect much from it other than the glorification of the American defence forces and some gun/military porn.

It's 24 by the numbers. Think they used every 24 cliché in the first episode.

The second episode was ridiculous in every possible way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Brings nothing new to the table but its decent craic.

A couple things pointed out elsewhere:
    So Edgar taught his cousin everything he knew? Considering he died about 15 years ago, in the show's time, that means he was teaching his 7 year old cousin.

Also, why not change it up and have Americans as the terrorists?

Meh. Fairly average stuff. Just gotta treat it as a brand new show I suppose, but wasnt too impressed with the acting. The lead guy didn't interest me at all really!

CastorTroy wrote: »

Rupert Murdoch couldn't have that on his network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

ScumLord wrote: »
    I just seen the first episode. The main thing that stands out for me is that yerman looks like a child next to Jack. Don't really expect much from it other than the glorification of the American defence forces and some gun/military porn.

Yeah I don't really buy your man in the role at all. Kiefer Sutherland at least looked like he has lived through some stuff. This fella looks like he's straight out of drama school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Yeah I don't really buy your man in the role at all. Kiefer Sutherland at least looked like he has lived through some stuff. This fella looks like he's straight out of drama school.

I really hope that joke was intentional, because it's great... :D

Corey Hawkins played Dr. Dre in Straight Outta Compton.

I like it. Just let your attachment to Jack Bauer go, switch your brain off and enjoy it.

Don't like the blue clock though. It just looks weird. :o

CastorTroy wrote: »
    As far as I can see shows like these are propaganda tools to make the American people believe their armed forces and police are some sort of super humans that have access to technology that shouldn't exist and can see everything they need to see when it needs to be seen. So the terrorists need to be foreigners attacking America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

As far as I can see shows like these are propaganda tools to make the American people believe their armed forces and police are some sort of super humans that have access to technology that shouldn't exist and can see everything they need to see when it needs to be seen. So the terrorists need to be foreigners attacking America.

Thebig Bad guys:
    Season 1: eastern European bad guys.
    Season 2: American oil conglomerate and European arms dealers.
    Season 3. British.
    Season 4. Islamic radical
    Season 5 American.
    Season 6 American/Family
    Season 7 American
    Season 8 Russian.

Mini Season 9 Islamic Radical

Very often the bad guys are American patriots.

Speaking of tech, maybe they can invest in a few hands free kits. After watching previous seasons and other shows like Person of Interest, seeing them holding a phone to their ear while doing things looks strange.

They no doubt get a nice sum of money for the product placement of the phones.

Mr E wrote: »
    I like it. Just let your attachment to Jack Bauer go, switch your brain off and enjoy it.

Don't like the blue clock though. It just looks weird. :o

Ah dude it's not even about that for me, I get the 24 vibe from this from the off. It is 24 regardless of the new guy I could see Jack going though the same motions no problem and that is the problem for me. It's 24 by the book, mole in ctu etc etc. They had a chance to drag this 15 years into the future and they didn't take it. Not saying I didn't like what I say despite it being old hat , just they had opportunity to shake it up and opted for a black jack reboot.

lertsnim wrote: »
    They no doubt get a nice sum of money for the product placement of the phones.

And samsung monitors. Got to buy a samsung monitor :D

This really isn't grabbing my attention at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

I'm kind of in agreement, it seems to be pottering along at the moment with no real threat or menace to it. Expecting something big to happen in the next episode though
    with creepy high school girls sleeper cell now activated

No, not really. I'm watching another show called "Six" about Marines that do something bad while in combat and are now dealing with the repercussions. I watched the last episode of 24 last night and I kept getting the plots confused because the bad guys are so similar.

It's after picking up a bit - enjoyed the most recent episode quite a lot. I'll probably stick with it for the time being - anything is better than going back to the Walking Dead! :D

No, not really. I'm watching another show called "Six" about Marines that do something bad while in combat and are now dealing with the repercussions. I watched the last episode of 24 last night and I kept getting the plots confused because the bad guys are so similar.

Ye I'm watching Six as well and it's a bit Meh as well.

I gave Six a break as they had to reshoot a lot of it after Walton Goggins came on board to replace Joe Manganiello who pulled out due to medical issues after filming quiet a bit of the series.

Just with 24 it's all same old same old but but with no X factor to it. I'm hoping when
    Tony
    arrives it will get better that's all that's keeping me watching now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

I only recently had a chance to view Season.9. of "24" and was left hungry for more - 24:Legacy fills that gap nicely. It is essentially the same as "24" without Jack and once you consign him from your mind to some Russian gulag - from where he will eventually return - everything is alright.

It also helps fill a gap between watching "SS GB" waiting for Series.2. of "Occupied" and the next season of "Man in the High Castle".

It's just ridiculous in every way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

lertsnim wrote: »
    It's just ridiculous in every way.

Is that like "24" wasn't? :pac:

Tony Almeida is back this week! This show is pretty all over the place though. Poor enough fare.