Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best route to Holles Street [possibly Dublin] from N4

• 01-10-2016 12:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭

Potential in labor run to holles-street from N4 to do later on .... any tips on the quickest way there??

Presume bus lanes etc are fair game on the labor run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

No bus lanes are not fair game on the labour run and expect to be fined if you are caught.

Straight down the Quays, turn over o'connell bridge, around trinity and straight to Holles St is best option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭maximum12

Potential in labor run to holles-street from N4 to do later on .... any tips on the quickest way there??

Well obviously if it's an emergency you can use the bus lanes but as you seem to be planning this trip then you leave on time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

testicles wrote: »
    You obviously don't have any children.

You obviously have no idea what you're talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Damien360

January wrote: »
    No bus lanes are not fair game on the labour run and expect to be fined if you are caught.

Straight down the Quays, turn over o'connell bridge, around trinity and straight to Holles St is best option.

They changed the layout for bus lanes. You cannot do around trinity keeping it on the left. You have to head down d'olier street and hang a left, and then find your way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Ye, no bus stike today, send her in on a 66, it'll drop her to Merrion Square South or maybe if she asks the driver nicely he'll do a lap of the square and drop her at the hospital!:D

I'd go down the quays, onto D'Olier Street, left onto Townsend Street behind the Garda station, keep going onto Sandwith Street Upper and you'll pop out on Grand Canal Street Lower right beside Holles Street.

Ask her to try and time it while the All-Ireland replay is on so the roads will be quieter!:D

Seriously though, best of luck.:)

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Been a while but I'd say cross the river at Busaras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

If it's rush hour, call an ambulance
    If it's not use the bus lanes. To hell with the rules when someone is in labour and has to get to a specific hospital. If stopped by a guard, I'd be expecting an escort in, not a fine. Even if you got fined, it'd a) be worth paying for the time saved and b) there'd be enough uproar created that it'd get rescinded

Man fined by cruel gardai while rushing pregnant wife to labour ward is a headline no members of the government wants to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

999 - ambulance please :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

maximum12 wrote: »
    Well obviously if it's an emergency you can use the bus lanes but as you seem to be planning this trip then you leave on time.

If it's an emergency you call an ambulance, you don't try to drive her yourself and get through traffic like that.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

There's a show that features the Gardai airing on Sky 1 at the minute which I caught an episode of a few weeks ago.

They were following a speeding car on the N81 into Dublin and after pulling it over and discovering a passenger was in labour, they gave an escort to Holles Street. I don't think they would fine you for using bus lanes to be honest.

January wrote: »
    If it's an emergency you call an ambulance, you don't try to drive her yourself and get through traffic like that.

It depends. the situation could evolve into an emergency on route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Don't forget the Rotunda might be a useful plan B if things get really hairy as you come into town.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle