Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Final Year Thesis

• 27-09-2016 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭

Right lads i'm looking for some help and/or guidance with my thesis. I am going doing my thesis of factors affecting fertility in sheep e.g breed,diet,age,body condition score. Also i am planning on carrying out a follicle count on the ewes ovaries and taking a semen sample from our own rams and getting it tested. i need to find someone in the south east who can scan ewes and count their follicle and also i need to a find place that tests rams semen. If any of ye can help me out it would be greatly appreciated :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Right lads i'm looking for some help and/or guidance with my thesis. I am going doing my thesis of factors affecting fertility in sheep e.g breed,diet,age,body condition score. Also i am planning on carrying out a follicle count on the ewes ovaries and taking a semen sample from our own rams and getting it tested. i need to find someone in the south east who can scan ewes and count their follicle and also i need to a find place that tests rams semen. If any of ye can help me out it would be greatly appreciated :D

Scanner man up our way can fertility test bulls and rams if that's any good to you

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Things to think about - will you be syncing the ewes? If you don't they'll be at different stages of their cycle.
    Rams - have you trained to them to provide a sample? I've been told some can be audience shy. Don't use eltro-ejaculation!!

ganmo wrote: »
    Things to think about - will you be syncing the ewes? If you don't they'll be at different stages of their cycle.
    Rams - have you trained to them to provide a sample? I've been told some can be audience shy. Don't use eltro-ejaculation!!

Out of interest why wouldn't you use the electro ejaculation

Better living everyone

Out of interest why wouldn't you use the electro ejaculation

It's illegal

As good a reason as any I suppose

Better living everyone

As good a reason as any I suppose

doubly so if you're gonna write it down in a thesis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

doubly so if you're gonna write it down in a thesis

Just so long as he remembers "if it's not written down it didn't happen" and the corollary "it is written down so it must have happened".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Probably best for your Thesis if you score the semen yourself. Are you in UCD? Have a chat with Pat Lonergan about how to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Grand job I'll keep that in mind