Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Food beyond its sell by date.

• 25-09-2016 5:18am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I've often drank milk that was a couple of days beyond its sell by date and it was perfectly fine. I've heard that yoghurt and eggs are also OK to eat a few days after their use by date but for certain foods, like chicken, fish and pork, it's a big no no.

So what do AHers think? Would you bin something a day beyond its sell by date or would you consider this a bit of a waste of money and check the food item ( by looking at its colour, smelling it etc) before deciding it was ok to eat?

My ex was paranoid about sell by dates - the minute an item went past the date he would bin it. My father was of the opinion that if it smells, feels and looks fine, then it would be ok to eat as long as it wasn't fish (esp shellfish) or chicken.

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I've often drank milk that was a couple of days beyond its sell by date and it was perfectly fine. I've heard that yoghurt and eggs are also OK to eat a few days after their use by date but for certain foods, like chicken, fish and pork, it's a big no no.

So what do AHers think? Would you bin something a day beyond its sell by date or would you consider this a bit of a waste of money and check the food item ( by looking at its colour, smelling it etc) before deciding it was ok to eat?

My ex was paranoid about sell by dates - the minute an item went past the date he would bin it. My father was of the opinion that if it smells, feels and looks fine, then it would be ok to eat as long as it wasn't fish (esp shellfish) or chicken.

Thoughts?
    Sell By, Best Before, or Use By? Because they're all different and very much dependant on the food type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Sell by date, nope, it's irrelevant, I'm not selling. Use by date, I'd probably go a day or 2 over for most things - I was unknowingly eating 3 days OOD eggs during the week, I live to tell the tale. Fruit and veg is still good until it starts growing hair.

MrsTeal on the other hand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Eggs are fine more than a week after the date on the packet. I regularly keep tomatoes on the kitchen table days past the printed date because otherwise they just don't ripen, even when they look red enough. Tins and jars are safe long past the sell-by date so long as they have a proper seal and that seal is maintained, and I have only found one case in which quality suffered even a year after. Dry sausage can be kept uncut in the refrigerator indefinitely. My husband and I can tell milk is turning even a day or two before the printed date, we won't buy chicken at all the day before, we buy fish only on the day or day after its arrival at the shop, we don't buy mince or sausage or any other prepared meat too close to the use-by date, and we will buy solid meat such as cuts of beef or pork on the date so long as they look and smell perfect (no sealed packages!) and we are using them immediately. I agree that fruit and veg is fine until it shows signs of deterioration. Block cheese, properly kept, is usable in a pinch so long as you cut off the dry and moldy bits. We go through flour quickly enough now that we don't have to worry, but when I was a child my mother would keep it until it got bugs (ew). Fresh kimchi bought from the shop that makes it literally must be kept a week after purchase in the fridge before it is ready to eat, two weeks or more before it is "old" and ready to be used in soup. What can be kept pretty much indefinitely: sealed containers of white rice, pearl barley, dried veg/herbs/spices (until they begin to lose color and flavor or pull moisture from the air), miso (in the fridge), dried pulses.

My husband, who has worked in a grocery, points out that the "sell-by date", the "use-by date", and the "best before" date are three completely different things, in principle as well as in practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,964 ✭✭✭gifted

Jupiter kid..we must be on them same wave lenght because i was gonna post the same question yesterday...had a roast chicken in the fridge and it was out of date by one day...took it out and it smelled perfect so Ive roasted it...herself wont touch it cos of the date but its looking at me now....all crispy and succulent and tasty....is it ok to eat?? Ah feck it im going in ......it'll be worth a trip to the a & e lol lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

I never gamble with meat, dairy or eggs. I keep most veg in the fridge, some fruits and they last a little longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

JupiterKid wrote: »

Thoughts?

Your ex got rid of everything the minute it passed it's sell by date? And now he's your ex. There could be a connection somewhere :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

gifted wrote: »
    Jupiter kid..we must be on them same wave lenght because i was gonna post the same question yesterday...had a roast chicken in the fridge and it was out of date by one day...took it out and it smelled perfect so Ive roasted it...herself wont touch it cos of the date but its looking at me now....all crispy and succulent and tasty....is it ok to eat?? Ah feck it im going in ......it'll be worth a trip to the a & e lol lol

Get it into you. These dates are set at an extra safe period as the sellers/distributors are scared sh!tless of any potential legal issues coming their way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I can't tell with milk. I hate milk, it's disgusting. So even by smell it always smells gross, and I won't taste it. If I'm unsure I'll put it in the tea anyway and if it curdles I know it's gone off.

Chicken, again I don't trust the sell by dates as I think sometimes it can go off faster than that. Would usually use the chicken the day it's bought or it'll end up in the bin.

Everything else, I'd look at the date, and if it seemed okay to use a day or so afterwards then I would but if I was in doubt or it was hard to know, I'd toss it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I would not pay a bit of heed to the date on fruit and veg. I can tell whether they are off or not.
    But I would not be consuming anything else past it's use by date...nah...not risking it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭via4

Once it smells ok I defo would but not with meat or fish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

While I was over visiting my mum in Aug she had lidl own brand chocolate corner yoghurts. Similar to muller corners.

Anyway I noticed the date on them was June !!!!! I asked her if she was crazy!!!! She said their fine , no dairy in them . try one .

I tried one and have to be honest she was right , tasted and was 100% scared me a bit . the shyte in food today .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Estrellita wrote: »
    I never gamble with meat, dairy or eggs. I keep most veg in the fridge, some fruits and they last a little longer.

I tried it once.

But the bloke behind the blackjack table, dealing the cards told me to get the fcuk out, and come back with money like the rest of his patrons. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Winterlong wrote: »
    I would not pay a bit of heed to the date on fruit and veg. I can tell whether they are off or not.
    But I would not be consuming anything else past it's use by date...nah...not risking it!

Ye I'm the same, fruit and veg fine but anything else I wouldn't take a chance on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I also rely on smell and it has yet to fail me. Best Before dates are just that; the date before which they reckon it was at its best. Use by I give a bit more credence to. I get a lot of eggs from my brother, who has chickens, so they get the float test before I use them. Everything else gets a good smelling and visual inspection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭sundodger5

I take the dates as a guideline. The producers have to be cautious.
    Your own senses of smell and taste should be enough in most cases.
    What did people do before these dates were brought in....used common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

A friend gave me a slab of Guinness that belonged to his dead uncle.It was about 13 months past its best before date.

After much humming and hawing(about 30 minutes) I decided to give it a go.
    Absolutely nothing wrong with it and got me pissed over two nights for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

A friend gave me a slab of Guinness that belonged to his dead uncle.It was about 13 months past its best before date.

After much humming and hawing(about 30 minutes) I decided to give it a go.
    Absolutely nothing wrong with it and got me pissed over two nights for free.

And peddledashed the rim of the dunny for free too I assume?:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭hannible the cannible

I've eaten yogurt that was more than 12 months out of date that tasted as if it was bought the day before , free range eggs that I've had for over a month in the fridge were fried up and consumed with no problems , I find stuff regularly in my fridge that would be well past the sell by date and never had a bother with it , if it don't smell right don't eat it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

kylith wrote: »
    I also rely on smell and it has yet to fail me. Best Before dates are just that; the date before which they reckon it was at its best. Use by I give a bit more credence to. I get a lot of eggs from my brother, who has chickens, so they get the float test before I use them. Everything else gets a good smelling and visual inspection.

Them chickens must have a pain in thier hole with you checking to see if they float every time you want an egg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Estrellita wrote: »
    I never gamble with meat, dairy or eggs.

Most bookies wouldn't see it as legal tender anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Mixed leaves are a mystery to me. Sometimes it says eat within 24 or 48 hours of opening. Why they are only a type of lettuce or spinach or some other leabe. Why such a short time?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I find that with some of those pre- packaged salads some of the leaves start to go off before the use by date.

Best just to buy loose veg or get a salad bag well before its use by date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Frigating

Found a mint mousse in the back of the fridge yesterday which expired on the 16th. After debating for a few minuets, I tasted it. Slightly off. Could have been fine, or the mint could have been masking the taste of death. Chucked it anyway.

Most foods get the sniff test. If it doesn't smell like a used coffin and doesn't have blue hair, it's probably fine. A couple times I've had chicken beyond it's BBD, but usually I use meats up or chuck it straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Eggs; I know from experience they can last for weeks past by the Best before date and I do use the "float" test and it's never failed me.

Meat; if it's day or two past the use by date and it looks and smells ok, then I'll eat it.

Fruit and veg; you can tell by looking at it if it's ok.

Cheese; if only the end of it has gone mouldy, I'll just cut that bit off.

The only thing I won't eat/drink are yogurts or milk; they do go bad pretty quick and they're rank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

I use the three day rule after expiry date. If its within three days its grand. I also smell but generally grand.

If the meat pack is opened and its open to the air then generally two days no matter what the expiration date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,723 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

The dates are only for people who don't understand food safety. The keep people on the safe side.

Looks, smells, feels and tastes tell you whether it's safe to eat or not.

Dates tell you almost nothing. If someone feels safer sticking to the dates then let them at it and throw out the food. It's usually a waste of food of money though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Yep. Was just sat here, reading through this thread. Two questions come to mind:

1. How the f**k did the human race last so long, without 'Dates' printed on their food?

2. Do ye all live in cities? Shopping at Tosco, or what ever?

I eat very little 'processed' food. My instincts guide me. I've absolutely no idea what the date on that pot of Black Pepper might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Letree wrote: »
    Mixed leaves are a mystery to me. Sometimes it says eat within 24 or 48 hours of opening. Why they are only a type of lettuce or spinach or some other leabe. Why such a short time?

There is a gas put into the plastic bag to keep them fresh once the bag opens the gas is released

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

There is a gas put into the plastic bag to keep them fresh once the bag opens the gas is released

Nitrogen I think. Bacteria can't grow in nitrogen so it's packed in there. Again it's all about look feel, smell and taste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yeah I never believe the dates.

Eggs are fine upto a month after.

If there is a bit of mould on cheese or bread I cut the mouldy part off

Veg is generally ok for upto a week after the date.

Meat and fish are the one thing I'd be wary of.

I also often buy products about to go out of date and reduced price and freeze them and they are all good.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I just eat an apricot yogurt that had the 9th of September on it, wasn't sure at first to eat it but it was absolutely perfect, have eaten crisps that are nearly a year past the sell by date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm currently using whey protein powder (as a training supplement) which is over three years out of date, and I've about another 30kgs of it to go ~ I'm still here to tell the tale :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

I eat everything that feels fresh, looks good and smells ok. I never come to any harm.

Not recommending this, of course, in case some soft, weak people of delicate constitution were to follow my example and get all sick.

But I can do it 'cos I'm strong, me. Pink of health, too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I worked as a cook for a good few years.

I can tell when something is off by looking at it but mostly rely on smelling it, or even a combination of both.

Something can be on the verge of going off, but can still be totally okay if it's not eaten raw , and you cook it.

I have no problem buying food gone by its sell by date that you can sometimes find discounted in supermarket. You can get some real bargains , especially with meat, virtually for nothing.

I'm talking about plain foodstuff though, not ready meals or processed stuff in cans or jars, which I wouldn't eat anyway as those kinds of things are crap even within their sell-by date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

katemarch wrote: »
    I eat everything that feels fresh, looks good and smells ok. I never come to any harm.

Not recommending this, of course, in case some soft, weak people of delicate constitution were to follow my example and get all sick.

But I can do it 'cos I'm strong, me. Pink of health, too.

Bloke I used to share a house with used to purposely leave stuff to go off to 'train his system' so he wouldn't get food poisoning in restaurants. He was.... unique.

kylith wrote:
    Bloke I used to share a house with used to purposely leave stuff to go off to 'train his system' so he wouldn't get food poisoning in restaurants. He was.... unique.

There's something to be said for that. Eating meat that's 'high' will introduce extra bacteria to your system and you can actually train the system to deal with it. I can't imagine letting good food go out of date just to train the system.

He could just go to decent restaurants that observe food hygiene instead.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Stigura wrote: »
    1. How the f**k did the human race last so long, without 'Dates' printed on their food?
    And how come life expectancy now is nearly double what it used to be, before best before dates ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I bought an almost-out-of-date Bombay Pantry chicken curry ready meal on Friday (reduced from €5 to €2.50). I didn't get round to eating it until today, three days past the use-by date.

It tasted fine and I feel fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Fruit and Vegetables are generally fine a few days out.
    Cheese is also grand even when it's a bit out of date.
    I wouldn't trust meat or fish that's out of date but in generally meat/fish never really goes off on us.
    When I think of it food rarely goes off on us apart from something we don't want and generally we just throw it out.
    I find milk goes off once it's opened after a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

kylith wrote: »

Did he have a thing for iocain powder, by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

RayM wrote: »
    I bought an almost-out-of-date Bombay Pantry chicken curry ready meal on Friday (reduced from €5 to €2.50). I didn't get round to eating it until today, three days past the use-by date.

It tasted fine and I feel fine.

Even if it tasted fine, stupid I know, but thinking "oh this could be off" before eating it would turn me off the food.

I've cooked meat before that was a day past the date and it's like every mouthful I was thinking "mmmmm....this could be off" :/ Not very appetizing even if the food turns out to be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭two wheels good

Letree wrote: »

You can revive lettuce and salad leaves by:
    - soaking in cold water
    - adding lemon juice or vinegar to the water helps too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

If it's in date and looks and smells fine I use it. If it's out of date but looks and smells fine I use it. If it doesn't look and smell fine I bin it. Ive yet to poison myself or anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I've had food poisoning and even though it was years ago I'd never risk eating anything even slightly passed its sell or best buy. Sweet holy Jesus the puking the ****ting and the violent stomach pain. It lasted over a week and I lost more than half a stone in weight. If in doubt throw it out.

And how come life expectancy now is nearly double what it used to be, before best before dates ?

Dunno. And what has TB, SmallPox, Spanish Flu, massive advances in modern medicine etc. etc. etc ever had to do with a six pack of water saturated bacon, vacuum sealed in plastic and stamped with a date?

Do all old people these days get to their age, because of these dates? Do they then disregard these dates and so drop dead?

Are ye suggesting these ink stamps have preserved humanity? Are there not tribal people, to this day, who wouldn't know what a date stamped pack of watery bacon was, if ye gave them one? Going since the dawn of man. Still going. Washing in cow piss.

Granted. I have no idea their personal life spans. But, their tribes seem to have done alright.

Dunno. And what has TB, SmallPox, Spanish Flu, massive advances in modern medicine etc. etc. etc ever had to do with a six pack of water saturated bacon, vacuum sealed in plastic and stamped with a date?

Do all old people these days get to their age, because of these dates? Do they then disregard these dates and so drop dead?

Are ye suggesting these ink stamps have preserved humanity? Are there not tribal people, to this day, who wouldn't know what a date stamped pack of watery bacon was, if ye gave them one? Going since the dawn of man. Still going. Washing in cow piss.

Granted. I have no idea their personal life spans. But, their tribes seem to have done alright.

This.

Olishi4 wrote: »
    I've cooked meat before that was a day past the date and it's like every mouthful I was thinking "mmmmm....this could be off" :/ Not very appetizing even if the food turns out to be fine.

Olishi; This is what I can't fathom. I buy my flesh in town. From Hugh. He buys live creatures from the land here abouts. He kills them. Cuts them up. I buy bits. These bits have no ink on them.

How am I to tell when they become lethal bits of meat that will kill me if I eat them?

Am I going to die, any dinner time?! :eek:

Olishi; This is what I can't fathom. I buy my flesh in town. From Hugh. He buys live creatures from the land here abouts. He kills them. Cuts them up. I buy bits. These bits have no ink on them.

How am I to tell when they become lethal bits of meat that will kill me if I eat them?

Am I going to die, any dinner time?! :eek:

You made that determination when you decided to trust Hugh to sell you bits of cut-up animal carcasses that would be safe to eat for at least a couple days provided you kept and prepared them under proper hygienic conditions.