Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ploughing championship

• 21-09-2016 5:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0920/817743-ploughing-offaly/

All records for attendance on the first day of the National Ploughing Championships have been broken with a total of 100,000 visitors coming through the gates at the event in in Screggan just outside Tullamore, Co Offaly.

The figure is significantly up on last year's event when 77,000 attended the first day of the championships.

So what the craic with this ? Is it only for country folks or do Dubs and people from Cork, Galway and Waterford cities visit ?

Well who goes from here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I hear they're moving it to Lisbon next year. 💣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0920/817743-ploughing-offaly/

All records for attendance on the first day of the National Ploughing Championships have been broken with a total of 100,000 visitors coming through the gates at the event in in Screggan just outside Tullamore, Co Offaly.

The figure is significantly up on last year's event when 77,000 attended the first day of the championships.

So what the craic with this ? Is it only for country folks or do Dubs and people from Cork, Galway and Waterford cities visit ?

Well who goes from here ?

They are country folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Spoken like a real jackeen ^^^.

I don't know if Dubs make the journey but I know people from Galway and Limerick that attend, mainly for the craic I suppose as none of them are farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Go down and see, nothing like experiencing the atmosphere first hand. Very surprised if you didn't find lots to interest you. Bring good hiking boots or wellies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Seems like fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Did they not have a big agricultural fair in tullamore a few weeks ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Winterlong wrote: »

'They' did. Some of them though like to get out more than once a year!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Just saw it on the news, looks like hell on Earth. So glad to be from Dublin and separate from these savages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

It's like Christmas for farmers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    It's like Christmas for farmers?

I say more like the hajj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

The main reason young lads go is to buy illegal fireworks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I'm not sure who to be up for in it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

When the wife gets home we're going to have our own ploughing championship. Giggiddy gigidy goo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Winterlong wrote: »

Yes, the annual 'Tullamore Show'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Its no Tullamore show!
    My snapchats been packed full of pseudo farmers, taking snaps of bulls balls commenting on how well hung the cow is, dopes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    When the wife gets home we're going to have our own ploughing championship. Giggiddy gigidy goo.

She aready had it.

I took a half day off work, yer too late Boomer :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I hear they're .moving it to Lisbon next year. 💣

That just might persuade me to go. Hellish event in general. I went a couple of years ago to check if it was still as bad as ever. After that I wouldn't go across the road to see it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

She aready had it.

I took a half day off work, yer too late Boomer :

That's grand, I'll enter the solo competition instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I was at it yesterday.

Yes huge crowds, the weather was nice, traffic management was excellent. Plenty to see, didn't get to see it all. saw the cattle, got a free meal - right connections..after getting one free meal, was offered another free meal...looked at all the cars from all the different manufacturers, did my best to avoid portaloos, didn't visit the fairground or the various music and dancing areas. The RTE tent was so hot, maybe from the lights.
    It is a makeshift town with so much to see, all interests covered.

I hadn't planned on going, but a friend asked if I would go and sure when I was getting free transport it would have been silly to say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

I'm competing in it tomorrow :D
    Got a place by absolute fluke after coming second last in the county competition that I entered for the sheer craic of it.
    I'm gonna make a holy show of myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭bossdrum

I can't stand all the free media attention this event gets. Its even mentioned on the weather forecast after the news.
    Any other company running an event must pay for advertising etc. but this crowd seems to have everyone fawning all over it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭hannible the cannible

^^^^ are they the ugliest presenters ever to front any programme ever , I wouldn't mind if they were funny but god almighty it's embarrassing for all concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

bossdrum wrote: »
    I can't stand all the free media attention this event gets. Its even mentioned on the weather forecast after the news.
    Any other company running an event must pay for advertising etc. but this crowd seems to have everyone fawning all over it.

What, like the Electric Picnic? They pay for all the coverage they get, do they? The Rose of Tralee? Galway Races? Etc etc...

s4uv3 wrote: »
    I'm competing in it tomorrow :D
    Got a place by absolute fluke after coming second last in the county competition that I entered for the sheer craic of it.
    I'm gonna make a holy show of myself!

A talking cow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Just saw it on the news, looks like hell on Earth. So glad to be from Dublin and separate from these savages.

Been to O'Connell Street lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Feckin traffic.
    That's pretty much the extent of my opinion on the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

A talking cow...

Ya wha?
    Cows don't plough :rolleyes:

s4uv3 wrote: »
    Ya wha?
    Cows don't plough :rolleyes:

I was thinking of the Lovely Cows competition that's on during the ploughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I was thinking of the Lovely Cows competition that's on during the ploughing.

They all have lovely hindquarters.

bossdrum wrote: »

Free media attention as they make money from it.

Look at RTE, selling the RTE Guide at a discount in their tent to people who probably don't buy it.
    Then they had photo boots where one could go and pay more to have their picture on a cover that is the same as the RTE Guide cover.

Newspapers selling their papers.

Radio stations getting lots of advertising simply by being there and the 300,000 or so people who will attend.

It is like a giant shopping centre.

Feckin traffic.
    That's pretty much the extent of my opinion on the thing.

This year was the first time I went and experienced no traffic jams when going or leaving.

RobertKK wrote: »
    This year was the first time I went and experienced no traffic jams when going or leaving.

It's in a good location though. You've one side taking cork/limerick/tipp etc in through Birr, then you've the bypass taking most of the traffic out of Tullamore town itself, though I've to go to the blueball tomorrow evening and I'm dreading the thoughts of even attempting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Really? It took Mr. Cheese an extra 40 minutes to get home tonight. He said it was because of the extra traffic at the ploughing thing. But I suppose he could be having it away with Yvonne from the library and only telling me he was stuck in traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Its no Tullamore show!
    My snapchats been packed full of pseudo farmers, taking snaps of bulls balls commenting on how well hung the cow is, dopes.

Cows don't have balls who's the dope ;)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Cows don't have
    balls who's the dope ;)
    The person who took a pic of the bulls balls with the caption commenting on how well hung the cow was ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I went on Tuesday (from Dublin). Parking was good, with a quick free bus from the car park to the ploughing. Nil traffic problems.
    The Dublin car park was at the local soccer club. My Da was one of the founders of that club 60+ years ago.

Every car manufacturer has their full fleet on display and I had a good look/sit in each car. This afternoon I went to my car dealer in Dublin and we are in negotiations.

Really? It took Mr. Cheese an extra 40 minutes to get home tonight. He said it was because of the extra traffic at the ploughing thing. But I suppose he could be having it away with Yvonne from the library and only telling me he was stuck in traffic.

Well from Kilkenny the traffic was flowing nicely all the way to and from. Didn't have to stop once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Went with the secondary school one year. It was a very surreal experience. Tried to buy fireworks off of member of the travelling community but they fleeced us. Also (and this has to have been one of the funniest things i have seen) there was these young ones wrestling in the mud with all these old farmers in a crowd watching, they were delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,831 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Traffic is his pet name for her.

He loves getting stuck in traffic so he does. Or stuck into even

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

its basically electric picnic for rednecks

yahoooo up ya boya

philstar wrote: »
    its basically electric picnic for rednecks

yahoooo up ya boya

Without the pills, the trips and the 8 balls. We'll leave that for the civilised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Boom_Bap wrote: »

Even if you come last you still win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I was at it yesterday.

Yes huge crowds, the weather was nice, traffic management was excellent. Plenty to see, didn't get to see it all. saw the cattle, got a free meal - right connections..after getting one free meal, was offered another free meal...looked at all the cars from all the different manufacturers, did my best to avoid portaloos, didn't visit the fairground or the various music and dancing areas. The RTE tent was so hot, maybe from the lights.
    It is a makeshift town with so much to see, all interests covered.

I hadn't planned on going, but a friend asked if I would go and sure when I was getting free transport it would have been silly to say no.

Less free meals and you will avoid the portaloos.

Are you from Cavan by any chance ;)

Next year they are planning on having a a section for the dubs.
    Just to make ye feel at home they will hire some beggars, addicts and have a methadone clinic.

Now where is me popcorn.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

jmayo wrote: »

Next year they are planning on having a a section for the dubs.
    Just to make ye feel at home they will hire some beggars, addicts and have a methadone clinic.

Now where is me popcorn.

And a special booth for the Sam McGuire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Id like to go for the food, supposed to be unreal. Wouldn't have much interest in farming but if it was sunny id say it'd be an enjoyable way to spend a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

they should have scanger championships for all the jackeens then.....

jmayo wrote: »

Kilkenny, and I was not looking for free meals, I was with a person who knew someone at one of the tents, and they offered us a free meal, then at Glanbia being a customer and having been a supplier, they offered us another feed, so...and it was later in the day :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

we will keep the fresh air and green grass if you keep the hordes of travelling criminals and obnoxious hipster dcikheads.

Deal ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Your Face wrote: »
    And a special booth for the Sam McGuire.

BTW it is Sam Maguire.

Also it is the All Ireland just in case you are only getting the sky coverage which keeps telling you about the All England final. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In fairness to that Sky presenter she grew up involved in the sport of badminton. One of the most prestigious titles in the game is the All England Championship.

It was a simple slip of the tongue on her part, there was no need for outraged goons to go after her on twitter.