Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New House/Area

• 21-09-2016 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I am a 30 year old 9-5er and recently had to move out of the house I was in in a town centre as landlord was selling. I drive so I could be flexible with where I moved. I ended up moving 30 mins outside of the town centre to a rural location. A friend who owns the house asked me to move in with him and his brother. I decided I'd go for it and regretting it massively. I had been in it a couple of times over the years but I didn't view it properly before agreeing to it (big mistake)

Firstly, the jacks are disgusting. I am grand with lads being dirty messes, but this was to an all new level. The bowl was black when I moved in. I spent an hour cleaning the toilet bowl alone and the rest of the bathroom. My room is also tiny. The house is a cottage but was extended out the back. I remember I stayed in that room after a few nights out but I didn't realise it was this small. My stuff barely fits and I have to iron my clothes when I take them out as they look crinkly from being overpacked in wardrobes. The house also smells. When I walk in it smells of damp and of rubbish.

I am saving a good bit of money as the rent in town has gone up quite a bit in the last few weeks with college students and now I am worried that I'm stuck. There's a few issues here:

1. I don't want to offend my friend by leaving and moving home to my Dad after only arriving
    2. Houses are hard to find in the town I work in because of the college students
    3. I think I'm being too harsh and that I should give it time (it's only been 3 weeks - 2 of which I stayed in my Dad's).

Am I being too much of a drama queen or should I move home to my dad? The state of the house, the distance from the town and the size of the room is just making me fairly down.

Any comments welcome!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Life's too short to put up with other people's filth.

If you're in a position to leave just do it. Prob best to line up a new place first if possible though rather than end up back with your dad for too long.

You have the perfect excuse with your friend if you don't want to mention the dirt; just say it's too far from work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

If you want to stay onside with your friend just say that your dad is upset with you for choosing to move in with them instead of him when you were stuck, or that your dad needs a dig out, you're sorry but you're sure they can understand that you have to put your dad first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

People have vastly different standards when it comes to cleanliness. Someone should probably point out to these lads that they're living in filth but it doesnt have to be you if you don't want it to be.

Perhaps just tell them that you find being so rural isolating and that you'd rather be closer to the town. Once you give them a bit of notice they can't really say much - this could happen in any houseshare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks all to those who replied. I might give it another month and save up a second deposit to move out. I am tempted to move in with Dad as it is that bad but we'll see.

The last poster mentioned the cleanliness and that's completely fair but at 30 I'm sick of having to live with people who have a much, much lower standard than mine. I have been in houseshares since I was 17 and this is by far the worst (or maybe I'm becoming more impatient!).

The other issue is the brother. When I moved in he seems to be completely ignoring me. I would have known him from around the place but he is literally ignoring me when I'm about. He could be just tired after working on their farm but it's honestly like I am being isolated. My GF also agrees that this is happening (she only stayed once... it's too awkward).

I might just bite the bullet and go to Dad's tonight.