Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats happening in Co wexford ?

• 21-09-2016 10:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭

More than 40 gardaí are involved in a security operation in the village of Kilmuckridge in Co Wexford.

Goods are being removed from a local business by security personnel and loaded on to trucks.

A full garda cordon has been placed around the village and access has been restricted to residents only.

People are being asked to show identification to gardaí before entering the village.

The operation began at 5am this morning and is expected to continue until midday.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0921/818071-kilmuckridge-wexford-garda/

Whats happening there ? goods been removed from shops :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

There's a witch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Pac1Man wrote: »
    There's a witch!

The wicked Witch from co wexford :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Repossession of a business. It was tried before and descended into chaos, so they appear to be taking no chances this time.

Was on the Sean O'Rourke show about an hour ago.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/kilmuckridge-locals-reclaim-repossessed-supermarket-1.2390581

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Somebody selling 2020 Olympic tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭ahlookit

More on Broadsheet.

Seems to have been rumbling on since an attempt last year, as you can see in the link from the IT in HeidiHeidi's post

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2016/09/21/local-like-you/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

It's like a mini version of Under the Dome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,640 ✭✭✭cml387

I guess another businessman who reckons he got a grant from his bank rather than a loan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

All this to close down a shop? Was expecting some juicy **** ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Receivers will know how to beat the freemen now, move in before lunchtime on any day other than dole day.

TallGlass wrote: »
    All this to close down a shop? Was expecting some juicy **** ....

Same here , though it might have to do with some unknown disease appearing and the village was being quarantines, I chk sky news for an update, alas its just auld Corrigan's londis being closed down...nothing to see here, next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Same here , though it might have to do with some unknown disease appearing and the village was being quarantines, I chk sky news for an update, alas its just auld Corrigan's londis being closed down...nothing to see here, next.

Exactly, the state really shouldn't be using up to 40 Garda to run an operation to close down a shop/village. The banks should be hiring a few security lads and some support from Garda. I understand you pay your bills this doesn't happen. But to use Garda in this way, doesn't exactly show them helping the public or so them any favors gaining support from the community. Surely someone up on top can see that? My word, I can see a PR nightmare unfolding on Joe Duffy in an hour or so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

cant believe the ordinary rank and file are comfortable acting on these grubby parasites behalf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Today I learned Kilmuckridge is a real place. And not a makey up place like Ballykissangel or Carrickstown or Leitrim.
    Thanks internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭markpb

TallGlass wrote:
    Exactly, the state really shouldn't be using up to 40 Garda to run an operation to close down a shop/village. The banks should be hiring a few security lads and some support from Garda.

The bank hired a security company backed up by a few Guards the first time and we saw what happened, the protesters decided to ignore the courts decision and the orders of the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Today I learned Kilmuckridge is a real place. And not a makey up place like Ballykissangel or Carrickstown or Leitrim.
    Thanks internet

That's enough internet for you today.
    Go and have a little lie down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

cant believe the ordinary rank and file are comfortable acting on these grubby parasites behalf

Those owed money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Apparently some people are saying it's around 10-12 Garda at the scene not the currently suggested 40-50 mentioned and a private security company has put up a temporary fence around the now court ordered business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Gatling wrote: »
    Apparently some people are saying it's around 10-12 Garda at the scene not the currently suggested 40-50 mentioned and a private security company has put up a temporary fence around the now court ordered business

I heard that there are approximately 25 gardaí present, 2 Dog units and a mounted unit.

RSU and ERU are on standby also as well.

Garda helicopter is over head and the army are in ready mode in case of being called in to purge the village. Apaches and MiGs are also being scrambled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Uriel. wrote: »
    I heard that there are approximately 25 gardaí present, 2 Dog units and a mounted unit.

RSU and ERU are on standby also as well.

Garda helicopter is over head and the army are in ready mode in case of being called in to purge the village. Apaches and MiGs are also being scrambled.

Seen some quotes like that on Facebook but for some reason or another they cant seem to show anymore than 4 or 5 guards at the location ,

Gatling wrote: »
    Seen some quotes like that on Facebook but for some reason or another they cant seem to show anymore than 4 or 5 guards at the location ,

Just look at the article in the Times from last October to see the embellishments that take place when these stories are told.
    Corrections & Clarifications
    In this article, it was claimed that agents acting for Ken Fennell of Deloitte had illegally taken possession of a Londis supermarket at Kilmuckridge, Co Wexford. The Irish Times accepts, however, that Mr Fennell is a validly appointed receiver over this property and his agents took lawful possession of the property on October 5th, 2015.
    An article in the edition of October 14th 2015, headed “Locals reclaim repossessed Wexford supermarket” wrongly reported an allegation that KTech, a security firm acting under the direction of Deloitte, forced their way into the supermarket without proper legal sanction or entitlement. In fact, KTech had legal authority to enter the premises. The article also reported accusations that KTech staff wore balaclavas and removed stock from the supermarket. The Irish Times accepts that there is no basis to these accusations and apologises to KTech and Kevin McGarry

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/kilmuckridge-locals-reclaim-repossessed-supermarket-1.2390581

Security operation in ................ village

A full ....... cordon has been placed around the village and access has been restricted to residents only.

People are being asked to show identification to ...... before entering the village.

Years ago that's sort of headline when de bombs were going of up the Northen way :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,514 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Honestly what is the big fuss, a shop owner took a loan they couldnt pay back and the bank is proceeding through the legal means to reposess what they put up as collateral for the loan.

People can cry and moan all they like but evictions have to happen for us to move on from this mess.

The obvious signs that its all above board is you have freemen nutjobs like the new land league and right 2 homes involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

VinLieger wrote: »
    Honestly what is the big fuss, a shop owner took a loan they couldnt pay back and the bank is proceeding through the legal means to reposess what they put up as collateral for the loan.

People can cry and moan all they like but evictions have to happen for us to move on from this mess.

The obvious signs that its all above board is you have freemen nutjobs like the new land league and right 2 homes involved

That's the whole idea here in Ireland for a lot of people to take out big loans, no intention of paying them back a lot of the time. Then when things go belly up, a big hue when the Bank wants its money back. Oh the injustice, lol

VinLieger wrote: »

Hopefully Jerry Beades will be on Vinny Browne tonight. His appearance in support of the O'Donnells "bog standard" Killiney mansion was TV gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

ahlookit wrote: »
    Hopefully Jerry Beades will be on Vinny Browne tonight. His appearance in support of the O'Donnells "bog standard" Killiney mansion was TV gold.

poor jerry was just misinterpreted. what he meant is that the bog is standard in that house implying that the O'Donnells are the same as you and me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

ahlookit wrote: »

I had forgotten about that appearance. You have put a smile on my face!