Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free kids bike for autism school.

• 15-09-2016 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

I'm working in a pre-school for kids with autism and we were thinking it'd be nice to get a balance bike or a tricycle or even a (very small) normal bike for the playground. Kids in question are mostly 3-4 so anything tiny really. Thing is we have exactly zero budget for such a thing.

So if you've got anything that might fit the bill that's been out-grown or otherwise forgotten about I'd be happy to give it a new home. Does not have to be in serviceable condition. I'm always keen for another project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I'm working in a pre-school for kids with autism and we were thinking it'd be nice to get a balance bike or a tricycle or even a (very small) normal bike for the playground. Kids in question are mostly 3-4 so anything tiny really. Thing is we have exactly zero budget for such a thing.

So if you've got anything that might fit the bill that's been out-grown or otherwise forgotten about I'd be happy to give it a new home. Does not have to be in serviceable condition. I'm always keen for another project.

Where are you based?

Actually it makes no difference really but if you're near a halfords let me know. I'd like to get two of the below for ye if they suit your needs? :)

Lads like yourselves rarely get the thanks they deserve. So thank you.

143135?$imageMainRetina$

http://www.halfords.ie/cycling/bikes/balance-bikes/indi-adapt-balance-bike-with-stickers-10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭delynet

I have one of these, good condition, based in Mayo

PUKY_LRM_Learner_4d6160d852c40.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Thanks very much. Lads like me get plenty of thanks I reckon.it's the likes of you making donations that keep the show on the road that deserve the gratitude.

Thanks, pm sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭loudymacloud

I will add another one of those halfords balance bikes if it suits.

@delynet, thanks but we're in Dublin, Mayo's a bit off the beaten track. @Loudymacloud thanks though I think two bikes is enough to start with otherwise the playground will be anarchy. They need to learn to share anyway. I would suggest you split with iwillhtfu but I think he may already have placed an order.

Great to see so much generosity on boards though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I will add another one of those halfords balance bikes if it suits.
    Ditto.
    Send me a pm.
    Lenny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Political Wall Map

lennymc wrote: »
    Ditto.
    Send me a pm.
    Lenny

I'll go thirds with you lads if yas want. Or buy helmets.

Let me know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I have a few small bikes in the shed. Some working, some ehhh!!

They're yours if you want them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I'll go thirds with you lads if yas want. Or buy helmets.

Let me know

Helmets would be a good shout I was in a rush the other day and forgot to pick some up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

What a lovely thread !!! I have a second hand very used balance bike if it's any use to ye ?? fair play to everyone here x

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Helmets would be a good shout I was in a rush the other day and forgot to pick some up.

Yeah, if op wants to pick helmets from anywhere, and ill either buy them myself or transfer payment over.

Either way let me know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

ted1 wrote: »
    Will get them during the week. Will let the lads know when I pick them up so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

missed this thread over the last few days, great response all :D

OP, if there's anything else you need i'm also happy to help

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I have a trike here. I will drop it over if you PM a suitable location. In about a year, I will send you over a balance bike as well.

In good nick and sooner they went to someone who will use them.

Thanks for all the responses, sadly we're not planning on amassing a massive fleet of bikes for the school and since we've only a small playground the two bikes donated by iwillhtfu (plus one tricycle that one of the parents donated) are about as much as we need right now. Many more and we risk absolute anarchy, I don't think any of the kids are up to riding in peloton formation just yet. For now they'll just have to learn to share and take turns.

Where can I meet ya with helmets? Thanks