Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tampons to be provided for men at US university.(mod warning in op.)

• 11-09-2016 1:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭

I thought this was a joke at first, but apparently it is real.
    Viet Nguyen, President of the Undergraduate Council of Students, announced the initiative in a campus-wide email Tuesday, saying he wants to communicate the message that not all people who menstruate are women,

By putting menstrual products in women’s, men’s, and gender-inclusive bathrooms, Nguyen aims to “set a tone of trans-inclusivity, and not forget that they’re an important part of the population,” but is under no illusions that the effort will be universally popular.

http://www.campusreform.org/?ID=8105

When did men start menstruating?

Mod-Thread reopened. Going forward there will be zero tolerance for abuse of trans people or jokes at their expense. Consider this your one and only warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

The toilet is the 21st century battleground. The days of the quiet dump are over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

This is what happens when successive generations of idiots nobody ever said no to are allowed an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭SeanW

I thought this was a joke at first, but apparently it is real.
    Indeed any person would.
    http://www.campusreform.org/?ID=8105

What ... the ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Do you put the tampon in your arse or what :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Yet another Gender war topic, how original.

The title and opening post is misleading as well, tampons are being put in men's toilets for use by f-m transgender, nobody is confused about who needs to use them.

Then again maybe that is the problem, did Jimmy get himself in a situation where he was confused about someone's gender and is now butthurt over it?

Honestly, who cares about this sort of frivolous nonsense? A college wants to put a tampon vending machine in a toilet, what of it?

I'm guessing that most people using a male public bathroom that may need a tampon probably bring their own and would not want to draw attention to themselves by taking one from a dispenser anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Looking back on some of the threads here, 'bout 2011 maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Tampons are great for stopping nosebleeds also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

This issue must affect a lot of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

They're putting them in all bathrooms. The reason is that they should be free like toilet paper. They're a product people need. They put them in the mens bathrooms too because there may be women-men trans people. It's not a bad idea to put them in every bathroom. Every woman under a certain age required them on a regular basis.

They're not all men to use them or want them. They're expecting a very small number to. It doesn't seem that bad. there may be some trans people who go to mens bathrooms who need them. It's not like it's a huge deal to put them in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Bloody ridiculous

Grayson wrote: »
    They're putting them in all bathrooms. The reason is that they should be free like toilet paper. They're a product people need. They put them in the mens bathrooms too because there may be women-men trans people. It's not a bad idea to put them in every bathroom. Every woman under a certain age required them on a regular basis.

They're not all men to use them or want them. They're expecting a very small number to. It doesn't seem that bad. there may be some trans people who go to mens bathrooms who need them. It's not like it's a huge deal to put them in there.

They should put urinals in the ladies in case any genderfluid or genderqueer people want to go in there and piss standing up. It's only fair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Good marketing.....

Sand for Arabs....anybody

Charging Irish people for water......It doesn't fall from the sky in Ireland and pretty much constantly attempts to drown you ...Irish men could use the soakage (of the tampons )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

They should put urinals in the ladies in case any genderfluid or genderqueer people want to go in there and piss standing up. It's only fair.

Indeed, seems only logical once one starts on this line of thinking.

Furthermore, obviously if "not all people who menstruate are women" then manufacturers of menstruation products should be compelled to show people other than women as the central characters of their ads. It's surely discrimination otherwise, right?

Gillette should start showing strong brave beardy ladies shaving their faces, and Always can show how their product gave a gang of lads the confidence to win the rugby match and tackle a load of pints afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Ah here. The world has gone mad anyway at this stage some anything is possible.

Male student: I'm going to the toilet. Does anyone need anything?

Female student: Ye, would you grab me a tampon please. Good lad!

Would tampon dispensers in the ladies bathroom not be a source of shame spiral trigger for m-f trans people as they don't get to use tampons?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Ah here. The world has gone mad anyway at this stage is possible.

Male student: I'm going to the toilet. Does anyone need anything?

Female student: Ye, would you grab me a tampon please. Good lad!

Yes the possibility of such a zany conversation happening truly means the end of the world is nigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Be more in their line lowering the tax on an essential product

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

blinding wrote: »
    Good marketing.....

Charging Irish people for water......It doesn't fall from the sky in Ireland and pretty much constantly attempts to drown you ...Irish men could use the soakage (of the tampons

What in the fūck are you on about?

You get to Irish Water from TG issues in the United States, in under 15 posts. Get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Do you put the tampon in your arse or what :confused:

So it would seem jimmy,i can see the Cohen brothers writing a script about this and putting it on the big screen. A bunch of drunken frat boys armed with tampons,low brow hilarity ensues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

No-one's forcing you to use them, OP. It seems like a simple bit of consideration to me, especially in an environment where which bathroom you can use can become a political issue.

May make someone else's life easier + affects me in no way whatsoever = good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Tordelback wrote: »
    It seems like a simple bit of consideration to me, especially in an environment where which bathroom you can use can become a political issue.

Using the bathroom shouldn't be a political issue. It's a very simple thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

Fleawuss wrote: »
    The toilet is the 21st century battleground. The days of the quiet dump are over.

If it's a battleground, then perhaps a loud, smelly one is called for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I've heard that Years of bum sex can loosen the 'ol anal pipe. Maybe the tampons are being used to keep an untimely load at bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

No-one's forcing you to use them, OP. It seems like a simple bit of consideration to me, especially in an environment where which bathroom you can use can become a political issue.

By the same logic we should have jock-strap dispensers in every female toilet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,723 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Good suggestion.
    Tordelback wrote:

Why would it cost a non transgendered man a second thought? I see lots of services that I don't use and I don't get stroppy about them existing.
    Using the bathroom shouldn't be a political issue. It's a very simple thing.
    You're right. It should never have been an issue for anyone let alone a political issue.
    I've heard that Years of bum sex can loosen the 'ol anal pipe. Maybe the tampons are being used to keep an untimely load at bay.
    Yeah. It's probably best not to take the bike shed sex ed classes seriously.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

especially in an environment where which bathroom you can use can become a political issue.
    Now there's a sentence I never thought I'd read… I suppose it shows that western society and a chunk of its citizens have so little to actually be concerned about that they go looking for concerns and inflate them to the point of overreaction. A culture that's become that dawny wheezy kid in glass allergic to harmless stuff in the environment.
    Be more in their line lowering the tax on an essential product
    Ahh here, don't be daft Lex. That would be something practical that would positively affect 50% of the people, rather than a teeny minority*. Plus it would cost more money. Can't have that. And it wouldn't get nearly so many column inches and people tipping over themselves to condemn it/praise it from their skyscraper steeds. Better to craw thump on the cheap, and loudly, to our Church of the Culturally sensitive.

I fear history in black face may gaze upon this daftness in western society as Ben Stiller in such a fashion

*who themselves aren't particularly vocal. It's the craw thumpers being offended and self flagellating on their behalf who whine the most and loudest.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

blinding wrote: »

Saudi Arabia import sand, camels too, from Australia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

Would tampon dispensers in the ladies bathroom not be a source of shame spiral trigger for m-f trans people as they don't get to use tampons?

Its clearly triggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,916 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

I thought I was in Bargain Alerts for a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

If they want to be taken seriously as real women,they should start behaving like real women do once a month.

They should become completely irrational and take to the bed in 10 year old smalls.

Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Good suggestion.

Why would it cost a non transgendered man a second thought?.

You can just say man. It's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Joey Jo-Jo Junior

Its clearly triggering.

Honestly, it sounds like you're the one who's triggered by the suggestion. You and everyone else who come here to post the word 'triggered' on every trans-related thread. It's pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I don't know if I'm uneducated or if the people in Brown University are bat**** crazy but I thought a person needed a womb to menustrate.

They do.

I suspect there's going to need to be a header put on top of this thread to remind people that not all trans people were born male. That this initative is for people who were born female.

Because you can be guaranteed the same imbecility about 'world gone mad', 'and 'trannies can't have periods lol' will still be repeated on page 10, or however long this thread lasts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

Honestly, it sounds like you're the one who's triggered by the suggestion. You and everyone else who come here to post the word 'triggered' on every trans-related thread. It's pathetic.

I'm triggered now, for sure.

Retreating to my safe space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

They do.

I suspect there's going to need to be a header put on top of this thread to remind people that not all trans people were born male. That this initative is for people who were born female.

Because you can be guaranteed the same imbecility about 'world gone mad', 'and 'trannies can't have periods lol' will still be repeated on page 10, or however long this thread lasts.

Ah now it makes a bit more sense. I just saw the header of tampons being put in men's bathrooms and thought if they were born men why would they need tampons. Never thought of it the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

What about non gender ??

Yes indeed, spare a thought for the asexual people who don't identify with any gender that have to use gender specific bathrooms. This is an issue nobody is talking about (at least not outside the confines of some student union). The symbols of oppression on bathroom doors are forcing them to be genderfluid.

Whats pathetic is that some grown adults live in a world where they concern themselves with triggering in a non ironic way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

There's an obsession with toilets lately.

F-M transgender people may still need trampons depending on what stage of transitioning they're at. It affects literally no-one else.

Why the hell are people even caring about this happening in a toilets in a university 3,000miles+ away in Louisiana? I can promise having a tampon dispenser in the room will not make males spontaneously start bleeding, which is about the only reason I see for getting "triggered" by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I assumed progressive men were now bleeding in sympathy with women.

That kinda thing could go either way though, it's a fine line between supporting/sympathising and misappropriation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 KeyCode

Free!
    Just bring them home and keep them in the bathroom for the ladies in your life and save a few quid on the groceries!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Make all toilets unisex, problem solved. I hate urinals anyway.

If I want to stand in a line of other men with my willy out... I know where Dollymount is.

Purely from an environmental point of view, without getting into any politics, urinals are a good idea to have rather than solely cubicles/toilets.

But I guess PC trumps all science and environmental concerns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Have I just been accused of political correctness??

Well there's a first :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Samaris wrote: »
    There's an obsession with toilets lately.

F-M transgender people may still need trampons depending on what stage of transitioning they're at. It affects literally no-one else.

Why the hell are people even caring about this happening in a toilets in a university 3,000miles+ away in Louisiana? I can promise having a tampon dispenser in the room will not make males spontaneously start bleeding, which is about the only reason I see for getting "triggered" by it.

See, someone decided to give easy access to sanitary towels and tampons to everyone with a uterus. Great decision there. They should be available freely. They realize that there may be a few that use mens bathrooms so they decide to put them in there too. They don't know for certain but to make sure they don't miss anyone they put them in there. It can take years to transition so it's quite possible there's a trans f-m who's using the mens bathrooms and still needs sanitary products.

Unfortunately there are a few people on this thread who have been triggered. They feel like their safe space is being invaded. They have very delicate views of bathrooms.

To everyone who feels threatened by this and who's making a big deal about this, get over yourselves. Rather than herring your knickers in a twist about a the machines being put into guys toilets you should be asking why they weren't freely available in every woman's bathroom anyway. Seriously. These are products that every woman needs. They're not a luxury, they're a necessity. Meanwhile in Ireland we still tax them as a luxury product.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Actually there's a tribe in New Guinea IIRC, where the men give themselves nosebleeds once a month as a religious analogue to the women.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Actually there's a tribe in New Guinea IIRC, where the men give themselves nosebleeds once a month as a religious analogue to the women.

There's probably a few men who are given nosebleeds by the women*.

Possibly the ones who didn't bring out the bins.

*Just a joke, tails down. I know it's not funny when women hit men or men hit women or any combination of gender hits anyone, or when dogs bite or birds peck or when earthquakes happen, and nosebleeds can be fatal or upsetting and aren't to be laughed at and that menstruating is no excuse to inflict pain and suffering on anyone and that sometimes people try to use it as an excuse and that it's not acceptable, and anything I've left out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 KeyCode

Does anyone else think that the Americans are a bit obsessed with toilets?

A lot of places increasingly just have toilets of various types in cubicles, maybe a doored off area for urinals for those equipped with the plumbing for aiming at them and a communal area outside of those with mirrors and sinks and hand dryers.

I go to pubs and restaurants like that and it's the same at my office. We don't have male and female toilets and it's grand! Nobody gets into any political debates and you can gossip to female colleagues as well as male ones, or like most people just do what you need to do and exit asap because they're a bit smelly (despite the ventilation and cleaning)

Toilets aren't meant to be politically charged topics and I actually think a busy toilet is a lot safer than an isolated one.

In some ways you'd be safer in a mixed one in the sense there's always going to be someone wandering in.