Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reported a car for no insurance

• 10-09-2016 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭

Has anyone here ever reported a car for no insurance?

So last week, I finished work and walking out to my car I noticed a regular customers car had no insurance disk displayed. So called the local garda station. I give the make/model, colour and reg. I stated that "there was a tax and n.c.t disk displayed, however there was no insurance disk displayed" the garda asked me was the car insured? I said "The car had no insurance disk displayed" however, "I was unsure if it was insured or not" The garda mentioned "that the car is usually insured however the, driver probably just didn't put the disk in the holder" So anyway, they said they would look into it. However I didn't hear of the garda visiting Bob Moss (not his real name by the way) So I'm just wondering does it usually take them long to look into situations like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Lots are driving around on open drive so in turn the actual car they are driving isn't actually the one on their policy.

I'm surprised they haven't stopped it as some are fronting and the likes by insuring a low risk bracket 1litre and booting it around in something much bigger and quicker.

I drive many different vehicles but have insurance discDiscin wallet as trade insurance so have on me at all times.

Some of the cars have no disc or one that could.be out of date months or years but honestly have no problem been checked as why should I have to pay and others not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

job seeker wrote: »
    However I didn't hear of the garda visiting Bob Moss (not his real name by the way) So I'm just wondering does it usually take them long to look into situations like this?

The Garda will put it on the long finger because he knows that Bob probably forgot to put up his disc and will fish it out of the glove box if the law did come knocking.

I can't help but feel like reporting a windscreen which is one disc short of full as being a tad pedantic, especially if everything else is in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Jesus Christ..have you ever considered minding your own f*cking business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Get a pulse number when reporting it the Gardai. That way they cannot lazily fob you off with the old line "we will look into it" which can be another way of saying they are not bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

No, I've never reported anyone for no-insurance or for anything else...

I actually could easily, as at least 20-30 out of my friends, acquaintances or just work colleagues drive uninsured.

But why would want to do that?

Having no insurance is very serious but until the rest think so nothing will change along with enforcement as the garda don't even have a database to run off.

Insurance needs a overhaul and the whole.way it's dealt with from price and add Ons to how the Gardai should have access and anpr capabilities to ensure it's followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

PrettyBoy wrote: »

Bob moss ....is that you.....:)

CiniO wrote: »

I actually could easily, as at least 20-30 out of my friends, acquaintances or just work colleagues drive uninsured.

People uninsured are more likely to be ones who take higher risks and honestly are people you don't or I don't for that matter want crossing paths as they couldn't give a fiddle about anyone else around them.

Hopefully they never hit you or knock you or a loved one down as they will walk or run away in most cases or you or others will be stuck with huge costs and or death or life changing injuries.

Report or even throw a anonymous tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yeah why report it, bigger gob****es out there paying insurance premiums that are increasing every year when those cute hoors drive around without it.

Alot of tough words on here saying it's none of your business until one of these uninsured cute hoors smashes into you. Same hard men are the first to whing about spiralling insurance premiums. But keep sticking your head in the sand lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

bazz26 wrote: »
    Get a pulse number when reporting it the Gardai. That way they cannot lazily fob you off with the old line "we will look into it" which can be another way of saying they are not bothered.

Cheers for that info Bazz..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

Noveight wrote: »
    The Garda will put it on the long finger because he knows that Bob probably forgot to put up his disc and will fish it out of the glove box if the law did come knocking.

I can't help but feel like reporting a windscreen which is one disc short of full as being a tad pedantic, especially if everything else is in order.

Maybe, however I can assure you that this individual drives down the road drunk most 5 out of 7 days of the week and doesn't even hold a valid drivers licence. Iv'e seen this first hand as well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Maybe, however I can assure you that this individual drives down the road drunk most 5 out of 7 days of the week and doesn't even hold a valid drivers licence. Iv'e seen this first hand as well..

Pulse number it is so my good friend . and upgrade that to a drink driving charge on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Nice way to treat a regular customer. Why not ask them directly if they are uninsured? Or just mind your own business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭martin101

Too much time on your hands.

People uninsured are more likely to be ones who take higher risks and honestly are people you don't or I don't for that matter want crossing paths as they couldn't give a fiddle about anyone else around them.
    As I said - I know lots of people driving uninsured personally, and I don't think they could be any higher risk than others who pay their premium.
    I cross their path everyday, and nothing bad happened so far.
    Hopefully they never hit you or knock you or a loved one down as they will walk or run away in most cases or you or others will be stuck with huge costs and or death or life changing injuries.
    You are hugely exaggerating.

Death or life changing injury can be caused by anyone's bad driving no matter if insured or not.
    If I or my family was injured or dead by someone, I wouldn't give a hell if they were insured or not.
    Costs - for me it makes no difference. My costs would be covered either by their insurer or MIBI. I'd get what I deserve anyway.
    Report or even throw a anonymous tip.
    I'm not used to be fixing this world. I don't think that mission belongs to me.
    Maybe OP or the likes of him can do it if they wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

As I said - I know lots of people driving uninsured personally, and I don't think they could be any higher risk than others who pay their premium.

Death or life changing injury can be caused by anyone's bad driving no matter if insured or not.
    If I or my family was injured or dead by someone, I wouldn't give a hell if they were insured or not.
    Costs - for me it makes no difference. My costs would be covered either by their insurer or MIBI. I'd get what I deserve anyway.

Are you for real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

Stoolbend wrote: »

Are you for real.

Sadly that is the reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

Stitches for snitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

Insurance is invalid if a person is drunk or doesn't have a driving license so even with an insurance policy this guy would technically still be uninsured.
    I think it would be better to have this guy off the road so you probably should report him. If he is caught drunk behind the wheel it would be an even better result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭lfc200

Very surprised by the reactions of the majority here. Insurance costs in this country are crippling at the moment not limited to the amount of uninsured drivers being involved in collisions but it is a factor.
    Why should those paying insurance have to also cover those drivers? If there's someone that you suspect has no insurance why shouldn't you report it? On the motoring scale it is a serious crime.
    If the driver reported does end up having insurance great but if they didn't it will hopefully be one off the road and they may learn their lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I hope your car gets hit by an uninsured driver (without you in it) and is written off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

Pkiernan wrote: »
    I hope your car gets hit by an uninsured driver (without you in it) and is written off.

Yeah cause he deserves to loose, possibly thousands of euro, just because of a post you don't agree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

And it turn one of the reasons why the premiums of the paying public are so high. Who do you think funds the MIBI? Contributions from peoples premiums, thats who. You might well get your payout from MIBI when something goes wrong with an uninsured driver but its everyone that is funding that.

Buffoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Has anyone here ever reported a car for no insurance?

So last week, I finished work and walking out to my car I noticed a regular customers car had no insurance disk displayed. So called the local garda station. I give the make/model, colour and reg. I stated that "there was a tax and n.c.t disk displayed, however there was no insurance disk displayed" the garda asked me was the car insured? I said "The car had no insurance disk displayed" however, "I was unsure if it was insured or not" The garda mentioned "that the car is usually insured however the, driver probably just didn't put the disk in the holder" So anyway, they said they would look into it. However I didn't hear of the garda visiting Bob Moss (not his real name by the way) So I'm just wondering does it usually take them long to look into situations like this?

If he's just a customer why would you have heard of the guards visiting him? They may have knocked on his door he produced a cert and that was the end of the matter.
    Something fishy about this altogether, that said Ive no problem with someone reporting a person for no insurance as it does cost other drivers, but if its done vindictively because of something else the person has done away from motoring then its pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Why didn't you ever report him for drink driving OP ?

Nothing worse than a snitch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

First thing that came to my mind, must have a boring life to feel the need to stuck your beak in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Wow what a rat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Starting to think this lad is trolling, he has no problem snitching on someone for no insurance but not for driving after having 6 or 7 pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

20-30, that many really, it's one of the reasons that insurance is increasing for law abiding citizens to cover the cost of these numb skulls that think they are above the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Actually, people who drive without insurance tend to be VERY careful. The tiniest "fender bender" whether your fault of anothers, has extremely serious consequences.
    And insurance costs are rising because Insurance Companies made risky investment decisions, and need to recoup losses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

FixitFelix wrote: »
    Starting to think this lad is trolling, he has no problem snitching on someone for no insurance but not for driving after having 6 or 7 pints

Not even no insurance just no disc. I regularly drive yokes that are fully insured but have no disc.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,914 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

So why not add all that detail to complaint when making it? You need insurance details when taxing a car and you need to produce a valid licence when getting insurance.

Picking solely on no insurance disc sounds a bit strange. He might have recently renewed it and is waiting for the disc. Also, why do you think you'd have heard whether or not the guards called to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Actually, people who drive without insurance tend to be VERY careful. The tiniest "fender bender" whether your fault of anothers, has extremely serious consequences.
    And insurance costs are rising because Insurance Companies made risky investment decisions, and need to recoup losses.

Insurance cost are rising for many reasons uninsured drivers being one of them but don't let that stop you talking nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

stats or your opinion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Yeah that definitely shines through in the RSAs statistics on fatal/serious crashes. Sarcasm btw.

In reality, unless there's only a few thousand paying insurance, uninsured drivers or drivers whose insurance status is described as "unknown" (or something weird like that) make up a completely disproportionate amount of these incidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Can the guards just run the reg through the system to check if it's insured or is there more to it?

@OP..there's obviously a bit more to the story than you just spotting that he had no disc displayed,you obviously went looking which is why you're coming across as a snitch.If you 100% knew that he wasn't insured or that he does drink drive then I'd back you but not when it sounds like you're just doing it out of spite not concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Marhay70

With all the current talk about high insurance costs I'm surprised at the attitude of many of the posters here. I can't think of a good reason NOT to report somebody for driving uninsured. People seem to think that getting away with it is " putting one over on the man", when in fact they are only fooling themselves.
    Driving uninsured is an offence, just like stealing and every uninsured driver is, effectively, stealing from all the others who comply with the law.

Colser wrote: »
    Can the guards just run the reg through the system to check if it's insured or is there more to it?

The car might not have a policy but the driver could be covered using their driving other cars extension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Wahey, that didn't take long :rolleyes:

Ah yeah, just let people drive around uninsured if they want while the rest of us pay through the ****in nose to cover the accidents they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Nothing worse than a snitch!

Yeah there is, an arsehole driving around uninsured...or the one defending them. Good to see the usual hardman responses on this thread "snitches get stitches", "Rat", "snitch". Nothing if not predictable is this forum.

salmocab wrote: »
    stats or your opinion?

My experience.

Love how everyone looks for "stats" in chat forums!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

aido79 wrote: »
    Insurance is invalid if a person is drunk or doesn't have a driving license so even with an insurance policy this guy would technically still be uninsured.

Nonsense. The insurance must, by law, pay out third party claims and can then persue the driver for costs.

People going on about MIBI don't seem to realise that it's funded by a levy on their own insurance, so in effect they are paying their uninsured friends premiums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

No disc doesn't mean no insurance, a family member has a car kept for sentimental reasons that's not insured, I regularly take it out for a spin to keep the cobwebs off etc - under my driving other cars part of my policy.

So the car has no disc - but I'm insured to drive it, the car is not insured for theft or anything else but that's our risk.

It would be fierce sound if that was you reporting me op. Feirce sound.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,914 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Cheensbo wrote: »
    a family member has a car kept for sentimental reasons that's not insured, I regularly take it out for a spin to keep the cobwebs off etc - under my driving other cars part of my policy.

You might want to check that you are actually insured. I think the "driving other cars" means you are covered third party, to drive other cars that have an insurance policy on them. Unless the car has an open driving policy and than you are fully insured, providing you meet the criteria for the open driving policy.

I'm open to correction though.

Stoolbend wrote: »
    Are you for real.
    *Kol* wrote: »
    Sadly that is the reality.

So what are you saying?
    That I should report every single one driving without insurance, even though they are my friend, work collegues, etc?
    I thought that's what the Gardai are there for to enforce the laws.
    I'm not going to interfere.

GavMan wrote: »
    And it turn one of the reasons why the premiums of the paying public are so high. Who do you think funds the MIBI? Contributions from peoples premiums, thats who. You might well get your payout from MIBI when something goes wrong with an uninsured driver but its everyone that is funding that.

Buffoon

Yes, I'm fully aware that certain percentage of my premium goes to fund MIBI.
    But me reporting few drivers uninsured won't change anything on the large scale. Firstly they won't buy insurance anyway even if reported. And secondly even if they did, a couple won't make any difference, and my premium won't magically go down just because I reported few uninsured drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

stimpson wrote: »
    Nonsense. The insurance must, by law, pay out third party claims and can then persue the driver for costs.

People going on about MIBI don't seem to realise that it's funded by a levy on their own insurance, so in effect they are paying their uninsured friends premiums.

Thanks for the correction. It's only the fully comprehensive part of the insurance that would be invalid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

I appreciate the effort you put in to try and reduce our premiums OP.
    Given the rest of the window was up to date I'd say they had insurance. I was 2 weeks waiting for my disc to arrive myself.
    In saying that I would be not be one bit put out if a guard arrived at my door and asked for the disc/cert.

Unfortunately as people have said many times over its impossible to know if a driver is insured or not. Even ANPR can only say if the car is registered on some insurance database. The driver could easily have DOC.
    Essentially they need to get the persons details to check their insurance status.

Reporting it to the guards would require them to invest resources in investigating it when they could set up a checkpoint instead and hopefully catch a few of the clowns

The "other" car does not need to be insured by its owner, for your "open driving" policy to civer you driving it. At least, not under FBD's rules.