Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Shame.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,493 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

'District Judge Mark Hamill told the young man "that's how we will protect other victims like this lady in the bath'

I'd like to think he was saying this while whipping out his lightsaber.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

And the daughter accepted his proposal. Good grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

That headline should read 'The eyes of teenager who tried to film fiancees's mother in bath'. He definitely has the creepy peepster look going for him. Really hope the girlfriend sees seense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,079 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Judge Mark Hamill.

Perp with four first names, no last name. Last first name Edgar.

J. (Edgar?) Dyson invented a better Hoover.

I see a screenplay here somewhere....

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

He claimed he was "trying to play a joke" and the court heard how the video he had recorded showed him setting up the camera and then leaving the bathroom with it "clearly in situ".

When arrested and interviewed, Edgar claimed he had been trying to excite his then girlfriend as a "practical joke rather than anything more sinister".
    Giving evidence on his own behalf during his contest, Edgar repeated that claim, and further claimed that after his phone was spotted, he had asked his girlfriend’s mother to give him a lift into town to buy juice in the hope that her daughter would take the bath instead.

The guy's not just stupid in coming up with that story, he thinks everyone else is dumber than him in sticking with it.

And the judge agrees.
    Labelling Edgar's claims as a "fairy story," the judge said his difficulty was that despite repeating his fairytale to probation, they were recommending a period of rehabilitation.

"I don't understand why I should even contemplate probation," said Judge Hamill, "probation is for someone who acknowledges that they have a problem to deal with the problem but he is someone who does even acknowledge that he has a problem."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I was imagining some spy camera gadget hidden in the roof, but no he used an iPad and a mobile in a slipper. This lads obviously about as thick as two short planks, but his girlfriend must be even stupider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

McDermotX wrote: »
    'District Judge Mark Hamill told the young man "that's how we will protect other victims like this lady in the bath'

Oooh matron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,546 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I heard the Defence team say the girlfriend's name was Stacy and exhibit A was a song from 2003...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

What an absolute wretch of a woman to report such a trivial incident and have him put though was he has been put through.

Sickening beyond belief.

She's a victim of what. How has she suffered ? Don't make me laugh. What a utter utter b**ch to do what she did.

learn_more wrote: »
    What an absolute wretch of a woman to report such a trivial incident and have him put though was he has been put through.

Sickening beyond belief.

She's a victim of what. How has she suffered ? Don't make me laugh. What a utter utter b**ch to do what she did.

um.......

em.......

nope!

if I were your S.O.'s mother I'd be checking for ridiculously placed slippers in the bathroom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Jesus it's like he's posing and the cameraman, in an Austin powers voice, shouting " lookmysterious baby, yeah"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭claregal1

Sickening beyond belief.

And this is comming from a guy who's last post on this was of taking photos of his d**k* and was concerned that Facebook had posted them ...... classy - you seem a bit fond of the camera yourself .....

claregal1 wrote: »
    And this is comming from a guy who's last post on this was of taking photos of his d**k* and was concerned that Facebook had posted them ...... classy - you seem a bit fond of the camera yourself .....

Oh, have you been doing some investigating yourself. Why don't you report me to the police.

I 've never heard of such an absurd case in all my life and what an absolute waste of public money.

Just shockingly unbelievable this story is. Just unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

That wedding would be gas craic.

on the invitation to the afters it clearly reads...

"no cameras"

Sure it would. The police would be at it as well as the judge who presided over the case as well as the disgusting photographer who took the pic of the guy as well the disgusting journalist who wrote up the story for that disgusting media outlet that is indendant.ie. All looking for more salacious gossip and stories for all those righteous sanctimonious perfects who salivate over such stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Such a weird story. The I read Newtownards and it all made kinda weird sense.

Oh, have you been doing some investigating yourself. Why don't you report me to the police.

I 've never heard of such an absurd case in all my life and what an absolute waste of public money.

Just shockingly unbelievable this story is. Just unbelievable.

Obviously you would find it unbelievable seeing as you seem a bit fond of the camera yourself ....

claregal1 wrote: »
    Obviously you would find it unbelievable seeing as you seem a bit fond of the camera yourself ....

Are you going to keep making the same point over and over again all day long.

You could try to make one single valid point against anything I said. But you can't cause their ain't any.

What IS your sanctimonious objection to personal pics if you don't mind me asking?

What is your objection to a woman reporting a peeping Tom who tried to video her taking a bath in the privacy of her own home ??

Do you think that is normal behaviour ????

What IS your sanctimonious objection to personal pics if you don't mind me asking?

See? the key word there is "personal".

let me spell it out for you. if you want to take pictures of your Johnson then go right ahead and zoom in.

if you want to share them on FB and watch the number of your "friends" drop off, then go right ahead.

but that's you making that call - not someone else. you get it yet? He'd no right to record anyone else naked. its a breach of privacy. that video could have ended up on the Internet and seen by thousands. that's the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

learn_more wrote:

Sickening beyond belief.

learn_more wrote:

I hope you are having us on. Otherwise your moral compass needs remagnetizing.

That creepy little boll*x.

The daughter must have no self respect if she's still with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Learn_more, maybe take your usernames advise and actually learn a bit more when it comes to privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Pics or gtfo

everlast75 wrote: »
    See? the key word there is "personal".

let me spell it out for you. if you want to take pictures of your Johnson then go right ahead and zoom in.

if you want to share them on FB and watch the number of your "friends" drop off, then go right ahead.

but that's you making that call - not someone else. you get it yet? He'd no right to record anyone else naked. its a breach of privacy. that video could have ended up on the Internet and seen by thousands. that's the issue.

He'd no right to do it. Im overawed by your longwinded single point that you took the scenic route to make. And it could have been seen by thousands. lol.I just cant take these hysteral points seriously. Thanks for the laugh though and i have laughed. Looking forward to some more hysteric points after i get some shut eye here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

The depressing thing is that on the other hand, you have self-righteous so-and-sos who then sneer that if people didn't want revenge porn put up on the internet of them, they shouldn't let naked pictures be taken of themselves.

Then this eejit attempts (incompetent, true, but still attempts) to video his prospective mother-in-law in the bath and there's people who absolutely explode at not only that someone would sue the brat, but win too.
    He'd no right to do it. Im overawed by your longwinded single point that you took the scenic route to make. And it could have been seen by thousands. lol.I just cant take these hysteral points seriously. Thanks for the laugh though and i have laughed. Looking forward to some more hysteric points after i get some shut eye here.

..The irony of calling other peoples points hysterical after your last few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

And yet the daughter has decided he's a keeper ??

I just cant take these hysteral points seriously. Thanks for the laugh though and i have laughed...

It doesn't sound like you have laughed.

It sounds like you were angry. With the law, the Judge, the media, the mother for making the complaint and other posters here.

In fact with everyone except the fellow who broke the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Sickening beyond belief.

There's always one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

The only person who would complain about the mother reporting is would be the accused...........wait a minute..

Anyone else suspecting that the teenager that was charged is the same person as learn_more?

So, is the wedding still going ahead?

Samaris wrote: »

I wouldn't give it huge hope.

The whole thing is a little sad, if indeed a family has been torn apart. But there is only one person to blame.

The poor woman must have been mortified, and sick. Her daughter's boyfriend. What a violation of trust and privacy. It was brave of her to go public.

I wouldn't give it huge hope.

The whole thing is a little sad, if indeed a family has been torn apart. But there is only one person to blame.

The poor woman must have been mortified, and sick. Her daughter's boyfriend. What a violation of trust and privacy. It was brave of her to go public.

I don't think I'd be hoping for it at all! :D Although yeah, my post was a bit flippant.

I'd have been raging if I was her.

bear1 wrote: »
    Anyone else suspecting that the teenager that was charged is the same person as learn_more?

I don't think his point is entirely outrageous.

It possibly isn't pressing news, there was probably more serious sentences handed down in that same court that day that will go unnoticed. But it's always a case that the media will jump all over, it has that titillating aspect, no journo present at Court would allow that one slip by. Again, the person at fault is the offender, he can't control the media's reaction to a case like this.

Samaris wrote: »

Hold on lets ask learn_more :D

McDermotX wrote: »

"You're all talk Hamill. You never even finished Jedi school!"

I don't think his point is entirely outrageous.

It possibly isn't pressing news, there was probably more serious sentences handed down in that same court that day that will go unnoticed. But it's always a case that the media will jump all over, it has that titillating aspect, no journo present at Court would allow that one slip by. Again, the person at fault is the offender, he can't control the media's reaction to a case like this.

If his point was "why is the media even caring", sure, I'd agree. But his point appears to be how dare the woman destroy this poor young man's life and put him through all this because she has the brass neck to object to being filmed "secretly" in the bath.

Which is pretty unreasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Anyone else disappointed there's no picture of the mother in the article?

Senna wrote: »
    Anyone else disappointed there's no picture of the mother in the article?

I suspect the media was tempted but even they realised that it'd be playing to a certain angle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

We'll probably be reading about this fella again in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Revolting :( Such an invasion of privacy and a violation, in her own home, by someone who was going to join her family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

.......by someone who was going to join her family.
    Please, that things stop here with wedding plans etc. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Sickening beyond belief.

Are you him... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Sickening beyond belief.

you gotta be kiddin right??

she's the one gettin perv'ed on and its her fault :confused:

*what an apt username, cause you really do need to learn more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

theteal wrote: »
    Such a weird story. The I read Newtownards and it all made kinda weird sense.

The perv wasn't from newtownards though, he was from Portaferry. Anyway does newtownards have a high number of son in laws who secretly record their mother in laws in the bathroom??

Re the poster earlier trying to pass the blame onto the mother how ridiculous is that? Sounds like the sort who would question what a girl was wearing if she was raped rather than blame the culprit. Pretty low.

As for the marriage still being on I can predict that will end well for all.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

"You're going to court on trial for being a pervert try to act and look norm... oh for fcuk sake"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Jesus it's like he's posing and the cameraman, in an Austin powers voice, shouting " lookmysterious baby, yeah"

I've seen a lot of odd photos being posted accompanying articles recently, especially ones that were just ripped off the internet.

This was the best/worst so far, for a stockbroker link

article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I've seen a lot of odd photos being posted accompanying articles recently, especially ones that were just ripped off the internet.

This was the best/worst so far, for a stockbroker link

article

Jaysus, that stockbroker sounds like a character from the fast show. You can just imagine him toasting Satan in that picture.