Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oktoberfest 2016

• 08-09-2016 8:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29

So I'm going to the Oktoberfest in Munich with a group of lads in a few weeks for 3 days. Have any of ye been? What are yer experiences like? Anything I should look out for, any tips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Enjoy good beer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

gary0345 wrote: »
    So I'm going to the Oktoberfest in Munich with a group of lads in a few weeks for 3 days. Have any of ye been? What are yer experiences like? Anything I should look out for, any tips?

I went last year.

Bring your own beer, because for some unknown reason, the Germans prohibit the selling of alcoholic beverages for the duration of the festival, everywhere.

Few naggins be grand though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I went many years ago. It's just beer, beer and more beer.

Tips? Don't bother. You can get beer at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

The tents get wedged early so plan accordingly. It's the mother and father of all sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,962 ✭✭✭gifted

Any good bands playing?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I happened to be in Berlin around Oktoberfest a few years ago, one of the breweries set up a tent for it and it was brilliant craic. Not absolutely packed like the official Oktoberfest, but enough of a crowd so that it was good fun.

So my advice is go to Berlin :pac:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

drinking is bad for u, why don't you go swimming or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭SeanW

It should be fun - I would recommend at least one trip to Oktoberfest for any young man.

I actually did this about 10 years ago. The best advice I can give you is to watch how much you drink. From my experience you need to be very careful or you WILL go too far. (And for me, I am not the type to do that, which makes it all the more unusual). There are two things in particular that may cause to misjudge your limits.
    1. Beer is sold not by the pint (roughly half a litre as in Ireland), but by the Mass (1 litre) so "just one more" is going to contain a lot more alchohol than "just one more" in Ireland.
    2. The beers do not taste as "heavy" as they do in this part of the world, Europeans drink mainly lager beers, I found that the stuff they sold at Oktoberfest to taste deceptively light. I say that because it tastes light but it hits you like a freight train.
    If you keep the above in mind, the only other advice (assuming you have flights, accommodation sorted) is to have fun! Because it's going to be a blast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Has anybody cropped up yet to share the groundbreaking bulletin that they don't need alcohol to enjoy themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Has anybody cropped up yet to share the groundbreaking bulletin that they don't need alcohol to enjoy themselves?

I think you have sort of missed the point of Oktoberfest...ya know the German beer festival :pac:

Also, the OP doesn't mention getting shítfaced, but don't let than stop you getting up on your high horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Dave0301 wrote: »
    I think you have sort of missed the point of Oktoberfest...ya know the German beer festival :pac:

Also, the OP doesn't mention getting shítfaced, but don't let than stop you getting up on your high horse.

Whoosh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Whoosh.

My bad...I enjoy it too much :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,573 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

XR3i wrote: »
    drinking is bad for u, why don't you go swimming or something

Swimming isn't going to get him divorced, homeless and sucking cock for cans is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,797 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Oktoberfest is notoriously risky for the uninitiated, so you should probably watch this helpful german public health documentary for some safety tips

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0486551/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

How many of ye are going? If there's more than 4, it will be tough enough to get a table inside the tent. There's plenty of room outside though. It get's very busy, but it's a lot of fun. It gets very messy at night, as in, nothing like I have ever seen in Ireland before. I would suggest going during the day, much better craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Went once. Was great craic. Seeing another part of the world is good for the soul.

Love the docklands now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 gary0345

How many of ye are going? If there's more than 4, it will be tough enough to get a table inside the tent. There's plenty of room outside though. It get's very busy, but it's a lot of fun. It gets very messy at night, as in, nothing like I have ever seen in Ireland before. I would suggest going during the day, much better craic.

Thank for your advice, there is 7 of us going so far . I'm guessing that's going to make it very difficult from us to get a table inside the tent.what's the price of food and beer at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Beer, roast meet, cleavage, oompah bands. When I went as a twenty something, it was my idea of paradise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Tibulus

Was there last year and returning again this year.

Could anyone recommend a place to hit after the festival?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

Tibulus wrote: »
    Was there last year and returning again this year.

Could anyone recommend a place to hit after the festival?

The priory worked for me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

ya i bet there is some lovely covered bridges or something to go see instead

lighten up would ya

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

WHADIDIDDLADA BA WHA DA DIBBY UP MAYO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Went once, ****ed if I can remember anything to offer tips

Oh yeah the idea of wimmens of all ages wearing those silly dresses sounds awful until you realise german wimmens age really well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭zSparc

Anything I should look out for, any tips?

Germans, beer and the "refugees".