Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-duty garda knocked unconscious trying to protect GAA referee

• 07-09-2016 8:45am
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭

From Irish Times:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/off-duty-garda-knocked-unconscious-trying-to-protect-gaa-referee-1.2782469
    An off-duty detective was knocked unconscious as he tried to protect a referee at an underage Gaelic football match in Co Sligo.
    The detective had come to the assistance of the referee who was being verbally abused at the end of a minor match between Shamrock Gaels and Owenmore Gaels last Friday at Coola.
    While the referee escaped injury, the garda is understood to have been struck at least once and reportedly briefly lost consciousness.
    Jerry O’Connor, who is secretary of the Sligo County Board said it was very serious incident and “we would hope that the victim of the assault makes a full recovery.”
    Mr O’Connor said it appeared there was an altercation at the end of the match and the assault was at “the higher end of the scale. It was certainly pretty vicious”, he told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland.
    Mr O’Connor said he could not comment on who was involved.
    In a statement on its Facebook page Owenmore Gaels said: “Following the minor match in Coola on Friday night September 2nd the club would like to emphasise it does not condone the scenes that followed. We are carrying out our own investigation and are awaiting the findings of the CCC and referees report.”
    A Garda spokesman said they were investigating an assault on a man his early 40s at Coola, Sooey, Riverstown, Co Sligo on September 2nd, shortly after 8pm.

Listening to Eamon O'Hara on this and its sounded pretty bad. Buddy of mine is a ref in Galway and he was badly verbally abused during a game lately and had to stop the match.

Ill hold my hands up and will say I've sent barrels of verbals to refs during Mayo games, not that he'd even hear me, but the events in Sligo is a different level altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

What investigation is needed by the club I wonder ? I'm absolutely certain they know exactly who carried out this assault

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Far too much big man syndrome in sligo football. Was almost always confined to the players and not the fans in what I've seen but this sounds terrible.

Lifetime ban incoming?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Jayop wrote: »
    Far too much big man syndrome in sligo football. Was almost always confined to the players and not the fans in what I've seen but this sounds terrible.

Lifetime ban incoming?

Well that lad who decided to run onto the pitch in Limerick didn't help the cause and has probably given other idiots the brainwave to do the same.

I got attacked by a "mammy" during a schools game I reffed 25 years ago, was funny stuff, she was whalling me with the umbrella until her son dragged her away! :) Though I was only 15 which wasn't a good thing for her! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Jail time hopefully for this scumbag and a lifetime ban for anything to do with the GAA.

Kinda sounds like it could have been one of the players reading that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Hopefully jail time and a life time ban from any GAA match.

An absolute thuggish act of the highest order. I hope the club who will know clearly who it was, bring his name straight to the guards. Actually think the club should get a small ban too so it might weed out the thug supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Lifetime ban incoming?

Any ban will be "reviewed" after a year or two and quietly dropped. Depending on the circumstances the attacker may or may not achieve "legend" status locally.
    yop wrote: »
    Well that lad who decided to run onto the pitch in Limerick didn't help the cause and has probably given other idiots the brainwave to do the same.

That was Mayo, he is now a "legend", I've seen him at inter-county matches at least twice since then. Not sure if he was ever banned.

Jail time hopefully for this scumbag and a lifetime ban for anything to do with the GAA.

Won't happen.

The only way this will be resolved is for the GAA HQ to lay into this and any future acts. The club need to be banned from whatever tournament they were in, if they are out, then they need to be banned for next year or start will a points difference of -10.

I honestly have no idea why the ref's don't bring their demands for more protection to HQ with the aim of going on strike early next summer to look for some action from the GAA, the abuse has gotten worse over the years, there's no doubt about that. There isn't a chance in hell I'd ever ref a match and I've been approached a fair few times over it.

You can play a match without abusing refs, just watch rugby, be it league or union.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Red Kev wrote: »
    Any ban will be "reviewed" after a year or two and quietly dropped. Depending on the circumstances the attacker may or may not achieve "legend" status locally.

That was Mayo, he is now a "legend", I've seen him at inter-county matches at least twice since then. Not sure if he was ever banned.

Won't happen.

The only way this will be resolved is for the GAA HQ to lay into this and any future acts. The club need to be banned from whatever tournament they were in, if they are out, then they need to be banned for next year or start will a points difference of -10.

I honestly have no idea why the ref's don't bring their demands for more protection to HQ with the aim of going on strike early next summer to look for some action from the GAA, the abuse has gotten worse over the years, there's no doubt about that. There isn't a chance in hell I'd ever ref a match and I've been approached a fair few times over it.

You can play a match without abusing refs, just watch rugby, be it league or union.

He isn't a legend in Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭paul0103

I think the only way to put an end to this is lengthy bans for the people (players?) involved and the club.

What seems to be slightly confusing form the article in the Independent anyway is that it seems it was the winning club who were the ones that were having a go at the ref..strange!

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/probe-launched-as-garda-is-beaten-unconscious-in-brawl-at-minor-gaa-game-35028289.html
    Owenmore won the game by two points to reach their first ever top-grade minor final, but some of their club members were upset that Mr Hynes had played eight minutes' additional time at the end of the game at Shamrock's Coola pitch. There had been 12 substitutions in the second half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Eh, banned from GAA matches, what?

This guy needs to do time in jail for assault (assuming he's found guilty).

Well I assume that legally it will be sorted out also. Assaulting a Garda probably doesn't ever end too well for the perpetrator.

But the whole business of players/managers/supporters surrounding a ref after matches needs to stop too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Tends to raise a great laugh whenever it's mentioned, I've met plenty of Mayo supporters who were disgusted by him, but plenty who think he's "gas craic" "legend" etc. It's no slight on Mayo, every county, including my own would have people thinking along those lines and that in itself is a problem.

Two different cases here:

The assault will be dealt with by the Gardai and the courts system, any banning from pitches or GAA activities is the sole prerogative of the GAA. Ideally the perpetrators will do time and be banned, we'll just have to wait and see.

Tends to raise a great laugh whenever it's mentioned, I've met plenty of Mayo supporters who were disgusted by him, but plenty who think he's "gas craic" "legend" etc. It's no slight on Mayo, every county, including my own would have people thinking along those lines and that in itself is a problem.

The assault will be dealt with by the Gardai and the courts system, any banning from pitches or GAA activities is the sole prerogative of the GAA. Ideally the perpetrators will do time and be banned, we'll just have to wait and see.

Ah there are lads who think abusing animals is great craic too ;)

Whats made it worse is that this lad, who lives a couple of miles away from me, thinks he's now an authority on Mayo GAA.
    I met him at a funeral there before the Kildare game and he reckoned we'd be beaten by 5 or 6 points and that AOS was the worst player on the panel.

Anyway, not correct to be commenting on one individual, but I agree that posters who say these lads need jail time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

They need to jail people for this stuff, for everyone's sake. Talk to coaches or refs and they'll tell you that lunatic parents on the sideline are the hardest part of underage games. Normally men in their 40s or 50s who scream abuse at both the referees and the children on the playing field for a solid hour. It's appalling on every level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Doesn't say what the guard did to provoke the altercation. Seems it was only verbal before he interceded. I doubt it was simply 'ah lads leave it out'.

Obviously no justification for what transpired though. Assault is assault and the offender should be prosecuted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Completely understand that - and not ignoring this is a GAA forum - but the banning from GAA matches should not be considered in the same league (see what I did there) as the legal prosecution repercussions (if guilty).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Get Real

corny wrote: »
    Doesn't say what the guard did to provoke the altercation. Seems it was only verbal before he interceded. I doubt it was simply 'ah lads leave it out'.

Obviously no justification for what transpired though. Assault is assault and the offender should be prosecuted.

Or maybe the offender would have just assaulted the ref instead if the Garda didn't intervene?

It's funny, you imply the garda, by intervening, could have brought it on himself, yet if he stood by, did nothing, and an assault on the ref happened,(during the guards personal day off) some locals would question "well why didn't Joe bloggs do anything, he's a guard" and people would have that view.

So he can't win in either scenario?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

paul0103 wrote: »
    I think the only way to put an end to this is lengthy bans for the people (players?) involved and the club.

What seems to be slightly confusing form the article in the Independent anyway is that it seems it was the winning club who were the ones that were having a go at the ref..strange!

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/probe-launched-as-garda-is-beaten-unconscious-in-brawl-at-minor-gaa-game-35028289.html
    With the new rules on substitutions and added time, 8 minutes would be pretty much spot on by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

From http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/probe-launched-as-garda-is-beaten-unconscious-in-brawl-at-minor-gaa-game-35028289.html
    After he fell to the ground it is alleged he was kicked repeatedly in the head, suffering a nasty ear injury. He also lost consciousness for a time.
    If jail time isn't an option for some stupid reason, hope the coward who kicked the garda in the head has his life f**ked over by hte Gardai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

With the new rules on substitutions and added time, 8 minutes would be pretty much spot on by the looks of it.

He was attacked by "supporters" of the winning team ?

Jeez, I'd hate to see what they're like when they actually lose a game

He was attacked by "supporters" of the winning team ?

Jeez, I'd hate to see what they're like when they actually lose a game

I can't tell by either the indo or times article if it was the players or fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Another thing that could be available, would be for the club to be kicked out of the championship and not take their place in the final - if it is indeed "club members" that carried out the assault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Get Real wrote: »
    Or maybe the offender would have just assaulted the ref instead if the Garda didn't intervene?

It's funny, you imply the garda, by intervening, could have brought it on himself, yet if he stood by, did nothing, and an assault on the ref happened,(during the guards personal day off) some locals would question "well why didn't Joe bloggs do anything, he's a guard" and people would have that view.

So he can't win in either scenario?

Yeah thats what i'd like to know.

I didn't imply anything btw. I clearly said nothing excuses the fact he assaulted him. I'd just like to know how it escalated. Is that wrong of me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

A truly honourable deed by the off duty garda to intervene and attempt to protect the referee.Life time ban for the offender and jail time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I'd beg to differ.

I've seen him at or before 4 Mayo games this year:

Fermanagh, Westmeath, Tyrone and Tipperary. He has been in the Croke Park hotel before the Croke Park games.

He always gets a big cheer, people shaking his hand taking photo's with him, 2 years on from the event.

And yes, the word "legend" is used quite liberally towards him.

It infuriates me, but thankfully, judging by this thread, it seems he's not popular with everyone in Mayo.

This isn't me being anti-Mayo or anything, my fiance is from Mayo, and as I have said, I've been to plenty Mayo games this year. I'll support them strongly in the final (if I can pick up a ticket), but there is a certain sizable group of Mayo supporters who do view this man as a hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

This is a police matter. Anyone who does not assist the investigation and prosecution of this should also face charges. It is past time that the excuses were fcuked out the window and someone did three years in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Violence isn't taken seriously by the GAA.

It's part and parcel of the game. An auld schemozzle.

One day, someone will die or get beaten into a coma. It will take a horrific incident to produce meaningful action.

And some compensation to hit them in the pocket for millions of euro.

Jimbob1977 wrote: »

One day, someone will die or get beaten into a coma. It will take a horrific incident to produce meaningful action.

There's a big difference between a schmozzle and someone getting kicked around the head on the ground, but unfortunately allowing one seems to breed the other.

Luckily (?) this was a Garda that was hit, but unfortunately he was beat into a coma, so hopefully justice shall hit back with a vengeance!

There's a big difference between a schmozzle and someone getting kicked around the head on the ground, but unfortunately allowing one seems to breed the other.

Precisely. Lack of discipline is engrained in GAA culture. Sometimes the club officers are the worst.

Rugby is a tough and physical sport, with gouges, stamps and forearm smashes, but....

o You swear at the referee - red card

o Only the captain can approach the referee

the_syco wrote: »
    Luckily (?) this was a Garda that was hit, but unfortunately he was beat into a coma, so hopefully justice shall hit back with a vengeance!

Was he knocked unconscious (temporarily) or did he lapse into a coma, do you know?

The Indo states that he "lost consciousness for a time", after "he was kicked repeatedly in the head".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Jimbob1977 wrote:

This has already happened, I can't link because I am on the phone, but if you Google Mark McGovern Fermanagh you should get the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭breffni bogballer

Has anybody who was banned from all GAA grounds ever actually being banned,I know of a man that was banned here in cavan that was at a match within 2 weeks. Personnally i think it would be very hard to implement and not 2 many clubs will turn away paying customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Bizarre scenario. The alleged victim and offenders (parent and 2 brothers who were playing) are apparently all from the same club - which happened to win the game.

There has been a string of incidents involving referees over the last couple of years in Sligo and the county board are a joke if what's being said is to be believed. Bans being dramatically reduced on appeal and stuff like that.

Referees in all sports need to be off limits, you achieve that by issuing heavy bans to anyone abusing them.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    I'd beg to differ.

I've seen him at or before 4 Mayo games this year:

Fermanagh, Westmeath, Tyrone and Tipperary. He has been in the Croke Park hotel before the Croke Park games.

He always gets a big cheer, people shaking his hand taking photo's with him, 2 years on from the event.

And yes, the word "legend" is used quite liberally towards him.

It infuriates me, but thankfully, judging by this thread, it seems he's not popular with everyone in Mayo.

This isn't me being anti-Mayo or anything, my fiance is from Mayo, and as I have said, I've been to plenty Mayo games this year. I'll support them strongly in the final (if I can pick up a ticket), but there is a certain sizable group of Mayo supporters who do view this man as a hero.

He might be a legend to a bunch of lads who haven't seen the outside of Mayo aside from going to Croker. For the rest of us he was an embarrassment and even more so the fact he still thinks what he did was right!! :P:rolleyes::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Its easy throw the club out of the championship. And a big fine. Noone likes a big fine. If the county board are seen to be weak with a ban etc. Croke Park should step in and increase the ban.

Also put them on a warning anymore further incidents will be dealt with by a 5 yr ban from any matches.

If players were involved. Lifetime bans. It was a minor game. It's starting young you need to nip it in the bud.

If it does turn out to be a player something like this would be welcomed.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/17yearold-rugby-star-gets-15year-ban-for-mass-brawl-that-saw-player-kicked-in-the-head-35035297.html
    An Australian youth rugby player has been banned from the sport for 15 years after a mass brawl broke out following an U17 Grand Final.
    An Avalon player was reportedly kicked in the head as he received treatment from medical staff, according to the Australian Telegraph.