Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you could time travel to any place in time, where & when would it be?

• 06-09-2016 7:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭

So you've come out of the pub/club in the early hours, only to discover Dr Who's Tardis abandoned in a side ally, the door's ajar and there's nobody at home, and the dials are set for one last voayage back (or forward) in time...

A return journey, but for one day/one night only!

So where & when in time would you go, and apart from taking loads of pictures what else would you do when you got there?

PS: There's a fully equiped wardrobe in the TARDIS should you wish to dress accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The loaves and fishes meeting Jesus held. It'd be good to see what he was really like in person aside from the myth and legend surrounding him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Praia da Luz, Portugal, May 3rd, 2007. I need to know.

I'd save her too.. obviously.

/hero

1989, a rave, somewhere in the North of England.

Sure, not exactly profound...but fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Sometime during the Roman era when they were having their orgies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

take Hitler out!

Maybe a nice meal and he wouldn't have turned out to be a complete knut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

You'd like to get maddie into your Tardis wouldn't you filthy animal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I'd go back to 1920s New York see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

/hero

You'd save her by taking her away...who's to say you haven't invented time travel in the future and done just that.

I think I just solved the mystery of the Madeline McCann disappearance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I'd go back a year and put 10 grand on Leicester to win the league

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

22:00hrs 06th September 2016.

Just to make sure it works and that the return journey bit isnt a lie.

Cant be missing The Walking Dead like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭badabing106

I'd bring a secure secret full HD camera set up zoomed on the grave of Jesus, when he was supposed to have arisen from death after three days, live streaming this to the whole world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Vodafone was down that day.

I'd bring a full HD camera set up zoomed on the grave of Jesus, live streaming to the whole world ,when he was supposed to have arisen from death after three days

Livestreaming, eh? Whole lot of internet architecture around in 33AD, was there?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

pick up next weeks euro-lotto numbers

But the Tardis is big, could go back and pickup some Dinos or Neanderthals or Giant Sloths or Trilobites.

OK get Neanderthals and the ice age fauna. Best pick them up at the co-ordinates of where ever the biggest gold nugget was found

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

everlast75 wrote: »
    take Hitler out!

https://xkcd.com/1063

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I would go 10,000 years into the future and take a tour of the galaxy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Travel 100 years in to the future, take photos and notes and some sort of proof I was able to time travel 100 years in to the future and return, and then come back and try to warn the leaders of todays G20 on where they are going wrong, what road they should travel etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I would like to go back and witness an old western cowboy town,also if possible back to the Roman times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Go back and warn John Hammond about those frogs.

I would use it to give the most accurate answer ever to the job interview question 'Where do you see yourself five years from now?'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

"The Rooftop concert" 30th January 69, 3 Savile Row, London, W1S 2ER.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

FTA69 wrote: »
    The loaves and fishes meeting Jesus held. It'd be good to see what he was really like in person aside from the myth and legend surrounding him.

I saw Richard Dawkins being asked the same question and he gave a similar answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

6p, May 8th, 1987 in Armagh along the road to Loughgall police station to warn the East Tyrone ASU about the SAS ambush ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Good question.

I would love to be rich in the 1970's. When I look back on TV shows in that era I think it's perfect. I dunno why , it just looks idyllic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I w0uld like to have seen The Rumble in the Jungle, or maybe Duran beating Leonard in 1980.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

6p, May 8th, 1987 in Armagh along the road to Loughgall police station to warn the East Tyrone ASU about the SAS ambush ahead.

You would warn the PIRA terrorists (whose weapons were found to have been used in previous murders ), even though they attacked the police station with a large bomb and guns before the SAS fired back .....yet you would not think of warning the innocent people killed in restaurants by the Balcombe st IRA gang in London, who murdered innocent people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Back2work

New York in the 1970's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Back2work wrote: »
    New York in the 1970's

Good call. While in fairness there's probably more interesting and profound answers to this question 70's New York always struck me as a pretty cool place to be.

Personally if given the choice I'd probably go forward rather than back. Be so interesting to see what the world will look like thousands of years from now.

There's probably equal chance that we'll either have developed unimaginably amazing technology, we'll have been wiped out by something like an asteroid or a terrible disease or else we'll have fcuked the place up completely and the few of us that are left will have gone back to living in caves.

Given how we carry on now, if Paddy Power was doing odds on this I reckon the last option would be favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

The driveway of the house where I grew up 18th September 1982 around 1.00pm
    Just to catch the 4 classmates and neighbours (scrotes as it turned out on the day) who had come in with me on good terms but ran off with my toys and made pure sh1t of them by dropping rocks on them while i was gone in home for 2mins.
    I spent 10 years in school sometimes in the same class as them when all i wanted to do was strangle the fookers
    I hope ye rot in hell lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Vinculus

I'd go back. To Dublin in the twenties and try and get a job with Harry Clarke and then see if James Joyce fancies going for a pint.
    And then go forward a few decades and try hang out with The Velvet Underground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Dice75

sugarman wrote: »
    As a massive Ireland fan who follows the team everywhere

12th June 1988 - Ireland v England, Euro 88. without a shadow of a doubt.

What id do to experience our first major finals, and better yet, beating the aul enemy.

Least I can say i did this one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Nowhere because the earth moves at 30km/sec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Id go back to my conception and get my da to pull out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I would go back about 40,000 years or so. I would find the least inhabited region of earth, climb the highest hill and stand there and breathe deep. That's it. Just breathe. The air would be pure, fresh, utterly unpolluted. I can't even imagine what that would be like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

I would go back about 40,000 years or so. I would find the least inhabited region of earth, climb the highest hill and stand there and breathe deep. That's it. Just breathe. The air would be pure, fresh, utterly unpolluted. I can't even imagine what that would be like.

40,000 years ago was not good... sorry.
    wrote:
    Campanian Ignimbrite (CI) eruption in Italy 40,000 years ago was one of the largest volcanic cataclysms in Europe and injected a significant amount of sulfur-dioxide (SO2) into the stratosphere.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phlegraean_Fields

5000 years ago would probably do it... :) and you'd find me there too..... ahhhhhhh!

Tazio wrote: »
    40,000 years ago was not good... sorry.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phlegraean_Fields

5000 years ago would probably do it... :) and you'd find me there too..... ahhhhhhh!

Fair enough! Just drop me where there are as few humans as possible. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Fair enough! Just drop me where there are as few humans as possible. :P
    You could save yourself the trouble and just go to Leitrim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Battle of Bosworth, 22nd of August 1485.

High up in a tree with binoculars > Just to see exactly what happened to Richard the III and his army....the smell of gunpowder, charging horses, armour, swords, cannon, etc.
    Fascinating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jrop

I'd like to go back to 1996 to have a coffee and a chat with my late father

Also, I would go to London in 1888 and catch Jack the Ripper!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

maryishere wrote: »
    You would warn the PIRA terrorists (whose weapons were found to have been used in previous murders ), even though they attacked the police station with a large bomb and guns before the SAS fired back .....yet you would not think of warning the innocent people killed in restaurants by the Balcombe st IRA gang in London, who murdered innocent people?

This was part of the IRA's strategy in 1980's to create liberated zones by destroying barracks & police stations. Just like the IRA of the 1920's did that this state honors now.

If I could warn anyone about a trouble attack on civilians I probably would have picked Omagh, Birmingham or Dublin. I think thats pretty selfish of you to pick London were a lot less people died compared to other parts of England or Ireland during the war. Maybe you would have liked to have gone back to 1976 and warned the Maguire family that they were about to be framed by the state & thrown in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

2nd August 216 BC in Apulia, in southeast Italy.
    Around dawn, perched on a rocky outcrop.
    To the east a huge dust cloud is rising in the early light, as the day brightens an even larger darker cloud is visible in the west.
    After fighting through Spain, crossing the Alp's and laying waist to city's across Italy, Hannibal General of Cartage, Master of Elephants the Lion cub of Hamilcar Barca, marches his army onto the field.
    The larger cloud approaches flying the banners and unmistakable Eagle of Rome. Eight Roman legions start to take position.
    I'm about to witness the Battle of Cannae.
    One the the greatest and most devastating victories in military history.

"the quick and the dead"

It wasn't good to be on the loosing side in any battles back then. Romans had a standard policy like the Mongols later when laying siege to a city - If you don't surrender now we'll kill everyone, and then do that.

Rome lost that battle but won the war. A whole civilisation more or less erased. And America could have been visited much earlier.

Carthago delenda est

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

What people also forget about the Loughall ambush is that a large number of RUC policemen were wounded, some maimed by the bomb and of course, the civilian in the car was also killed, so it certainly wasn't a clearcut, one-sided victory. The dead IRA men had racked up a serious number of murders themselves so there were no clean hands there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

I probably should go into the future, a few hundred years. I don't know if the rules allow me to take stuff back with me, but if I could, I would take some unlimited-power-source (like Mr Fusion from Back To The Future). If I cant take things, then I will bring back some new ideas.

But I really would like to go to 1966 and see The Doors at the Whisky A Go Go...... Or go to Woodstock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd probably go forward. Things start off bad today and just get worse and worse as you go back in time. I'd wager that pretty much anywhere in history you appear rather than have fun you'd be killed rather quickly by, most likely people but if not, disease.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

As much fun as it would be to see historic events or even provide warnings for impending disasters I think if I could go back in time I'd resolve some personal tragedies in my own family and social circle :)

Apart from that there are some unexplained mysteries I'd like to go back and explore,

1) The origin of the Voynich manuscript, a book written in an unknown language in the mid 1400s that has still to this day not been translated or decoded despite being studied by the best cryptographers in the world.

2) February 1959, Dyatlov Pass

3) June 1947, Strait of Malacca (Ourang Medan ghost ship)

And for stopping a disaster, I guess I'd go with Pripyat in March 1986

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

everlast75 wrote: »
    take Hitler out!

Maybe a nice meal and he wouldn't have turned out to be a complete knut

Bad idea. Then Stalin builds up his forces and launches an invasion of Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

I'd like to go back to a couple of dates in my youth...maybe change a few things, if I could.

1. I'd go back to 1965 (any day that year) and kick seven kinds of ****e out of the evil bastard I was apprenticed to.
    Especially, I'd re-visit the day he turned the lit Oxy/Ace Torch on my hand because I gave him the wrong spanner.
    I should have kicked the ladder from under his fat ass, and...but back then I was too quiet, and too far from home, a 'bonded servant' to the Company, and him being an insignificant bully suffering from 'small man syndrome' he took full advantage.

2. I'd go to Kildare Railway Station in the 1960 s (when I joined the Army) and force my young self back onto the Dublin train.

Can't turn the clock back though...pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'd go back to 1960

The town I lived in growing up had a railway station and track going all way through it.

As a child in 1980s I loved cycling the old shut down railway line and playing in the old station buildings , it was magical and sad at same time that such an important historical features were about to be lost forever as it was all dug up and turned into a bypass by early 1990s .

I'd love to go back for one day in the 60s and see it all working and how the people used it in their daily routine .